Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Sleepless in the Kuril Islands

With the advent of winter, not all brown bears in Kamchatka lay down in their lairs

Sleepless in the Kuril Islands
Photo: Liana Varavskaya

m15.jpg

Bear in the snowdrift also looks exotic, like a snowman on a flower bed or a birdhouse with chicks on a flown aspen. Liana Varavskaya Several seasons led a blog about the brown bears of the Kurile Lake in Instagram. All summer and autumn her posts were collected by rave comments and "husky". At the end of November, 20-centimeter snow lay on the shores of the lake, the temperature dropped to -12 ° С. And the bears - remained. Subscribers suspected crankshafts in them.

skrin.jpg

In the South Kamchatka Reserve lives the largest protected group of brown bears in Russia - about 1000 individuals. Now at the grassy station Liana watches three females with cubs and one large alpha. This week, one of the "sleepless" brown mums - the bear Natasha - still looked at the winter apartments near the cordon. The rest of the animals do not rush into the den, you can see through binoculars up to 20 bears.

- Bear cubs are carried in the snow, they are shaggy, fluffy, by the winter they have grown a long fur. Now they are more cautious and shy than in the summer. But we did not see the frozen bear, frozen or trembling from the cold! Aggression animals do not show - the technician of security service of the South Kamchatka federal reserve named after Tikhon Shpilenka Liana Varavskaya shared with East Russia.

m10.jpg

m12.jpg

There are few tourists at this time, the peak of visits to the reservoir at the active volcano Ilyinsky falls in July-September. They get to Kurilskoye by helicopter, but because of the unpredictable weather, it is difficult to fly here, and on arrival it is easy to get stuck for three weeks. Inspectors work here as watches, and after a few months they know the bears as “faces”.

- Three bear cubs get under the electric fence to the territory of the cordon and frolic, as they can: rip off the bath, eat something, and recently the "sorcerer" - said Inspector Konstantin Lepsky. - There are a lot of young solitary bears in the lake from the age of 3 to 5 years. They move from the river to the river, swim in the lake and rush along the shore, they do not climb the cordon, which makes me very happy. Adult large males, I usually see in the estuary of the river Etamynk.

m6.jpg

Boycott lair local bears declare not the first time, some begin to search, where to prick, only after the New Year. It's all about fish and special climatic conditions. The deepest reservoir in Kamchatka freezes once in a decade. Lake Kurilskoye - the largest breeding ground for sockeye salmon in Asia with a herd manufacturers within 1,5-3,5 million. After entering the lake, the krasnitsa ripens for a long time in the pelagic zone. This species of Pacific salmon in the Kurile spawns from July until the end of February (!) At a water temperature up to + 1С. There is also such a phenomenon as ice ikromet, although, it would seem, what kind of love .... Now in the water there are many senile and dead sockeye salmon. But while this fish restaurant is open in the fresh air, its late customers do not depart from the shores.

m14.jpg

- The trigger mechanism in the occurrence of bears in hibernation is not the presence or absence of snow, but the absence of food. At their skin and fatness snow and temperature do not excite them. While the fish is available, a certain part of the bears continues to feed, and grows to an incredible size. That is, for example, some yearlings on the Kuril lake reach such sizes as normal cubs reach in the third year! Just goes a bag of fat. I'm comfortable with them. While the mother is feeding, the cubs are guided by the behavior on it and also feed. I do not like the word "unique", but on the Kuril lake, not only to Kamchatka, but also to the whole of Russia, unique conditions - commented East Russia Alexander Nikanorov, a consultant to the scientific department of the Kronotsky Reserve FGBU, the structural unit of which is the South Kamchatka Federal Wildlife Refuge named after Tikhon Shpilenka.



There is no single winter signal, "retreat" for Russian bears, it is also meaningless to calculate it, as the average temperature of patients in the hospital. Animals in the Yaroslavl region and the Kamchatka Territory, for example, have their own phenological periods. In different parts of the country, the winter sleep of brown bears lasts from 75 to 195 days. In the south of the range, where the winter is not very snowy, the bears in general sabotage the period. The longest spend in hibernation females with offspring, least of all - males aged. Why, on the Kuril Lake, do some bears already suck their paws, while others do not? And can the latter simply not get enough sleep?

m16.jpg

- Someone likes to eat more, excuse me. People need to be explained in simple language. Someone is a glutton, yes. He already has enough fat, and he bursts and bursts. And the others gained normal fat and went to lie down. Because then it's hard to lie in a den, you need to unearth a layer of snow, then another 5-6 centimeters of frozen ground. Then dig the den. And those who have fallen asleep in the fall, they have the opportunity to do everything in advance without unnecessary costs, and make another dry bedding. And late lay down, as a rule, just on the ground, on wet ground. Such disadvantages. Although it is convenient to equip a lair on the Kurilskiy - there are steep slopes, caves and thickets of elfin.

Do not get enough sleep only those who have run out of fat, and they prematurely rose from the den. And we have a plump, like a barrel, spring out of the dens in the spring, as if he did not lose fat! And some get out skin and bone. Some have more energy costs, or have accumulated a little fat, and it's already out of hibernation. Someone in the Kurile Lake is asleep 3 months. Someone - 6 months. In the Valley of Geysers, one female with cubs almost got out of the den near the end of June. We will not mechanize, every bear - individuality - added Alexander Nikanorov.

m20.jpg

Kuril Lake is not the only place where bears are walking in winter. AT Kronotsky Reserve, where spawns late coho, bears are delayed until December. For example, during the rivers Kronotskaya and Tikhaya and on the banks of the Semyachik Estuary. Fishing on the white coast continues, mainly, the large male dominants, already expelled by that time their rivals.

But even in such nourishing lands there can be real connecting rods. Awakened animals are aggressive, can attack a person and have little chance of surviving until spring. On the rest, not the reserved Kamchatka, bears provoke numerous garbage dumps on the outskirts of cities and towns, and hunt at the den. If an animal lifted from hibernation can escape, especially with a wounded animal, it 100% will try to take revenge on the person. The first who gets in the way.

Photo Shoot: Liana Varavskaya, Igor Shpilenok, Andrey Gabov.

August 14: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Неспящие на Курильском

С приходом зимы не все бурые медведи на Камчатке залегли в берлоги

Неспящие на Курильском
Фото: Лиана Варавская

m15.jpg

Медведь в сугробе выглядит также экзотично, как снеговик на клумбе или скворечник с птенцами на облетевшей осине. Лиана Варавская несколько сезонов вела блог о бурых медведях Курильского озера в Инстаграм. Всё лето и осень её посты собирали восторженные комментарии и "лайки". В конце ноября на берега озера лёг 20-ти сантиметровый снег, температура упала до -12°С. А медведи – остались. Подписчики заподозрили в них шатунов.

skrin.jpg

В Южно-Камчатском заказнике обитает самая большая охраняемая группировка бурых медведей в России - около 1000 особей. Сейчас у кордона Травяной Лиана наблюдает за тремя самками с медвежатами и одним крупным альфой. На этой неделе одна из «неспящих» бурых мам – медведица Наташа – всё же присмотрела зимние апартаменты вблизи кордона. Остальные животные не спешат в берлоги, в бинокль можно увидеть до 20 медведей.  

- Медвежата возятся в снегу, они лохматые, пушистые, к зиме у них отрос длинный мех. Сейчас они более осторожные и пугливые, чем летом. Но замерзшего или дрожащего от холода медведя мы точно не видели ни разу! Агрессии звери не проявляют - поделилась с East Russia техник службы охраны Южно-Камчатского федерального заказника им.Тихона Шпиленка Лиана Варавская. 

m10.jpg

m12.jpg

Туристов в это время мало, пик посещений водоёма у действующего вулкана Ильинский приходится на июль-сентябрь. На Курильское добираются вертолетом, но из-за непредсказуемой погоды сюда сложно прилететь, а по прилёту легко застрять недели на три. Инспекторы работают здесь вахтами, и через несколько месяцев знают медведей в «лицо». 

- Трое медвежат-сеголеток пролезают под электрический забор на территорию кордона и резвятся, как могут: обдирают баню, что-нибудь грызут, а недавно порвали «колдун»-ветроуказатель, - рассказал инспектор Константин Лепский. - Много на озере молодых одиночных медведей возрастом от 3 до 5 лет. Они перемещаются от реки к реке, плавают в озере и носятся по берегу, на кордон не лезут, что меня очень радует. Взрослых крупных самцов я обычно вижу в устье реки Этамынк.

m6.jpg

Бойкот берлоге местные медведи объявляют не первый раз, некоторые начинают искать, где бы прикорнуть, лишь после Нового года. Всё дело в рыбе и особых климатических условиях. Самый глубокий на Камчатке водоём замерзает раз в десятилетие. Озеро Курильское - крупнейшее нерестилище нерки в Азии со стадом производителей в пределах 1,5–3,5 млн.особей. После захода в озеро красница долго дозревает в пелагиали. Нерестится этот вид тихоокеанских лососей на Курильском с июля до конца февраля (!) при температуре воды до +1С. Есть здесь и такой феномен, как подлёдный икромёт, хотя, казалось бы, какая уж тут любовь…. Сейчас в воде много снулой и погибшей нерки. Но пока открыт этот рыбный ресторан на свежем воздухе, его припозднившиеся клиенты не отходят от берегов. 

m14.jpg     

- Пусковой механизм в залегания медведей в спячку это не наличие или отсутствие снега, а отсутствие пищи. При их шкуре и упитанности снег и температура их не волнуют. Пока рыба доступна, определенная часть медведей продолжает питаться, и увеличивается до невероятных размеров. То есть, например, некоторые сеголетки на Курильском озере достигают таких размеров, как нормальные медвежата достигают на третьем году! Просто идёт мешок с жиром. Им комфортно. Пока мама кормится, медвежата ориентируются поведением на неё и тоже кормятся. Я терпеть не могу слово «уникальный», но на Курильском озере применительно не только к Камчатке, но и ко всей России уникальные условия - прокомментировал East Russia Александр Никаноров, консультант научного отдела ФГБУ «Кроноцкий заповедник», структурным подразделением которого является Южно-Камчатский федеральный заказник им.Тихона Шпиленка.



Единого зимнего сигнала «отбой» для российских медведей нет, вычислять его также бессмысленно, как температуру пациентов в среднем по больнице. У животных в Ярославской области и в Камчатском крае, например, свои фенологические сроки. В разных районах страны зимний сон бурых медведей длится от 75 до 195 дней. На юге ареала, где зима малоснежна, медведи вообще саботируют берложный период. Дольше всех проводят в спячке самки с потомством, меньше всего - самцы в возрасте. Почему же на Курильском озере одни медведи уже сосут лапу, а другие – нет? И могут ли последние попросту не выспаться?    

m16.jpg

- Кто-то жрать больше любит, извините меня. Людям надо объяснять простым языком. Кто-то обжора, да. У него уже достаточно жира, а он лопает и лопает. А другие набрали нормальный жир и пошли залегать. Потому что потом залегать в берлогу сложно, нужно раскапывать слой снега, потом еще 5-6 сантиметров промёрзлого грунта. Затем копать берлогу. А те, кто залегли сухой осенью, они имеют возможность всё сделать заранее без излишних затрат, и сделать еще сухую подстилку. А поздно залегающие ложатся, как правило, просто на грунт, на сырую землю. Такие минусы. Хотя обустраивать берлогу на Курильском удобно – есть крутые склоны, пещеры и заросли стланика. 

Не высыпаются только те, у которых кончились запасы жира, и они преждевременно поднялись из берлоги. А у нас бывает упитанный, как бочка, весной вылезает из берлоги, как будто он жир и не терял! А иные вылезают кожа да кости. У кого-то больше энергетические затраты, либо мало жира накопили, и к выходу из спячки он уже закончился. Кто-то в условиях Курильского озера спит 3 месяца. Кто-то - 6 месяцев. В Долине Гейзеров одна самка с медвежатами чуть ли не в конце июня вылезла из берлоги. Не будем механизировать, каждый медведь - индивидуальность - добавил Александр Никаноров.

m20.jpg

Курильское озеро не единственное, где медведи разгуливают зимой. В Кроноцком заповеднике, где нерестится поздний кижуч, медведи задерживаются до декабря. Например, в течении рек Кроноцкой и Тихой и на берегах Семячикского лимана. Рыбачить у белых берегов продолжают, в основном, крупные самцы-доминанты, уже изгнавшие к тому времени своих соперников.

Но и в таких сытных краях могут быть реальные шатуны. Разбуженные звери агрессивны, могут нападать на человека и имеют небольшие шансы дожить до весны. На остальной, не заповедной Камчатке, медведей провоцируют многочисленные мусорные свалки на окраинах городов и посёлков, и охота на берлоге. Если поднятому из спячки животному удаётся уйти, особенно подранком, он 100% постарается отомстить человеку. Первому, кто попадётся на пути. 

Фото: Лиана Варавская, Игорь Шпиленок, Андрей Габов. 

11 июля: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайжест региональных событий и свежая статистика