Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

"Window of opportunity" for the cluster

The development of the petrochemical industry in the Far East was one of the topics of the WEF-2018

Today, the best time for the development of oil and gas processing and petrochemistry in the Far East is sure that the participants in the session “Oil and Gas Processing: We are Creating a New Industry Cluster”, which took place within the framework of WEF-2018. The largest petrochemical and chemical projects are already being implemented or are being prepared for implementation in the Far East: Amur GPP, Amur Gas Chemical Plant, methanol production plant in Skovorodino, Nakhodka Mineral Fertilizers Plant and a number of others, investments in which are estimated at 50 billion dollars. An additional advantage of the project is the close proximity to the premium market in China and other countries of the Asia-Pacific Region. According to the participants of the session, the regional industry today is facing a “window of opportunity” for the development of the largest petrochemical cluster, which is important to use in the best way.

"Window of opportunity" for the cluster
Photo: Tass / VEF Photobank
Special project TORA and Free Port
GROWTH FACTORS
Many of the enterprises and industry clusters created in the Far East today are focused on the countries of the Asia-Pacific region. The petrochemical industry in Russia was no exception, having demonstrated high growth rates in 2011 – 2017, largely due to China and other Asia-Pacific countries, where the growth in demand for the industry’s products was stimulated by rapid economic development and an increase in the use of plastic in construction.

According to forecasts, the growth in demand for petrochemical products in the countries will continue, but at the same time competition for the main sales markets will increase. “This is due to the fact that both traditional players of this market and oil companies are beginning to invest in the petrochemical industry, and in 10 years, electric vehicles will be equal in number to cars with an internal combustion engine, so whether oil will remain in the road transport sector a big question, ”says Anton Poryadin, head of strategy in the CIS countries at EY. At the same time, he is confident that now is the time for the development of the petrochemical cluster in the Far East, to which a “window of opportunity” has opened.

Pavel Sorokin, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation, agrees that the competitive struggle in the oil refining and petrochemical market will be tightening over 15 – 20 years. In his opinion, cheap financing and the availability of credit resources will lead to this, and therefore certain measures will have to be taken to protect the manufacturer.

“There is great potential for the production of petrochemistry in our country. We have a lot of cheap raw materials, but because of the large distances, there are problems with logistics, so we need cooperation between government agencies, companies and manufacturers of petrochemical products in order to level the "logistics leverage." This can be done, for example, by introducing tax subsidies or by charging negative excise taxes, ”he believes.

MONEY IS NOT A QUESTION
There are all prerequisites for the development of petrochemistry in the Far East, as it has unique advantages, including:
- availability of reserves of raw materials (1,3 billion tons of oil and condensate, 4,6 trillion cubic meters of natural gas), as well as support measures through regional electricity cost premiums with a base rate of 4,3 rubles / kWh;
- proximity to the sales markets of the APR countries (China, Japan, South Korea), where the annual volume of imports of chemical products is 200 billion dollars;
- transport accessibility: Power of Siberia pipelines - 38 exports billion cubic meters of natural gas and ESPO - 50 million tons of oil with the prospect of expansion to 80 million tons, 15 sea terminals and two railways - BAM and Transsib;
- government support, including the Free Port of Vladivostok and the TOR "Neftekhimichesky", as well as the creation of infrastructure at the expense of budget funds.

Currently, in the five regions of the Far East, within the framework of the petrochemical cluster, 14 large-scale projects are being implemented, investments in which are estimated at more than 50 billion dollars, producing more than 38 million tons of finished products. These include the LNG terminal of the Novatek company (20 mln tons per year), the Amur GPP of Gazprom (42 billion cubic meters of gas) and other facilities. The project of the Amurskiy SCC of the company SIBUR (1,5 mln. Tons per year of ethylene and the same amount of polyethylene) is in the development stage.

According to Sergey Komyshan, the executive director of SIBUR, the company is very interested in the Far Eastern cluster, primarily because of the region’s proximity to the main demand centers for petrochemical products. "The flow of polymers that will go from Siberia over the next two years through the region to the export markets of China and other Asian countries from the Amur Mining and Chemical Combine, from the Irkutsk Oil Company project, will create favorable conditions for the development of export-oriented processing of polymers," he said. Komyshan also noted that SIBUR plans to create a logistics hub not far from one of the ports of the Far East using a specialized logistics operator - investor, providing loading of the hub with commodity products.



According to Yury Korsun, deputy chairman of the State Corporation “Bank for Development and Foreign Economic Affairs (Vnesheconombank)”, finding money for implementing large-scale industry projects is not a question, but the question of how long this funding will be calculated and what its cost will be. He noted that funds for projects of the petrochemical cluster need to be raised in the order of project financing. “Oil and gas chemistry is an industry that allows you to properly structure project financing, which is very important for a banker to understand the expenditure and revenue parts,” he said.

According to forecasts, in 2025, the amount of investment in key petrochemical projects in the Far East should amount to 1 trillion rubles, export revenues - 230 billion rubles, and new production capacity - 5 million tons.

FOR THE PERSPECTIVE
The export of low-tonnage liquefied natural gas (LNG) to the APR countries represents great prospects - the average annual growth rate of this market is about 10% and has a potential of more than 100 mln tons per year after 2020. However, this industry is promising not only for external, but also for domestic consumers and is an important direction for the development of the industry along with the export of petrochemical products.

“In most cases, small generation facilities in the Far East are only effective using LNG, and much less time is needed to implement such projects,” says Igor Dubovsky, director of the investment department of the Far East Agency for Investment Promotion and Export. He recalled that in September 2018 of the year a LNG mini-plant was launched on Sakhalin (where a large-scale LNG plant has been operating since 2009), the products of which will first be exported and then delivered to the domestic market.

One of the next stages in the development of the Far East may be the cooperation of its border areas with the northern and northeast regions of China. Such cooperation can be carried out through the creation of joint companies that mutually complement each other and use the resource bases and already established production facilities in the work of both parties. This opinion was expressed by Boris Krasnovsky, General Director of ESN LLC. “Such joint ventures, subject to state support, will be able to receive an additional incentive for development,” he said. “For example, 5 projects per year for ten years are already 50, and these are tens of billions of dollars of“ living ”Asian money, which we all really need.”


Published in the journal "Economics of the Far East"
You can subscribe to the magazine on the portal investvostok.ru
Photo: Photobank VEF, TASS
July 11: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«Окно возможностей» для кластера

Развитие нефтехимической отрасли Дальнего Востока стало одной из тем ВЭФ-2018

Сегодня лучшее время для развития нефтегазопереработки и нефтехимии на Дальнем Востоке, уверены участники сессии «Нефтегазопереработка: создаем новый отраслевой кластер», которая состоялась в рамках ВЭФ-2018. На Дальнем Востоке уже реализуются или готовятся к реализации крупнейшие нефтегазохимические проекты: Амурский ГПЗ, Амурский ГХК, завод по производству метанола в г. Сковородино, Находкинский завод минеральных удобрений и ряд других, инвестиции в которые оцениваются в 50 млрд долларов. Дополнительное преимущество проектам дает непосредственная близость к премиальному рынку Китая и других стран АТР. По мнению участников сессии, отрасль региона сегодня стоит перед «окном возможностей» для развития крупнейшего нефтехимического кластера, которым важно воспользоваться наилучшим образом.

«Окно возможностей» для кластера
Фото: ТАСС / Фотобанк ВЭФ
ФАКТОРЫ РОСТА
Многие из создаваемых на Дальнем Востоке предприятий и отраслевых кластеров сегодня ориентированы на страны Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона. Не стала исключением и нефтехимическая отрасль России, продемонстрировавшая в 2011–2017 годах высокие темпы роста во многом за счет Китая и других стран АТР, где рост спроса на продукцию отрасли стимулировался бурным экономическим развитием и увеличением объемов применения пластика при строительстве.

Согласно прогнозам, рост спроса на нефтехимическую продукцию в странах продолжится, но при этом усилится конкуренция за основные рынки сбыта. «Это связано с тем, что в нефтехимическую отрасль начинают вкладывать средства как традиционные игроки этого рынка, так и нефтяные компании, которые понимают, что через 10 лет электромобили по количеству сравняются с авто с двигателем внутреннего сгорания, поэтому останется ли нефть в автотранспортной сфере – большой вопрос», – считает Антон Порядин, руководитель направления стратегии в странах СНГ компании EY. Вместе с тем он уверен, что сейчас самое время для развития нефтехимического кластера на Дальнем Востоке, перед которым открылось «окно возможностей».

С тем, что конкурентная борьба на рынке нефтепереработки и нефтехимии в течение 15–20 лет будет ужесточаться, согласен Павел Сорокин, заместитель министра энергетики Российской Федерации. По его мнению, к этому приведет дешевое финансирование и доступность кредитных ресурсов, и поэтому для защиты производителя нужно будет принимать определенные меры.

«Для производства нефтехимии в нашей стране имеется большой потенциал. У нас много дешевого сырья, но из-за больших расстояний возникают проблемы с логистикой, поэтому нужна кооперация между государственными структурами, компаниями и производителями продукции нефтехимии, чтобы нивелировать «логистическое плечо». Это можно сделать, например, путем введения налоговых субсидий или начисления отрицательных акцизов», – считает он.

ДЕНЬГИ – НЕ ВОПРОС
На территории Дальнего Востока есть все предпосылки для развития нефтехимии, поскольку он обладает уникальными преимуществами, в числе которых:
– наличие запасов сырья (1,3 млрд т нефти и конденсата, 4,6 трлн кубометров природного газа), а также меры поддержки через региональные надбавки стоимости электроэнергии с базовой ставкой 4,3 руб/кВт-ч;
– близость к рынкам сбыта стран АТР (Китай, Япония, Южная Корея), куда ежегодный объем импорта химической продукции составляет 200 млрд долларов;
– транспортная доступность: трубопроводы «Сила Сибири» – экспорт 38 млрд кубометров природного газа и ВСТО – 50 млн т нефти с перспективой расширения до 80 млн т, 15 морских терминалов и две железнодорожных магистрали – БАМ и Транссиб;
– государственная поддержка, включающая в себя Свободный порт Владивосток и ТОР «Нефтехимический», а также создание инфраструктуры за счет бюджетных средств.

В настоящее время в пяти регионах Дальнего Востока в рамках нефтехимического кластера реализуются 14 масштабных проектов, инвестиции в которые оцениваются в более 50 млрд долларов, выпускающих более 38 млн т готовой продукции. В их числе терминал СПГ компании «Новатэк» (20 млн т в год), Амурский ГПЗ «Газпрома» (42 млрд кубометров газа) и другие производства. В стадии проработки находится проект Амурского ГХК компании «СИБУР» (1,5 млн т в год этилена и столько же полиэтилена).

По словам Сергея Комышана, исполнительного директора «СИБУРа», компании очень интересен дальневосточный кластер, в первую очередь из-за близости региона к основным центрам спроса на нефтехимическую продукцию. «Потоки полимеров, которые пойдут из Сибири в течение ближайших двух лет через регион на экспортные рынки Китая и других стран Азии с Амурского ГХК, с проекта «Иркутской нефтяной компании», создадут благоприятные условия для развития экспортно ориентированной переработки полимеров», – считает он. Также Комышан отметил, что «СИБУР» планирует создать логистический хаб недалеко от одного из портов Дальнего Востока силами специализированного логистического оператора – инвестора, обеспечивая загрузку хаба товарной продукцией.

По словам Юрия Корсуна, заместителя председателя Государственной корпорации «Банк развития и внешнеэкономической деятельности (Внешэкономбанк)», найти деньги для реализации масштабных отраслевых проектов – не вопрос, но вопрос в том, на какой срок будет рассчитано это финансирование и какой будет его стоимость. Он отметил, что средства на проекты нефтехимического кластера нужно привлекать в порядке проектного финансирования. «Нефтегазохимия – отрасль, которая позволяет грамотно структурировать проектноефинансирование, что очень важно для понимания банкиром расходной и доходной частей», – сказал он.

Согласно прогнозам, в 2025 году сумма инвестиций в ключевые нефтехимические проекты Дальнего Востока должна составить 1 трлн рублей, экспортная выручка – 230 млрд рублей, а новые производственные мощности – 5 млн т.

НА ПЕРСПЕКТИВУ
Большие перспективы представляет экспорт малотоннажного сжиженного природного газа (СПГ) в страны АТР – среднегодовой темп роста этого рынка составляет около 10% и имеет потенциал более чем 100 млн т в год после 2020 года. Однако эта отрасль перспективна не только для внешнего, но и для внутреннего потребителя и является важным направлением для развития отрасли наряду с экспортом нефтехимической продукции.

«В большинстве случаев работа объектов малой генерации на территории Дальнего Востока эффективна только с применением СПГ, и для реализации таких проектов нужны гораздо меньшие сроки», – говорит Игорь Дубовский, директор инвестиционного департамента АНО «Агентство Дальнего Востока по привлечению инвестиций и поддержке экспорта». Он напомнил, что в сентябре 2018 года был запущен мини-завод СПГ на Сахалине (где с 2009 года уже работает крупнотоннажный завод по производству СПГ), продукция которого сначала будет только экспортироваться, а затем будут также организованы ее поставки на внутренний рынок.

Одним из следующих этапов развития Дальнего Востока может стать сотрудничество его приграничных районов с северными и северо-восточными регионами Китая. Такое сотрудничество может осуществляться через создание совместных компаний, взаимно дополняющих друг друга и использующих в работе обоих сторон ресурсные базы и уже созданные производства. Такое мнение высказал Борис Красновский, генеральный директор ООО «ЕСН». «Такие совместные предприятия при условии государственной поддержки смогут получить дополнительный стимул для развития, – считает он. – К примеру, 5 проектов в год за десять лет – это уже 50, а это десятки миллиардов долларов «живых» азиатских денег, которые нам всем очень нужны».


Опубликовано в журнале "Экономика Дальнего Востока"
Подписаться на журнал Вы можете на портале investvostok.ru
Фото: Фотобанк ВЭФ, ТАСС
Что на Дальнем Востоке произошло за неделю и кому это выгодно?
Эксклюзивная аналитика от EastRussia – каждый вторник в вашем почтовом ящике