Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Weapons, drugs and sim-cards

The dangers of farming on a neutral strip between India and Pakistan

Weapons, drugs and sim-cards

Harjinder Singh slouches over as he approaches the Rajok Outpost on the Indian-Pakistani border in northern Punjab. Under a row of security cameras, he passes a security guard, adjusting his uniform, and then moves past an L-shaped fence, along which are pyramids of coiled barbed wire. Today is November 5 - 55 days ago, a suicide bomber detonated 25 pounds (40 kilograms) of TNT near the Vaga checkpoint on the border between the two countries, XNUMX miles away, killing more than sixty people. The border guards are on alert.

Singh, a 30-year-old Indian farmer who can only be described as "skin and bones", leans against a sign that reads: "Glory to the soldier, glory to the farmer" and waits to be checked before crossing the fence, behind which are his rice fields - on neutral land adjacent to the international border. On such days, verification can take more than three hours: border guards remove seats and tires from tractors in search of weapons and explosives, rummage in lunch boxes to check for Pakistani SIM cards, and escort farmers behind the fence to prevent their possible communication with Pakistanis or with each other. “You can work in the fields with your brother, but you cannot tell him that you have a stomach ache until you are back in India,” Singh says. “This is our reality.”

For peasants like Singh living in the vicinity of Amritsar, a city about 30 miles outside Pakistani Lahore, division still looms on the horizon. The 1947 event that divided India and Pakistan was accompanied by the hasty drawing of a border over fields, villages and rivers, sparking protests and clashes that killed about a million people. The division also pushed people to the largest displacement in world history, forcing about 10 million people to relocate - Muslims to Pakistan, Hindus and Sikhs to India. Punjab, considered the cradle of Sikhism, a monotheistic religion based on the teachings of the 10 Gurus and Scripture, has become the only state in India with a Sikh majority.

In 1980, a wave of armed unrest swept across the state, the main slogan of which was a call for the creation of an independent Sikh state called Khalistan. In June 1984, Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi ordered troops to storm the Golden Temple, the main Sikh sanctuary in Amritsar, where the rebels hid. The result of the operation was the death of a 575 man, including pilgrims caught in the crossfire. Four months later, Gandhi was killed by her Sikh bodyguards in retaliation for the desecration of the temple, which in turn provoked unrest throughout the country, during which more than eight thousand Sikhs died.

During the struggle against the creation of Khalistan, New Delhi began to suspect that Islamabad was waging a war with someone else's hands and was training Sikh terrorists. India's first goal for a defensive line, according to Prakash Singh, who was Inspector General of the Punjab Border Force from 1987 to 1991, was to close the poorly guarded border by erecting a 343-mile barbed wire fence. Punjab surname). "Terrorism was at its zenith," he said, and internal operations against the rebels "were neutralized by the regular supply of weapons and explosives from abroad." Even today, terrorists in Khalistan, associated with the Lashkar-e-Taiba jihadist group, are said to live with impunity in Pakistani cities, including Lahore, the capital of the Pakistani province of Punjab.

The border crossing point "Waga" is located approximately halfway between Lahore and Amritsar. Every day at sunset, Indian and Pakistani soldiers march with ferocious expressions and draw attention by exchanging battle cries during the elaborate flag-lowering procedure. The ceremony, which was targeted by a suicide bomber on November 2, attracts thousands of jumping and screaming spectators on both sides of the border and acts as an outlet for barely contained outrage from the two countries.

Life on the golden plains of Punjab near one of the most dangerous borders in the world is paralyzed by fears - escalation of tensions between the two countries, loss of ancestral lands due to considerations of border security, being caught in a firefight during the use of force when someone crosses the border. In 2014, according to the South Asia Terrorism Portal, Indian Punjab border guards arrested at least 14 Pakistani border trespassers, killed three in clashes and confiscated more than 327 kilograms (723 pounds) of heroin valued at $ 270 million.

When the barbed wire fence was erected in the 1980s, he divided Harjinder Singh's fields - 15 acres remained in India, 15 in no man's land (between the fence and the control line). The half of the land behind the fence is under curfew from 8 pm to 6 am. The pass gives Singh the opportunity to enter his fields once a day, but he is only allowed to grow rice - no more than 30 centimeters, so that border trespassers cannot hide.

Thus, according to Singh, the land near the international border brings in half the harvest and profit compared to the Indian part. “They took food from our plate and gave us difficulties in return,” Singh says. He began to wear a short hairstyle (long hair in Sikhism is a symbol of piety and strength) in order to avoid humiliation from the border guards who search his turban.

In 2012, farmers from 1876 villages in the border zone, who own land next to the fence, filed an application with the Punjab Supreme Court, petitioning for the demolition of the fence. As an alternative, they asked New Delhi to compensate them for the loss of 34 thousand acres of land between the fence and the international border at current market prices for land.

In response to the petition, Jagat Singh, the Inspector General of the Border Troops recently dismissed from his post, said New Delhi was considering moving the fence closer to the Indian-controlled line. The fence is currently about 450 meters (500 yards) from the international border. He also added that the government does not consider it possible to take possession of the no-man's land, as it would be "a loss to the nation because the crop will not be harvested," and farming helps keep this strip free of weeds and discourages "anti-Indian elements." The petition is still pending in court.

During the construction of the 12 to 24 meter wide border fence at various locations (40 to 80 feet), the Korean Demilitarized Zone and the US-Mexico border barrier were used as prototypes, former Inspector General Prakash Singh shares. “Without a doubt, this fence made entering India and leaving Pakistan very difficult and dangerous,” he said.

Since May 2014, there have been at least seven cases of ceasefire violations, culminating in the presence of Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif at the inauguration ceremony of the new Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Hostility at the border - especially when an exploding mortar shell killed five people and injured another 25 in the Indian part of Kashmir - has led to a heated diplomatic dispute.

Living in Rorawala Kurd, a village overlooking a fence and watchtowers, Gurjiit Singh, a 27-year-old Indian farmer, says the authorities' games in New Delhi and Islamabad are far removed from the realities of life on the border. He recalls November XNUMX, when the walls of his house began to shake; a black cloud rose from the site of the explosion at the Vag.

“If we heard another sound like that ... we would have gathered what was at hand and ran away ... so would each of the inhabitants of our village,” he says, looking into the distance. He sits in a triangle of sunlight, watching his three-year-old daughter climb onto a swing made from an old scarf. “Before we buy a house, a sideboard, a bed - anything that can be called an investment, we have to think carefully,” he says seriously. "It cannot be ruled out that at any moment we will have to flee and save our lives."

Jaswant Singh, 53, who owns 25 acres on the Indian-Pakistani Rim and 30 acres in India, wants the Indian government to acknowledge the injustice that border farmers have to put up with. Building a fence means wasted time, dwindling income, and dashed hope for peace. “Anyone can leave anything on our fields - heroin, weapons, SIM cards. And we must be responsible for this, ”he complains. Singh tells stories of farmers who were beaten and jailed for drug bags found on their property in front of border guards, only to be released later. “They were only kept in jail because they owned farms where they dropped packages of drugs. I could be next, he thinks. "There is too much mistrust here."

March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Оружие, наркотики и сим-карты

Опасности фермерства на нейтральной полосе между Индией и Пакистаном

Оружие, наркотики и сим-карты

Харжиндер Сингх ссутуливается, подходя к заставе «Раджок» на индийcко-пакистанской границе на севере штата Пенджаб. Под рядом камер наблюдения он минует охранника, поправляющего форму, и затем двигается мимо забора в форме буквы L, вдоль которого стоят пирамиды свернутой колючей проволоки. Сегодня седьмое ноября - 5 дней назад террорист-смертник взорвал 55 фунтов (25 килограммов) тротила рядом с КПП «Вага» на границе между двумя странами, в 40 милях отсюда, в результате чего погибли более шестидесяти человек. Пограничники находятся в состоянии боевой готовности.

Сингх, 30-летний индийский фермер, о котором не скажешь иначе, как «кожа да кости», облокачивается на знак с надписью: «Слава солдату, слава фермеру» и ждет, когда его проверят перед пересечением забора, за которым находятся его рисовые поля – на нейтральной земле, прилегающей к международной границе. В подобные дни проверка может занимать больше трех часов: пограничники снимают сиденья и шины с тракторов в поисках оружия и взрывчатки, роются в коробочках с обедом, проверяя наличие там пакистанских сим-карт, и сопровождают фермеров за забор, чтобы предотвратить их возможное общение с пакистанцами или друг с другом. «Вы можете работать в поле со своим братом, но вы не можете сказать ему, что у вас болит живот, пока вы не вернулись назад на территорию Индии, – говорит Сингх.- Таковы наши реалии».

Для крестьян, таких же, как Сингх, живущих в окрестностях Амритсара - города примерно в 30 милях от пакистанского Лахора, разделение все еще маячит на горизонте. Событие, произошедшее в 1947 году и разделившее Индию и Пакистан, сопровождалось поспешным прочерчиванием границы поверх полей, деревень и рек, что вызвало протесты и столкновения, в ходе которых погибло около миллиона человек. Разделение также подтолкнуло людей к крупнейшему переселению в мировой истории, заставив сменить место жительства около 10 миллионов человек – мусульмане переселялись в Пакистан, индуисты и сикхи – в Индию. Пенджаб, который считается колыбелью сикхизма - монотеистической религии, основанной на учениях 10 гуру и Священном писании, - стал единственным штатом Индии с сикхским большинством.

В 1980-е годы по штату прокатилась волна вооруженных волнений, главным лозунгом которых был призыв к созданию независимого сикхского государства под названием Халистан. В июне 1984 года премьер-министр Индии Индира Ганди приказала войскам взять штурмом Золотой Храм, главное сикхское святилище в Амритсаре, где прятались повстанцы. Итогом операции стала смерть 575 человек, включая паломников, попавших под перекрестный огонь. Четырьмя месяцами позже Ганди была убита ее сикхскими телохранителями в отместку за осквернение храма, что, в свою очередь, спровоцировало волнения по всей стране, в ходе которых погибло более чем восемь тысяч сикхов.

Во время борьбы против создания Халистана Нью-Дели начал подозревать, что Исламабад ведет войну чужими руками и готовит сикхских террористов. Первой целью Индии для создания линии обороны, по словам Пракаша Сингха, который был генерал-инспектором пограничных войск в Пенджабе с 1987 по 1991 годы, стало закрытие плохо охранявшейся границы с помощью возведения забора с колючей проволокой длиной в 343 мили (Сингх – часто встречающаяся в Пенджабе фамилия). «Терроризм был в зените», по его же словам, и внутренние операции против повстанцев «были нейтрализованы регулярными поставками оружия и взрывчатки, непрерывным потоком поступавших из-за границы». Даже сегодня террористы Халистана, связанные с джихадистской группировкой «Лашкар-и-Тайба», по некоторым данным, безнаказанно живут в городах Пакистана, включая Лахор - столицу пакистанской провинции Пенджаб.

Пункт перехода границы «Вага» находится примерно на полпути между Лахором и Амритсаром. Каждый день на заходе солнца индийский и пакистанские солдаты, маршируя со свирепыми выражениями лиц, привлекают внимание, обмениваясь боевыми кличами в течение тщательно выработанной процедуры спуска государственного флага. Эта церемония, которую 2 ноября смертник выбрал целью своей атаки, привлекает тысячи прыгающих и кричащих зрителей по обеим сторонам границы и играет роль отдушины для еле сдерживаемого возмущения со стороны жителей двух стран.

Жизнь на золотых равнинах Пенджаба рядом с одной из самых опасных границ в мире парализована страхами – эскалации напряжения между двумя странами, потери наследственных земель из-за соображений охраны границы, попадания в перестрелку в ходе применения силы при чьем-то переходе через границу. В 2014 году, по данным «Портала терроризма Южной Азии», индийские пограничники Пенджаба арестовали как минимум 14 пакистанских нарушителей границы, убили троих - в ходе столкновений и конфисковали более 327 килограммов (723 фунтов) героина, оцениваемого в 270 миллионов долларов.

Когда в 1980-е годы был возведен забор с колючей проволокой, он разделил поля Харжиндера Сингха - 15 акров остались в Индии, 15 - на нейтральной полосе (между забором и линией контроля). На той половине земли, которая находится за забором, наступает комендантский час с 8 вечера до 6 часов утра. Пропуск дает Сингху возможность входа на его поля раз в день, но ему разрешено выращивать только рис – не выше 30 сантиметров, чтобы нарушители границы не могли спрятаться.

Таким образом, по словам Сингха, земля у международной границы приносит вполовину меньше урожая и прибыли по сравнению с индийской частью. «Они забрали у нас еду из тарелки и дали нам взамен трудности», - говорит Сингх. Он начал носить короткую прическу (длинные волосы в сикхизме – символ благочестия и силы), чтобы избежать унижений со стороны пограничников, обыскивающих его тюрбан.

В 2012 фермеры из 1876 деревень в пограничной зоне, владеющие землей рядом с забором, подали заявление в верховный суд Пенджаба, ходатайствуя о сносе забора. В качестве альтернативы они просили Нью-Дели компенсировать им потерю 34 тысяч акров земли между забором и международной границей по актуальным рыночным ценам на земельные участки.

В ответ на петицию Джагат Сингх, генерал-инспектор пограничных войск, недавно уволенный с этой должности, заявил, что Нью-Дели обдумывал передвижение забора ближе к линии, контролируемой Индией. На данный момент забор находится примерно в 450 метрах (500 ярдах) от международной границы. Он также добавил, что правительство не считает возможным овладение нейтральной полосой, так как это станет «потерей для нации, потому что урожай не будет собираться», а фермерство помогает держать эту полосу свободной от сорняков и отпугивает «антииндийские элементы». Петиция по-прежнему рассматривается в суде.

В ходе строительства пограничной изгороди шириной от 12 до 24 метров в разных местах (от 40 до 80 футов) в виде прообразов были использованы Корейская Демилитаризованная Зона и барьер на границе между США и Мексикой, делится бывший генерал-инспектор Пракаш Сингх. «Без всяких сомнений это ограждение сделало проникновение на территорию Индии и уход в Пакистан весьма сложным и опасным делом», - уверен он.

С мая 2014 года было зарегистрировано по меньшей мере семь случаев нарушения режима перемирия, кульминацией которого стало присутствие пакистанского премьер-министра Наваза Шарифа на церемонии присяги нового индийского премьер-министра Нарендры Моди. Враждебность на границе – особенно случай, когда разорвавшийся снаряд миномета убил пятерых человек и ранил еще 25 в индийской части Кашмира, – привела к горячему дипломатическому спору.

Живущий в Роравала Курд - деревне, из которой виден забор и сторожевые вышки, Гуржиит Сингх, 27-летний индийский фермер, говорит, что игры властей в Нью-Дели и Исламабаде очень далеки от реалий жизни на границе. Он вспоминает второе ноября, когда стены его дома начали трястись; черное облако поднялось с места взрыва у «Вага».

«Если бы мы услышали еще какой-то подобный звук…мы бы собрали то, что было под рукой и убежали…так бы сделал каждый из жителей нашей деревни», – говорит он, смотря вдаль. Он сидит в треугольнике солнечного света, наблюдая за тем, как его трехлетняя дочь забирается на качели, сделанные из старого шарфа. «Перед тем, как мы покупаем дом, буфет, кровать - все, что можно назвать капиталовложением, мы должны хорошо подумать, – серьезно произносит он. – Нельзя исключать, что нам в любой момент придется бежать и спасать наши жизни».

Джасвант Сингх, которому 53 года и который владеет 25 акрами на полосе отчуждения между Индией и Пакистаном и 30 акрами в Индии, хочет, чтобы индийское правительство признало несправедливость, с которой вынуждены мириться фермеры, живущие на границе. Строительство забора означает потерянное время, уменьшающийся доход и разбитую надежду на спокойствие. «Кто угодно может оставить что угодно на наших полях – героин, оружие, сим-карты. И мы должны нести за это ответственность», – жалуется он. Сингх рассказывает истории о фермерах, которых избивали и сажали в тюрьму за пакеты с наркотиками, найденные на их территории в присутствии пограничников – только с тем, чтобы позже их освободить. «Их держали в тюрьме только потому, что они владели фермами, на территории которых бросали пакеты с наркотиками. Я могу быть следующим, – считает он. - Здесь слишком много недоверия».