Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Prospects for the development of tourism in the Far East

Traveling to the Far East and the Russian North is turning into a fashionable and popular trend, but the potential of these directions is used only to a small part.

KPMG, with the support of MVRiA, conducted a survey among travelers to assess the locations of the Far East and the Arctic in terms of tourist attractiveness. Olga Surikova spoke about the results of the EastRussia survey.

Prospects for the development of tourism in the Far East
Photo: EastRussia

Olga Surikova

Director of the Department of Tax and Legal Consulting of KMPG in Russia and the CIS

Over the past 5 years, travel to the Far East and the Russian North has become a fashionable and popular trend. And although last year the share of the tourist flow in the Far East and the Arctic amounted to 11,8% of the total tourist flow in Russia, for many residents of our country, distant regions still remain undeveloped territories. The first reaction with which such travel is associated: you need to be a very wealthy person to afford such a trip. And this is, perhaps, the most important factor that restrains a tourist when choosing this destination.   


Before the pandemic, the tourist flow in the Far East and the Arctic was steadily growing by 5-7% per year. Confident optimism regarding the development of tourism and the hospitality industry in these territories showed an increase in tour operators in the regions by an average of 15% per year and an increase in the number of CSWs.  

Against the background of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the tourism industry and a 2020% reduction in the total flow of domestic tourists in Russia by the end of 35, the Far East as a whole lost 76% of tourists, part of the flow of which was traditionally foreigners and business tourists, while the reduction in tourist flow to the Arctic looks less dramatic - 29% compared to 2019. 

At the same time, we noticed that the reduction in tourist flow in the macro-region was not uniform and, with a general reduction, some regions, on the contrary, managed to increase tourist flow and attract new tourists during the tourist season. Thus, 34% of our respondents among industry players working mainly in the Kamchatka Territory, Sakhalin Region and the Republic of Buryatia noted an increase in tourist flow, which was provided due to the flow of tourists from other traditional tourist destinations and the expansion of the target audience, including thanks to travelers choosing more expensive tours. As a result, the winners were the regions with the established well-known brand of the territory.  


At the same time, the lack and underdevelopment of infrastructure did not allow to fully realize the tourist potential of other regions, which led to a significant reduction in the tourist flow in the season of opportunities, and the lack of awareness of domestic destinations for travel in the Far East and the Arctic impeded the expansion of the potential target audience (more than 33% of respondents noted a lack of information on domestic travel destinations).

The main factor in the tourist attraction of the regions of the Far East and the Arctic is incredibly beautiful nature. Tourists also note the unique opportunities for a photo tour of famous locations, interesting cultural attractions, the possibility of active and extreme recreation - the northern lights, gray whales, reindeer herders' camp, protected areas of the Lena pillars and the endless expanses of the Putorana plateau, taiga and petroglyphs, jeep tours to active volcanoes , heli-skiing, ski resorts, trophy fishing, hot springs, gastronomic tours and much more - this is all about the Far East and the unique Arctic. 

finished13.jpg

At the same time, the trend is a request for eventfulness in the region. The respondents showed interest in distinctive ethnic holidays. However, the respondents noted that the lack of regional and international events does not create compelling reasons to consider the territory as an interesting alternative to traditional directions. 

There is also a strong demand for cruise tourism. Cruises are considered by tourists as a convenient, comfortable and at the same time non-standard travel format that allows you to get unusual impressions and have time to visit and be inspired by the history and original culture and nature of several locations. 


As for the tour itself, the majority of respondents answered that they prefer to choose a standard package to the Far East and the Arctic, since the underdevelopment of transport infrastructure and roadside services, lack of clear navigation and communication, remoteness and inaccessibility of attractions make it difficult to independently organize a trip. 

For most tourists, a check for a trip to the Far East and the Arctic ranges from 21 to 100 thousand rubles per person. At the same time, the Far East is a more expensive destination: 22% of respondents spent more than 100 thousand rubles on a trip to the Far East, while 33% of respondents who visited the Arctic, on the contrary, spent about 20 thousand rubles. 

In general, in order to change the market of tourist services in the Far East and the Arctic and to maintain the interest of Russian tourists in these areas when the borders open, it is necessary to pay attention to the following areas requiring development:  

1. Accessibility of travel, including through subsidized tickets and tourist cashback;

2. Tourist service and tourist infrastructure, including in the segment of ecological and high-quality offer;

3. Transport hubs and road infrastructure network;

4. Small aircraft for the availability of display points;

5. Cruise net on comfortable ships;

6. Tourist products in the field of event tourism, including through the popularization of ethnic holidays and the organization of large-scale international events;

7. Tourist image of the Far East and Arctic regions and communication channels.

October 24: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Перспективы развития туризма на Дальнем Востоке

Путешествия на Дальний Восток и на русский Север превращаются в модный и популярный тренд, но потенциал этих направлений использован лишь на малую часть.

Компания КПМГ при поддержке МВРиА провела опрос среди путешественников, чтобы оценить локации Дальнего Востока и Арктики с точки зрения туристической привлекательности. О результатах опроса EastRussia рассказала Ольга Сурикова.

Перспективы развития туризма на Дальнем Востоке
Фото: EastRussia

Ольга Сурикова

директор департамента налогового и юридического консультирования КМПГ в России и СНГ

За последние 5 лет путешествия на Дальний Восток и на русский Север превратились в модный и популярный тренд. И хотя в прошлом году доля туристического потока Дальнего Востока и Арктики составила 11,8% от всего турпотока России, для многих жителей нашей страны дальние регионы до сих пор остаются неосвоенными территориями. Первая реакция, с которой ассоциируются такие путешествия: нужно быть очень состоятельным человеком, чтобы позволить себе такое путешествие. И это, пожалуй, самый главный фактор, который сдерживает туриста при выборе этого направления.   


До пандемии туристический поток на Дальнем Востоке и в Арктике стабильно прирастал на 5-7% в год. Уверенный оптимизм в части развития туризма и индустрии гостеприимства на этих территориях показывал прирост туроператоров в регионах в среднем на 15% в год и увеличение количества КСР.  

На фоне влияния пандемии COVID-19 на туристическую индустрию и сокращения общего потока внутренних туристов в России по итогам 2020 года на 35%, Дальний Восток в целом потерял 76% туристов, часть потока из которых традиционно составляли иностранцы и деловые туристы, в то время как сокращение турпотока в Арктику выглядит менее драматичным – 29% по отношению к 2019 г. 

При этом мы заметили, что сокращение турпотока в макрорегионе произошло неоднородно и при общем сокращении некоторым регионам наоборот удалось нарастить турпоток и привлечь новых туристов за время туристического сезона. Так, 34% наших респондентов среди игроков отрасли, работающих преимущественно в Камчатском крае, Сахалинской области и Республике Бурятия, отметили рост турпотока, который обеспечивался за счет перетока туристов из других традиционных туристических направлений и расширения целевой аудитории, в том числе благодаря путешественникам, выбирающим более дорогие туры. В итоге выиграли регионы со сложившимся известным брендом территории.  


При этом нехватка и неразвитость инфраструктуры не позволили полностью реализовать туристский потенциал других регионов, что привело к существенному сокращению туристического потока в сезон возможностей, а недостаточная информированность о внутренних направлениях для путешествий по направлению Дальнего Востока и Арктики препятствовала расширению потенциальной целевой аудитории (более 33% респондентов отметили недостаток информирования о внутренних направлениях для путешествий).

Главный фактор туристической привлекательности регионов Дальнего Востока и Арктики – невероятно красивая природа. Также туристы отмечают уникальные возможности для фототура по известным локациям, интересные культурные достопримечательности, возможность активного и экстремального отдыха - северное сияние, серые киты, стойбище оленеводов, заповедные места Ленских столбов и бескрайних просторов плато Путорана, тайга и петроглифы, джип-туры на действующие вулканы, хели-ски, горнолыжные курорты, трофейная рыбалка, горячие источники, гастро туры и многое другое – это все про Дальний Восток и неповторимую Арктику. 

готово13.jpg

При этом в тренде запрос на событийность в регионе. Респонденты показали интерес к самобытным этническим праздникам. Однако, опрошенные отметили, что отсутствие событийности регионального и международного масштаба не создает веских причин рассмотреть территорию как интересную альтернативу традиционным направлениям. 

Также наблюдается высокий спрос на круизный туризм. Круизы рассматриваются туристами как удобный, комфортный и при этом нестандартный формат путешествия, позволяющий получить необычные впечатления и успеть посетить и вдохновиться историей и самобытной культурой и природой нескольких локаций. 


Что касается самого тура, то большинство респондентов отвечали, что предпочитают выбирать стандартный пакет на Дальний восток и Арктику, так как неразвитость транспортной инфраструктуры и придорожного сервиса, отсутствие понятной навигации и связи, удаленность и труднодоступность достопримечательностей, затрудняют самостоятельную организацию поездки. 

Для большинства туристов чек за поездку на Дальний Восток и в Арктику лежит в диапазоне от 21 до 100 тысяч рублей на одного человека. При этом Дальний Восток является более дорогим направлением: 22% респондентов потратили на путешествие на Дальний Восток более 100 тысяч рублей, а расходы 33% опрошенных, посетивших Арктику, наоборот, составили около 20 тысяч рублей. 

В целом, чтобы изменить рынок туристических услуг Дальнего Востока и Арктики и сохранить интерес российских туристов к данным направлениям, когда откроются границы, необходимо обратить внимание на следующие направления, требующие развития:  

1. Доступность путешествий, в том числе за счет субсидируемых билетов и туристического кэшбека;

2. Туристический сервис и туристская инфраструктура, в том числе в сегменте экологического и высококачественного предложения;

3. Транспортные узлы и сеть дорожной инфраструктуры;

4. Малая авиация для доступности точек показа;

5. Круизная сетка на комфортабельных судах;

6. Турпродукты в сфере событийного туризма, в том числе за счет популяризации этнических праздников и организации крупномасштабных международных мероприятий;

7. Туристический имидж регионов Дальнего Востока и Арктики и коммуникационные каналы.

24 октября: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика