Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Under the Blue Horse's hoof

Zabaikalsky Nature Reserve may disappear due to hydraulic works in neighboring Mongolia.

The implementation of the Mongolian infrastructure program "Blue Horse" ("Huh Sea") jeopardizes one of the few UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Russia, the unique ecosystem of the Daurian steppe "Landscapes of Dauria". The Mongolian authorities are building a dam on the Uldza (Ulz-Gol) River, the main water flow that feeds the Torey Lakes located in the Landscapes of Dauria.

Under the Blue Horse's hoof
Photo: Vadim Kirilyuk, Daursky Reserve

The construction of the Uldze dam is part of the Blue Horse infrastructure program. It provides that dams will grow in 33 sections on 12 largest rivers of Mongolia to collect rain, snow and flood water, "as well as to divert water to the Gobi region," where there is little surface water and the mining industry is actively developing. The Blue Horse plan runs from 2021 to 2025.

The original idea was different - in 2017 and 2018. The Mongolian side informed the Russian about plans to transfer water from the Onon River to Uldzu to "solve environmental problems." The implementation of such a project would lead to many negative consequences, including the disruption of natural fluctuations in the water content of both the Uldza River itself and the Torey Lakes. But quite unexpectedly, the plans turned 180 degrees - in July 2020, the construction of not a canal, but an 800-meter dam on the river began. Judging by the images from space, the dam is now more than half ready.


And if the construction is completed, then in a very short time the region of the Torey Lakes will turn into a huge lifeless wasteland.

In 2007-2008, China has already unceremoniously invaded the ecological system of the southeastern Transbaikalia, carrying out a project to transfer water from the Argun River basin to Lake Dalai (Hulun).

“This project had obvious negative consequences for the unique transboundary wetlands in the Middle Argun. ... reduced the river runoff during the low-water season by three to five times and led to the drying up of the most important part of the floodplain and, judging by the first observations, to the loss of the functions of one of the key continental parts of the wetland, "- such an assessment of the Chinese project was given by scientists , employees of the Daursky State Reserve Evgeny Simonov and Vadim Kirilyuk.

The Mongolian project will put an end to the unique ecological system of the Torey Lakes, which remain one of the last ten most important stopping places for waterfowl and near-water birds in this part of the continent on global migration routes. The dam on the Uldza River (Ulz-Gol) will destroy this island of safety for migratory birds.

The Blue Horse program, under which construction on Uldze is under way, seriously threatens two World Heritage Sites, four Ramsar Wetlands, four UNESCO Biosphere Reserves and all of Mongolia's natural large river ecosystems (mostly transboundary).


The reasons that prompted the Mongolian authorities to take such a step lie on the surface - water resources are extremely unevenly distributed in the country. 80% are in the north. The South is a vast expanse of the Gobi Desert, one of the driest in the world. But in recent years, these desert areas have experienced a mining boom. Here, not only the traditional Mongolian animal husbandry is developing, but also the mining industry - large deposits of coal, copper, gold and uranium have been discovered. Both pastoralists and industrialists need water.

Today Mongolia is the largest and fastest growing market for raw materials in the world: coal, copper, gold, uranium, rare earth metals and other resources. The total value of the top 10 largest deposits of coal, copper, gold, uranium and rare earth metals in Mongolia is approximately $ 2,75 trillion. The Oyu-Tolgoi (copper, gold), Tavan-Tolgoi (coal) and Dornod (uranium) deposits are located in zone of the Gobi Desert. The reserves of the world's largest Tavan-Tolgoyskoye deposit amount to 7,4 billion tons of coal. Experts of the Rio Tinto corporation estimate the reserves of the Oyu-Tolgoi deposit, located in South Gobi, 80 km from the border with China, at 25 million tons of copper for 50 years of exploitation.

According to the Mongolian authorities, the game is worth the candle, when it comes to the economy and huge profits, the environment can wait.

The very idea of ​​transferring northern waters to the south was born in the days of the Soviet Union. Many probably remember the Soviet project of the century to transfer water from northern rivers to the Caspian Sea. Then reason prevailed and the project did not receive development, but few people know that similar plans existed in Mongolia.

Evgeny Simonov, a researcher at the Daursky Reserve, who is also an environmental expert of the public nature conservation movement and an international coordinator of the Rivers without Borders environmental coalition, says the following:

“The idea of ​​transferring rivers in Mongolia was invented during the Soviet era, by specialists who studied at Soviet water management universities in the 70s and 80s. Then the Chinese actively but unsuccessfully promoted it, sometimes conjugating it with the idea of ​​transferring the Baikal waters. Now it is in demand as an alleged solution to the conflict between the constant increase in water use by transnational mining companies in the Gobi and the needs of the local population in water supply ”.

However, the effect of such a transfer of water will be negligible - the water from the north will be just golden.

“It is technically possible to transfer only very small volumes, which will not completely solve the problem,” Simonov believes. - Research under the auspices of the World Bank showed that the idea is completely unproductive, since, firstly, it costs more than other measures for organizing efficient water use at any of the production facilities, and secondly, strategically it is more profitable for Mongolia to concentrate processing and urban growth in the north, where there is enough water and limited only to the essentials in the south. However, for many Mongolian populist politicians and bureaucrats, the transfer is a gold mine, allowing the sympathy of the residents of Gobi aimags who are waiting for water, because they were deprived of it by alien companies that received the rights to resources through the efforts of the same politicians-officials.

Scientists, the public, residents of the villages close to the Torey Lakes have already appealed to the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, the Great Khural of Mongolia, the government of the Russian Federation with a request to influence the situation with the construction of the dam on Uldze and the implementation of the Blue Horse program.


Image: greenpeace.ru

Scientists are also extremely worried that in 2020 a multi-year cycle of humidification began: the amount of precipitation falling here increased, the watercourse on the Uldza River increased and, as a result, the filling of Lake Barun-Torey with water began. The last cycle of humidification started with the beginning of the filling of the Torey Lakes in 1983, the maximum of the lake was reached in 1999, that is, in 16 years, and then the dry phase began, which ended two years ago with the complete drying of both lakes. The new content has started right now. Thus, the cycle lasted 36 years this time, the previous one - 29 years.


Photo: Elvira Palamova

“This is an interesting but not unique phenomenon from the point of view of a geographer, hydrologist and climatologist. However, the fluctuations of the Torey Lakes have tremendous consequences for the nature of East Asia, ”writes Vadim Kirilyuk, Honored Ecologist of Russia, who has worked in the Daursky Reserve for almost 30 years.

Evgeny Simonov does not lose optimism and believes that construction will be stopped, but for this Russia must have the political will to do so.

“The creation of threats to a common heritage site hurts the reputation of both Russia and Mongolia, showing that they are unable to jointly manage the common property, which they themselves have included in the list of the highest world values,” says the scientist. "In addition, this is a monstrous precedent, very dangerous in light of the fact that Russia and Mongolia have many common basins and none of them have a common management system."

In Mongolia, this is also understood by many decision-makers, so if Russia insists on stopping construction before conducting joint impact assessments, it will be heeded. But if Russia does not take convincing diplomatic steps by May, then a new construction season will begin and the dam will be completed. Then it will become much more difficult to change anything.

May 8: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Под копытом «Синего коня»

Забайкальский заповедник может исчезнуть из-за гидротехнических работ в сопредельной Монголии.

Реализация монгольской инфраструктурной программы «Синий конь» («Хух морь») ставит под удар один из немногих объектов Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО в России, уникальную экосистему даурской степи «Ландшафты Даурии». Власти Монголии строят плотину на реке Ульдза (Ульз-Гол), основном водном потоке, питающем расположенные в «Ландшафтах Даурии» Торейские озера.

Под копытом «Синего коня»
Фото: Вадим Кирилюк, Даурский заповедник

Строительство плотины на Ульдзе является частью инфраструктурной программы «Синий конь». Она предусматривает, что в 33 створах на 12 крупнейших реках Монголии вырастут плотины для сбора дождевой, снеговой и паводковой воды, «а также для отвода воды в регион Гоби», где поверхностных вод мало и активно развивается горнорудная промышленность. План «Синий конь» рассчитан на период с 2021 по 2025 годы.

Первоначально замысел был иным - в 2017 и 2018 гг. монгольская сторона информировала российскую о планах переброски воды из реки Онон в Ульдзу для «решения экологических проблем». Реализация такого проекта привела бы ко многим негативным последствиям, в том числе к нарушению естественных колебаний водности и самой реки Ульдза, и Торейских озер. Но совершенно неожиданно планы развернулись на 180 градусов – в июле 2020 года началось строительство не канала, а 800-метровой плотины на реке. Если судить по снимкам из космоса плотина сейчас готова более чем наполовину.


И если строительство будет завершено, то через самое короткое время район Торейских озер превратится в огромную безжизненную пустошь.

В 2007–2008 годах Китай уже бесцеремонно вторгся в экологическую систему юго-восточного Забайкалья, осуществив проект по переброске вод из бассейна реки Аргунь в озеро Далай (Хулун).

«Этот проект имел очевидные негативные последствия для уникальных трансграничных водно-болотных угодий на Средней Аргуни. … сократил сток реки в меженный период в три–пять раз и привел к иссушению наиболее важного участка поймы и, судя по первым наблюдениям, – к утрате им функций одного из ключевых континентальных участков водно-болотного угодий», - такую оценку китайскому проекту дали ученые, сотрудники Даурского государственного заповедника Евгений Симонов и Вадим Кирилюк.

Монгольский же проект поставит крест на уникальной экологической системе Торейских озер, которые остаются одним из последнего десятка важнейших в этой части континента мест остановок водоплавающих и околоводных птиц на глобальных миграционных путях. Плотина на реке Ульдза (Ульз-Гол) этот островок безопасности для перелетных птиц уничтожит.

Программа «Синий конь», в рамках которой и идет строительство на Ульдзе, серьезно угрожает двум объектам всемирного наследия, четырем Рамсарским ВБУ, четырем биосферным резерватам ЮНЕСКО и всем естественным крупным речным экосистемам Монголии (в основном трансграничным).


Причины, подтолкнувшие монгольские власти к подобному шагу лежат на поверхности – в стране крайне неравномерно распределены водные ресурсы. 80 % находятся на севере. Юг – это огромные пространства пустыни Гоби, одной из самых засушливых в мире. Но в последние годы эти пустынные районы переживают горнорудный бум. Здесь развивается не только традиционное для монголов животноводство, но и горнодобывающая промышленность – открыты крупные месторождения угля, меди, золота и урана. И скотоводам, и промышленникам необходима вода.

Сегодня Монголия — это самый большой и самый быстрорастущий в мире рынок сырья: уголь, медь, золото, уран, редкоземельные металлы и другие ресурсы. Общая стоимость топ-10 наиболее крупных месторождений угля, меди, золота, урана и редкоземельных металлов Монголии составляет приблизительно 2,75 трлн долл. Месторождения Оюу-Толгой (медь, золото), Таван-Толгой (уголь) и Дорнод (уран) расположены в зоне пустыни Гоби. Запасы крупнейшего в мире Таван-Толгойского месторождения составляют 7,4 млрд т. угля. Эксперты корпорации Rio Tinto оценивают запасы месторождения Оюу-Толгой, расположенного в Южной Гоби, в 80 км от границы с Китаем, в 25 млн т меди на 50 лет эксплуатации.

По мнению монгольских властей, игра стоит свеч, когда речь идет об экономике и огромных прибылях, экология может подождать.

Сама же идея переброски северных вод на юг была рождена еще во времена Советского Союза. Многие, наверное, помнят советский проект века по переброске воды северных рек в Каспийское море. Тогда разум возобладал и проект не получил развития, но мало кто знает, что подобные планы существовали и в Монголии.

Научный сотрудник Даурского заповедника Евгений Симонов, являющийся еще и экологом-экспертом общественного природоохранного движения и международным координатором экологической коалиции «Реки без границ», говорит следующее:

«Идея переброски рек в Монголии выдумана во времена СССР, специалистами учившимися в советских водохозяйственных вузах в 70-80-х годах. Затем её активно, но безрезультатно продвигали китайцы, иногда сопрягая с идеей переброски байкальских вод. Теперь она востребована, как якобы решение конфликта между постоянным наращиванием водопользования транснациональными горнорудными компаниями в Гоби и нуждами местного населения в водообеспечении».

Однако эффект такой переброски воды будет ничтожным – вода с севера будет просто золотой.

«Перебросить технически возможно только очень малые объемы, которые не решат проблемы в корне, - считает Симонов. - Исследования под эгидой Всемирного банка показали, что идея совершенно непродуктивна, так как, во-первых, стоит дороже иных мер организации эффективного водопользования на любом из производств, а во-вторых, стратегически Монголии выгоднее концентрировать переработку и рост городов на севере, где достаточно воды и ограничиваться только необходимым на юге. Однако для многих монгольских популистских политиков и чиновников – переброска это золотая жила, позволяющая прилечь симпатии жителей гобийских аймаков, которые ждут воды, ибо были лишены её пришлыми компаниями, получившими права на ресурсы стараниями все тех же политиков-чиновников».

Ученые, общественность, жители близлежащих к Торейским озерам сел уже обратились в Комитет Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО, в Великий Хурал Монголии, в правительство Российской Федерации с просьбой повлиять на ситуацию со строительством плотины на Ульдзе и реализацию программы «Синий конь».


Изображение: greenpeace.ru

Ученых крайне беспокоит еще и то, что в 2020 году начался многолетний цикл увлажнения: выросло количество выпадающих здесь осадков, на реке Ульдза увеличился водоток и, как следствие, началось заполнение водой озера Барун-Торей. Последний цикл увлажнения стартовал началом наполнения Торейских озер в 1983 году, максимума озера достигли в 1999 году, то есть за 16 лет, а затем началась засушливая фаза, закончившаяся два года назад полным высыханием обоих озер. Новое наполнение стартовало прямо сейчас. Таким образом, цикл длился на этот раз 36 лет, предыдущий — 29 лет.


Фото: Эльвира Паламова

«Это интересное, но не уникальное явление с точки зрения географа, гидролога и климатолога. Однако колебания Торейских озер имеют грандиозные последствия для природы восточной Азии», - пишет проработавший в Даурском заповеднике почти 30 лет заслуженный эколог России Вадим Кирилюк.

Евгений Симонов не теряет оптимизма и считает, что строительство будет остановлено, но для этого у России должна быть на то политическая воля.

«Создание угроз общему объекту наследия больно бьет по репутации обеих стран и России, и Монголии, показывая, что они неспособны совместно управлять общим достоянием, ими самими внесенным список высочайших мировых ценностей, - говорит ученый. - Кроме того, это чудовищный прецедент, очень опасный в свете того, что у России и Монголии много общих бассейнов и ни для одного из них нет общей системы управления».

В Монголии это тоже понимают многие лица принимающие решения, поэтому если Россия будет настаивать на остановке строительства до проведения совместных оценок последствий, к ней прислушаются. Но если Россия не предпримет убедительных дипломатических шагов до мая, то наступит новый строительный сезон и плотину достроят. Вот тогда что-либо изменить станет куда сложнее.

6 декабря: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика