Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Under the influence of a western

Philippine social environment and oligarchic clans

Under the influence of a western

On corruption in the Philippines - Yulia Lekhtonova, Doctor of Historical Sciences, chief researcher at the Institute of Oriental Studies, RAS

The Philippines is a much smaller country than huge Indonesia, with 94 million inhabitants. It is also a multiethnic country, with more than a hundred nationalities in it. Another important feature is that the Philippines until recently was the only Christian country in Southeast Asia. Now East Timor has also joined them, but it is very small, so it does not have to be taken into account.

86% of the country's population are Catholics, 6-7% are Protestant. The Philippines is a country with a difficult history, a victim of early colonialism. From the end of the 1901th century to the end of the 1946th century, it was under the rule of Spain, a very backward European metropolis, which was oriented towards Latin America. Understanding corruption requires a cultural and historical background. Spain was famous for its bureaucratic system, which it introduced into the local wealthy social strata, to which it transferred official powers. Therefore, we can say that the variant of corruption among the highest echelons of power in the Philippines is historically conditioned. The second wave of colonization (by the United States), according to the widespread opinion among scholars working in the Philippines, led the country to "Hollywood from a Spanish monastery." The Americans effectively annexed the Philippines. This happened in XNUMX after the victorious revolution that liberated the country from Spanish rule. Until XNUMX, the country remained an American colony.

The basis for corruption was the social environment and oligarchic clans. In fact, the Philippines is the only country with liberal democracy in Southeast Asia, but there is some duality. All democratic institutions function, there is a Constitution, and, in general, some democratic values ​​have taken root in the masses. At the same time, the ruling elite remained as mired in corruption and, moreover, fragmented into clans. Thus, one of the most Westernized societies of the East is under very strong pressure from traditionalism. This is the specificity of the Philippines, and it is manifested in everything. And corruption, of course, is just part of this trend.

Now we can talk about system corruption. Many sociologists and political scientists of the country, by the way, and sociology and political science in the Philippines are very developed, called corruption "endemic." Its roots go very deep - even in the pre-colonial period. And indeed, some customs have been preserved and are on the lower social tiers. This is interdependence and mutual gratitude, and at the lowest level it’s hard to draw a line - you give a bribe or just give thanks, but this is still corrupt behavior. One of the cases - when the parishioners bring something as a gift to the priest. This kind of corruption is pervasive. And my impression is that the prospects in this regard for the Philippines are very pessimistic.

The first president of the Philippines and his family were charged with embezzlement, but the case did not go to court. His wife recently became a member of the lower house of congress, and his son became a senator. It turns out some kind of quagmire from which it is impossible to get out, and all this comes from above. Therefore, to speak about the political will regarding the Philippines is not quite right. Compare with Singapore should not even try.

The second president was still tried on charges of corruption after he was impeached in 2000. He created a state of interaction with the casino, and was involved in transactions with the leaders of the gambling business. He was judged with the phrase "threat to the economic security of the state." Despite this, in the 2010 year, he took second place in the election after the current president and enjoys colossal support among the lower strata of the population. Such a specific Filipino atmosphere, which is nowhere to be found, a mixture of cultures, a mixture of religions - all this creates fertile soil for corruption. Poverty and the huge gap between the rich and the poor also do not improve the situation.

The current president has declared a crusade against corruption. Some big steps have already been made, according to the press, but in reality there are not so many of them. Under investigation is the predecessor of the head of state. She is accused of electoral frauds - obviously, there was no corruption component here. However, the outcome of the investigation is impossible to predict.

According to statistics, the Philippines occupies one of the first places in the number of elective frauds. Voters are bribed, bulletins are falsified, in general - a full set. All this is thriving in the Philippines.

It is worth emphasizing that, unlike Indonesia, in the Philippines, the army and, accordingly, the military elite, never played a significant role and began to be politicized only during the period of authoritarianism (1965-1986), but now the top of the officer corps and generals are all polls corrupt officials. There is a frank arms trade in the south of the country, where 5 million Filipinos on the border with Indonesia and Malaysia profess Islam. For many decades, there has been a bloody interfaith conflict, and negotiations between the parties are often broken, in many respects - because the supply of weapons to Muslims comes from generals and Catholic officers.

Doing any predictions now is risky. At the moment, corruption remains systemic and pervasive. Progressive and advanced elements of society, such as students and intellectuals, are very much concerned about this phenomenon. Indeed, this is one of the main problems of the country. And its main root lies in the clannishness of the bureaucracy. The elite remains closed, there is no inflow of fresh forces, and the opportunity to fight corruption, which hinders the development of the country and economic modernization, is minimal.

The material is prepared on the basis of a report from the round table HSE "Cultural perception of corruption in Indonesia and the Philippines."

Read about corruption in Indonesia: http://www.eastrussia.ru/opinion/581/582/

February 26: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Под влиянием вестерна

Филиппинская социальная среда и олигархические кланы

Под влиянием вестерна

О коррупции на Филиппинах - Юлия Лехтонова, доктор исторических наук, главный научный сотрудник Института востоковедения РАН:

Филиппины – страна намного меньше огромной Индонезии, в ней проживает 94 млн человек. Это тоже страна полиэтническая, в ней - больше ста народностей. Еще одна важная особенность заключается в том, что Филиппины до недавнего времени являлись единственной христианской страной в Юго-Восточной Азии. Теперь к ним присоединился еще и Восточный Тимор, но он очень маленький, поэтому учитывать его необязательно.

86% населения страны – католики, 6-7% исповедуют протестантизм. Филиппины – страна с тяжелой историей, жертва раннего колониализма. С конца XVI века и до конца XIX она была под властью Испании, очень отсталой европейской метрополии, которая была ориентирована на Латинскую Америку. Для понимания коррупции необходим культурно-исторический бэкграунд. Испания славилась бюрократической системой, которую она внедряла в местные богатые социальные слои, которым передавала чиновнические полномочия. Поэтому можно сказать, что вариант коррупции среди высших эшелонов власти на Филиппинах исторически обусловлен. Вторая волна колонизации (Соединенными Штатами), по распространенному среди занимающихся Филиппинами ученых мнению, привела к тому, что «из испанского монастыря» страна очутилась в Голливуде». Американцы фактически аннексировали Филиппины. Это произошло в 1901 году после победоносной революции, избавившей страну от испанского владычества. До 1946 страна оставалась американской колонией.

Основанием для коррупции стала социальная среда и олигархические кланы. Фактически, Филиппины – единственная страна с либеральной демократией в Юго-Восточной Азии, но при этом существует некая двойственность. Функционируют все демократические институты, есть Конституция, и, в общем, в массах укоренились какие-то демократические ценности. В то же время правящая элита осталась такой же погрязшей в коррупции и к тому же раздробленной на кланы. Таким образом, одно из самых вестернизированных обществ Востока оказывается под очень сильным давлением традиционализма. Это специфика Филиппин, и она проявляется во всем. И коррупция, конечно, просто составная часть этой тенденции.

Сейчас мы можем говорить о системной коррупции. Многие социологи и политологи страны, к слову и социология, и политология на Филиппинах очень развиты, называют коррупцию «эндемичной». Корни уходят ее очень глубоко - еще в доколониальный период. И действительно, какие-то обычаи сохранились и находятся на низовых социальных ярусах. Это взаимозависимость и взаимные благодарности, и на низшем уровне тяжело провести границу – даете вы взятку или просто благодарите, но это все равно коррумпированное поведение. Один из случаев – когда прихожане приносят что-либо в дар священнику. Этот вид коррупции является всепроникающим. И мое впечатление, что перспективы в этом отношении для Филиппин очень пессимистичны.

Первому президенту Филиппин и его семье предъявили обвинения в казнокрадстве, но дело не дошло до суда. Его жена недавно стала членом нижней палаты конгресса, а сын – сенатором. Получается какая-то трясина, из которой невозможно выбраться, и все это идет сверху. Поэтому говорить в отношении Филиппин о политической воле – не совсем верно. Сравнивать с Сингапуром не стоит даже пытаться.

Второго президента все же судили по обвинению в коррупции – после того как он получил импичмент в 2000 году. Он создал состояние на взаимодействии с казино, и был замешан в сделках с главарями игорного бизнеса. Судили его с формулировкой «угроза экономической безопасности государства». Несмотря на это, в 2010 году он занял на выборах второе место после нынешнего президента и пользуется колоссальной поддержкой среди низших слоев населения. Такая специфическая филиппинская атмосфера, которой нигде нет, смешение культур, смешение религий – все это все создает питательную почву для коррупции. Нищета и огромная пропасть между богатыми и бедными тоже не улучшают ситуацию.

Нынешний президент объявил против коррупции фактически крестовый поход. Сделаны уже какие-то большие шаги, по словам прессы, но на самом деле их не так много. Под следствием находится предшественница главы государства. Ее обвиняют в махинациях, связанных с выборами, – очевидно, без коррупционной составляющей тут не обошлось. Впрочем, чем закончится расследование, предсказать невозможно.

По статистике, Филиппины занимают одно из первых мест по количеству выборных махинаций. Подкупаются избиратели, фальсифицируются бюллетени, в общем – полный набор. Все это процветает на Филиппинах.

Стоит подчеркнуть, что, в отличие от Индонезии, на Филиппинах армия и, соответственно, военная элита, никогда не играла существенной роли и начала политизироваться только в период авторитаризма (1965-1986 гг.), но сейчас верхушка офицерского корпуса и генералитет – все поголовно коррупционеры. Идет откровенная торговля оружием на юге страны, где 5 млн филиппинцев на границе с Индонезией и Малайзией исповедуют ислам. Много десятилетий там наблюдается кровавый межконфессиональный конфликт, и переговоры между сторонами зачастую срываются, во многом – потому что снабжение оружием мусульман идет со стороны генералов и офицеров-католиков.

Делать сейчас какие-то прогнозы рискованно. На данный момент коррупция остается системной и всепроникающей. Прогрессивные и передовые элементы общества, такие как студенты и интеллигенция, очень сильно озабочены этим явлением. Действительно, это одна из главных проблем страны. И главный ее корень заложен в клановости бюрократии. Элита остается закрытой, притока свежих сил нет, и возможность бороться с коррупцией, которая мешает развитию страны и экономической модернизации, минимальна.

Материал подготовлен на основе отчета с круглого стола НИУ ВШЭ «Культурное восприятие коррупции в Индонезии и Филиппинах».

Читайте материал о коррупции в Индонезии: http://www.eastrussia.ru/opinion/581/582/