Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Orthodox Mission in Tokyo

White samurai of St. Nicholas

Orthodox Mission in Tokyo

Among the approximately two dozen surviving photographs of the Tokyo Orthodox Seminary, one is a symbolic illustration of the story I want to tell today. On Fomino Sunday, April 15, 1909, at about one o'clock before the Orthodox mission in Tokyo, hundreds of parishioners, among whom the head of the mission, Archbishop Nicholas of Japan and Metropolitan Sergius, stand out for their height and European appearance. Around there are many Japanese in kimonos, and only if you take a magnifying glass in your hands, you can see several Slavic faces among the Japanese: from the thick of the crowd and the depths of the ages, the eyes of Russian seminarians - future translators, scientists, intelligence officers - the real white samurai of St. Nicholas are looking at us.

A seminary for the training of Japanese clergymen at the Orthodox mission in Tokyo was opened at the initiative of the passionate preacher of Orthodoxy, Archimandrite Nikolai (I.D. Kasatkin) in 1875. For more than 20 years, she fulfilled her task, until in February 1902, on the eve of the inevitable war, the Russian military command turned to Father Nikolai with a request to accept two Russian boys into the seminary to train them as translators from the Japanese language. Vladyka agreed, at the same time setting conditions, which he strictly observed: Russian disciples were to lead a lifestyle usual for a seminary. The military department paid for the low cost of maintaining the "fellows" who soon arrived in Tokyo: Fyodor Legasov and Alexei Romanovsky.

Two years later, a day before Japan's attack on Russia, the head of the mission wrote: "Here in the seminary two Russian boys from Port Arthur study in Japanese to be translators. They came to ask: "Do they need to leave or stay?" But where to go? In Port Arthur, it's difficult to get here. Besides, to whom are they there? One (Legasova) parents do not have any - they were killed in the Chinese war, and my uncle left, I think, to Russia; The other (Romanovsky) parents returned to Russia. They are both Cossacks. They themselves are more inclined to stay and continue their studies. Of course, it will be difficult for them. He told them to endure and remain silent, according to the proverb "Tolerate, Cossack, you'll be the ataman"; Smiled and left. "

From the diaries of St. Nicholas it is obvious what sincere sympathy he felt for his first Russian disciples. At the very end of the war, when tens of thousands of Russian prisoners of war were in Japan, but free Russians were still only three for the whole of Japan: they and Vladika Nicholas, the "Cossacks" on assignment from the head of the mission assisted in translations, and the archbishop noted their progress in the Japanese Language: "At the exam in 3-I class seminary in civil history; 32 pupil and two Russian. Class is good, many capable; Almost all responded well. Russian - Romanovsky and Legasov - are on par with the Japanese; They learned the same thing and spoke almost as fluently as they did. "

After completing their emergency training, the seminarians left for their places of service, and here again it is worth quoting their teacher: “June 14/27, 1906. Wednesday. In the morning, sent to Vladivostok, through Tsuruga, from the seminary, pupils Theodor Legasov and Andrei Romanovsky, whom in 1902 had been sent here from Port Arthur as 14-year-old boys to learn the Japanese language and become translators, Admiral Eug. Yves. Alekseev. They began to speak Japanese just like the Japanese; learned the written language before reading newspapers and easy books; in addition, they received a general education with the local seminarians ... They were sent here for two or three years, but stayed four; I wanted to bring them to the end of the seminar course, but they were already bored here, although the comrades were very good with them, even during the war they treated them delicately. They lived here at school in a completely Japanese way - in a Japanese dress, on Japanese food, and were always healthy. "

In place of the first two, whole groups of future dragoman interpreters set off for the seminary, the need for which in the army clearly showed the Russian command the lost war. The exact number and composition of the Russian pupils of the Tokyo Orthodox Seminary is still a mystery - none of the documents available today contains exhaustive information on this topic. Surname to us we know 23 rights, of which at least 10 have been deducted for various reasons: from the inability to the Japanese language to obscene behavior. In the latter case, each such incident was a blow to the image of the seminary, the church and Russia as a whole, but the lord was adamant, believing that the Russian seminarian should represent the homeland only in an exemplary way and in no other way.

Despite the fact that Archbishop Nicholas knew about the military mission of his young compatriots (as, indeed, many Japanese students who had gone to the service in the Japanese army), he repeatedly stressed that the main task of the seminary is quite different: "... Another request Take the student to the seminary: the Harbin Consul-General intercedes for it. There is no hindrance. Absolutely tired. Immediately sent a refusal stating that the local seminary has a special purpose - it prepares ministers for the Japanese Church, and that a large number of Russian students in it may interfere with the fulfillment of this appointment. "

Father Nicholas was not always satisfied with the quality of the "material" for training. The diaries are full of records that some Russian students can not cope with seminary training, where even in their free time they could not talk to each other in their native language: only in Japanese! On the other hand, we know about some of the seminarians only thanks to the fact that once their answers in the exams struck St. Nicholas: "In the morning, I examined the 2 class of the seminary, 12 person, according to sacred history; All answered well. Examined with them and two Russian, of which Skazhutin so well and in such a correct language answered in Japanese that if you do not look at him, but only listen, you will not know what the Japanese is saying. "

However, in Russian, scholarship holders of the district headquarters nevertheless spoke - with the Japanese. One of the best students, Isidore Neznayka, recalled the collaboration with the famous Japanese translator Senuma Kae in translating the works of Russian classics into Japanese. The wife of the rector of the seminary K. Senuma became famous for her works, first in Japan, translating the works of A. P. Chekhov into Japanese. Vladika Nikolai encouraged the work of the Japanese seminarians in translating Russian authors into Japanese, noting that "after falling in love with Pushkin and Tolstoy, the Japanese can not fail to love Russia."

The question of how much the seminarians themselves fell in love with Japan remains open, but somehow most of them have linked their lives with this country. At the same time, the biographies of the graduates of the seminary, known to us, reveal pictures of amazing devotion to their homeland, patriotism, which is not always believed from the standpoint of today.

The already mentioned Isidor Neznaiko graduated from seminary in 1912 and went to the capital of "Russian China" - Harbin, where he served at the headquarters of the Separate Border Guard District "with his distinctive diligence, accuracy and conscientiousness, showing in all cases (according to the Japanese) excellent knowledge Japanese language ". Professor D. M. Pozdneev, who once took his exams in Tokyo, fulfilling the instructions of the Soviet military intelligence in Manchuria in 1926, wrote about him: “With regard to the Japanese language <...> there is one employee Neznaiko for the entire CER, who is acceleration and now has long been absent from the translation room, as it is associated all the time with the Mukden conferences. " Throughout his further service (and I. Ya. Neznaiko served until 1954 on various sections and branches of the Chinese railways), he headed the translation departments, amazing with his perfect command of the Japanese language. Here is a funny and very characteristic clipping from an article in one of the Harbin newspapers: “Isidor Yakovlevich Neznaiko is a complete“ unknown ”. His Japanese speech immediately evokes the lush chrysanthemums and almond-shaped eyes of adorable geishas. No wonder even the Japanese, getting acquainted with I. Ya. On the street, at the end of the conversation ask him to take off his hat to make sure by the color of his hair that he is not their compatriot. Of course, I. I." he took the Japanese language very seriously. This is evidenced by his publication in Shanghai in 1942, "Textbook of Practical Nippon Language with the Appendix of Practical Conversations and a Dictionary," where the foreword expresses gratitude to the teachers of the Tokyo Seminary. At the end of his life, Neznaiko returned to his homeland - to the Soviet Union, where he died in 1968, becoming one of the few Japaneseists who were not affected by the repression. But it was only in 2012 that his grandson received documents from the archive showing that all his life I. Ya. Neznaiko carried out the mission entrusted to him when he was sent to the seminary - "... was a secret signalman" with the Russian and Soviet intelligence agencies in China ...

The fate of his classmate Vladimir Pleshakov is known to us so far only on scrappy mentions in scientific works and the investigative case of the NKVD. A participant in the World War, during the civil war he served in the intelligence service of the Kolchak army, where he dealt with "eastern issues". Perhaps, with his secret assistance, which covered the true plans of Japan for the annexation of the Russian Far East, the Supreme Ruler refused military cooperation with Tokyo. Then there were years of work in the residence of Soviet intelligence in Japan and China. In 1937, the recently returned to the USSR interpreter of the NKVD cipher department, Pleshakov was shot on false charges of espionage in favor of Japan. Rehabilitated in 1957 year. Recently received in one of the Tokyo archives numerous documents of the Japanese secret police to monitor this "suspicious Russian" are still waiting for decoding and translation ...

Rehabilitated relatives and another shot in 1938, the former seminarian - Trofim Yurkevich. During his studies at the seminary, he was among the best in the Japanese language, and it was not by chance that Vladyka Nicholas chose it, when the hero of Port Arthur and Mukden Marshal Oyama addressed the seminary with a request to find a Russian teenager who could tell his son about Russia. Trofim Yurkevich before the revolution managed to finish still the Eastern Institute, becoming one of the first Russian licensed saponists, and the Orenburg Cossack School. Sotnik Yurkevich met the Civil War, conducted her "adjutant for Cossack affairs" at Kolchak headquarters and in the military communications department of the Japanese expeditionary corps in Vladivostok, while remaining ... an agent of the "R" of the Far Eastern Bolshevik intelligence.

His friend and compatriot of the Sakhalinites, Vasily Oschepkov, remains today the only well-known student of St. Nicholas of Japan. His biography was devoted to the article "The Chatterbox, who knew how to unleash languages" in the June issue (No. 2 (23), 2012) of the journal "Russia in the Asia-Pacific Region". Books are written about this person, performances are staged, one day they will definitely make a movie. On the days of the APEC summit in Vladivostok in September 2012, the first monument to Vasily Oshchepkov as a propagandist of Japanese judo and Soviet sambo was unveiled in one of the sports complexes of the capital of Primorye.

However, the role of Oschepkov, Yurkevich, Pleshakov, Neznaiko and all other seminarians in the history of our country, their example of noble and tragic service to the Fatherland, are still not fully known and not appreciated. In one of Oschepkova’s newly secret “affairs”, the phrase written by him was preserved, under which all of his friends could subscribe - real “white samurai”: “I am a true Russian patriot, although brought up in a Japanese school. But this school taught me to love, first of all, my people and Russia. I was raised at the expense of the Russian army to devote myself to the eternal service to the motherland. They were the disciples of St. Nicholas, who managed to unite in their hearts the Russian fervor of the characters and the samurai devotion to the ideals of the service, and they did so.

June 17: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Православная миссия в Токио

Белые самураи святителя Николая

Православная миссия в Токио

Среди примерно двух десятков сохранившихся фотографий Токийской православной семинарии один снимок служит символической иллюстрацией той истории, что я хочу сегодня рассказать. В Фомино воскресенье 15 апреля 1909 года около часа дня перед православной миссией в Токио сотни прихожан, среди которых ростом и европейской внешностью выделяются глава миссии архиепископ Николай Японский и митрополит Сергий. Вокруг – множество японцев в кимоно, и только если взять в руки лупу, можно разглядеть среди японских лиц несколько славянских: из гущи толпы и глубины веков на нас смотрят глаза русских семинаристов – будущих переводчиков, ученых, разведчиков – настоящих белых самураев святителя Николая.

Семинария для подготовки японских церковнослужителей при православной миссии в Токио была открыта по инициативе страстного проповедника православия архимандрита Николая (И. Д. Касаткина) в 1875 году. Более 20 лет она выполняла свою задачу, пока в феврале 1902 года, в преддверии неизбежной войны, к отцу Николаю не обратилось русское военное командование с просьбой принять в семинарию двух русских мальчиков для обучения их на переводчиков с японского языка. Владыка согласился, поставив при этом условия, за неукоснительным соблюдением которых следил: русские ученики должны были вести образ жизни, обычный для семинарии. Военное ведомство оплатило невысокую стоимость содержания «стипендиатов», вскоре прибывших в Токио: Федора Легасова и Алексея Романовского.

Через два года, за сутки до нападения Японии на Россию, глава миссии записал: «Здесь в семинарии учатся японскому языку два русских мальчика из Порт-Артура, чтобы быть потом переводчиками. Приходили спрашивать: «Им уезжать или оставаться?» Но куда же уезжать? В Порт-Артур теперь и попасть трудно. Притом, к кому им там? У одного (Легасова) родителей совсем нет – убиты были в Китайскую войну, а дядя уехал, кажется, в Россию; у другого (Романовского) родители вернулись в Россию. Оба они казачата. Они и сами больше склонны к тому, чтоб остаться и продолжать занятия. Конечно, им трудно будет. Сказал им терпеть и молчать, по пословице «Терпи, казак, атаманом будешь»; улыбнулись и ушли».

Из дневников святителя Николая очевидно, какую искреннюю симпатию он испытывал к своим первым русским ученикам. В самом конце войны, когда в Японии находились десятки тысяч русских военнопленных, но свободных россиян по-прежнему было всего трое на всю Японию: они и владыка Николай, «казачата» по заданию главы миссии помогали в переводах, а архиепископ отмечал их успехи в японском языке: «На экзамене в 3-ем классе семинарии по гражданской истории; 32 ученика и два русских. Класс хороший, много способных; отвечали хорошо почти все. Русские – Романовский и Легасов – идут наравне с японцами; то же самое выучили и почти так же складно говорят, как они».

Окончив наполненное чрезвычайными обстоятельствами обучение, семинаристы уехали к местам службы, и здесь снова стоит процитировать их учителя: «14/27 июня 1906. Среда. Утром отправлены во Владивосток, чрез Цуруга, из семинарии воспитанники Феодор Легасов и Андрей Романовский, которых в 1902 году прислал сюда из Порт-Артура 14-летними мальчиками, чтобы научиться японскому языку и сделаться переводчиками, адмирал Евг. Ив. Алексеев. Они стали говорить по-японски совершенно как японцы; изучили и письменный язык до чтения газет и нетрудных книг; кроме того, со здешними семинаристами получали общее образование… Присланы они сюда на два-три года, но пробыли четыре; хотел я довести их до окончания семинарского курса, но им уже наскучило здесь, хотя товарищи были с ними очень хорошо, даже и во время войны обращались с ними деликатно. Жили они здесь в школе совсем по-японски – в японском платье, на японской пище, и были всегда здоровы».

На смену первой двойке в семинарию отправились целые группы будущих переводчиков-драгоманов, необходимость которых в армии со всей очевидностью показала русскому командованию проигранная война. Точная численность и состав русских учеников Токийской православной семинарии до сих пор остается загадкой – ни в одном из доступных ныне документов не содержится исчерпывающей информации на эту тему. Пофамильно нам известны 23 человека, из которых не менее 10 были отчислены по разным причинам: от неспособности к японскому языку до непристойного поведения. В последнем случае каждый такой инцидент был ударом по имиджу семинарии, церкви и России в целом, но владыка был непреклонен, считая, что русский семинарист должен представлять родину только образцово и никак иначе.

Несмотря на то что архиепископ Николай знал о военном предназначении своих юных соотечественников (как, впрочем, и многих студентов-японцев, ушедших на службу в японскую армию), он не раз подчеркивал, что главная задача семинарии заключается совсем в ином: «…Еще просьба принять ученика в семинарию: харбинский генеральный консул ходатайствует за оного. Отбою нет. Совсем надоели. Тотчас же послал отказ с указанием, что здешняя семинария имеет специальное назначение – готовит служителей для Японской Церкви, и что большое количество русских учеников в ней может мешать исполнению этого назначения».

Не всегда был доволен отец Николай и качеством «материала» для обучения. Дневники пестрят записями о том, что некоторые русские ученики не справляются с обучением в семинарии, где даже в свободное время разговаривать друг с другом на родном языке им было запрещено: только по-японски! С другой стороны, о некоторых из семинаристов мы вообще сегодня знаем только благодаря тому, что когда-то их ответы на экзаменах поразили святителя Николая: «Утром экзаменовал 2-й класс семинарии, 12 человек, по священной истории; все отвечали хорошо. Экзаменовались с ними и двое русских, из которых Скажутин так хорошо и таким правильным языком отвечал по-японски, что, если не смотреть на него, а только слушать, не узнаешь, что говорит не японец».

Однако по-русски стипендиаты штаба округа все же говорили – с японцами. Один из лучших учеников Исидор Незнайко вспоминал о сотрудничестве с известной японской переводчицей Сэнума Кае в переводах на японский язык произведений русских классиков. Жена ректора семинарии К. Сэнума прославилась своими, первыми в Японии, переводами на японский язык произведений А. П. Чехова. Владыка Николай всячески поощрял работу японских семинаристов по переводу русских авторов на японский язык, отмечая, что, «полюбив Пушкина и Толстого, японцы не смогут не полюбить Россию».

Вопрос о том, насколько сами семинаристы полюбили Японию, остается открытым, но, так или иначе, большинство из них связали свою жизнь с этой страной. При этом известные нам биографии выпускников семинарии открывают картины удивительной преданности своей родине, патриотизма, в который с позиций сегодняшнего времени даже не всегда верится.

Уже упоминавшийся Исидор Незнайко окончил семинарию в 1912 году и отправился в столицу «русского Китая» – Харбин, где проходил службу в штабе Отдельного округа пограничной стражи «с отличающей его старательностью, точностью и добросовестностью, проявляя во всех случаях (по отзывам японцев) прекрасное знание японского языка». Принимавший когда-то у него экзамены в Токио профессор Д. М. Позднеев, выполняя в 1926 году в Маньчжурии поручения советской военной разведки, писал о нем: «В отношении японского языка <…> на всю КВЖД имеется один работник Незнайко, который в постоянном разгоне и теперь давно уже отсутствует из переводческой комнаты, так как связан все время с Мукденскими конференциями». Всю свою дальнейшую службу (а И. Я. Незнайко до 1954 года прослужил на различных участках и ответвлениях китайских железных дорог) он возглавлял переводческие отделы, изумляя совершенным владением японским языком. Вот забавная и очень характерная вырезка из статьи в одной из харбинских газет: «Исидор Яковлевич Незнайко – сплошное «неизвецио». Его японская речь немедленно вызывает в представлении присутствующих пышные хризантемы и миндалевидные глазки прелестных гейш. Недаром даже японцы, знакомясь с И. Я. на улице, в заключение беседы просят его снять шляпу, чтобы убедиться по цвету волос, что он не их соотечественник». Разумеется, сам «И. Я.» к японскому языку относился со всей серьезностью. Свидетельство тому – выпущенный им в Шанхае в 1942 году «Учебник практического ниппонского языка с приложением практических разговоров и словаря», где в предисловии выражена благодарность наставникам токийской семинарии. В конце жизни Незнайко вернулся на родину – в Советский Союз, где скончался в 1968 году, став одним из немногих японистов, которых не затронули репрессии. Но только в 2012 году его внук получил из архива документы, свидетельствующие о том, что всю свою жизнь И. Я. Незнайко выполнял миссию, возложенную на него при отправлении в семинарию, – «…состоял секретным связистом» с органами русской и советской разведки в Китае…

Судьба его однокашника Владимира Плешакова известна нам пока только по обрывочным упоминаниям в научных работах и следственному делу НКВД. Участник мировой войны, в годы войны гражданской он служил в разведке армии Колчака, где занимался «восточными вопросами». Возможно, при его тайном содействии, заключавшемся в освещении истинных планов Японии по аннексии российского Дальнего Востока, Верховный правитель отказался от военного сотрудничества с Токио. Потом были годы работы в резидентуре советской разведки в Японии и Китае. В 1937 году недавно вернувшийся в СССР переводчик шифровального отдела НКВД Плешаков был расстрелян по ложному обвинению в шпионаже в пользу Японии. Реабилитирован в 1957 году. Полученные недавно в одном из токийских архивов многочисленные документы японской тайной полиции по наблюдению за этим «подозрительным русским» еще ждут расшифровки и перевода…

Добились реабилитации родственники и еще одного расстрелянного в 1938 году бывшего семинариста – Трофима Юркевича. В годы обучения в семинарии он был в числе лучших по японскому языку, и неслучайно владыка Николай выбрал именно его, когда в семинарию обратился герой Порт-Артура и Мукдена маршал Ояма с просьбой подобрать русского подростка, который мог бы рассказать о России его сыну. Трофим Юркевич до революции успел окончить еще Восточный институт, став одним из первых русских дипломированных японоведов, и Оренбургское казачье училище. Сотником Юркевич встретил Гражданскую войну, провел ее «адъютантом по казачьим делам» в штабе Колчака и в управлении военных сообщений японского экспедиционного корпуса во Владивостоке, оставаясь при этом… агентом «Р» дальневосточной большевистской разведки.

Его друг и земляк сахалинец Василий Ощепков остается сегодня единственным известным широкому кругу учеником святителя Николая Японского. Его биографии была посвящена статья «Болтун, который умел развязывать языки» в июньском (№2 (23), 2012) номере журнала «Россия в АТР». Об этом человеке пишут книги, ставят спектакли, когда-нибудь обязательно снимут кино. В дни проведения саммита АТЭС во Владивостоке в сентябре 2012 года в одном из спорткомплексов столицы Приморья был открыт первый памятник Василию Ощепкову как пропагандисту японского дзюдо и советского самбо, сделать которое олимпийским видом спорта, похоже, окончательно решено в Кремле.

Однако роль Ощепкова, Юркевича, Плешакова, Незнайко и всех остальных семинаристов в истории нашей страны, их пример благородного и трагичного служения Отечеству до сих пор до конца не известны и не оценены по достоинству. В одном из вновь засекреченных недавно «дел» Ощепкова сохранилась написанная им фраза, под которой могли бы подписаться все его друзья – настоящие «белые самураи»: «Я истинный русский патриот, хотя и воспитанный в японской школе. Но эта школа научила меня любить, прежде всего, свой народ и Россию. Я воспитывался на средства русской армии, чтобы посвятить себя вечному служению Родине». Они – воспитанники святителя Николая, сумевшие соединить в душе русскую пылкость характеров и самурайскую преданность идеалам службы, так и поступили.