Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
Nelly Miz, Vladivostok: walking into the past - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Read Vladivostok on pebbles

Nelly Miz's book "Vladivostok: walks into the past" invites you to an exciting historical journey through the streets, squares, houses, fates and characters of the seaside capital

Read Vladivostok on pebbles

"Vladivostok: walking into the past." Nelli Mizi, Society for the Study of the Amur Region.
Author and project and publisher: Alexander Filkin

Imagine a stately plump woman with two orders on her chest, a clever look and a strong fold of lips - this is Anna Kravtsova. Prior to arriving in Vladivostok, she led the choir at the St. Petersburg Patriotic Institute, then moved after her military husband to the outskirts of Russia and stayed here as head of the Alekseevskaya Women's High School for more than 20 years. And when she fell seriously ill in 1922, she wasn’t needed by the new Soviet government and was practically thrown out onto the street. She emigrated to China, worked there in a Russian school and died in Shanghai. And the building of the women's gymnasium still pleases the eye on Uborevicha Street, 8.

Or here: a whole bunch of players in the lotto in a stuffy little room in the building of the Assembly of clerks. "... Balzac's ladies and skinny girls, wives of officials and employees who receive pennies and huddle in the Korean and Sailor suburbs. Attracts them here ... hope, joking, to take advantage of other people's money. " This is happening in the present Pushkin Theater.

But "tipsy local merchants" for the first time in their life see a demonstration of the cinema and are betting that "actors are playing behind the canvas, and they are being fooled ..." The cinema is shown in a building that has not been preserved to this day at the intersection of Svetlanskaya and Uborevich.

And very close (in time and space) enterprising Swiss Rudolf Bürgen voluntarily renounces Swiss citizenship and swears the oath of the Russian Empire and the tsar. He builds factories and houses in Vladivostok. And then, in 1920-ies, he fled from the Soviet power to China with his Russian wife and 17 children. Grandchildren and great-grandchildren of whom will return to Vladivostok only in the 21st century - as ordinary tourists from Geneva. Look at the houses that Grandfather built.

Or the merchant Ivanov, a desperate business man. He is engaged in "business without a penny of money in his pocket"; On the eve of declaring him insolvent, he builds "that brewery, then the hall for theatrical performances", then he looks for a silver mine. Despite his adventurous nature, he will still build a magnificent theater "Pacific Ocean". Luxurious building on Svetlanskaya, 1 ...



Inattentive reader of the book Nelly Miz "Vladivostok: walking into the past" can decide that this book is about buildings and streets. He may even seem that the author has set himself a rather ambitious (but rather meaningless) task to "disassemble" Vladivostok in pebbles, in bricks. To document every least significant construction built before the year 1917, to fix an endless series of construction projects, renovations, demolitions, new construction projects and new destruction.

However, like any good book, the work of Nelly Miz'i - with a double bottom. Of course, this book is not about houses and architecture (although about them too), but about people and fates.

Perfectly published, richly illustrated, this book takes the reader by the arm and leads along the streets of old Vladivostok, simultaneously telling about the fates of people, leading extensive quotes from documents and newspapers. This book is an excellent companion and guide to the past.

The pages seem to come alive bright characters from the past and again populate the city, which in fact no longer exists. That city will disappear after 20-ies of XX century ... Then fate will make a sharp turn, and in Vladivostok will start to live quite different people - with other values, landmarks, attitudes.

And the city will forget itself for a long time, as if it will be forgotten by a dream - and only now, in the twenty-first century, it suddenly remembers what its true flesh and blood actually is: healthy adventurism, entrepreneurship, creative initiative, openness to the whole world, pride and perseverance of the discoverer .

And buildings? They are still like mirrors of their time and their masters: some sparkle and flourish in spite of time and adversity, and others die without even being born.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Прочитать Владивосток по камушкам

Книга Нелли Мизь «Владивосток: прогулки в прошлое» приглашает в увлекательное историческое путешествие по улицам, скверам, домам, судьбам и характерам приморской столицы

Прочитать Владивосток по камушкам

«Владивосток: прогулки в прошлое». Нелли Мизь, Общество изучения Амурского края. 
Автор и проекта и издатель: Александр Филькин

Представьте себе статную полную женщину с двумя орденам на груди, умным взглядом и волевой складкой губ – это Анна Кравцова. До приезда во Владивосток она руководила хором в Петербургском патриотическом институте, затем переехала вслед за мужем-военным на окраину России и здесь пробыла начальницей Алексеевской женской гимназии более 20 лет. А когда тяжело заболела в 1922 году, то оказалась не нужной новой советской власти и практически была выкинута на улицу. Эмигрировала в Китай, работала там в русском училище и скончалась в Шанхае. А здание женской гимназии до сих пор радует глаз на улице Уборевича, 8.

Или вот: целая орава игроков в лото в душной комнатке в здании Собрания приказчиков. «…Бальзаковские дамы и тощие девицы, жены чиновников и служащих, получающих гроши и ютящиеся в Корейских и Матросских слободках. Влечет их сюда <…> надежда, шутя, воспользоваться чужими деньгами». Дело происходит в нынешнем Пушкинском театре.

А вот «подвыпившие местные купчики» впервые в жизни видят демонстрацию синематографа и бьются о заклад, что «за полотном играют актеры, а их дурачат…» Кино показывают в несохранившемся до наших дней здании на пересечении улиц Светланской и Уборевича.

А совсем неподалеку (во времени и пространстве) предприимчивый швейцарец Рудольф Бюрген по своей воле отказывается от швейцарского гражданства и приносит присягу Российской Империи и царю. Строит во Владивостоке фабрики и дома. А потом, в 1920-х годах, бежит от советской власти в Китай со своей русской женой и 17-ю детьми. Внуки и правнуки которых вернутся во Владивосток лишь в ХХI веке – в качестве обычных экскурсантов из Женевы. Смотреть на дома, которые построил дед.

Или вот купец Иванов, отчаянный делец. Он занимается «предпринимательством без копейки денег в кармане»; накануне объявления его несостоятельным он строит «то пивоваренный завод, то залу для театральных представлений», то отыскивает серебряный рудник. Несмотря на свой авантюрный характер, он все-таки отстроит великолепный театр «Тихий океан». Роскошное здание на Светланской, 1…

Невнимательный читатель книги Нелли Мизь «Владивосток: прогулки в прошлое» может решить, что книга эта – про здания и улицы. Ему может даже показаться, будто автор ставил перед собой довольно амбициозную (но и довольно бессмысленную) задачу «разобрать» Владивосток по камушкам, по кирпичикам. Задокументировать каждую мало-мальски значимую постройку, возведенную до 1917 года, зафиксировать нескончаемую череду строек, реноваций, разрушений, новых строек и новых разрушений.

Однако, как любая хорошая книга, произведение Нелли Мизь – с двойным дном. Конечно, же это книга не о домах и архитектуре (хотя и о них тоже), но о людях и судьбах.

Прекрасно изданная, богато иллюстрированная, это книга берет читателя под руку и ведет по улицам старого Владивостока, попутно рассказывая о судьбах людей, приводя обширные цитаты из документов и газет. Эта книга — отличный собеседник и проводник в прошлое.

На страницах словно оживают яркие типажи из прошлого и снова заселяют город, которого по сути больше не существует. Тот город исчезнет после 20-х годов XX века…  Тогда судьба сделает крутой поворот, и во Владивостоке станут жить совсем другие люди – с другими ценностями, ориентирами, установками. 

И город на долгое время забудет себя, словно забудется сном – и лишь сейчас, в ХХI веке, вдруг вспомнит, что на самом деле составляет его истинную плоть и кровь: здоровый авантюризм, предпринимательство, творческая инициатива, открытость всему миру, гордость и стойкость первооткрывателя.

А здания? Они по-прежнему как зеркала своего времени и своих хозяев: какие-то сверкают и процветают вопреки времени и невзгодам, а иные – умирают, даже не родившись.