Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

"Promoting the Far Eastern Regions Needs Information Accents"

"Promoting the Far Eastern Regions Needs Information Accents"

Vladislav Shulaev

Co-Chairman of the RASO Committee for Branding and Promotion of Territories, Director for Promotion of the Territories of the AGT Communications Agency

AGT experts told EastRussia what and how Russian regions were reported in foreign media in 2014.

The Smyslografiya analytical agency, which is part of the AGT communication group, and Dow Jones conducted a regular study of the perception of Russian regions by the leading English-language media. The methodology developed by Smyslografiya agency specialists includes a quantitative and qualitative study of references to the subjects of the Russian Federation, analyzed using the materials of the Factiva.com information and analytical service in the TOP-100 leading English-language media, including The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones Newswire, The Economist, The Guardian , Washington Post and others.

The total score assigned to each territory takes into account the assessment of the region both in the number of its references and in the proportion of favorable publications. Moscow was excluded from the general rating, since its comparison with other subjects of the federation was considered methodologically incorrect due to the federal and international agenda connected with it. Also, the Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol were not taken into account in the ranking, since there was no basis for them to compare with the previous period.

TOP-10 ranking, 2014 year

Current location in 2014 year

Region

Overall score

Change in rank in comparison with 2013 year

1

The Republic of Tatarstan

141

+6

2

Perm

140

+4

3

Sakhalin Region

139

-2

4

KhMAO-Ugra

137

-1

5-6

Samara region

136

+4

5-6

The Republic of Mordovia

136

31

7

Tula region

135

58

8

Tomsk region

131

-6

9-10

Krasnodar

127

-5

9-10

Primorsky Krai

127

+1

As in the previous year, Russian regions appear in foreign media primarily in connection with sports events (especially matches of the football premier league), as well as in connection with projects in the fuel and energy sector. This is especially true in relation to the subjects of the federation that took the top lines of the rating. In addition, it should be noted that the TOP-10 has a high level of continuity of results compared to 2013. Only two regions from the top ten were not represented in it a year earlier - the Republic of Mordovia and the Tula region.

Leadership in the rating was captured by the Republic of Tatarstan, and this is due to a very large extent with sports stories - both current and promising. From the first, one can note the performances of FC Rubin, and from the future - the holding of the World Aquatics Championship in Kazan in 2015, as well as the matches of the World Cup in 2018. In general, football plays the role of almost a key driver in the international promotion of Russian territories: for both newcomers to the top ten in the ranking, 2014 was marked by the entry of the respective regional team into the top division of Russian football (Mordovia, Arsenal). In the case of Mordovia, additional interest from foreign media was caused by the choice of Saransk as one of the cities for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. In the Tula region, another story that attracted attention abroad turned out to be not related to sports: it concerns the construction of the Great Wall Motor car plant.

The Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug acts as a kind of model of the Russian region, interesting for the English-language media due to the combination of two key components in its agenda that attract special attention, namely sports and oil. Along with the discussion of the resource potential of the territory, foreign media did not fail to touch on the theme of the World Chess Championship held in the region and the annual biathlon World Cup.

From the leading Russian regions, the same can be said about the Samara region (whose football team, however, left the Premier League at the end of the 2013–2014 season) and about the Republic of Bashkortostan, which is directly adjacent to the top ten (11th line of the rating), where, along with the arrival of FC Ufa in the top football division, the media drew attention to the activities of Bashneft.

On the contrary, the Sakhalin Oblast and Primorsky Krai are mentioned exclusively in the context of oil and gas projects: Sakhalin-1, Sakhalin-2, Vladivostok-LNG. It is significant that, along with production, foreign media pay attention to the export of oil products from the Sakhalin Region and liquefied natural gas from Primorye.

The decline in positions in the ranking in 2014 is sometimes less due to natural or man-made emergencies, and to a greater extent - claims of foreign media, which sometimes have a political connotation. For example, the loss of a place in the TOP-10 by the Kaliningrad region is explained by an increase in materials of a negative nature, in which the region is linked to the "military threat to Russia", violation of the airspace of the European Union, the refusal of the Russian Federation from an agreement with Lithuania on mutual military inspections carried out on Russian territory. in the Kaliningrad region.

At the same time, in other cases, traditional factors also retain significance. Thus, the record fall of the Saratov region (which lost its 42 position) was due to the coverage of the fire in the English-language media at the Rosneft refinery in the region, as well as the illegal activities of a local resident who wrote and sold computer viruses.

Vladislav Shulaev, director of territorial promotion of the AGT communication agency, highlighted several aspects in the next communication rating, including those related to the regions of the Far East. “It is noteworthy that according to the results of 2014, not a single capital of the federal district remained in the top ten leaders of the Russian rating. This is a fixation of the emerging tendency that in interaction with the foreign information field, the administrative resource is not decisive. The Far Eastern Federal District is no exception, where the leadership of the Sakhalin Oblast in the English-speaking media field has been confirmed for all four years of the rating, ”Shulaev notes.

According to him, according to the study, the regions of the Far East in 2014 were characterized by "paired" leading news stories. The visits of the President of Russia were among the main news of the Khabarovsk Territory and the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia): Vladimir Putin's New Year's address sounded from Khabarovsk, and the President's visit to Yakutia was associated with the start of the construction of the Russia-China gas pipeline. The trip of the North Korean ambassador was among the events most noticed by foreign media in the Primorsky and Khabarovsk regions. Interaction with China became the main news topic of the English-language media field for the Jewish Autonomous Region (trade relations of the region with the Chinese province of Heilunjiang) and for the Amur Region - infrastructure projects with China and the activities of Chinese resellers in connection with the ruble exchange rate.

The accident of a South Korean ship in the Bering Sea became one of the main topics of messages about Chukotka and the Kamchatka Territory - the situation was commented on by the rescue service of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. For Chukotka and Yakutia, information drivers were also prehistoric finds: a giant Stone Age virus found in permafrost in Chukotka and a Yakut mammoth exhibited last year in Moscow. The Sakhalin Oblast and the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) were mentioned more often in international commentaries on sanctions.

Only the main foreign news of Magadan turned out to be "unique": the emphasis on Ukrainian refugees who came to Russia and settled in Magadan, as well as the growing popularity of extreme tourism by foreigners in the Magadan region. Another notable Far Eastern topic in the foreign media field was the test of the Bulava missile with the defeat of a conditional target on the Kamchatka Peninsula, ”says the expert.

As for the use of key informational reasons - "passes" in the English-speaking media field, the eastern regions of Russia used them only partially. Not a single region of the Far Eastern Federal District took advantage of the information dividends of major sporting events for promotion in the English-speaking media field. Ice hockey and bandy, popular in the Russian East, do not provide such a media effect as football and the stages of the Biathlon World Cup. The discoveries of new deposits and the beginning of their development, if they were in 2014, did not become the property of foreign media, Shulaev emphasizes.

The expert adds that “the long-term entry of the Sakhalin Region into the number of Russian regions-leaders in foreign media demonstrates an example of an effective communication standard for an investment-friendly presence in the English-language information field. This standard set can include an annual international industry forum, a regional news agency and regular news of projects of the largest world and Russian manufacturing companies in the region. "

So, following this standard, you can confidently prescribe some predictable steps in terms of effectiveness to promote the regions of the Far Eastern Federal District in foreign media and increase investment attractiveness. First, we look forward to the return of the annual international forum in Vladivostok, which publicly continues the APEC-2012 cause. Secondly, the influence of the Power of Siberia brand should be converted into a forum of the same name dedicated to the modern energy sector of the macroregion. It would be logical to hold it in Yakutia, because so far the republican Chayandinskoye field will be the main source of gas planned for transportation. In addition, in Yakutia, one of the sunniest territories in Russia, an alternative - solar - energy is now actively developing.

Third, given the intensity of the flow of news on cooperation with China and the prospect of such cooperation, an emphasis is being asked on the form of a specialized annual Russian-Chinese event, such as a forum-exhibition, in Birobidzhan or Blagoveshchensk. Finally, Khabarovsk should clearly state its status as Russia's eastern gate in the media field. Possessing a unique intermodal transport hub, located not so far from the space port under construction Vostochny and the ice-free seaport of Vladivostok, Khabarovsk can claim to hold a regular logistics forum on the eve of the construction of the landmark gas pipeline and high-speed trans-Siberian trunk line.

DFO rating, 2014 year

Current location in 2014 year

Region

Overall score

Change in rank in comparison with 2013 year

3

Sakhalin Region

139

-2

9-10

Primorsky Krai

127

+1

14

Khabarovsk Krai

122

+8

25-28

The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)

100

+6

45-46

Kamchatka

81

0

49-50

Amur Region

75

24

49-50

Magadan region

75

22 th

66

Chukotka Autonomous Okrug

51

33 th

74-75

The Jewish Autonomous Region

39

+3

At the same time, efforts to promote the regions should be regular, otherwise there is a high probability of a serious loss of positions. “The example of the Altai Territory, which lost 41 positions in a year, is indicative. In 2014, the Altai Territory actually did not engage in its own promotion in the English-speaking media field and took 77th place out of 82 regions, thereby significantly reducing the effectiveness of its largely exemplary work to create investment and tourism attractiveness, "Shulaev emphasizes.

In the opinion of Grigory Kislin, director of the analytical department of the Smyslografiya agency, the rating of regions-2014 substantially continues the trends that were outlined earlier. “The information and image impulse that the Far Eastern territories received thanks to the 2012 APEC summit is still reflected in the global information space. The consistently high positions of the Sakhalin Oblast and Primorsky Krai indicate that the Anglo-Saxon media understands the importance and long-term nature of Russia's turn in the Pacific, ”Kislin notes.

The full version of the study can be found on the website of the Analytical Agency "Smyslography" in the section "Research».

January 19: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«Продвижение дальневосточных регионов нуждается в информационных акцентах»

«Продвижение дальневосточных регионов нуждается в информационных акцентах»

Владислав Шулаев

Сопредседатель комитета РАСО по брендингу и продвижению территорий, директор по продвижению территорий коммуникационного агентства АГТ

Эксперты АГТ рассказали EastRussia, что и как о российских регионах писали в зарубежных СМИ в 2014 году.

Аналитическое агентство «Смыслография», входящее в коммуникационную группу АГТ, и компания Dow Jones провели очередное исследование восприятия регионов Российской Федерации ведущими англоязычными СМИ. Разработанная специалистами агентства «Смыслография» методика включает количественную и качественную проработку упоминаний субъектов РФ, проанализированных с использованием материалов информационно-аналитической службы Factiva.com в ТОП-100 ведущих англоязычных СМИ, включая The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones Newswire, The Economist, The Guardian, Washington Post и других.

Общий балл, присваиваемый каждой территории, учитывает оценку региона как по количеству его упоминаний, так и по доле благоприятных публикаций. Москва была исключена из общего рейтинга, поскольку ее сравнение с другими субъектами федерации было признано методологически некорректным из-за связанной с ней общефедеральной и международной повестки. Также в рейтинге не учитывались Республика Крым и Севастополь, поскольку по ним отсутствовала база для сравнения с предыдущим периодом.

TOP-10 рейтинга, 2014 год

Текущее место в 2014 году

Регион

Общий балл

Изменение места в рейтинге по сравнению с 2013 годом

1

Республика Татарстан

141

+6

2

Пермский край

140

+4

3

Сахалинская область

139

-2

4

ХМАО-Югра

137

-1

5–6

Самарская область

136

+4

5–6

Республика Мордовия

136

+31

7

Тульская область

135

+58

8

Томская область

131

-6

9–10

Краснодарский край

127

-5

9–10

Приморский край

127

+1

Как и годом ранее, российские регионы фигурируют в зарубежных СМИ прежде всего в привязке к спортивным мероприятиям (особенно матчам футбольной премьер-лиги), а также в связи с проектами в области ТЭК. Это особенно справедливо по отношению к субъектам федерации, занявшим верхние строчки рейтинга. Кроме того, стоит отметить, что в ТОП-10 имеет место высокий уровень преемственности результатов по сравнению с 2013 годом. Лишь два региона из первой десятки не были представлены в ней годом ранее – это республика Мордовия и Тульская область.

Лидерство в рейтинге захватила Республика Татарстан, причем связано это в очень большой степени со спортивными сюжетами – как текущими, так и перспективными. Из первых можно отметить выступления ФК «Рубин», а из будущих – проведение в Казани чемпионата мира по водным видам спорта в 2015 году, а также матчей чемпионата мира по футболу в 2018 году. Вообще футбол играет роль едва ли не ключевого драйвера в международном продвижении российских территорий: для обоих новичков первой десятки рейтинга 2014 год ознаменовался выходом соответствующей региональной команды в высший дивизион отечественного футбола («Мордовия», «Арсенал»). В случае Мордовии дополнительный интерес у иностранных СМИ вызвал выбор Саранска как одного из городов проведения чемпионата мира по футболу в 2018 году. В Тульской области еще один обративший на себя внимание за рубежом сюжет оказался не связан со спортом: он касается строительства автомобильного завода Great Wall Motor.

Ханты-Мансийский автономный округ выступает в роли своеобразной модели российского региона, интересного англоязычным медиа за счет сочетания в своей повестке двух ключевых компонентов, привлекающих особое внимание, а именно спорта и нефти. Наряду с обсуждением ресурсного потенциала территории зарубежные СМИ не преминули коснуться темы проходившего в регионе чемпионата мира по шахматам и ежегодного этапа кубка мира по биатлону.

Из ведущих российских регионов то же самое можно сказать о Самарской области (футбольная команда которой, впрочем, покинула премьер-лигу по итогам сезона 2013–2014) и о непосредственно примыкающей к ведущей десятке Республике Башкортостан (11-я строка рейтинга), где наряду с приходом ФК «Уфа» в высший футбольный дивизион медиа обращали внимание на деятельность компании «Башнефть».

Напротив, Сахалинская область и Приморский край упоминаются исключительно в контексте нефтегазовых проектов: «Сахалина-1», «Сахалина-2», «Владивосток-СПГ». Показательно, что наряду с добычей зарубежные медиа обращают внимание на экспорт нефтепродуктов из Сахалинской области и сжиженного природного газа из Приморья.

Снижение позиций в рейтинге в 2014 году иногда в меньшей степени вызвано природными или техногенными ЧП, а в большей степени – претензиями зарубежных медиа, имеющими порой политическую окраску. Так, например, потеря Калининградской областью места в ТОП-10 объясняется увеличением материалов негативного характера, в которых регион увязывается с «военной угрозой России», нарушением воздушного пространства Евросоюза, отказом РФ от соглашения с Литвой о взаимных военных инспекциях, проводившихся на российской территории именно в Калининградской области.

В то же время в других случаях значимость сохраняют и традиционные факторы. Так, рекордное падение Саратовской области (потерявшей 42 позиции) обусловлено освещением англоязычными СМИ пожара на НПЗ Роснефти в регионе, а также незаконной деятельности местного жителя, занимавшегося написанием и продажей компьютерных вирусов.

Владислав Шулаев, директор по продвижению территорий коммуникационного агентства АГТ, выделил несколько аспектов в очередном коммуникационном рейтинге, в том числе относящихся к регионам Дальнего Востока. «Обращает на себя внимание, что по итогам 2014 года в десятке лидеров российского рейтинга не осталось ни одной столицы федерального округа. Это фиксация наметившейся тенденции, что во взаимодействии с зарубежным информационным полем административный ресурс не является решающим. Не является исключением и Дальневосточный федеральный округ, где лидерство Сахалинской области в англоязычном медиаполе подтверждается все четыре года составления рейтинга», - отмечает Шулаев.

По его словам, согласно исследованию, для регионов Дальнего Востока в 2014 году были характерны «парные» ведущие информационные поводы. Визиты президента России вошли в число главных новостей Хабаровского края и Республики Саха (Якутия): из Хабаровска прозвучало Новогоднее обращение Владимира Путина, а в Якутии визит президента был связан с началом строительства газопровода Россия – Китай. Поездка северокорейского посла была среди наиболее замеченных иностранными СМИ событий в Приморском и Хабаровском краях. Взаимодействие с Китаем стало главной новостной темой англоязычного медиаполя для ЕАО (торговые связи региона с китайской провинцией Хэйлуньцзян) и для Амурской области – инфраструктурные проекты с Китаем и деятельность китайских перекупщиков в связи с курсом рубля.

Авария южнокорейского корабля в Беринговом море стала одной из главных тем сообщений про Чукотку и про Камчатский край – ситуацию комментировали в спасательной службе Петропавловска-Камчатского. Для Чукотки и Якутии информационными драйверами стали также доисторические находки: найденный в вечной мерзлоте гигантский вирус времен каменного века на Чукотке и якутский мамонт, выставленный в прошлом году на экспозицию в Москве. В международных комментариях о санкциях чаще упоминались Сахалинская область и Республика Саха (Якутия).

«”Неповторимыми” оказались только главные зарубежные новости Магадана: акцент на украинских беженцах, приехавших в Россию и поселившихся в Магадане, а также рост популярности экстремального туризма иностранцев в Магаданской области. Еще одной заметной дальневосточной темой в зарубежном медиаполе стало испытание ракеты ”Булава” с поражением условной цели на Камчатском полуострове», – рассказывает эксперт.

Что касается использования ключевых информационных поводов – «пропусков» в англоязычное медиаполе, то восточные регионы России ими пользовались только частично. Информационными дивидендами крупных спортивных событий для продвижения в англоязычном медиаполе не воспользовался ни один регион ДФО. Популярные на российском Востоке хоккей с шайбой и бенди не дают такого медиаэффекта, как футбол и этапы кубка мира по биатлону. Открытия новых месторождений и начало их разработки, если и были в 2014 году, то они не стали достоянием зарубежных СМИ, подчеркивает Шулаев.

Эксперт добавляет, что «многолетнее вхождение Сахалинской области в число российских регионов-лидеров в зарубежных СМИ демонстрирует пример эффективного коммуникационного стандарта для инвестиционно полезного присутствия в англоязычном информационном поле. В этот стандартный комплект можно включить ежегодный международный отраслевой форум, региональное информагентство и регулярные новости проектов крупнейших мировых и российских производственных компаний в регионе».

Так, следуя этому стандарту, можно уверенно прописать некоторые предсказуемые по результативности шаги для продвижения регионов ДФО в зарубежных СМИ и повышения инвестиционной привлекательности. Во-первых, ждем возвращения ежегодного международного форума во Владивостоке, публично продолжающего дело АТЭС-2012. Во-вторых, влиятельность бренда «Сила Сибири» стоит конвертировать в одноименный форум, посвященный современной энергетике макрорегиона. Логично было бы его проведение в Якутии, потому что пока основным источником планируемого к транспортировке газа будет республиканское Чаяндинское месторождение. К тому же в Якутии, одной из самых солнечных территорий в России, сейчас активно развивается альтернативная – солярная – энергетика.

В-третьих, учитывая интенсивность потока новостей о взаимодействии с Китаем и перспективу такого сотрудничества, просится акцент в виде специализированного ежегодного российско-китайского мероприятия, например форума-выставки, в Биробиджане или Благовещенске. Наконец, Хабаровску стоит четче зафиксировать в медиаполе свой статус восточных ворот России. Обладающий уникальным интермодальным транспортным узлом, находящийся не так далеко от строящегося космического порта Восточный и незамерзающего морского порта Владивосток, в преддверии строительства эпохальных газпровода и скоростной транссибирской магистрали, Хабаровск может претендовать на проведение регулярного логистического форума.

Рейтинг по ДФО, 2014 год

Текущее место в 2014 году

Регион

Общий балл

Изменение места в рейтинге по сравнению с 2013 годом

3

Сахалинская область

139

-2

9–10

Приморский край

127

+1

14

Хабаровский край

122

+8

25–28

Республика Саха (Якутия)

100

+6

45–46

Камчатский край

81

0

49–50

Амурская область

75

+24

49–50

Магаданская область

75

-22

66

Чукотский автономный округ

51

-33

74–75

Еврейская автономная область

39

+3

При этом усилия по продвижению регионов должны носить регулярный характер, в противном случае высока вероятность серьезной утраты позиций. «Показателен пример Алтайского края, потерявшего 41 позицию за год. В 2014 году Алтайский край фактически не занимался собственным продвижением в англоязычном медиаполе и занял 77 место из 82 регионов, значительно снизив тем самым эффективность своей во многом образцовой работы по созданию инвестиционной и туристической привлекательности», - подчеркивает Шулаев.

По мнению директора аналитического направления агентства «Смыслография» Григория Кислина, рейтинг регионов-2014 в существенной степени продолжает тенденции, наметившиеся ранее. «Информационно-имиджевый импульс, который дальневосточные территории получили благодаря саммиту АТЭС 2012 года, по-прежнему находит отражение в глобальном информационном пространстве. Устойчиво высокие позиции Сахалинской области и Приморского края указывают на понимание англосаксонскими СМИ важности и долгосрочности разворота России в тихоокеанском направлении», – отмечает Кислин.

С полной версией исследования можно ознакомиться на сайте Аналитического агентства «Смыслография» в разделе «Исследования».