Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Pulse of Charcoal - March 16

Coal industry - actual figures and facts. Partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Mining, logistics, prices, export - all that the coal industry in Russia and in the world lives on is concise and to the point - in a new partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Pulse of Charcoal - March 16
Photo Shoot: Adrien olichon on Unsplash
Special project Coal of the East of Russia



A brief overview of the global coal market

Despite falling temperatures in the EU and an increase in natural gas prices to 18.1 euros / MWh (+1.8 euros / MWh or + 11% as of 03.03.2021), steam coal indices in Europe last week slightly decreased to 66-66.5 dollars / t. The price of the material was under pressure from a sharp rise in the cost of European CO2 quotas to 40.37 € / t. (+2.96 EUR / t. To 03.03.2021), caused by speculation in the market against the background of increased demand for quotas. In addition, the increase in wind generation in some European countries to 1585 GWh (+907 GWh or + 161% by 03.03.2021) reduced the share of coal generation in the energy balance. Coal reserves at ARA terminals fell to an almost 5-year low of 3.8 million tons (-0.1 million tons or -2% by 03.03.2021).

On March 10.03.2021, 2050, the European Parliament overwhelmingly approved the introduction of a carbon border levy to increase the competitiveness of the products of European enterprises in comparison with cheaper imported counterparts imported into the EU from countries without climate restrictions. The draft law, which is not yet binding, is viewed as the implementation of the Green deal, an agreement between European countries, according to which the bloc seeks to achieve carbon neutrality by XNUMX.

Cement producers in India are stepping up their coal purchases ahead of the monsoon season, keeping the price of the high-calorie South African material in the $ 92-93 / t range this week. Coal reserves at Richards Bay terminals decreased to 3.3 million tons (-0.2 million tons by 03.03.2021).

Due to a short-term decline in Indian demand, coal exports through Richards Bay terminals in February 2021 decreased to 4.7 million tons (-0.8 million tons, or -15% to 03.03.2021). At the same time, coal supplies from South Africa to Pakistan increased to 1.2 million tons in February (+0.4 million tons or + 45% versus February 2020).

South African coal producer African Rainbow Minerals Coal (ARM Coal) incurred a loss of $ 14.3 million in 6 months of restrictions related to the Covid-19 pandemic in the country. Lower demand from major South African power generation company Eskom has negatively impacted ARM Coal's earnings. ARM Coal is a joint venture between African Rainbow Minerals and Glencore that has interests in a number of large coal energy projects in South Africa.

Australian thermal coal quotes are in a sideways trend in the range of $ 92-93 / t. due to the slowdown in the trading activity of the Chinese market participants. Chinese companies maintain a wait-and-see attitude against the backdrop of the main political conference in the country (04-11.03.2021).

The Conference of the People's Political Consultative Council of the PRC and the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress is an event during which key political and economic issues in China are discussed. In 2021, the main item on the agenda of the Conference was the discussion of the 14th five-year economic development plan, according to which the annual volume of coal production in China should not exceed 4.1 billion tons by the end of 2025. By 2060, the PRC plans to achieve carbon neutrality ...

A wait-and-see attitude and low demand of Chinese companies for Indonesian coal against the background of the main political conference in the PRC lowered the quotes of the material of Indonesian origin to $ 72-73 per ton.

Weak demand of metallurgical plants in the Asia-Pacific region for coking material due to low steel prices weakened the indices of imported metallurgical coal from Australia.

The Japanese company Nippon Steel reached an agreement with an Australian mining company on a semi-soft coking coal price in the first quarter of 2021 (Q1'2021) at $ 92 / t. FOB (+5.5 USD / t. To the indicator of the fourth quarter of 2020).

Australian coal producer Foxleigh has agreed with the Japanese steel company Nippon Steel and the South Korean company POSCO on the price of PCI coal in the first quarter of 2021 (Q1'2021) at $ 101 / t. FOB (+4 USD / ton to the indicator of the fourth quarter of 2020).

 

A-Property will transfer 5% of the Elga coal project to Rostec


State Corporation Rostec signed an agreement with A-Property, owned by Albert Avdolyan, on the basic conditions for transferring 5% of the Elga coal project to the state corporation. Rostec already owns 25% in the Port Vera coal terminal and the Ogodzhinsky coal deposit.

On February 26, 2021, Dmitry Novikov (President of Rosengineering) and Ekaterina Lapshina (Albert Avdolyan's asset manager) transferred to Rostec their stakes in the Ogodzhinskoye coal field and the Port Vera coal terminal (see CAA Russian Coal Weekly, February 26, 2021). Presumably, the collateral is associated with the provision of financing by Rostec for the purchase of shares in assets from Dmitry Bosov's structures.

Albert Avdolyan intends to create an industrial cluster in the Russian Far East. This cluster should include the Yakutsk Fuel and Energy Company (Avdolyan bought the company in September 2019), the Elginsky coal project, as well as the Port Vera terminal and the Ogodzhinsky coal deposit.

The Ogodzhinskoye coal deposit is located in the Amur Region, not far from the northern border with China and about 2 thousand km from the ports of the Far East. Proved coal reserves are 82.7 million tons, probable - 662 million tons. The design capacity of the deposit is 30 million tons of coal per year.

Port Vera is a new coal terminal located in the Russian Far East. Last year, the terminal handled 2.6 million tons of coal. The terminal will reach its design capacity of 20 million tons by 2022.

In 2020, the production of Elgaugol, a company engaged in the development of coal deposits within A-Property, amounted to 12 million tons. By 2023, the company plans to increase production to 45 million tons. At the Ogodzhinskoye coal deposit, Elgaugol plans to increase coal production from 2023 million tons to 1 million tons.

Rostec is a Russian state-owned corporation created to facilitate the development, production and export of high-tech products and controls assets in various industrial sectors.

 

SUEK to launch a new coal mine in 2021

According to the Deputy Governor of the Kemerovo Region, Andrey Panov, SUEK-Kuzbass plans to commission the November 7-Novaya coal mine in 2021 in Kuzbass.

Investments in the construction of the mine are 15 billion rubles. ($ 203.5 million). The design capacity of the enterprise will be 4.8 million tons of coal per year.

SUEK-Kuzbass is a Russian coal producer, part of SUEK. The SUEK Group, owned by Russian businessman Andrey Melnichenko, includes 30 coal mining enterprises,

7 processing plants, the Daltransugol coal terminal in the port of Vanino, the Murmansk commercial seaport, the Siberian generating company and other mining, generating and logistics assets. In 2020, SUEK's production amounted to 101.2 million tons (-4.9 million tons, or -4.7% by 2019).

 

Russian Railways will build a new railway to China


On March 02, 2021, during a meeting on the development of the coal industry in Russia, Russian Railways proposed to start expanding the Tynda-Komsomolsk-Vanino section of the Baikal-Amur Mainline (BAM). The expansion project includes the construction of a 1000-kilometer railroad, a bridge on the Amgu River and a new tunnel in the Kuznetsovsky District. The total cost of the project is estimated at $ 9.6 billion. The new railway is designed to ensure the growth of Russian coal exports to China. Russian President Vladimir Putin approved the project and spoke in favor of the National Welfare Fund (National Welfare Fund) to finance the initiative of Russian Railways.

In 2020, the total coal production in Russia amounted to 401.6 million tons (-41.1 million tons, or -9.3% by 2019). The total export volume reached 195.4 million tons (+2 million tons or + 1% by 2019), of which 122 million tons were in the Asia-Pacific region. China imported 39.6 million tons of Russian coal (+7.4 million tons or + 23% by 2019). According to Vladimir Putin, the Asia-Pacific market is a priority compared to other export destinations, since Asia has a high demand for coal of Russian origin. In contrast, the EU's coal phase-out policy and increased generation from renewable energy sources are helping to reduce the consumption of Russian coal in the European market.



September 18: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Пульс угля - 16 марта

Угольная промышленность - актуальные цифры и факты. Партнерский проект Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Добыча, логистика, цены, экспорт - все чем живет угольная промышленность в России и в мире сжато и по делу - в новом партнерском проекте Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Пульс угля - 16 марта
Фото: Adrien Olichon on Unsplash



Краткий обзор мирового угольного рынка

Несмотря на снижающиеся температуры в ЕС и рост котировок природного газа до 18.1 евро/МВтч (+1.8 евро/МВтч или +11% к 03.03.2021 г.) индексы энергетического угля в Европе на прошлой неделе незначительно снизились до 66-66.5 долл./т. Давление на цену материала оказал резкий рост стоимости европейских квот на выбросы CO2 до 40.37 евро/т. (+2.96 евро/т. к 03.03.2021 г.), вызванный спекуляциями на рынке на фоне выросшего спроса на квоты. Кроме того, увеличение объемов ветряной генерации в некоторых европейских странах до 1585 ГВтч (+907 ГВтч или +161% к 03.03.2021 г.) сократило долю угольной генерации в энергобалансе. Запасы угля на терминалах ARA упали до почти 5-летнего минимума в 3.8 млн т. (-0.1 млн т. или -2% к 03.03.2021 г.).

10.03.2021 г. Европейский парламент подавляющим большинством голосов одобрил введение углеродного пограничного сбора, чтобы увеличить конкурентоспособность продукции европейских предприятий по сравнению с более дешевыми импортными аналогами, ввезенными в ЕС из стран без климатических ограничений. Законопроект, который пока не имеет обязывающего характера, рассматривается как реализация «Green deal» - соглашения стран Европы, в соответствии с которым блок стремится к достижению углеродной нейтральности к 2050 г.

Производители цемента в Индии в преддверии наступления сезона муссонов наращивают закупки угля, что удерживает цену высококалорийного южноафриканского материала на этой неделе в диапазоне 92-93 долл./т. Запасы угля на терминалах Richards Bay сократились до 3.3 млн т. (-0.2 млн т к 03.03.2021 г.).

Из-за кратковременного спада индийского спроса экспорт угля через терминалы Richards Bay в феврале 2021 г. сократился до 4.7 млн т. (-0.8 млн т. или -15% к 03.03.2021 г.). В то же время поставки угля из ЮАР в Пакистан выросли до 1.2 млн т. в феврале (+0.4 млн т. или +45% к февралю 2020 г.).

Южноафриканский производитель угля African Rainbow Minerals Coal (ARM Coal) понес убыток в размере 14.3 млн долл. за 6 месяцев действия ограничений, связанных с пандемией Covid-19 в стране. Сокращение спроса главной южноафриканской генерирующей компании Eskom негативно отразилось на доходах ARM Coal. ARM Coal - совместное предприятие African Rainbow Minerals и Glencore, которое владеет долей в ряде крупных угольных проектов по добыче энергетического материала в ЮАР.

Котировки австралийского энергетического угля находятся в боковом тренде в диапазоне 92-93 долл./т. в связи с замедлением торговой активности участников китайского рынка. Китайские компании сохраняют выжидательную позицию на фоне главной политической конференции в стране (04-11.03.2021 г.).

Конференция Народного политического консультативного совета КНР и Постоянного комитета Всекитайского собрания народных представителей – мероприятие, в ходе которого обсуждаются ключевые политические и экономические вопросы Китая. В 2021 г. главным пунктом повестки дня Конференции стало обсуждение 14-го пятилетнего плана экономического развития, в соответствии с которым годовой объем добычи угля в Китае не должен превышать 4.1 млрд т. к концу 2025 г. К 2060 г. КНР планирует достичь углеродной нейтральности.

Выжидательная позиция и низкий спрос китайских компаний на индонезийский уголь на фоне главной политической конференции в КНР снизили котировки материала индонезийского происхождения до 72-73 долл./т.

Слабый спрос металлургических комбинатов в АТР на коксующийся материал из-за низких цен на сталь ослабил индексы импортного металлургического угля из Австралии.

Японская компания Nippon Steel достигла соглашения с австралийской горнодобывающей компанией о цене коксующегося угля semi-soft в первом квартале 2021 г. (Q1’2021) на уровне 92 долл./т. FOB (+5.5 долл./т. к показателю четвертого квартала 2020 г.).

Австралийский производитель угля Foxleigh договорился с японской сталелитейной компанией Nippon Steel и южнокорейской компанией POSCO о цене угля PCI в первом квартале 2021 г. (Q1’2021) на уровне 101 долл./т. FOB (+4 долл./т. к показателю четвертого квартала 2020 г.).

 

А-Проперти передаст 5% Эльгинского угольного проекта Ростеху


Госкорпорация Ростех подписала соглашение с компанией А-Проперти, принадлежащей Альберту Авдоляну, об основных условиях передачи госкорпорации 5% Эльгинского угольного проекта. Ростех уже владеет 25% в угольном терминале Порт Вера и Огоджинском угольном месторождении.

26 февраля 2021 г. Дмитрий Новиков (президент Росинжиниринга) и Екатерина Лапшина (управляющий активами Альберта Авдоляна) передали Ростеху свои доли в Огоджинском угольном месторождении и угольном терминале Порт Вера (см. CAA Russian Coal Weekly от 26 февраля 2021 г.). Предположительно, залог связан с предоставлением Ростехом финансирования на покупку долей в активах у структур Дмитрия Босова.

Альберт Авдолян намерен создать промышленный кластер на Дальнем Востоке России. В этот кластер должны войти Якутская топливно-энергетическая компания (Авдолян выкупил компанию в сентябре 2019 г.), Эльгинский угольный проект, а также терминал Порт Вера и Огоджинское угольное месторождение.

Огоджинское угольное месторождение расположено в Амурской области, недалеко от северной границы с Китаем и примерно в 2 тыс. км от портов Дальнего Востока. Доказанные запасы угля составляют 82.7 млн т, вероятные - 662 млн т. Проектная мощность месторождения составляет 30 млн. т. угля в год.

Порт Вера — новый угольный терминал, расположенный на Дальнем Востоке России. В прошлом году терминал перевалил 2.6 млн т. угля. На проектную мощность в 20 млн т. терминал выйдет к 2022 г.

В 2020 г. добыча компании Эльгауголь, занимающейся разработкой угольных месторождений в составе А-Проперти, составила 12 млн т. К 2023 г. компания планирует увеличить добычу до 45 млн т. На Огоджинском угольном месторождении Эльгауголь планирует к 2023 г. нарастить производство угля с 1 млн т. до 10 млн т.

Ростех - российская государственная корпорация, созданная для содействия разработке, производству и экспорту высокотехнологичной продукции и контролирующая активы в различных промышленных отраслях.

 

СУЭК запустит новую угольную шахту в 2021 г.

По заявлению заместителя губернатора Кемеровской области Андрея Панова, СУЭК-Кузбасс планирует ввести в эксплуатацию угольную шахту “7 Ноября-новая” в 2021 г в Кузбассе.

Инвестиции в строительство шахты составляют 15 млрд руб. (203.5 млн долл.). Проектная мощность предприятия составит 4.8 млн т. угля в год.

СУЭК-Кузбасс - российский производитель угля, входящий в состав СУЭК. В Группу СУЭК, принадлежащую российскому бизнесмену Андрею Мельниченко, входят 30 угледобывающих предприятий,

7 обогатительных фабрик, угольный терминал Дальтрансуголь в порту Ванино, Мурманский морской торговый порт, Сибирская генерирующая компания и другие добывающие, генерирующими и логистические активы. В 2020 г. добыча СУЭК составила 101.2 млн. т. (-4.9 млн. т. или -4.7% к 2019 г.).

 

РЖД построит новую железную дорогу в Китай


02 марта 2021 г. в ходе совещания по развитию угольной промышленности России РЖД предложили начать расширение участка Тында-Комсомольск-Ванино Байкало-Амурской магистрали (БАМ). Проект расширения предусматривает строительство 1000-километровой железной дороги, моста на реке Амгу и нового тоннеля в Кузнецовском районе. Общая стоимость проекта оценивается в 9.6 млрд. долл. Новая железная дорога призвана обеспечить рост российского угольного экспорта в Китай. Президент России Владимир Путин одобрил проект и высказался за то, чтобы ФНБ (Фонд национального благосостояния) профинансировал инициативу РЖД.

В 2020 г. совокупная добыча угля в России составила 401.6 млн т. (-41.1 млн т. или -9.3% к 2019 г.). Общий объем экспорта достиг 195.4 млн т. (+2 млн т. или +1% к 2019 г.), из которых 122 млн т. пришлось на Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион. Китай импортировал 39.6 млн т. российского угля (+7.4 млн. т. или +23% к 2019 г.). По заявлению Владимира Путина, Азиатско-Тихоокеанский рынок является приоритетным по сравнению с другими экспортными направлениями, поскольку Азия имеет высокий спрос на уголь российского происхождения. Напротив, политика поэтапного отказа от угля и увеличение объемов генерации с помощью возобновляемых источников энергии в ЕС способствуют сокращению потребления российского угля на европейском рынке.



29 сентября: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика