Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Pulse of Charcoal - March 20

Coal industry - actual figures and facts. Partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Mining, logistics, prices, export - all that the coal industry in Russia and in the world lives on is concise and to the point - in a new partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Pulse of Charcoal - March 20
Photo: unsplash.com
Special project Coal of the East of Russia



A brief overview of the global coal market

Over the past week, the European market saw a strengthening of steam coal quotes above $ 71 / t. Remaining low temperatures in some EU countries and the upward trend in natural gas prices, which strengthened to 18.5 EUR / MWh (+0.4 EUR / MWh or + 2% by 10.03.2021), had a positive effect on coal prices. Due to the cold snap in early March, some European energy companies ran out of coal in their warehouses and were forced to buy material on the spot market. Stocks at ARA terminals fell to 3.7 million tons (-0.1 million tons or -2% by 10.03.2021). However, the rise in the price of quotas for carbon dioxide emissions to 42.86 euros / ton. (+1.39 EUR / t. By 10.03.2021) limits further strengthening of coal quotes.


Increased demand from Chinese generating companies offset the decline in shipments of material to India, strengthening the price of South African coal to $ 99-100 / t. Material stocks at Richards Bay terminals decreased to 3.0 million tons (-0.3 million tons to 10.03.2021).

The growth in electricity consumption caused by a cold snap in a number of countries in the Asia-Pacific region stimulated the demand for Australian thermal coal and contributed to an increase in the indices to $ 91-92 / t.

Despite the action of the decree of the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy of South Korea on the temporary limitation of the operation of half of the coal-fired CHPPs in the country to reduce emissions, coal imports to South Korea in January-February 2021 amounted to 6.1 million tons (+0.3 million tons or + 5% to January-February 2021).

Low business interest in Indonesian material from India due to the onset of the monsoon season and a decrease in Chinese imports of low-calorie coal due to an increase in hydroelectricity have reduced the quotes for material of Indonesian origin to $ 71-72 / t.

The decline in prices for Australian-sourced coking coal was driven by the availability of metallurgical material in the domestic Asia-Pacific markets and weak demand for imported coal. Quotes are expected to go up in April due to seasonal growth in steel output.

Igor Sechin raised the issue of the limited capacity of the Transsib and BAM

Igor Sechin, head of the Russian oil company Rosneft and executive secretary of the Commission on the Strategy for the Development of the Fuel and Energy Complex and Environmental Safety, criticized local authorities and infrastructure companies for inaction in expanding the limited capacity of the Trans-Siberian Mainline (Transsib) and the Baikal-Amur Mainline (BAM). On March 16, 2021, Igor Sechin appealed to the President of Russia with a request to ensure the implementation of the decisions made during the meeting of the Commission on the Strategy for the Development of the Fuel and Energy Complex and Environmental Safety in 2018.The document adopted during the meeting provides for the expansion of the railway capacities of the Trans-Siberian and BAM to increase the supply of Russian coal to the east to 195 million tons by 2025, of which at least 100 million tons - to the ports of the Primorsky Territory, 85 million tons - to the Vanino-Sovgavansky hub and about 10 million tons - for export through border crossings. However, these plans contradict the figures provided by the strategy for the development of the coal industry in Russia until 2035, according to which by 2024, not only coal, but the total volume of freight traffic to the east should grow to 180 million tons.


According to experts, the current point of view that the Severomuisky tunnel-2 needs to be built to expand the BAM's capacity may turn out to be erroneous. Currently, coal supplies from Kuzbass are carried out through the Transsib, which is considered to have greater potential for further expansion and great importance for Russian exporters, whose mines are located in Kuzbass, Khakassia and the Novosibirsk region. To increase the supply of coal from Yakutia to the coal terminals of the port of Vanino, other measures are needed, such as the development of the eastern part of the BAM and the expansion of the Kuznetsovsky tunnel.

In addition, Igor Sechin reproached the infrastructure companies for hindering the development of the Russian Far East, since their activities contribute to the growth of coal supplies to the south through the port of Taman to the detriment of the eastern direction. In 2020, railway transportation of coal for export in the direction of southern ports increased to 20.04 million tons (+5.06 million tons or + 34% by 2019). It is noteworthy that the increase in export supplies of coal to the south of the country limits the volume of Rosneft's cargo transportation in this direction.

New mines and a processing plant will be launched in Kuzbass

In 2021, it is planned to launch 3 new mines and a processing plant in Kuzbass.

SUEK-Kuzbass plans to commission the November 7-Novaya coal mine in 2021. Investments in the construction of the mine amount to 15 billion rubles. ($ 203.5 million). The design capacity of the enterprise is 4.8 million tons of coal per year (see CAA Russian Coal Weekly, March 12, 2021).

The UglePromInvest group of companies will launch the Sibirskaya mine with a design capacity of 5 million tons. The Group's investments in the construction of the enterprise amounted to 15.3 billion rubles. ($ 204.2 million).

The Chernokaltansky open-pit mine by the Siberian Coal Industry Company (SIPK) has a design capacity of 2 million tons of coal per year. The total investment in the project is estimated at 1 billion rubles. ($ 13.7 million).

Concentrating plant "Mine No. 12", owned by Stroyservice, will begin its work in 2021. With a total investment in the construction of the plant of 10 billion rubles. (136.8 million dollars), the design capacity of the enterprise will be 4 million tons.

According to the Deputy Governor of the Kemerovo Region Andrey Panov, it is assumed that the construction of new mining and processing enterprises will contribute to an increase in the total coal production in Kuzbass to 235 million tons (+13.01 million tons or + 6% by 2020). In addition, on March 02, 2021, during a meeting on the development of the coal industry in Russia, Vladimir Putin called for an increase in coal exports from Kuzbass to the east to 68 million tons by 2024 (+ 15 million tons or + 28% to the current export quota) ...

Rostekhnadzor suspends the operation of the mine of the Vorkutaugol company

The Federal Service for Environmental, Technological and Nuclear Supervision of Russia (Rostekhnadzor) has imposed a temporary ban on the operation of the Zapolyarnaya-2 coal mine, owned by the Vorkutaugol company. In 2020, the company's production volume reached 2.0 million tons.

(+0.05 mln tons or + 2.5% by 2019). The inspection revealed violations of industrial safety standards.

Vorkutaugol, owned by Alexey Mordashov's Severstal, is one of the largest producers of coking coal in Russia. In 2020, the total volume of coal production by Vorkutaugol amounted to 10.26 million tons (+0.11 million tons or + 1% by 2019). The company extracts metallurgical coal of grades Zh and K, the main volume of supplies falls on the enterprises of Severstal.


May 8: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Пульс угля - 20 марта

Угольная промышленность - актуальные цифры и факты. Партнерский проект Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Добыча, логистика, цены, экспорт - все чем живет угольная промышленность в России и в мире сжато и по делу - в новом партнерском проекте Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Пульс угля - 20 марта
Фото: unsplash.com



Краткий обзор мирового угольного рынка

За прошедшую неделю на европейском рынке наблюдалось укрепление котировок энергетического угля выше 71 долл./т. Сохраняющиеся низкие температуры в некоторых странах ЕС и восходящий тренд котировок природного газа, укрепившихся до 18.5 евро/МВтч (+0.4 евро/МВтч или +2% к 10.03.2021 г.) положительно повлияли на угольные цены. Из-за похолодания в начале марта отдельные европейские энергетические компании исчерпали запасы угля на складах и были вынуждены закупать материал на спотовом рынке. Запасы на терминалах ARA упали до 3.7 млн т. (-0.1 млн т. или -2% к 10.03.2021 г.). Однако подорожание квот на выбросы углекислого газа до 42.86 евро/т. (+1.39 евро/т. к 10.03.2021 г.) ограничивает дальнейшее укрепление угольных котировок.


Возросший спрос китайских генерирующих компаний нивелировал спад отгрузок материала в Индию, укрепив цену южноафриканского угля до 99-100 долл./т. Запасы материала на терминалах Richards Bay сократились до 3.0 млн т. (-0.3 млн т. к 10.03.2021 г.).

Рост потребления электричества, вызванный похолоданием в ряде стран Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона, простимулировал спрос на австралийский энергетический уголь и способствовал увеличению индексов до 91-92 долл./т.

Несмотря на действие указа Министерства торговли, промышленности и энергетики Южной Кореи о временном ограничении работы половины угольных ТЭЦ в стране для сокращения выбросов, импорт угля в Южную Корею в январе-феврале 2021 г. составил 6.1 млн т. (+0.3 млн т. или +5% к январю-февралю 2021 г.).

Низкий деловой интерес к индонезийскому материалу со стороны Индии из-за наступления сезона муссонов и сокращение китайского импорта низкокалорийного угля в связи с увеличением объемов гидрогенерации снизили котировки материала индонезийского происхождения до 71-72 долл./т.

Снижение цен коксующегося угля австралийского происхождения обусловлено доступностью металлургического материала на внутренних рынках Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона и слабым спросом на импортный уголь. Ожидается, что в апреле котировки могут пойти вверх в связи с сезонным ростом выпуска стали.

Игорь Сечин поднял вопрос об ограниченной пропускной способности Транссиба и БАМа

Глава российской нефтяной компании Роснефть и ответственный секретарь Комиссии по вопросам стратегии развития топливно-энергетического комплекса и экологической безопасности Игорь Сечин раскритиковал местные власти и инфраструктурные компании за бездействие в отношении расширения ограниченной пропускной мощности Транссибирской магистрали (Транссиба) и Байкало-Амурской магистрали (БАМ). 16 марта 2021 г. Игорь Сечин обратился к президенту России с просьбой обеспечить выполнение решений, принятых в ходе заседания Комиссии по вопросам стратегии развития топливно-энергетического комплекса и экологической безопасности в2018 г. Документ, принятый в ходе заседания, предусматривает расширение железнодорожных мощностей Транссиба и БАМа для увеличения поставок российского угля на восток до 195 млн т. к 2025 г., из них не менее 100 млн т. - в порты Приморского края, 85 млн т. - на Ванино-Совгаванский узел и около 10 млн т. - на экспорт через погранпереходы. Однако эти планы противоречат цифрам, предусмотренным стратегией развития угольной промышленности России до 2035 г., согласно которой к 2024 г. не только уголь, а общий объемгрузоперевозок на восток должен вырасти до 180 млн т.


По мнению экспертов, текущая точка зрения о том, что для расширения мощностей БАМа необходимо построить Северомуйский тоннель-2, может оказаться ошибочной. В настоящее время поставки угля из Кузбасса осуществляются через Транссиб, который, как считается, имеет больший потенциал для дальнейшего расширения и большую значимость для российских экспортеров, шахты которых расположены в Кузбассе, Хакасии и Новосибирской области. Для увеличения поставок угля из Якутии на угольные терминалы порта Ванино необходимы другие меры, такие как развитие восточной части БАМа и расширение Кузнецовского тоннеля.

Кроме того, Игорь Сечин упрекнул инфраструктурные компании в препятствовании развитию Дальнего Востока России, поскольку их деятельность способствует росту поставок угля на юг через порт Тамань в ущерб восточному направлению. В 2020 г. железнодорожные перевозки угля на экспорт в направлении южных портов увеличились до 20.04 млн т. (+5.06 млн т. или +34% к 2019 г.). Примечательно, что увеличение экспортных поставок угля на юг страны ограничивает объемы грузоперевозок компании Роснефть в данном направлении.

В Кузбассе запустят новые шахты и обогатительную фабрику

В 2021 г. в Кузбассе планируется запустить 3 новые шахты и обогатительную фабрику.

СУЭК-Кузбасс планирует ввести в эксплуатацию угольную шахту “7 Ноября-новая” в 2021 г. Инвестиции в строительство шахты составляют 15 млрд. руб. (203.5 млн долл.). Проектная мощность предприятия - 4.8 млн т. угля в год (см. CAA Russian Coal Weekly от 12 марта 2021 г.).

Группа компаний УглеПромИнвест запустит шахту Сибирская проектной мощностью 5 млн т. Инвестиции Группы в строительство предприятия составили 15.3 млрд. руб. (204.2 млн долл.).

Разрез Чернокалтанский, Сибирской углепромышленной компанией (СУПК), имеет проектную мощность 2 млн т. угля в год. Общий объем инвестиций в проект оценивается в 1 млрд. руб. (13.7 млн долл.).

Обогатительная фабрика «Шахта №12», принадлежащая Стройсервису, начнет свою работу в 2021 г. При общем объеме инвестиций в строительство фабрики в 10 млрд. руб. (136.8 млн долл.), проектная мощность предприятия составит 4 млн т.

По заявлению заместителя губернатора Кемеровской области Андрея Панова, предполагается, что строительство новых добывающих и обогатительных предприятий будет способствовать увеличению общей добычи угля в Кузбассе до 235 млн т. (+13.01 млн т. или +6% к 2020 г.). Кроме того, 02 марта 2021 г. в ходе совещания по развитию угольной промышленности России Владимир Путин призвал увеличить экспорт угля из Кузбасса на восток до 68 млн т. к 2024 г. (+15 млн т. или +28% к действующей экспортной квоте).

Ростехнадзор приостановил эксплуатацию шахты компании Воркутауголь

Федеральная служба по экологическому, технологическому и атомному надзору России (Ростехнадзор) ввела временный запрет на эксплуатацию угольной шахты Заполярная-2, принадлежащей компании Воркутауголь. В 2020 г. объем добычи предприятия достиг 2.0 млн т.

(+0.05 млн т. или +2.5% к 2019 г.). В ходе проверки были выявлены нарушения норм промышленной безопасности.

Воркутауголь, принадлежащая Северстали Алексея Мордашова, является одним из крупнейших производителей коксующегося угля в России. В 2020 г. общий объем добычи угля компании Воркутауголь составил 10.26 млн т. (+0.11 млн т. или +1% к 2019 г.). Компания добывает металлургический уголь марок Ж и К, основной объем поставок приходится на предприятия Северстали.


3 декабря: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика