Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Pulse of Coal - November 20

Coal industry - actual figures and facts. Partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Mining, logistics, prices, export - all that the coal industry in Russia and in the world lives on is concise and to the point - in a new partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Pulse of Coal - November 20
Photo: pixabay.com
Special project Coal of the East of Russia



A brief overview of the global coal market

Last week, thermal coal indices in Europe showed positive dynamics above $ 140 / t. against the background of the suspension of certification of Nord Stream 2 by the German Federal Grid Agency, while the quotes of the Russian coal FOB Ust-Luga 6000 amounted to 165 USD / t.


Due to ongoing problems with the railway line connecting the coal-mining provinces of South Africa and the port of Richards Bay, the key importing countries of South African material, India and Pakistan, have taken a wait-and-see attitude with prices appreciating above $ 135 / t. Coal reserves at Richards Bay terminals remain at less than 3 million tonnes, which could cause disruptions in the export of material. South African rail operator Transnet announced that more than 2021 km of copper cable had been stolen from January to October 1 for the rail line. Over the past year, 1190 trains were canceled as a result of security incidents, according to the company.

In China, spot prices for coal of 5500 kcal / kg NAR were in the range of USD 165-170 / t. FOB Qinhuangdao. China has significantly increased its coal production to record levels, but despite this, the Chinese authorities are again calling on coal companies to increase production.

NEWC index of high-calorific Australian coal at 6000 kcal / kg dropped to $ 150 / t, which was caused by the new pricing policy of the Chinese government amid anti-coal protests in Australia, which interrupted rail transport to Newcastle port.

The decrease in trading activity of Chinese consumers as a result of the increase in coal production in the PRC negatively affected the indices of the Indonesian material 5900 kcal / kg GAR, which fell below $ 145 / t.

Weak demand of metallurgical plants in the APR for coking material weakened the indices of imported metallurgical coal from Australia below $ 370 / t.

 

Results of the COP26 conference in Glasgow

The 26th United Nations Climate Change Conference, also known as COP26, was held in Glasgow, Scotland from October 31 to November 12, 2021.

The summit was attended by 25 thousand delegates from almost 200 countries and about 120 heads of state. The presidents of Russia and China did not attend the meeting.


As a result of the conference, the Glasgow Climate Pact was signed. According to experts, it turned out to be as politically correct and extremely vague as possible, which was a consequence of the need to take into account the interests of a large number of countries and other interested parties, including public organizations and business structures.

Initially, it was assumed that the agreement would stipulate the need to abolish the use of coal as fuel. However, at the last moment, under pressure from India and China, the formulation of coal “phase-out” was changed to “phase-down”, which can be translated as “reduction” or “phase-out”.

According to experts, the decision on coal, made at the summit, turned out to be more positive for the industry than expected. It is not planned to completely abandon coal-fired power industry; the summit only confirmed the intention to gradually abandon coal-fired power engineering. At the same time, India declared carbon neutrality only by 2070, and China - by 2060.

Other key provisions of the pact include the need to financially help developing countries to accelerate energy transitions, an end to deforestation by 2030, and a commitment to reduce methane emissions by 30% by the end of the decade. 

In particular, financial assistance from rich countries to poor and developing countries should exceed $ 100 billion a year. The pact speaks of "the need to mobilize climate finance from all sources."

In general, the Glasgow agreement was the result of numerous compromises and contradictions existing between different countries. As a result, it is not specific, does not oblige to anything, but only calls on.

 

The government will tighten responsibility for environmental violations during the transshipment of coal

The government will consider a bill from the Ministry of Natural Resources, which provides for the introduction of a fine for non-compliance with regulations on the elimination of environmental violations during the transportation, crushing and sorting of coal in ports. If the order is not fulfilled twice, the port's activities may be suspended for up to 90 days.


The ministry insists on the possibility of suspending the activities of the ports, despite comments from business representatives and the fact that this measure may have a significant negative impact on the industry. In addition, the proposed changes create discriminatory conditions for coal terminals compared to stevedoring companies handling other cargoes that may have an impact on the environment.

Discussion regarding the regulation of this type of activity, up to the prohibition of open transshipment of coal, has been going on for several years. In 2020, the Ministry of Transport issued an order that clarified the essence of the term “closed coal transshipment”: it is proposed to consider it as transshipment using the best available technologies, such as car dumpers, covered conveyors for coal transportation, ship loading machines, dust suppression and air purification systems, and other advanced technological solutions and equipment.

In the Far East of Russia, there are only a few such specialized coal terminals using the best available technologies: Vostochny Port AO (KRU), Daltransugol (SUEK), VaninoTransUgol (Kolmar), Posiet (Mechel), while most terminals still use outdated and non-environmentally friendly grab handling of coal.

In the structure of export cargo traffic, the share of coal is over 50%. Coal loading to ports in January-October 2021 amounted to 156.9 million tons (+16.6 million tons or + 12% compared to January-October 2020). About 53% of the total volume was sent to the ports of the Far East.

January 26: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Пульс угля - 20 ноября

Угольная промышленность - актуальные цифры и факты. Партнерский проект Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Добыча, логистика, цены, экспорт - все чем живет угольная промышленность в России и в мире сжато и по делу - в новом партнерском проекте Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Пульс угля - 20 ноября
Фото: pixabay.com



Краткий обзор мирового угольного рынка

На прошедшей неделе индексы энергетического угля в Европе продемонстрировали положительную динамику выше 140 долл./т. на фоне приостановки сертификации Северного потока 2 федеральным сетевым агентством Германии, в то время как котировки российского угля FOB Ust-Luga 6000 составили 165 долл./т.


Из-за продолжающихся проблем с ж/д линией, соединяющей угледобывающие провинции ЮАР и порт Richards Bay, ключевые страны импортеры южноафриканского материала, Индия и Пакистан, заняли выжидательную позицию при ценах, укрепившихся выше 135 долл./т. Запасы угля на терминалах Richards Bay остаются на уровне менее 3 млн т., что может вызвать перебои с экспортом материала. Южноафриканский ж/д оператор Transnet объявил, что с января по октябрь 2021 г. было украдено более 1 тыс. км медного кабеля, предназначавшегося для прокладки ж/д линии. По данным компании, за прошедший год было отменено 1190 поездов в результате инцидентов, связанных с безопасностью.

В Китае цены спот на уголь 5500 ккал/кг NAR находились в диапазоне 165–170 долл./т. FOB Qinhuangdao. Китай существенно нарастил добычу угля до рекордных уровней, но, несмотря на это, китайские власти вновь призывают угольные компании увеличить объемы производства.

Индекс NEWC высококалорийного австралийского угля 6000 ккал/кг снизился до 150 долл./т., что было обусловлено новой ценовой политикой китайского правительства на фоне антиугольных протестов в Австралии, прервавших ж/д перевозки в порт Newcastle.

Снижение торговой активности китайских потребителей в результате увеличения добычи угля в КНР негативно отразилось на индексах индонезийского материала 5900 ккал/кг GAR, упавшего ниже 145 долл./т.

Слабый спрос металлургических комбинатов в АТР на коксующийся материал ослабил индексы импортного металлургического угля из Австралии ниже 370 долл./т.

 

Итоги конференции COP26 в Глазго

26-я Конференция Организации Объединенных Наций по изменению климата, также известная как COP26, прошла в Глазго, Шотландия, с 31 октября по 12 ноября 2021 г.

В саммите приняли участие 25 тысяч делегатов почти из 200 стран и около 120 глав государств. Президенты России и Китая на встречу не приехали.


По итогам конференции было подписано соглашение Glasgow Climate Pact. По мнению экспертов, он получился максимально политкорректным и предельно расплывчатым, что стало следствием необходимости учесть интересы большого количества стран и других заинтересованных сторон, включая общественные организации и бизнес-структуры.

Изначально предполагалось, что в соглашении будет прописано о необходимости отмены использования угля в качестве топлива. Однако в последний момент под нажимом Индии и Китая формулировка coal “phase-out” была заменена на “phase-down”, что можно перевести как “снижение” или “поэтапный отказ”.

По мнению экспертов, решение по углю, принятое на саммите, оказалось более позитивным для индустрии, чем ожидалось. Полного отказа от угольной электроэнергетики не планируется, саммит лишь подтвердил намерение постепенного отказа от угольной энергетики. При этом Индия заявила об углеродной нейтральности лишь к 2070 г., а Китай – к 2060 г.

Другие ключевые положения пакта включают необходимость финансово помогать развивающимся странам для ускорения энергоперехода, прекращение вырубки лесов к 2030 г., а также обязательства о сокращении выбросов метана на 30% к концу десятилетия. 

В частности, финансовая помощь богатых стран бедным и развивающимся должна превысить 100 млрд долл. в год. Пакт говорит о «необходимости мобилизации климатического финансирования из всех источников».

В целом соглашение в Глазго явилось результатом многочисленных компромиссов и противоречий, существующих между разными странами. Как следствие, оно не носит конкретный характер, ни к чему не обязывает, а лишь призывает.

 

Правительство ужесточит ответственность за экологические нарушения при перевалке угля

Правительство рассмотрит законопроект Минприроды, предусматривающий введение штрафа за несоблюдение предписаний об устранении экологических нарушений при транспортировке, дроблении и сортировке угля в портах. Если предписание не будет выполнено дважды деятельность порта может быть приостановлена на срок до 90 суток.


Министерство настаивает на возможности приостановки деятельности портов, несмотря на замечания представителей бизнеса и на то, что данная мера может оказать существенное негативное влияние на отрасль. Кроме того, предлагаемые изменения создают в отношении угольных терминалов дискриминационные условия по сравнению со стивидорными компаниями, ведущими перевалку других грузов, которые могут оказывать воздействие на окружающую среду.

Дискуссия в отношении регулирования данного вида деятельности, вплоть до запрета открытой перевалки угля, продолжается уже несколько лет. В 2020 г. Минтранс выпустил приказ, в котором разъяснил суть термина «закрытая перевалка угля»: ею предлагается считать перевалку с применением наилучших доступных технологий, таких как вагоноопрокидыватели, крытые конвейеры для транспортировки угля, судопогрузочные машины, системы пылеподавления и очистки воздуха, а также другие передовые технологические решения и оборудование.

На Дальнем Востоке России всего несколько таких специализированных угольных терминалов, использующих наилучшие доступные технологии: АО Восточный порт (КРУ), Дальтрансуголь (СУЭК), ВаниноТрансУголь (Колмар), Посьет (Мечел), во то время как большинство терминалов до сих пор применяют устаревшую и неэкологичную грейферную перевалку угля.

В структуре экспортного грузопотока доля угля составляет свыше 50%. Погрузка угля в порты в январе-октябре 2021 г. составила 156.9 млн т. (+16.6 млн т. или +12% к январю октябрю 2020 г.). Около 53% всего объема отправлено в порты Дальнего Востока.