Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Pulse of Charcoal - July 24

Coal industry - actual figures and facts. Partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Mining, logistics, prices, export - all that the coal industry in Russia and in the world lives on is concise and to the point - in a new partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Pulse of Charcoal - July 24
Photo Shoot: Łukasz Dyłka from the website Pixabay
Special project Coal of the East of Russia



A brief overview of the global coal market

Last week, steam coal quotes in Europe once again renewed their 10-year highs, exceeding $ 135 / t. Coal prices in the EU are supported by a complex of factors:

• shortage of coal on the European market, partly due to the low supply of Colombian exporters;

• an increase in spot prices for electricity in a number of EU countries amid recovery in business activity after the pandemic and high average daily temperatures in some regions of Europe;

• an increase in the price of gas on the TTF platform to 36.1 euros / MWh (+1.0 euros / MWh by 01.07.2021) and a decrease in prices for CO2 emission quotas to 51.2 USD / t. (-6.4 USD / ton by 01.07.2021);

• limited supplies of export coal from South Africa (see below).

The scheduled maintenance of the railway connecting the coal-mining provinces of South Africa and the port of Richards Bay, which continues until July 26.07.2021, 125, limits the volume of South African coal exports and supports indices above $ 3.0 / t. The port of Richards Bay, which was previously suspended due to civil protests in the country, is now operating in a restricted mode amid increased security measures. According to market participants, the situation is also exacerbated by the shortage of workers in the port and on the railroad due to their participation in civil unrest. Coal reserves at Richards Bay terminals decreased to 0.3 million tons (-14.07.2021 million tons to XNUMX).


Coal prices of 5500 kcal / kg NAR of domestic production in Qinhuangdao port exceeded $ 157 / t. Heavy rains in China paralyzed the work of a number of large coal mines and the railway connecting large coal deposits and the export port of Qinhuangdao, which supported the quotes. Due to a decrease in coal shipments to the port, stocks of material at Qinhuangdao terms have reached 5-year lows.

The increase in demand for energy material from Australia in the Asia-Pacific region continues to strengthen the Australian coal indices above $ 160 / t. The heat in Japan, as well as the decree of the Japanese government to increase the volume of electricity generation in the country during the Olympic Games from 23.07.2021/08.08.2021/XNUMX to XNUMX/XNUMX/XNUMX, have a favorable effect on the country's demand for imported coal.

Last week, several Asian generators entered into large contracts for the supply of coal from Australia, pegged to the FOB Newcastle Index, to mitigate the risks of volatility in energy material spot prices.

A number of large deals by Chinese generating companies with a deferred supply of coal from Indonesia in August, as well as demand from some coastal CHP plants in India amid declining inventories, strengthened the quotes for the Indonesian material above $ 102 / t. In addition, the unstable epidemiological situation and, as a result, the closure of a number of mines in southern Indonesia reduce coal exports, supporting the indices.

Despite the wait-and-see attitude of some large metallurgical companies in the APR market with the expectation of a possible decrease in indices, limited supplies of coking material from Inner Mongolia to the Chinese market are forcing Chinese steel enterprises to buy Australian metallurgical coal from Asian traders, which supports coal quotations from Australia above $ 210 ./T.

 

Train collision led to stoppage of coal supplies from Elga

On July 19, 2021, as a result of a train collision on the Ulak-Elga section of the Baikal-Amur Mainline (BAM), supplies from the Elginsky coking coal field developed by Elgaugol, a subsidiary of Albert Avdolyan's A-Property and the state corporation Rostec, were suspended. The section of the road is used exclusively by Elgaugol. The accident killed 4 people.


According to experts, supplies can be resumed in 10 days, which will lead to a delay in the delivery of about 0.5 million tons of coal.

Elga is one of the largest coking coal deposits in the world with total reserves of 2.2 billion tonnes of coal (according to the JORC classification). Coal from the deposit is delivered via the BAM to the ports of the Far East. The key consumers of coal mined at Elga are the Chinese company Jindong Cement and the Japanese corporation Itochu.

On July 13, 2021, A-Property offered at its own expense to build a new railway line that will connect it the Elga coking coal deposit and the Chumikan settlement located on the shores of the Sea of ​​Okhotsk. The cost of the project may reach 2.5-3.0 billion dollars.A-Property also plans to build a coal terminal in the port of Vanino with a capacity of 30 million tons per year by 2024 and a mining and processing plant on Elga with a capacity of 32 million tons at the first stage ( end of 2021) and 45 million tons at the second stage (2023).

 

Railway bridge collapsed in the Trans-Baikal Territory

On July 23, 2021, heavy downpours caused the collapse of a railway bridge on the Kuenga-Ukurei section of the Trans-Siberian Railway.

Russian Railways suspended coal transportation at the site for 3 days. According to experts, the site, located in the Trans-Baikal Territory, is of key importance for the supply of coal from Kuzbass to the ports of the Russian Far East.


Exporters will have to suffer financial losses due to ship downtime and delays in coal delivery. Coal transportation can be partially resumed in 2 days. However, the situation is extremely difficult and the current work to eliminate the consequences depends on many factors, so it is possible that the timing may change.

 

Ogodzhinsky coal deposit reserves increased 5 times

On July 19, 2021, a revaluation of the reserves of the Ogodzhinsky coal deposit, owned by the state corporation Rostec and Albert Avdolyan's A-Property company, was carried out. As a result, Ogoji's balance reserves reached 386 million tons, which is 4.7 times more than the results of the previous assessment in 2014.



The Ogodzhinskoye coal deposit is located in the Amur Region, near the northern border of Russia with China. By 2023, A-Property plans to increase the capacity of Ogoji to 10 million tons per year. The potential design capacity of the deposit is 30 million tons of coal per year.

On May 28, 2021, Gazprombank received a pledge of 100% of the Ogodzhinsky coal deposit. The pledge of the asset is associated with a loan agreement concluded between the bank and the Ogodzhinsky energy holding, which is developing the Ogodzha coal project.

According to experts, Rostec and A-Property can increase investments in the development of the field up to 107 billion rubles. ($ 1.4 billion) over 20 years. The volume of investments in the Elga coking coal project, the key asset of A-Property, may amount to 130 billion rubles. ($ 1.7 billion).

 

Russian Railways restricts coal shipments to the southern ports of Russia

On July 15, 2021, the Association of Commercial Sea Ports informed Russian Railways about difficulties in shipping coal for export through the ports of the Azov and Black Seas. According to the complaint, in July, Russian Railways agreed on only half of the coal supplies. According to representatives of the Association, this may lead to a shortage of coal, the suspension of the work of certain stevedores, downtime of chartered ships and a decrease in transshipment volumes. Other types of cargo were not affected by Russian Railways policy.


Photo: JSC "Russian Railways"

According to the statement of representatives of Russian Railways, the total volume of cargo transportation to the southern ports in the first half of 2021 increased by 22% to 46.2 million tons compared to the same period last year, coal supplies increased by 180% to

14.6 million tons compared to the same period last year. In the first 15 days of July, coal shipments rose 93.4% to 1.4 million tonnes over the same period last year. Currently, the company is taking measures to increase the throughput to 125 million tons per year, developing approaches to the southern ports.

According to experts, the rise in international coal indices has led to an increase in coal supplies to the south, which has increased the pressure on the railways and transport infrastructure. Limited carrying capacity amid increasing passenger traffic to the south and a shortage of locomotives, forcing Russian Railways to give priority to more profitable types of cargo, such as grain and oil products.

September 23: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Пульс угля - 24 июля

Угольная промышленность - актуальные цифры и факты. Партнерский проект Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Добыча, логистика, цены, экспорт - все чем живет угольная промышленность в России и в мире сжато и по делу - в новом партнерском проекте Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Пульс угля - 24 июля
Фото: Łukasz Dyłka с сайта Pixabay



Краткий обзор мирового угольного рынка

На прошедшей неделе котировки энергетического угля в Европе в очередной раз обновили 10-летние максимумы, превысив 135 долл./т. Поддержку угольным ценам в ЕС оказывает комплекс факторов:

•             дефицит угля на европейском рынке, частично обусловленный низким объемом поставок колумбийских экспортеров;

•             увеличение спотовых цен на электроэнергию в ряде стран ЕС на фоне восстановления деловой активности после пандемии и высоких среднесуточных температур в некоторых регионах Европы;

•             подорожание газа на платформе TTF до 36.1 евро/МВТч (+1.0 евро/МВТч к 01.07.2021 г.) и снижение цен на квоты на выбросы CO2 до 51.2 долл./т. (-6.4 долл./т. к 01.07.2021 г.);

•             ограниченные поставки экспортного угля из ЮАР (см. ниже).

Продолжающееся до 26.07.2021 г. плановое обслуживание железной дороги, соединяющей угледобывающие провинции ЮАР и порт Richards Bay, ограничивает объемы экспорта южноафриканского угля и оказывает поддержку индексам выше 125 долл./т. Порт Richards Bay, вынужденный ранее приостановить работу из-за гражданских протестов в стране, сейчас работает в ограниченном режиме на фоне повышенных мер безопасности. По мнению участников рынка, ситуация также усугубляется нехваткой рабочих в порту и на железной дороге из-за их участия в гражданских беспорядках. Запасы угля на терминалах Richards Bay снизились до 3.0 млн. т. (-0.3 млн. т. к 14.07.2021 г.).


Цены на уголь 5500 ккал/кг NAR внутреннего производства в порту Qinhuangdao превысили 157 долл./ т. Проливные дожди в КНР парализовали работу ряда крупных угольных шахт и железной дороги, соединяющей крупные месторождения угля и экспортный порт Qinhuangdao, что оказало поддержку котировкам. Из-за снижения объемов отправок угля в порт, запасы материала на терминах Qinhuangdao достигли 5-летних минимумов.

Увеличение спроса на энергетический материал из Австралии в АТР продолжает укреплять индексы угля австралийского происхождения выше 160 долл./т. Жара в Японии, а также указ японского правительства об увеличении объемов выработки электричества в стране на время проведения Олимпийских игр с 23.07.2021 г. до 08.08.2021 г., благоприятно отражаются на спросе страны на импортный уголь.

На прошлой неделе некоторые азиатские генерирующие предприятия заключили крупные контракты на поставку угля из Австралии с привязкой к индексу FOB Newcastle, чтобы снизить риски волатильности спотовых цен на энергетический материал.

Ряд крупных сделок китайских генерирующих предприятий с отложенной поставкой угля из Индонезии в августе, а также спрос некоторых прибрежных ТЭЦ в Индии на фоне сокращающихся запасов укрепили котировки индонезийского материала выше 102 долл./т. Кроме того, нестабильная эпидемиологическая обстановка и, как следствие, закрытие ряда шахт на юге Индонезии снижают экспорт угля, оказывая поддержку индексам.

Несмотря на выжидательную позицию некоторых крупных металлургических компаний на рынке АТР с расчетом на возможное снижение индексов, ограниченные поставки коксующегося материала из Внутренней Монголии на китайский рынок вынуждают сталелитейные предприятия КНР покупать австралийский металлургический уголь у азиатских трейдеров, что оказывает поддержку котировкам угля из Австралии выше 210 долл./т.

 

Столкновение поездов привело к остановке поставок угля с Эльги

19 июля 2021 г. в результате столкновения поездов на участке Улак-Эльга Байкало-Амурской магистрали (БАМ) поставки с Эльгинского месторождения коксующегося угля, разрабатываемого компанией Эльгауголь, дочерней компанией А-Проперти Альберта Авдоляна и госкорпорации Ростех, были приостановлены. Участок дороги используется исключительно компанией Эльгауголь. В результате аварии погибли 4 человека.


По мнению экспертов, поставки могут быть возобновлены через 10 дней, что приведет к задержке доставки около 0.5 млн. т. угля.

Эльга является одним из крупнейших месторождений коксующегося угля в мире с общими запасами 2.2 миллиарда т. угля (по классификации JORC). Уголь с месторождения доставляется по БАМу в порты Дальнего Востока. Ключевыми потребителями угля, добываемого на Эльге, являются китайская компания Jindong Cement и японская корпорация Itochu.

13 июля 2021 г. А-Проперти предложила за свой счет построить новую железнодорожную линию, которая соединит ее Эльгинское месторождение коксующегося угля и поселок Чумикан, расположенный на берегу Охотского моря. Стоимость проекта может составить 2.5-3.0 млрд долл. А-Проперти также планирует строительство угольного терминала в порту Ванино мощностью 30 млн. т. в год к 2024 г. и горно-обогатительного комбината на Эльге мощностью 32 млн. т. на первом этапе (конец 2021 г.) и 45 млн. т. на втором этапе (2023 г.).

 

В Забайкальском крае обрушился железнодорожный мост

23 июля 2021 г. сильные ливни вызвали обрушение железнодорожного моста на участке Куэнга-Укурей Транссибирской магистрали.

РЖД приостановили перевозку угля по участку на 3 дня. По мнению экспертов, участок, расположенный в Забайкальском крае, имеет ключевое значение для поставок угля из Кузбасса в порты Дальнего Востока России.


Экспортерам придется понести финансовые потери из-за простоя судов и задержек с доставкой угля. Транспортировка угля может быть частично возобновлена через 2 дня. Однако ситуация крайне сложная и текущая работа по устранению последствий зависит от многих факторов, поэтому не исключено, что сроки могут измениться.

 

Запасы Огоджинского угольного месторождения увеличились в 5 раз

19 июля 2021 г. была проведена переоценка запасов Огоджинского угольного месторождения, принадлежащего госкорпорации Ростех и компании А-Проперти Альберта Авдоляна. В результате балансовые запасы Огоджи достигли 386 млн. т. Это в 4.7 раза больше, чем результаты предыдущей оценки в 2014 г.



Огоджинское угольное месторождение расположено в Амурской области, недалеко от северной границы России с Китаем. К 2023 г. А-Проперти планирует увеличить мощность Огоджи до 10 млн. т. в год. Потенциальная проектная мощность месторождения составляет 30 млн. т. угля в год.

28 мая 2021 г. Газпромбанк получил в залог 100% Огоджинского угольного месторождения. Залог актива связан с кредитным соглашением, заключенным между банком и энергетическим холдингом Огоджинский, разрабатывающим угольный проект Огоджа.

По оценкам экспертов, Ростех и А-Проперти могут увеличить инвестиции в разработку месторождения до 107 млрд. руб. (1.4 млрд. долл.) в течение 20 лет. Объем инвестиций в Эльгинский проект коксующегося угля, ключевой актив А-Проперти, может составить 130 млрд. руб. (1.7 млрд. долл.).

 

РЖД ограничивают отправки угля в южные порты России

15 июля 2021 г. Ассоциация морских торговых портов сообщила ОАО РЖД о трудностях с отправкой угля на экспорт через порты Азовского и Черного морей. Согласно жалобе, в июле РЖД согласовало только половину поставок угля. По мнению представителей Ассоциации, это может привести к нехватке угля, приостановке работы отдельных стивидоров, простою зафрахтованных судов и снижению объемов перевалки. Другие виды грузов не были затронуты политикой РЖД.


Фото: ОАО «РЖД»

По заявлению представителей РЖД, общий объем грузоперевозок в южные порты в первом полугодии 2021 г. увеличился на 22% до 46.2 млн. т. по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года, поставки угля выросли на 180% до

14.6 млн. т. по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года. За первые 15 дней июля отгрузки угля выросли на 93.4%, до 1.4 млн. т. по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года. В настоящее время компания принимает меры по увеличению пропускной способности до 125 млн. т. в год, развивая подходы к южным портам.

По мнению экспертов, рост международных угольных индексов привел к увеличению поставок угля на юг, что усилило нагрузку на железную дорогу и транспортную инфраструктуру. Ограниченная провозная способность в условиях увеличения потока пассажирских перевозок на юг и нехватки локомотивов, вынуждают РЖД отдавать приоритет более прибыльным видам грузов, таким как зерно и нефтепродукты.

25 сентября: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика