Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Development of regional tourism: a tool or a goal?

Tourism - an industry that, along with raw materials, infrastructure and agro-industrial projects, are considered among the "engines" of the development of the Far East. Is this really the case, analyzes the candidate of philosophical sciences, a researcher at the Faculty of Philosophy of the Moscow State University named after MV Lomonosov Alexander Petrovich Segal

Development of regional tourism: a tool or a goal?
Photo: Shutterstock.com

The mechanism of functioning of the tourism industry seems quite transparent, and the contribution to the development of the region is obvious. However, one has only to look at this mechanism in action, as things are not so obvious. Consider some of the problem points of development - both objective and subjective, that is, taking place both from the configuration of the industry and from the understanding of the development strategy of its subjects.

As you know, the strategy:

a) is determined by goals, since it is a way to achieve them;

b) assumes the presence of a subject of goal-setting and decision-making;

c) is built systematically: with a certain sequence of steps and a hierarchy (subordination) of elements.

Let's start with the last point, which is, so to speak, the structural foundation. Tourist[1] The industry in Russia has existed for a long time, it has gone a long way of development and transformations - and the newly opened areas and regions cannot but be regarded as subsystems of a large Russian industry system, which, in turn, is a subsystem, a segment of the global tourist market.

It is precisely with the structure that there is inconsistency in goal-setting and, as a result, strategy problems: each industry participant judges the overall picture from the point of view of its own market segment. An analysis of the situation shows that the problems of the industry are systemic. There is no single weak link in the structure of the industry, which can be used to achieve a magical result. The system crashes in all or almost all of the links.

This means that any actions of the subjects of the industry, to be successful, must be carried out as a single complex, in which the sequence of steps and their coordination are important. This is especially noticeable in the construction of regional tourist infrastructures from scratch. In this case, from the very beginning one should consider them as subsystems of the industry and look for system solutions.

Different directions of interests of the subjects of the industry demonstrate the necessity of the presence of the main subject - the institution of setting a common goal and making a decision. It can be a regulator or even an organ of state power and government at the level of a region or a federal district. In fact, only in this way the particular tasks of the subjects of the industry can become tasks subordinated to the main, public goal - the development of the territory.

How can this goal be realized through the development of domestic and inbound tourism? It is assumed that travelers, having arrived in the region, in one way or another will leave money there. And with these funds, the revival and development of the region will begin, but it turns out that the “New Vasyukov concept” is ineffective.

First, not all tourist money will fall into the bins of the subject. Having arrived in the region, they will be dispersed fairly quickly - and it's good, if half of them remain in the form of deductions to budgets, income taxes and FZP, salaries to employees. The other part will go to the place of "registration" of participants, to other regions and countries, often in the form of "black" and "gray" lines ... Secondly, not every tourist is going to go to places where there are not enough comfortable hotels, good roads , where there is no system of insurance, transfers, communications.

So, maybe, to do everything on the contrary: first invest in tourist infrastructure, and only then wait for the golden tourist rain? And here comes the moment when they start talking about the development of the industry itself as a self-sufficient goal. And it turns out that the regions should develop it, because "it's so necessary".

The purpose and instrument of its achievement are interchanged. Such a turn is a sign of immaturity and / or lack of development strategy. Indeed, there is no strategy without awareness of the goal and its articulation. Because the goal sets the desired result, the means to achieve it, the direction of movement towards it and motivation. This means the need to voice the interests of the territory to the parties involved - the stakeholders.[2]. In other words, we need a translation from the language of the objectives of the territory into the language of the objectives of the subjects acting on it or together with it.

In practical terms, this question looks like "What to offer?". In the minds of a significant number of citizens, including participants in the tourism business, and representatives of the authorities and the media, often takes the form of "What to sell?" - and it sounds like a question about the "territory brand".

Let's say right away: we consider the brand as a special type of brand, “expressing not only functional, but also emotional benefits ... for which the consumer is willing to pay extra. Accordingly, the nature of the brand is closely related to the sale, and the brand’s premium is the monetary expression of the brand, that is, the value of the mark-up that the consumer pays for emotional benefits. ”[3] The above approach severely divides the brand and reputation as management objects, therefore, the "territory brand" is not, in the author's opinion, a correct and exhaustive indication of the subject of communication activity. It is more correct to talk not about the brand of the territory, but about the territory as an umbrella brand, under which the tourist product is sold.

Another common approach is the orientation towards the formation of the image of the territory. At the same time, they sometimes refer to Georgia's experience in the presentation of Mikhail Saakashvili. He said that when he was president of Georgia he drove foreign VIP guests to the most beautiful corners of the country, thus forming a broad information wave. However, the former head of the Georgian Tourism Administration, Georgy Sigua, repeatedly stressed that the country was conducting "aggressive PR" of the tourist direction abroad and invested millions of dollars in advertising campaigns. Yes, the result was successful, but for the beginning of Georgia it was necessary to tell that there is such a country, and it is not the US state of Georgia. We admit that the world learned about Georgia in August 2008.

We have a starting advantage - we do not need to talk about the existence of Russia. We need to make specific proposals for specific products. To whom should they be addressed? The answer to this question depends on how to make proposals - that is, communication technologies.

Technologies associated with brand promotion are designed for communication with the direct consumer and are aimed at his emotions. Tour operators and travel agencies communicate directly with clients - and directly in the places of residence of consumers. Therefore, tour operators, including foreign ones, act as the counterparty of the territory as an aggregate receiving entity. They want not only to hear a beautiful offer, but also to receive business information about the business climate in the region: infrastructure, taxes, security, etc.

So it turns out that “branding does not add anything when working with corporate clients, for whom the purchase of goods or services means a business partnership, in which the partner’s reputation and real relationship practice is more important than the“ image ”of the product being purchased”[4].

In other words, we have moved from image-making and branding technologies to technologies of reputation profiling, in the center of which is a collective subject of an action (in our case, a territory), performing certain “actions”. Competent use of technology, operating in the category of “subject's reputation”, requires high professionalism, but at the same time gives a qualitatively different effect.

The Far East for tourism is a clean sheet. And this is a tremendous advantage: it is possible to build a modern industrial building from the very beginning with a new, technologically advanced production, and not to rebuild the shanty-workshops, enclosed by "handicraftsmen with a motor". But the new industry requires serious design, in which, without cooperation with science, it is indispensable.


[1] In the Russian literary language there are both words: "tourist" and "tourist." However, the Federal Law “On the Basics of Tourist Activities in the Russian Federation” uses the adjective “tourist”. We will use the term adopted in the regulatory documents so that there are no discrepancies.

[2] Affected party: any individual, group or organization that may be exposed to risk, exposed to, or perceived to be exposed to risk. GOST R 51897-2011. Risk Management. Terms and Definitions. P. 3.2.1.1.

[3] Michael Thaytz. A brand or a reputation? // Humanitarian technologies: information and analytical portal. URL: http://gtmarket.ru/laboratory/expertize/2007/2127.

[4] Ibid.

September 21: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Развитие регионального туризма: инструмент или цель?

Туризм – отрасль, которую, наряду с сырьевыми, инфраструктурными и агропромышленными проектами, рассматривают в числе «двигателей» развития Дальнего Востока. Так ли это на самом деле, анализирует кандидат философских наук, научный сотрудник философского факультета МГУ им М. В. Ломоносова Александр Петрович Сегал

Развитие регионального туризма: инструмент или цель?
Фото: Shutterstock.com

Механизм функционирования отрасли туризма кажется вполне прозрачным, а вклад в развитие региона – очевидным. Однако стоит лишь взглянуть на этот механизм в действии, как все становится не столь очевидным. Рассмотрим некоторые проблемные точки развития – как объективного, так и субъективного свойства, то есть происходящие как из конфигурации отрасли, так и из понимания стратегии развития ее субъектами.

Как известно, стратегия:

а) определяется целями, поскольку представляет собой путь их достижения;

б) предполагает наличие субъекта целеполагания и принятия решений;

в) строится системно: с определенной последовательностью шагов и иерархией (субординацией) элементов.

Начнем с последнего пункта, представляющего собой, так сказать, структурный фундамент. Туристская[1] отрасль в России существует давно, она прошла достаточно долгий путь развития и трансформаций – и вновь открываемые направления и регионы не могут не рассматриваться как подсистемы большой российской отраслевой системы, которая, в свою очередь, есть подсистема, сегмент мирового туристского рынка.

Именно со структурой связан разнобой в целеполагании и, как следствие, проблемы стратегирования: каждый участник отрасли судит об общей картине с точки зрения своего сегмента рынка. Анализ ситуации показывает, что проблемы отрасли – системные. В структуре отрасли нет какого-то единственного слабого звена, подтянув которое, можно добиться волшебного результата. Система дает сбои во всех или практически во всех звеньях.

Это значит, что любые действия субъектов отрасли, чтобы быть успешными, должны осуществляться как единый комплекс, в котором важна последовательность шагов и их координация. В особенности это заметно при строительстве региональных туристских инфраструктур с нуля. В этом случае следует с самого начала рассматривать их как подсистемы отрасли и искать системные решения.

Разнонаправленность интересов субъектов отрасли демонстрирует необходимость присутствия главного субъекта – инстанции постановки общей цели и принятия решения. Это может быть регулятор или даже орган государственной власти и управления на уровне региона или федерального округа. В самом деле, только так частные задачи субъектов отрасли могут стать задачами, субординированными главной, общественной целью – развитием территории.

Как может быть реализована эта цель через развитие внутреннего и въездного туризма? Предполагается, что путешественники, приехав в регион, тем или иным способом оставят там деньги. И на эти средства начнется возрождение и развитие региона, но выясняется, что «концепция Нью-Васюков» неэффективна.

Во-первых, не все туристские деньги попадут в закрома субъекта. Придя в регион, они довольно быстро распылятся – и хорошо, если половина из них останется в виде отчислений в бюджеты, налогов на прибыль и ФЗП, зарплат работникам. Другая же часть уйдет по месту «прописки» участников, в другие регионы и страны, часто в виде «черного» и «серого» нала… Во-вторых, не всякий турист соберется поехать туда, где пока еще не хватает комфортабельных отелей, хороших дорог, где не налажена система страхования, трансферы, связь.

Так, может, делать все наоборот: сначала вложить средства в туристскую инфраструктуру, а уж потом ждать золотого туристского дождя? И вот настает момент, когда начинают говорить о развитии отрасли самой по себе как о самодостаточной цели. И получается, что регионы должны ее развивать, потому что «так надо».

Цель и инструмент ее достижения меняются местами. Такой поворот – признак незрелости и/или отсутствия стратегии развития. Ведь без осознания цели и ее артикуляции нет стратегии. Потому что цель задает желаемый результат, средства его достижения, направление движения к нему и мотивацию. Это означает необходимость озвучить интересы территории перед причастными сторонами – стейкхолдерами[2]. Иными словами, нужен перевод с языка целей территории на язык целей субъектов, действующих на ней или совместно с ней.

В практической плоскости этот вопрос выглядит как «Что предлагать?». В сознании значительной части граждан, в том числе и участников туристского бизнеса, и представителей власти и СМИ, часто принимает форму «Что продавать?» – и звучит как вопрос о «бренде территории».

Скажем сразу: мы рассматриваем бренд как особый тип торговой марки, «выражающей не только функциональные, но и эмоциональные преимущества… за которые потребитель готов платить дополнительно. Соответственно, природа бренда тесно связана с продажей, а денежным выражением бренда является бренд-премия, то есть величина наценки, которую потребитель уплачивает за эмоциональные преимущества».[3] Приведенный подход жестко разделяет бренд и репутацию как объекты управления, поэтому «бренд территории» не является, по мнению автора, правильным и исчерпывающим обозначением предмета коммуникационной активности. Правильнее говорить не о бренде территории, а о территории как зонтичном бренде, под которым продается туристский продукт.

Еще один распространенный подход – ориентация на формирование имиджа территории. При этом иногда ссылаются на опыт Грузии в изложении Михаила Саакашвили. Он рассказывал, что в бытность президентом Грузии возил зарубежных VIP-гостей в самые красивые уголки страны, формируя таким образом широкую информационную волну. Однако бывший руководитель Администрации туризма Грузии Георгий Сигуа не раз подчеркивал, что страна вела за рубежом «агрессивный PR» туристского направления и вкладывала в рекламные кампании миллионы долларов. Да, результат оказался успешным, но для начала Грузии нужно было рассказать, что есть такая страна, и она – не американский штат Джорджия. Признаем, что о Грузии мир узнал в августе 2008 года.

У нас есть стартовое преимущество – нам не надо рассказывать о существовании России. Нам необходимо делать конкретные предложения конкретных продуктов. Кому они должны быть адресованы? От ответа на этот вопрос зависит и то, как делать предложения, – то есть технологии коммуникаций.

Технологии, связанные с продвижением бренда, рассчитаны на коммуникации с непосредственным потребителем и направлены на его эмоции. Напрямую с клиентами общаются  туроператоры и турагентства – причем непосредственно в местах проживания потребителей. Поэтому контрагентом территории как совокупного принимающего субъекта выступают туроператоры, в том числе зарубежные. Они хотят не только услышать красивое предложение, но и получить деловую информацию о бизнес-климате в регионе: инфраструктура, налоги, безопасность и т. п.

Вот и получается, что «брендинг ничего не добавляет при работе с корпоративными клиентами, для которых приобретение товаров или услуг означает деловое партнерство, в котором репутация партнера и реальная практика отношений существенно важнее «имиджа» приобретаемого продукта»[4].

Иными словами, мы перешли от технологий имиджмейкинга и брендинга к технологиям репутационного профилирования, в центре которых коллективный субъект действия (в нашем случае – территория), совершающий те или иные «поступки». Грамотное применение технологии, оперирующей категорией «репутация субъекта», требует высокого профессионализма, но при этом дает качественно иной эффект.

Дальний Восток для туризма – чистый лист. И это колоссальное преимущество: можно с самого начала выстроить современное индустриальное здание с новым, технологически совершенным производством, а не перестраивать хибарки-мастерские, нагороженные «кустарями-одиночками с мотором». Но новая индустрия требует серьезного проектирования, в котором без сотрудничества с наукой не обойтись.


[1] В русском литературном языке существуют оба слова: «туристский» и «туристический». Однако в Федеральном законе «Об основах туристской деятельности в Российской Федерации» используется прилагательное «туристский». Мы будем использовать термин, принятый в нормативных документах, чтобы не возникало разночтений.

[2] Причастная сторона: любой индивидуум, группа или организация, которые могут воздействовать на риск, подвергаться воздействию или ощущать себя подверженными воздействию риска. ГОСТ Р 51897-2011. Менеджмент риска. Термины и определения. П. 3.2.1.1.

[3] Михаил Тайц. Бренд или репутация? // Гуманитарные технологии: информационно-аналитический портал. URL: http://gtmarket.ru/laboratory/expertize/2007/2127.

[4] Там же.