Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Repressed posthumously

Where to look for traces of the first monument to Admiral Zavoiko - on the dumps of history, in Japan or under the feet of Lazo?

One of the pioneers of the development of the Pacific coast. The first military governor of Kamchatka. Commander of the port of Petropavlovsk. The only commander of the Russian Empire, who managed in the XIX century to win two battles at once on the eastern borders. A man thanks to which the Far East in general remained Russian. All this is Admiral Vasily Zavoiko. Not surprisingly, in 2014 year in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky they opened a majestic monument to the hero. But more than a century ago Zavoiko had already installed a monument in another Far Eastern city - Vladivostok. Why is now on this place is cast-iron Sergey Lazo, and the dismantled statue of the admiral lives in urban legends? The correspondent of EastRussia was sorting out.

Repressed posthumously
Photo: Photo postcard. Monument to Admiral Vasily Zavoyko in Vladivostok / vladmama.ru
GIFT TO THE CRETH
In Vladivostok Zavoyko never been. However, it was in the capital of Primorye at the beginning of the last century that the memory of the famous admiral was decided to perpetuate. After all, the city owes him the very fact of its existence. According to the oral tradition, the Governor-General of Eastern Siberia, Count Nikolay Muravyov-Amursky, was looking for a convenient harbor. He intended to establish a seaport, which over time will become the main outpost of the Russian Empire in the Pacific. The count chose Nikolaevsk and shared his plans with Zavoyko. Admiral advised him not to rush and pay attention to the southern harbor. The Golden Horn Bay was not mentioned in the conversation, but Zavoyko played a role in the appearance of the future capital of Primorye. And now the admiral is rightly considered the "godfather" of the city.

Shortly after Zavoyko's death, a committee was organized in Vladivostok to perpetuate his memory. It was decided to install a monument to the admiral in the very center of Vladivostok, on Svetlanskaya Street. 21 May 1901 year, on the day of the 170 anniversary of the Okhotsk flotilla, commanded by Zavoiko, the solemn ceremony of laying the monument took place. And in the evening the Chief of Staff of the Vladivostok Fortress Colonel Gromov spoke at the Naval Assembly: "This monument, for which the best place in the city is chosen, will remind every citizen, every soldier of the Vladivostok garrison, that the Russians never fold their weapons in front of the enemy, however strong the latter and neither surpassed the strength. "

Money for the casting of the monument was collected by subscription, from all over Russia. One of the first donors was Emperor Nicholas II. When enough money was collected, the famous metropolitan sculptor Ilya Gintsburg, the creator of the monuments to Mendeleev and Stasov in St. Petersburg, and the monument to Gogol in the village of Sorochintsy, began to work.

In 1904, Gunzburg cast a statue of Zavoiko from the dark bronze. Another four years went to bring her to Vladivostok. It remains to design the pedestal. For this task, the local engineer Mikulin undertook. He decided that the admiral in full dress uniform would stand on a high pedestal in the form of a captain's bridge.

The opening of the monument was timed to the 10 anniversary of the death of Zavoiko and to the 50 anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Aygun, according to which Primorye and the Amur Region were part of the Russian Empire. The solemn ceremony was held 18 May 1908 year. And soon around the monument was painted a picturesque park, which the townspeople called "the garden Zavoiko." Preserved a lot of pre-revolutionary postcards, where you can consider the monument itself, and beautiful mansions in the background, in place of which the theater is now built. Gorky.


BEFORE THE BASIS, AND THEN ...
In the autumn of 1922, the troops of the buffer Far Eastern Republic entered Vladivostok. In Primorye, Soviet power was established. The view of the revolutionary soldiers and sailors insulted the figure of the Tsar's admiral in the very center of the city. Who is Zavoyko, what he did for the Far East, the semi-literate Bolsheviks simply did not know. In 1923, the monument was decided to be destroyed, to the base.

Bronze figure Zavoiko tried to throw off the pedestal. But the admiral stood unshakable, as in the times of the Peter and Paul Defense. And then the statue of the admiral was simply torn off. And the decapitated silhouette was hidden under a wooden box. In the spring it was covered with a kumach cloth, and they hung an ideologically correct poster - with the proletariat hitting the hammer on the anvil. And at the foot of the monument now inscribed the inscription: "There will be a monument to the historical struggle of workers for the Soviet Primorye."

In this mutilated form the monument stood up to 1929 year. In May, the Vladivostok City Council at an away meeting (protocol No. 23 from 26.06.1929) decided to dismantle the decapitated bronze statue and send it for melting "as not representing historical and artistic value." Industrialization began in the country of the Soviets, non-ferrous metal became a strategic raw material. On the remelting decided to send and bronze commemorative plaques surrounding the pedestal.

This documentary part of the history of the monument Zavoyko ends. And the second begins - apocryphal. Not a single document confirming that the statue of the admiral was really melted down has survived. So, the wide field for conjectures about its further destiny has opened.


WHERE THE LEGS RISE
Primorye categorically refuse to believe that the monument to the godfather of Vladivostok suffered such a banal fate. According to one of the myths of the city, part of the statue of Zavoyko could not be destroyed. Former ambulance doctor Ivan Vorobyev left memories in which he insisted that he personally witnessed the demolition of the monument. They say that early in the morning five Chinese on the carriages drove up to the garden of Zavoiko, threw ropes at the admiral's bronze figure and began to rock it. The questions of indignant passers-by who gave them such an order were answered that the instruction was given by a “good boss” and showed their hand on the Executive Committee of the Gub.

The statue did not succumb for a long time, but then it "crashed to the ground like an empty barrel," Vorobyov recalled. "We approached closer and saw that the statue was hollow, legs broke off and remained on the pedestal. Of these, bent pins with a thickness of no more than 40-45 mm were sticking out. " The Chinese immersed the monument on a cart, and when asked where they would take him, they answered: "There, at Dyalzavod, for rest. The drive rolled along the street, the crowd followed, the boys were running ahead. Something this procession was like a funeral procession. "



After such a barbaric dismantling, the monument began to look frightening: on the high pedestal stood stumps of legs with pins sticking out of them. Then the Gubernia Executive Committee gave Dalzavod an order to bring the monument into a decent form. The former engineer of the plant, Victor Rybkin, described the events as follows: "The workers' pins were cut down, but they did not clean up their feet, there was too much work. They had to be knocked out, but then they would spoil the pedestal. We decided to make a wooden cube in the form of a coffin, and a star was cut out of the tin. Secure the cabinet, painted. We stood and bowed with the words: "Peace be with your dust, Zavoiko! We will never forget you! ". And at night someone put a half-liter in front of a star. "

Rybkin recalled: a few days later in the newspaper "Red Flag" there appeared a caricature of this bottle of vodka with sarcastic poems, making fun of this gesture. But the effect was reversed: Primorye reached for a pedestal with alcohol and snack. Those who wish to remember the hero of Kamchatka himself, and his monument turned out to be so numerous that the police had to catch them in batches.

Further, the urban myth again intersects with history. 12 August 1945, the old pedestal erected a new monument - the commander of the red partisans Sergey Lazo. The fact that the hero of the revolution fought solely on land, and now found himself on the captain's bridge, did not bother anyone. On an expensive granite pedestal, they simply minted new words spoken by Lazo at the school of ensigns on Russky Island. There was no money for a bronze statue, so the figure of the hero of the revolution was cast from cast iron.

City legends say that the legs of the statue of Lazo simply welded to the stumps of Zavoiko's legs. Dozens of Primorye people assured that they had personally seen how the red partisan was "shod" in the boots of the admiral.


RUSSIAN ADMIRAL IN JAPAN
Another city legend describes the "posthumous" fate of the statue of Zavoiko. Viktor Kartavyy, who worked for an electrician for many years at Dalzavod, said: he personally saw how the Chinese, on two carts, brought a huge monument to the admiral. Indeed, without legs. They threw it on a pile of scrap metal and left. The heroes of Port Arthur, who worked at the plant, were indignant: how can you do this with the famous admiral. One of them, the electrician Popov, suggested removing the statue to the side and covering it with a tarpaulin so that no one sawed it. So the workers acted. And at the end of summer a Japanese steamship "Hozan-maru" arrived in Vladivostok with a cargo of salt, which was exchanged for scrap metal. He also took the statue of Zavoiko.

According to legend, the Japanese also did not allow the statue to be melted down. And attached to her feet and head, and installed on a pedestal in the city of Kobe. This was told by many captains who saw the restored monument. One of the witnesses was Anna Schetinkina, the first female captain of deep sea voyage.

This myth turned out to be so tenacious that in the summer of 1978 the members of the regional branch of the Russian Geographical Society (RGO) wrote a letter to the Japanese consul. They asked to return the statue of Zavoiko to his homeland for transfer to the museum of local lore. VC. Arsenyev. Viktor Polukhin, one of the members of the RGO, recalled how the then chairman of the regional branch of the RGO, Boris Sushkov, in autumn 1978 invited all to listen to the response from Japan: "We heard that the Japanese do not agree to return the monument to the admiral. The idea of ​​the letter was such that in Russia everything is destroyed: monuments, graves, and this is not entirely correct. The Japanese also preserved the graves of Russian sailors and soldiers who died in the battles of 1904-1905, they kept the memory of those GULAGs that died in the sea and were thrown onto the Japanese shore. "

After 30 years, another attempt was made to return the statue. In 2009, Boris Khavanov, the academic secretary of the regional branch of the Russian Geographical Society, again addressed the Japanese consulate in Vladivostok with an official request to confirm or deny information that the Zavoyko statue is in Kobe. The Japanese responded that there is no monument to Admiral in Kobe. After that, many Primorye came to the conclusion: the statue is still in Japan, but you need to look for it in some other coastal Japanese city.

Already two decades in Vladivostok heated debate continues, who is more valuable for history - Zavoyko or Lazo? Is it necessary to restore the monument to the admiral in the same place, or to leave the commander of the red partisans there? Proponents of the demolition of the statue Lazo piously believe in another urban legend - that in St. Petersburg miraculously found a plaster model, which was cast a monument to Zavoiko. So, historical justice will someday triumph, and the hero of the Far East will return to his pedestal exactly as a century ago.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Репрессирован посмертно

Где искать следы первого памятника адмиралу Завойко — на отвалах истории, в Японии или под ногами Лазо?

Один из пионеров освоения Тихоокеанского побережья. Первый военный губернатор Камчатки. Командир Петропавловского порта. Единственный командующий Российской империи, сумевший в XIX веке выиграть сразу два сражения на восточных рубежах. Человек, благодаря которому Дальний Восток вообще остался российским. Все это — адмирал Василий Завойко. Не удивительно, что в 2014 году в Петропавловске-Камчатском открыли величественный монумент герою. Но более века назад Завойко уже был установлен памятник в другом дальневосточном городе — Владивостоке. Почему же теперь на этом месте стоит чугунный Сергей Лазо, а демонтированная статуя адмирала живет в городских легендах? Разбиралась корреспондент EastRussia.

Репрессирован посмертно
Фото: Фотооткрытка. Памятник адмиралу Василию Завойко во Владивостоке / vladmama.ru
ПОДАРОК КРЕСТНОМУ
Во Владивостоке Завойко никогда не бывал. Однако именно в столице Приморья в начале прошлого века решили увековечить память прославленного адмирала. Ведь город обязан ему самим фактом своего существования. Согласно устному преданию, генерал-губернатор Восточной Сибири граф Николай Муравьев-Амурский искал удобную гавань. Он намеревался основать морской порт, который со временем станет главным форпостом Российской империи на Тихом океане. Граф выбрал Николаевск и поделился своими планами с Завойко. Адмирал посоветовал ему не торопиться и обратить внимание на южные гавани. Бухта Золотой Рог в разговоре не упоминалась, но свою роль в появлении будущей столицы Приморья Завойко сыграл. И теперь адмирала по праву считают «крестным отцом» города.

Вскоре после смерти Завойко во Владивостоке был организован комитет по увековечиванию его памяти. Решено было установить памятник адмиралу в самом центре Владивостока, на улице Светланской. 21 мая 1901 года, в день 170-летия Охотской флотилии, которой командовал Завойко, состоялась торжественная церемония закладки монумента. А вечером в Морском собрании выступил начальник штаба Владивостокской крепости полковник Громов: «Этот памятник, для которого выбрано лучшее место в городе, будет напоминать каждому гражданину, каждому солдату владивостокского гарнизона, что русские никогда не складывают оружия перед противником, как бы последний ни был силен и ни превосходил силами».

Деньги на отливку памятника собирали по подписке, со всей России. Одним из первых жертвователей стал император Николай II. Когда набралась достаточная сумма, к работе приступил известный столичный скульптор Илья Гинцбург — создатель памятников Менделееву и Стасову в Санкт-Петербурге, памятника Гоголю в селе Сорочинцы.

В 1904 году Гинцбург отлил статую Завойко из темной бронзы. Еще четыре года ушло на то, чтобы доставить ее во Владивосток. Осталось спроектировать постамент. За эту задачу взялся местный инженер Микулин. Он решил, что адмирал в полной парадной форме будет стоять на высоком постаменте в виде капитанского мостика.

Открытие монумента приурочили к 10-летию кончины Завойко и к 50-летию подписания Айгунского договора, по которому Приморье и Приамурье вошли в состав Российской империи. Торжественная церемония состоялась 18 мая 1908 года. А вскоре вокруг монумента был разбит живописный сквер, который горожане прозвали «садом Завойко». Сохранилось немало дореволюционных открыток, где можно рассмотреть и сам памятник, и красивые особняки на заднем фоне, на месте которых сейчас построен театр им. Горького.


ДО ОСНОВАНЬЯ, А ЗАТЕМ...
Осенью 1922 года во Владивосток вошли войска буферной Дальневосточной Республики. В Приморье была установлена советская власть. Взгляд революционных солдат и матросов оскорбляла фигура царского адмирала в самом центре города. Кто такой Завойко, что он сделал для Дальнего Востока, полуграмотные большевики просто не знали. В 1923 году памятник решили разрушить, до основанья.

Бронзовую фигуру Завойко попытались сбросить с постамента. Но адмирал стоял неколебимо, как во времена Петропавловской обороны. И тогда статуе адмирала просто оторвали голову. А обезглавленный силуэт спрятали под деревянным коробом. Весной его обтянули кумачовой тканью, и повесили идеологически правильный плакат — с пролетарием, бьющим молотом по наковальне. А у подножия монумента теперь красовалась надпись: «Здесь будет заложен памятник исторической борьбы рабочих за советское Приморье».

В таком изуродованном виде памятник простоял до 1929 года. В мае Владивостокский горсовет на выездном заседании (протокол № 23 от 26.06.1929 г.) постановил демонтировать обезглавленную бронзовую статую и отправить ее на переплавку «как не представляющую исторической и художественной ценности». В Стране Советов началась индустриализация, цветной металл стал стратегическим сырьем. На переплавку решили отправить и бронзовые памятные доски, опоясывавшие постамент.

На этом документальная часть истории памятника Завойко заканчивается. И начинается вторая — апокрифическая. Ни единого документа, подтверждающего, что статуя адмирала действительно была переплавлена, не сохранилось. А значит, открылось широкое поле для домыслов о ее дальнейшей судьбе.


ОТКУДА НОГИ РАСТУТ
Приморцы категорически отказываются верить, что памятник крестному отцу Владивостока постигла столь банальная судьба. Согласно одному из городских мифов, часть статуи Завойко уничтожить все-таки не удалось. Бывший врач «Скорой помощи» Иван Воробьев оставил воспоминания, в которых уверял, что лично был свидетелем сноса памятника. Мол, ранним утром к саду Завойко подъехали пятеро китайцев на подводах, набросили на бронзовую фигуру адмирала веревки и начали ее раскачивать. На вопросы возмущенных прохожих, кто отдал им такой приказ, отвечали, что указание дал «хороший начальник» и показывали рукой на Губисполком.

Статуя долго не поддавалась, но потом все же «грохнулась о землю, как пустая бочка», вспоминал Воробьев. «Мы подошли поближе и увидели, что статуя пустотелая, ноги обломались и остались стоять на пьедестале. Из них торчали согнутые штыри толщиною не более 40-45 мм». Китайцы погрузили памятник на телегу, а когда их спросили, куда они его повезут, ответили — «Туда, на Дяльзавод, на покой. Подвода покатилась по улице, толпа шла следом, впереди бежали мальчишки. Чем-то эта процессия напоминала похоронную».

После такого варварского демонтажа монумент стал выглядеть пугающе: на высоком постаменте стояли обрубки ног с торчащими из них штырями. Тогда Губисполком отдал Дальзаводу распоряжение привести памятник в пристойный вид. Бывший инженер завода Виктор Рыбкин описывал дальнейшие события так: «Рабочие штыри спилили, но ноги убирать не стали, слишком много работы. Их надо было выбивать, но тогда испортили бы пьедестал. Решили сделать деревянную тумбу в виде гроба, а из жести вырезали звезду. Закрепили тумбу, покрасили. Постояли, поклонились со словами: «Мир праху твоему, Завойко! Мы тебя никогда не забудем!». А ночью кто-то поставил поллитровку перед звездой».

Рыбкин вспоминал: через несколько дней в газете «Красное знамя» появилась карикатура на эту бутылку водки с саркастическими стихами, высмеивавшими этот жест. Но эффект оказался обратным: приморцы потянулись к постаменту со спиртным и закуской. Желающих помянуть и самого героя Камчатки, и его памятник оказалась так много, что милиции приходилось отлавливать их пачками.

Дальше городской миф снова пересекается с историей. 12 августа 1945 года на старом постаменте установили новый памятник – командиру красных партизан Сергею Лазо. То, что герой революции воевал исключительно на суше, а теперь оказался на капитанском мостике, никого не смутило. На дорогом гранитном постаменте просто отчеканили новые слова, сказанные Лазо в школе прапорщиков на острове Русский. Денег на бронзовую статую не было, поэтому фигуру героя революции отлили из чугуна.

Городские легенды гласят, что ноги статуи Лазо просто приварили к обрубкам ног Завойко. Десятки приморцев уверяли, что лично видели, как красного партизана «обували» в ботинки адмирала.


РУССКИЙ АДМИРАЛ В ЯПОНИИ
Еще одна городская легенда описывает «посмертную» судьбу самой статуи Завойко. Виктор Картавый, много лет проработавший на Дальзаводе электриком, рассказывал: он лично видел, как китайцы на двух подводах привезли огромный памятник адмиралу. Действительно, без ног. Сбросили его на кучу металлолома и уехали. Работавшие на заводе герои Порт-Артура возмутились: как же, нельзя так поступать с прославленным адмиралом. Один из них, электрик Попов, предложил убрать статую в сторону и накрыть брезентом, чтобы никто ее не распилил. Так рабочие и поступили. А в конце лета в порт Владивостока пришел японский пароход «Хозан-мару» с грузом соли, которую обменивали на металлолом. Он забрал и статую Завойко.

Согласно легенде, японцы тоже не пустили статую на переплавку. А приделали к ней ноги и голову, и установили на постамент в городе Кобэ. Об этом рассказывали многие капитаны, видевшие восстановленный памятник. Одним из свидетелей была Анна Щетинкина — первая в стране женщина-капитан дальнего плавания.

Этот миф оказался настолько живучим, что летом 1978 года члены краевого отделения Российского географического общества (РГО) написали письмо японскому консулу. Они попросили вернуть статую Завойко на родину для передачи в краеведческий музей им. В.К. Арсеньева. Виктор Полоухин, один из членов РГО, вспоминал, как тогдашний председатель краевого отделения РГО Борис Сушков осенью 1978 года пригласил всех послушать ответ из Японии: «Мы услышали, что японцы не согласны возвращать памятник адмиралу. Мысль письма была такова, что в России уничтожается все: памятники, могилы, а это не совсем правильно. Японцы же сохранили могилы русских моряков и солдат, погибших в боях 1904-1905 годов, они сохранили память о тех ГУЛАГовцах, что погибли в море и были выброшены на японский берег».

Через 30 лет была предпринята еще одна попытка вернуть статую. В 2009 году Борис Хаванов, ученый секретарь краевого отделения РГО, вновь обратился в консульство Японии во Владивостоке с официальным запросом — подтвердить или опровергнуть информацию о том, что статуя Завойко находится в городе Кобэ. Японцы ответили, что в Кобэ памятника адмиралу нет. После чего многие приморцы пришли к выводу: статуя все же в Японии, но искать ее нужно в каком-нибудь другом прибрежном японском городе.

Уже два десятка лет во Владивостоке продолжаются жаркие споры, кто более ценен для истории — Завойко или Лазо? Нужно ли восстановить памятник адмиралу на прежнем месте, или же оставить там командира красных партизан? Сторонники сноса статуи Лазо свято верят в еще одну городскую легенду — что в Санкт-Петербурге чудесным образом нашлась гипсовая модель, по которой был отлит памятник Завойко. А значит, историческая справедливость когда-нибудь восторжествует, и герой Дальнего Востока вернется на свой постамент в точности таким, как век назад.