Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Robust shoots of roulette business

The entertaining and resort zone in the East of Russia does not yet meet the expectations of regional officials

Robust shoots of roulette business

Tourism is conceived by regional and federal authorities as one of the drivers of economic development of the Primorsky Territory. And the gambling business is called to become a powerful component of tourism - represented by the Primorye integrated entertainment resort zone (IRPK) which has been under construction for several years. Alas, despite repeated demonstrations of optimistic expectations from a number of officials and businessmen, the gambling industry is stalling. However, EastRussia experts believe that this is temporary.


The first casino worked at a loss

Thus, the Tigre de Cristal entertainment and gaming complex that opened in November (casino on 2015 machines and 759 gaming tables, as well as a hotel of the highest category with a number of rooms in 67 number) not only showed losses for the year of $ 121 million, but and became a defendant in arbitration proceedings. LLC “Primorye-Dalniy Vostok” Construction Company (PDV), in the middle of last year, filed three claims against the casino operator, OOO иí11 InterTeing, with the Arbitration Court of Primorsky Krai. The amount of claims (for allegedly unpaid construction work, which was performed as a general contractor for PDV) - about 1 million rubles. Moreover, PDV requires to recognize LLC "X51 InterTinement" as much as bankrupt.

Recall, Tigre de Cristal - only one of the objects of the integrated entertainment resort zone (IRKZ) "Primorye", which is built today in the space of 620 hectares between Vladivostok and its satellite city Artem - in accordance with the order of the Government of the Russian Federation from 2009 year. The latter, in turn, was due to the law adopted in the same year. According to him, all gaming points in Russia had to be closed, or go to work in special gambling zones. The place of their location was chosen Kaliningrad region, Krasnodar Territory, Altai and Primorye. Subsequently, the accent was made not on gambling (gambling and not too conformable to traditional ethical notions of Russians) component, but on resort and entertainment, designed to stimulate the development of both domestic and inbound tourism in the country. According to plans, the Primorye IRKZ should be fully built up and fully ready for operation in 2022 year. Infrastructure ICRP - engineering and road - is created at the expense of the regional budget. About 800 million rubles have been allocated for these purposes.

In addition to the group of Melco companies, the key investors in the Primorski Kray were the Malaysian company NagaCorp Ltd, Royal Time Primorye and Diamond Fortune Holdings Prim. The last operator has already started construction of the resort-entertainment complex "Selena". According to official information from the management of Diamond Fortune Holdings Prim, the deadline for entering the complex remains unchanged, the end-2017 - the beginning of 2018. Work is conducted in accordance with this schedule.

"All the projects that our company implements in the Primorye ICRP are already presented. In September last year at the Eastern Economic Forum the project of the hotel and entertainment complex Selena was presented. In March of this year, at a meeting of the working group of the Primorsky Territory Administration and in the media, we presented three new complexes - Golden Gate, Moon Gate and Sun. To active work on the construction of the latter the company has already started - it is being built in parallel with the complex Selena. To the construction of the Golden Gate and Moon Gate, we intend to proceed in 2018 year, - reported the correspondent. EastRussia Evgenia Varakina, spokesperson for Diamond Fortune Holdings Prim. - Today our company is preparing to participate in a major tourist event, which will be held in May - the Pacific Tourism Forum and PITE. During the forum, there will also be a presentation of all our complexes for residents and guests of Primorsky Krai. "

Despite difficult times for the economy of the country and the region in particular, officials of Primorye are confident in the success of the gambling enterprise. They are in agreement with the assurances of Craig Ballantyne, CEO of G1 Entertainment that "The opening of the first casino will strengthen the investment positions of the region, transform Primoriye into a world-class resting place and attract visitors from all over the Pacific Far East. Vice-governor of the Primorsky Territory Sergei Nekhaev, who oversees the tourist and recreational direction, is convinced that Vladivostok and the Primorsky Territory as a whole are called upon to become a tourist hub in the Asia-Pacific region. And the Primorye IRZK will contribute to this as much as possible because it is "invested by recognized leaders of the world entertainment industry". The positive attitude of Konstantin Shestakov, the director of the tourism department of Primorsky Krai, is caused primarily by the fact that "the first in Primorye, and the largest casino in Russia, like the entire IRKZ as a whole, will not only give a powerful impetus to the development of tourism and will provide thousands of workers in the region with workers places. It is, according to the calculations of the official, about 3000 new workplaces in a year and a half or two years after the launch of the first complexes of IRKZ and revenues to the regional budget (only for the tax on gambling) - in the amount of more than 1 billion rubles annually.

Bet on neighboring China

Timur Nigmatullin, financial analyst (macroeconomics, IT & consumer), Finam Group cautiously optimistic about the prospects of the gaming business in the south of the Far East: "JX1 Interactive, after a month of working in the test mode, opened the first casino in Primorsky Territory only on November 11th 12. Thus, rumors of losses for 2015 year are not surprising. In 2015, I expect the enterprise to achieve self-sufficiency. Moreover, with a high probability, LLC will demonstrate a significant net profit. However, certain risks in itself are borne by the adoption of amendments to the law "On lotteries", which will promote the development of video lottery terminals. In this case, the payback period can be prolonged for a long time.

In my opinion, Primorye is currently the most promising gambling zone in Russia. So, even despite the relatively high state regulation and negative economic conditions, the return on investment in the project can be up to 1,5-2,5 years after the end of construction. Given the location of the zone, players from Asian countries in general, and from China in particular, will provide up to 50% of all visitors. Among other things, it will support visitor traffic and a weak ruble, since this circumstance makes inbound tourism advantageous in terms of the cost of recreation. Finally, I would like to note cooperation with world-famous investors, which will allow the project to pay off more quickly due to their expertise in the field of gambling business. ”

According to Marat Manasyan, CEO of M1 Solutions: “There are two factors that do not yet allow the gambling zone of Primorye to develop and work successfully. The first geographical factor is that Primorye is far removed from the European part of Russia, about 4% of the population of the Russian Federation lives in the Far Eastern Federal District, the majority of these people do not have significant incomes. The main migration of capital is negative, investors leave the region, preferring to invest in other regions of the Russian Federation or abroad. The number of people with an income level that allows them to visit gambling establishments is small, and only some of these people have a tendency to gamble.

The second factor: in Primorye, there is almost no infrastructure for servicing players. Or rather, gambling tourists. With developed infrastructure, the region, in particular Vladivostok, can become one of the centers of attraction for tourist-players. The construction of high-quality hotels, restaurants, service companies, putting in order the road and transport infrastructure - all this will give a powerful impetus to the tourist flow. First of all, when building infrastructure facilities, one should focus on Chinese tourism. With the weakening of the Russian currency to the dollar, the flow of Chinese tourists in the Far East has increased significantly.

From the economic point of view, the presence of a limited number of gambling zones, with proper control by the state, can ensure a significant inflow of funds to the budgets of the relevant subjects of the Federation. Politically, such decisions slightly contradict the previously announced position on gambling in principle.

In my opinion, changes in legislation not in favor of gambling in the current economic conditions are not economically justified. Gambling existed for many years and, throughout the history of mankind, enjoyed constant demand. After introducing restrictions on the game by adopting the relevant law, the gambling business moved to the Internet, where it continues to work successfully. At the same time, the state has lost the source of constant replenishment of the budget: Internet casinos, as a rule, are registered not in the territory of our country and are not obliged to pay taxes in our country. Demand for similar services is not weakening. It would be possible to widen the effect of the law on gambling zones a little, having created in each subject of the Russian Federation a separate territory, permitted for use as a gambling zone. On the one hand, this will provide consumers with a comfortable opportunity to meet their needs within their own region, on the other - to ensure control over the gambling business within the zone from the state and to replenish the budgets of the respective regions of the Russian Federation. "

Alexander Latkin, Director of the Institute of International Business and Economics, Vladivostok State University of Economics and Service: "Macao and Las Vegas are too far from our immediate neighbors from the Chinese north-eastern provinces of Heilongjiang and Jilin. Therefore, they, if there is an alternative in our glorious and close to them city, will rush here for entertainment and recreation. The same can be said about the guests from South Korea. As you know, already more than half of the rooms in the hotel just opened Tigre de Cristal hotels were booked by citizens of these countries. And they do not need a warm sea, since these people (businessmen and officials), in their mass, do not make a cult from the beach season. They would have to play, and have fun, and this can be successfully done inside a comfortable room in all respects. On the other hand, and in Vladivostok itself, there are many middle-class and wealthy people who can afford to get out on weekends - alone, with family or friends - to rest and maybe risk a thousand or two rubles at a gambling table ... ".

Photos from the casino site Tigre de Cristal

October 30: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Робкие ростки рулеточного бизнеса

Развлекательно-курортная зона на Востоке России пока не отвечает ожиданиям региональных чиновников

Робкие ростки рулеточного бизнеса

Туризм мыслится региональными и федеральными властями как один из локомотивов экономического развития Приморского края. А мощной составляющей туризма призван стать игорный бизнес — в лице строящейся вот уже в течение нескольких лет интегрированной развлекательной курортной зоны (ИРКЗ) «Приморье». Увы, несмотря на неоднократную демонстрацию оптимистических ожиданий со стороны ряда чиновников и предпринимателей, азартная индустрия пока пробуксовывает. Впрочем, эксперты EastRussia считают, что это временно.


Первое казино сработало в убыток

Так, открывшийся в ноябре 2015 года развлекательно-игровой комплекс Tigre de Cristal (казино на 759 автоматов и 67 игровых столов, а также гостиница высшей категории с номерным фондом на 121 номер) не только показал убытки по итогам года в размере $11 млн, но и стал ответчиком в арбитражном судопроизводстве. ООО «Строительная компания «Приморье-Дальний Восток» (ПДВ) в середине прошлого года подало в отношении оператора казино – компании ООО «Джи1 Интертейнмент» – три иска в Арбитражный суд Приморского края. Сумма исковых требований (за якобы неоплаченные строительные работы, которые выполняла в качестве генподрядчика ПДВ) – около 51 млн рублей. Более того, ПДВ требует признать ООО «Джи1 Интертейнмент» ни много ни мало банкротом.

Напомним, Tigre de Cristal – лишь один из объектов интегрированной развлекательной курортной зоны (ИРКЗ) «Приморье», которая застраивается сегодня на пространстве в 620 гектаров между Владивостоком и его городом-спутником Артемом — в соответствии с распоряжением Правительства РФ от 2009 года. Последнее, в свою очередь было обусловлено законом, принятом в том же году. Согласно ему, все игровые точки в России должны были закрыться, либо перейти на работу в специальных игорных зонах. Местом их размещения были выбраны Калининградская область, Краснодарский край, Алтай и Приморье. Впоследствии акцент стал делаться не на игорной (азартной и не слишком созвучной традиционным этическим представлениям россиян) составляющей, а на курортно-развлекательной, призванной стимулировать развитие в стране как внутреннего, так и въездного туризма. По планам, ИРКЗ «Приморье» должна быть полностью застроена и целиком готова к эксплуатации в 2022 году. Инфраструктура ИКРЗ — инженерная и дорожная – создается за счет краевого бюджета. На эти цели выделено около 800 миллионов рублей.

Кроме группы компаний Melco ключевыми инвесторами в ИРКЗ «Приморье» стали  малазийская компания NagaCorp Ltd, «Роял Тайм Приморье» и Diamond Fortune Holdings Prim. Последний оператор уже начал строительство курортно-развлекательного комплекса «Селена». По официальной информации от руководства Diamond Fortune Holdings Prim, сроки ввода комплекса остаются неизменными, конец-2017 – начало 2018 года. Работы ведутся в соответствии с этим графиком. 

«Все проекты, которые наша компания реализует в ИКРЗ «Приморье»  - уже презентованы. В сентябре прошлого года на Восточном экономическом форуме был представлен проект гостинично-развлекательного комплекса Selena. В марте текущего года на заседании рабочей группы администрации Приморского края и в СМИ мы представили три новых комплекса – Golden Gate, Moon Gate и Sun. К активным работам по строительству последнего компания уже приступила – он возводится параллельно с комплексом Selena. К строительству Golden Gate и Moon Gate мы намерены приступить в 2018 году, – сообщила корр. EastRussia Евгения Варакина, пресс-секретарь Diamond Fortune Holdings Prim. – Сегодня наша компания готовится к участию в крупном туристическом событии, которое состоится в мае – Тихоокеанском туристическом форуму и выставке PITE. В ходе форума также пройдет презентация всех наших комплексов для жителей и гостей Приморского края».

Несмотря на сложные для экономики страны и региона в частности времена, чиновники Приморья уверены в успехе игорного предприятия. Они солидарны с заверениями Крейга Баллантайна, исполнительного директора компании G1 Entertainment о том, что «Открытие первого казино укрепит инвестиционные позиции региона, трансформирует Приморье в место отдыха мирового уровня и привлечёт посетителей со всех уголков тихоокеанского Дальнего Востока. Вице-губернатор Приморского края Сергей Нехаев, курирующий туристическо-рекреационное-направление, убежден, что Владивосток и Приморский край в целом призваны стать туристским хабом в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. А ИРЗК «Приморье» будет в максимальной степени способствовать этому, так как в нее «инвестируют признанные лидеры мировой развлекательной индустрии». Позитивный настрой Константина Шестакова – директора департамента туризма Приморского края — вызван в первую очередь тем, что «первое в Приморье – и самое крупное в России – казино, как и вся ИРКЗ в целом дадут не только мощный толчок развитию туризма и предоставят тысячам жителей региона рабочие места. Речь идет, по расчетам чиновника, о  примерно  3000 новых рабочих мест уже через полтора-два года после запуска первых комплексов ИРКЗ и поступлений в региональный бюджет (только по налогу на игорный бизнес) – в сумме более 1 млрд рублей ежегодно.

 

Ставка на соседний Китай

Тимур Нигматуллин, финансовый аналитик (macroeconomics, IT & consumer) группы компаний "ФИНАМ" в отношении перспектив игрового бизнеса на юге Дальнего Востока высказывает осторожный оптимизм: «Джи1 Интертейнмент после месяца работы в тестовом режиме открыло первое казино в ИРКЗ Приморье только 12 ноября 2015 года. Таким образом, слухи об убытках за 2015 год не вызывают удивления. В 2016 году ожидаю выход предприятия на самоокупаемость. Более того, с высокой вероятностью ООО продемонстрирует значительную чистую прибыль. Впрочем, определенные риски в себе несет принятие поправок в закон «О лотереях», которые будут способствовать развитию видео-лотерейных терминалов. В таком случае сроки окупаемости могут затянуться на длительное время.

На мой взгляд, Приморье на текущий момент является наиболее перспективной игорной зоной в России. Так, даже несмотря на достаточно высокую зарегулированность со стороны государства и негативную экономическую конъюнктуру, окупаемость инвестиций в проект может составить до 1,5-2,5 лет после окончания строительства. Учитывая расположение зоны, игроки из азиатских стран в целом и из КНР в частности обеспечат до 50% всех посетителей. Среди прочего, поддержит трафик посетителей и слабый рубль, так как это обстоятельство делает въездной туризм выгодным с точки зрения стоимости отдыха. Наконец, отмечу сотрудничество с инвесторами с мировым именем, что позволит проекту быстрее окупиться за счет их экспертизы в области игорного бизнеса».

По мнению Марата Манасяна, генерального директора компании M1 Solutions: «Есть два фактора, которые пока не дают возможности игорной зоне Приморья развиваться и успешно работать. Первый фактор географический - Приморье сильно удалено от европейской части России, в Дальневосточном федеральном округе проживает около 4% населения Российской Федерации, большинство этих людей не обладают значительными доходами. Основная миграция капитала отрицательная, инвесторы покидают край, предпочитая инвестировать в других субъектах Российской Федерации или за ее пределами. Количество людей с уровнем дохода позволяющим посещать игорные заведения невелико, и только часть этих людей имеет склонность к азартным играм.

Второй фактор: в Приморье почти нет инфраструктуры для обслуживания игроков. Вернее сказать, игорных туристов. При развитой инфраструктуре регион, в частности Владивосток, может стать одним из центров притяжения для туристов-игроков. Строительство качественных отелей, ресторанов, предприятий сферы услуг, приведение в порядок дорожно-транспортной инфраструктуры – все это даст мощный толчок для туристического потока. В первую очередь при строительстве инфраструктурных объектов стоит ориентироваться на китайский туризм. С ослаблением курса российской валюты к доллару, поток китайских туристов на Дальнем Востоке значительно увеличился.

С экономической точки зрения наличие ограниченного количества игорных зон, при надлежащем их контроле со стороны государства, может обеспечить значительный приток средств в бюджеты соответствующих субъектов Федерации. Политически же такие решения слегка противоречат провозглашенной властями ранее позиции по игорному бизнесу в принципе.

На мой взгляд, изменения законодательства не в пользу игорного бизнеса в текущих экономических условиях экономически не оправданы. Азартные игры существовали много лет и, на протяжении всей истории человечества, пользовались постоянным спросом. После введения ограничений на игры путем принятия соответствующего закона, игорный бизнес переместился в Интернет, где продолжает с успехом работать. При этом государство лишилось источника постоянного пополнения бюджета: Интернет-казино, как правило, регистрируются не на территории нашей страны и не обязаны платить налоги в нашей стране. Спрос же на подобные услуги не ослабевает. Можно было бы немного расширить действие закона об игорных зонах, создав в каждом субъекте РФ отдельную территорию, разрешенную для использования в качестве игорной зоны. С одной стороны это позволит обеспечить потребителей комфортной возможностью удовлетворять свои нужды в пределах родного региона, с другой – обеспечить контроль над игорным бизнесом в пределах зоны со стороны государства и пополнить бюджеты соответствующих регионов РФ».

Александр Латкин, директор Института международного бизнеса и экономики Владивостокского государственного университета экономики и сервиса: «Макао и Лас-Вегас слишком далеки от наших непосредственных соседей из китайских северо-восточных провинций Хэйлунцзян и Цзилинь. Поэтому они, при наличии альтернативы в нашем славном и близком для них городе, устремятся именно сюда для развлечений и отдыха. То же самое можно сказать и про гостей из Южной Кореи. Как известно, уже более половины номеров в гостинице едва успевшей открыться гостиницы Tigre de Cristal забронировали граждане этих стран. И им не нужно теплое море, так как эти люди (бизнесмены и чиновники), в массе своей, не делают культа из пляжного сезона. Им бы поиграть, да поразвлечься, а это можно с успехом сделать и внутри комфортного во всех отношениях помещения. С другой стороны и в самом Владивостоке есть много людей среднего и состоятельного достатка, которые могут себе позволить выбраться на выходные – в одиночку, с семьей, или друзьями – чтобы отдохнуть и, может быть, рискнуть тысячей-другой рублей за игорным столом...».

Фото с сайта казино Tigre de Cristal