Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Russia through the eyes of a foreigner: 48 hours at the Pole of Cold

Russia through the eyes of a foreigner: 48 hours at the Pole of Cold

On Saturday morning, over a cup of coffee, I saw a letter inviting me to Yakutia for an ethnographic holiday. “If you're ready, send me your passport data,” wrote the editor-in-chief of National Geographic Russia. My heart almost jumped out. This is a chance to travel to the Russian Far East, to one of the coldest spots in the world! Seven days later I found myself at Domodedovo airport and got on a plane.

Bears shopping

The first thing that catches the eye of a traveler exhausted by a 6-hour flight Moscow-Yakutsk is a huge poster: a local beauty with a long braid in luxurious white furs and diamonds opens her arms with the words: "Almazergienbank welcomes you to Olonkho Land." “I wonder if there is enough warmth from this commercial embrace to get at least a taxi?” I thought.

The cold struck directly into the lungs, tickled the throat. I coughed. Spontaneous reaction of the body to the cold, from which the body contracted, as if for a moment thought about how to respond to these new sensations. After living for some time in the northern latitudes, I already knew the sensation when everything in the nose freezes and thaws with every breath, but that's so, to a cough - it was something new

We head for a snow-covered parking lot, bathed in the neon lights of the terminal. I mince, vainly trying to keep up with my guide, which now and then disappears in clouds of steam and exhaust fumes from running engines. The door of our minivan flew open, and, jumping in, I proudly thought: “I did it! I got to "the coldest city on the planet," Yakutsk, the capital of the Russian Far East republic of Sakha (Yakutia). "

“Oh, it's still warm,” laughs Ruslan Timofeev, our guide and head of the public relations department of the local municipality, after seeing my reaction to the “pathetic” minus 33 Celsius. “This is autumn for us. Winter starts tomorrow! " And he was right, because the main purpose of our visit to Yakutsk was to attend the 4th annual celebration ceremony "Winter begins in Yakutia". And isn't it symbolic to welcome winter here, where she feels like a sovereign mistress ?!

Later, during an interview with the mayor of the city, Aisen Sergeevich Nikolaev, I learned that Yakutia is known not only for its record-low temperatures recorded in the city of Oymyakon, the famous Pole of Cold, which is considered the coldest point in the Northern Hemisphere and the coldest settlement on Earth, but also a place with an extreme difference between winter and summer temperatures - with an amplitude from minus 64 frost in winter to plus 42 heat in the short Yakut summer - as much as 106 degrees! "To fall in love with Yakutia, come in the summer," the mayor advised with a smile, "and in order to understand it, come in the winter."

Well, we're on time, that's just where to start?

The Republic of Sakha, named after the Sakha tribe, or Yakutia, is about the same size as India (or four of France, as the locals like to say). Yes, India, but with one thousandth of its population, a third of which lives in Yakutsk. The population of Yakutsk is very young, the average age is only 29 years. In the city there are more than 30 higher and secondary special educational institutions in various fields: from economics and finance to art, but most importantly, people do not leave from here. The problem of mass flight to Moscow, from which many Russian regions suffer greatly, is not worth it. And even those who were temporarily blinded by the lights of the capital, as a rule, still return to their hometown, such as the actor and director Alexei Egorov, whom I talked to.

Our minibus slowly moved along the predawn streets of the snow-covered city, and, leaning against the frozen window, I tried to make out the outlines of the surroundings ... Here are the twin panel houses ... gray, pale green, pale peach, here is a square with ice sculptures. Here are strange, bear-like figures moving unnaturally along the sidewalks. Some towards the wind, others towards it. Oh, but these are people! Wrapped in fur from head to toe, in helmet-like hoods made of mink, arctic fox, raccoon and sheepskin. Shoes are called "pimas" or "fur boots" and are made from reindeer hide. From the dangling handbags, you can tell that some of these creatures are women, apparently rushing to work or shopping at the local store.

"Do you have wolves?" - I asked one of our guides, wrapped from head to toe in fur, thus making a timid attempt to apply my very meager knowledge about Yakutia. The image of a pack of wolves raging in the northern forests has become firmly imprinted in my memory after reading a newspaper article a few months ago. But it seems that no one was eager to talk about wolves attacking reindeer and horse herds.

"And the bears?" - I did not calm down. Tatyana Nikolaevna, a representative of the PR department of the local administration, answered, lowering her huge fur hood: “We have a lot of bears! It is so hot in summer that they run out of the forest. Hungry. " She told us that a year ago, all the local newspapers were full of headlines about the man who killed the bear that attacked him with a knife, and added with a smile: “Sometimes we hear stories about how people manage to survive in a fight with bears, if at the right time the phone will ring. They say that bears get scared and run away. Therefore, we have a joke that bears are afraid of Justin Bieber's ringtone. " She laughs, and her silver earrings clink.

March 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Россия глазами иностранца: 48 часов на полюсе холода

Россия глазами иностранца: 48 часов на полюсе холода

Субботним утром за чашкой кофе я увидела письмо с приглашением в Якутию на этнографический праздник. «Если ты готова, пришли мне свои паспортные данные», - писал главный редактор «National Geographic Россия». Мое сердце чуть не выскочило. Это шанс ехать на Дальний Восток России, в одну из самых холодных точек на свете! Семь дней спустя я оказалась в аэропорту Домодедово и села в самолет.

Медведи за покупками

Первое, что приковывает взгляд путника, измученного 6-часовым перелетом Москва-Якутск - огромный плакат: местная красавица с длинной косой в роскошных белых мехах и бриллиантах раскрывает свои объятия со словами: «Алмазэргиэнбанк приветствует вас на Земле Олонхо». «Интересно, хватит ли тепла от этих коммерческих объятий, чтобы добраться хотя бы до такси?», - подумала я.

Холод ударил прямо в легкие, защекотал горло. Я закашлялась. Спонтанная реакция организма на холод, от которого тело сжалось, как будто на мгновение задумавшись, как реагировать на эти новые ощущения. Прожив какое-то время в северных широтах, мне уже было знакомо ощущение, когда в носу все замерзает и оттаивает при каждом вдохе, но вот чтобы так, до кашля, - это было нечто новое

Мы направляемся на заснеженную парковку, залитую светом неоновых огней аэровокзала. Я семеню, тщетно пытаясь не отстать от своего гида, которая то и дело исчезает в клубах пара и выхлопных газов от работающих двигателей. Дверь нашего минивэна распахнулась, и, запрыгнув вовнутрь, я с гордостью подумала: «Я это сделала! Я добралась до "самого холодного города на планете", Якутска, столицы российской дальневосточной республики Саха (Якутии)».

«О, это еще тепло», – смеется Руслан Тимофеев, наш гид и глава департамента по связям с общественностью местного муниципалитета, увидев мою реакцию на «жалкие» минус 33 по Цельсию. «Это для нас осень. Зима начнется завтра!» И он был прав, ведь главной целью нашего визита в Якутск было присутствие на 4-й ежегодной церемонии празднования «Зима начинается с Якутии». Да и разве не символично приветствовать зиму именно здесь, где она чувствует себя полновластной хозяйкой?!

Позже, во время интервью с мэром города Айсеном Сергеевичем Николаевым я узнала, что Якутия известна не только своими рекордно низкими температурами, зафиксированными в городе Оймякон, знаменитом Полюсе холода, который считается самой холодной точкой Северного полушария и самым холодным населенным пунктом на Земле, но и местом с экстремальной разницей зимних и летних температур – с амплитудой от минус 64 мороза зимой до плюс 42 жары коротким якутским летом – в целых 106 градусов! «Чтобы полюбить Якутию, приезжайте летом, – посоветовал с улыбкой мэр, – а чтобы ее понять – зимой».

Ну что ж, мы вовремя, вот только с чего начать?

Республика Саха, названная по имени племени Саха, или Якутия, по площади приблизительно как Индия (или четыре Франции, как любят говорить местные жители). Да, Индия, но с одной тысячной долей ее населения, треть которого проживает в Якутске. Население Якутска очень молодо, средний возраст - всего 29 лет. В городе более 30 высших и средних специальных учебных заведений самых разных направлений: от экономики и финансов до искусства, но самое главное, что люди отсюда не уезжают. Проблема массового бегства в Москву, от которой сильно страдают многие российские регионы, здесь не стоит. И даже те, кого на время ослепили огни столицы, как правило, все-таки возвращаются в родной город, как например, актер и режиссер Алексей Егоров, с которым я беседовала.

Наш микроавтобус медленно продвигался по предрассветным улицам заснеженного города, и, прильнув к замороженному окошку, я пыталась различить очертания окрестностей... Вот панельные дома-близнецы... серые, бледно зеленые, бледно-персиковые, вот площадь с ледяными скульптурами. Вот странные, похожие на медведей фигуры, неестественно перемещающиеся вдоль тротуаров. Одни по ветру, другие ему навстречу. О, да ведь это люди! С головы до пят закутанные в мех, в похожих на шлем капюшонах из норки, песца, енота и овчины. Обувь называется «пимы», или «унты», и шьется из шкуры северного оленя. По свисающим дамским сумочкам можно определить, что некоторые из этих существ женщины, очевидно, спешащие на работу или за покупками в местный магазинчик.

«А волки у вас есть?» - спросила я у одного из наших гидов, с ног до головы укутанного в меха, сделав таким образом робкую попытку применить свои весьма скудные знания о Якутии. Образ стаи волков, свирепствующих в северных лесах, прочно запечатлился в моей памяти после прочтения одной газетной статьи несколько месяцев тому назад. Но о волках, нападающих на оленьи и лошадиные стада, говорить, похоже, никто желанием не горел.

«А медведи?» - не унималась я. Татьяна Николаевна, представитель пиар-департамента местной администрации ответила, приспустив свой огромный меховой капюшон: «Медведей у нас много! Летом бывает настолько жарко, что они выбегают из леса. Голодные». Она рассказала нам, что год тому назад все местные газеты пестрели заголовками о человеке, который убил ножом напавшего на него медведя, и с улыбкой добавила: «Иногда мы слышим истории о том, как людям удается выжить в схватке с медведями, если в нужный момент зазвонит телефон. Говорят, что медведи пугаются и убегают. Поэтому у нас есть анекдот о том, что медведи боятся рингтона Джастина Бибера». Она смеется, и ее серебряные серьги звенят.