Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

APEC Summit 2021 as an anticipation of a new reality

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Virtual Summit in the summer of 2021, as well as other events under its auspices, demonstrate the vectors of change.

Dmitry Shelest, deputy. Director of the FEFU Expert and Analytical Center - on the role of the Russian Federation in APEC and future prospects.

APEC Summit 2021 as an anticipation of a new reality
Photo: apec.org

Dmitry Shelest

Deputy Director of the Expert-Analytical Center of the Far Eastern Federal University

The states of the Pacific Basin have different economic and political structures, far from equal contributions to the global gross product, as well as relationships with other players in the international arena that are different in their complexity. Nevertheless, the APEC member countries are united by a common concern for the future, which today changes almost instantly from a historical point of view. The possibility of waiting for this or that problem to be solved by itself, or when someone will unexpectedly cope with it in modern conditions, becomes a very vicious, if not suicidal strategy. Moreover, the COVID-19 pandemic only aggravates the manifestation of the "new reality", but is by no means its beginning or its end.

According to APEC's plans, in 2021, several platforms were planned at which from July to November, issues of food security, women's participation in the economy, problems of small and medium-sized businesses, fundamental economic challenges in the Asia-Pacific region (APR), the state of global financial systems in relation to the region and much more in the indicated directions. At the same time, the customary meeting of the leaders of the Pacific organization was initiated in July by the Prime Minister of New Zealand, Jasinda Ardari. Obviously, the idea of ​​a virtual summit, launched by the presidency, was agreed with the main players: China, Russia, the United States and Japan. However, this did not diminish the intrigue and conveyed additional interest to all upcoming undertakings under APEC 2021.

The specificity of the past virtual summit and other events is that the unification of the Pacific economies, in its political meaning, is a fairly neutral platform. In turn, the shift in the volume of production and money turnover to the Pacific area gives a certain political weight to the APEC organization, which allows it to take on the functions of a “regional UN” to solve problems at the level of this mega-region.

Therefore, when the call was made to unite in the fight against coronavirus infection as the main thesis, it was also about the search for a certain new configuration of the device and interaction in the Asia-Pacific region. Accordingly, the second message of the APEC Summit-2021 - "restoration of the world economy" sounded more intriguing than it might seem to a person with little interest in economic problems. And the main riddle that the representatives of the Pacific states had to solve was the following: how to do this and with the help of what tools?

To a certain extent, the world still uses the socio-economic mechanisms that worked, and quite well, during the XNUMXth century. However, the current model of global capitalism is failing more and more with every passing year. Even such an apologist for capitalist relations, the famous English economist Paul Collier, is forced to admit that "modern capitalism is capable of providing all of us with an unprecedented level of prosperity, but it is morally untenable and tragic upheavals await it." In turn, the statement of a representative of academic science and the tasks of at least some responsible politicians are very different. Every state leader, naturally, will strive to prevent any "tragic shocks", no matter what the cost.

Perhaps, it is in this context that the meeting of the leaders of the APEC member countries should be perceived. The COVID-19 pandemic has been a factor that has exacerbated political uncertainty, highlighted the massive volatility of the global economy and threatened the implementation of sustainable development goals. In no less obvious way, the new coronavirus infection has shown that the decisions of even the most significant world players will remain good wishes if the global agenda or dialogue with other subjects of international relations is not taken into account.

First of all, the top officials of the APEC member states started talking about the long-term goals, which they noted in their statement. The planning horizon in accordance with the Pacific strategy Putrajaya Vision, announced at the APEC events in 2020, is determined by 2040. Conceptually, we are talking about such general concepts as strengthening the socio-economic component, achieving a balance between them, security, sustainability and inclusive growth. Naturally, they also discussed the need to develop an innovative economy and its digitalization, restart world trade and investment activity.

Naturally, the participants declared their readiness to act in these areas from the standpoint of their interests. Thus, Russian President Vladimir Putin expressed concern about the obstacles to the spread of the Sputnic-V vaccine, announcing its readiness to produce up to 800 million units of the drug per year in cooperation with interested countries. The global nature of such a proposal is obvious. The lack of vaccinations only widens the economic gap between rich and poor countries, and also reduces the investment attractiveness in those regions (usually less prosperous) where coronavirus infection is most prevalent.

President of the People's Republic of China Xi Jinping is also acting in the same direction, who announced China's readiness to send US $ 3 billion to developing countries affected by the coronavirus over three years, as well as to transfer the Chinese vaccine to the most vulnerable poor countries as a result of the pandemic.    

Japanese Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga described possible measures to limit the spread of the disease caused by COVID-19, using the example of the organization of the Olympic Games in Tokyo. According to the head of the Cabinet of Ministers, the Japanese experience is being replicated on a large scale.

The statement of the President of the United States, Joseph Biden, was of a general nature, but suggested a rather interesting concept of investing in global health, which, if sufficiently developed and coordinated by major international players, allows us to speak of a new approach to national saving. True, the American president could not resist a "prick" at Beijing, mentioning the need for free shipping in the Indian-Pacific region.

Thus, the closed format of the July summit speaks volumes. Dubbed a “viral summit” by French channel France24, the summit marked the existence of a new reality. First of all, this is the expectation of the next wave of COVID-19, which, according to the head of the World Health Organization, Tedros Adanom Gibreyesus, will "cover" humanity in the near future. In these conditions, it can be argued that the beginning of a new political reality has been laid. And if many agree on the need for changes, then the changes in the economy that affect peoples, cities and countries are a rather serious thing and in some places unpredictable. And in this regard, the virtual summit against the background of other events within the framework of APEC becomes a step towards reorienting the future.

The first is the realization that human civilization in the next decade is unlikely to reach a utopia or at least a state of sustainable prosperity. The described problems operate in a complex and ubiquitous manner, which implies the expenditure of a significant number of resources only on the elimination of the accumulated contradictions.

Second, the modern world has already formed as a global system. Consequently, further progress must be seen as a system overhaul, the need for which the COVID-19 pandemic has only highlighted. Another way, that is, the regionalization of economies, presupposes a much longer period of a new world reconstruction.

And finally, the third. The ideological models that determined the strategy of state power and the worldview of generations now “do not work” both for the reasons stated and for the complication of all structures of global humanity.

Thus, the leaders, when discussing the details of the new configuration, primarily focus on how to level various economic contradictions. This is the gap in the incomes of the population, and the disproportions in regional economies. And the "viral summit" itself became one of those events where the heads of the leading states tried to "grope" the top-priority steps for building the future in the third decade of the XNUMXst century.

October 25: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Саммит АТЭС-2021 как предвосхищение новой реальности

Виртуальный Саммит организации Азиатско-Тихоокеанского экономического сотрудничества (АТЭС) летом 2021 г., равно как и другие мероприятия под ее эгидой, демонстрируют векторы перемен.

Дмитрий Шелест, зам. директора Экспертно-аналитического центра ДВФУ – о роли Российской Федерации в АТЭС и будущих перспективах.

Саммит АТЭС-2021 как предвосхищение новой реальности
Фото: apec.org

Дмитрий Шелест

Заместитель директора Экспертно-аналитического центра Дальневосточного федерального университета

Государства, входящие в Тихоокеанский бассейн, имеют различное экономическое и политическое устройство, далеко не равный вклад в мировой валовый продукт, а также различные по своей сложности отношения с другими игроками на международной арене. Тем не менее, страны-участники АТЭС объединяет общая обеспокоенность перед будущим, которое сегодня меняется почти мгновенно с исторической точки зрения. Возможность ожидания, когда та или иная проблема разрешается сама собой, или кто-либо неожиданно справится с ней в современных условиях, становится весьма порочной, если не самоубийственной стратегией. Причем пандемия COVID-19 лишь усугубляет проявление «новой реальности», но отнюдь не является ни ее началом, ни ее концом.

Согласно планам АТЭС, в 2021 году было запланировано несколько площадок, на которых с июля по ноябрь должны обсуждаться вопросы продуктовой безопасности, участие женщин в экономике, проблемы малого и среднего бизнеса, фундаментальные экономические вызовы в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе (АТР), состояние глобальной финансовой системы применительно к региону и многое другое в указанных направлениях. В то же время привычная встреча лидеров тихоокеанской организации была инициирована в июле в срочном порядке премьер-министром Новой Зеландии Джасиндой Ардари. Очевидно, что идея виртуального саммита, запущенная председательствующей страной, была согласована с основными игроками: Китаем, Россией, США и Японией. Однако это не уменьшило интригу и сообщило дополнительный интерес всем предстоящим начинаниям в рамках АТЭС-2021.

Специфика и прошедшего виртуального саммита и других мероприятий заключается в том, что объединение тихоокеанских экономик по своему политическому смыслу – достаточно нейтральная площадка. В свою очередь смещение объема производств и денежного оборота в Тихоокеанский ареал придает определенный политический вес организации АТЭС, что позволяет брать на себя функции «региональной ООН» для решения задач на уровне этого мега-региона.

Поэтому, когда в качестве главного тезиса выносился призыв объединиться в борьбе с коронавирусной инфекцией, речь шла и о поиске определенной новой конфигурации устройства и взаимодействия в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Соответственно, второй посыл Саммита АТЭС-2021 – «восстановление мировой экономики» звучал более интригующе, чем это может показаться человеку, мало интересующемуся экономическими проблемами. И главная загадка, которую необходимо было разгадать представителям тихоокеанских государств, заключалась в следующем: каким образом это сделать и с помощью каких инструментов?

В определенной степени мир еще пользуется социально-экономическими механизмами, работавшими, причем довольно неплохо, в течение XX века. Однако ныне действующая модель глобального капитализма с каждым годом все очевиднее дает сбои. Даже такой апологет капиталистических отношений, известный английский экономист Пол Коллиер, вынужден признать, что «современный капитализм способен обеспечить всем нам беспрецедентный уровень благосостояния, но он морально несостоятелен и впереди его ждут трагические потрясения». В свою очередь заявление представителя академической науки и задачи хоть сколько-нибудь ответственных политиков сильно разнятся. Каждый государственный лидер, естественно, будет стремиться не допустить любые «трагические потрясения», чего бы это ни стоило.

Пожалуй, именно в таком контексте следует воспринимать встречу руководителей стран-членов АТЭС. Пандемия COVID-19 стала тем фактором, который усугубил политическую неопределенность, подчеркнул масштабную волатильность мировой экономики и поставил под угрозу реализацию целей устойчивого развития. Не менее очевидным образом новая коронавирусная инфекция показала, что решения даже наиболее значимых мировых игроков, останутся благими пожеланиями, если не будет учитываться глобальная повестка или диалог с другими субъектами международных отношений.

Прежде всего, первые лица государств-участников АТЭС заговорили о долгосрочных целях, которые они отметили в своем заявлении. Горизонт планирования в соответствии с тихоокеанской стратегией Putrajaya Vision, озвученной еще на мероприятиях АТЭС в 2020 г., определен к 2040 году. Концептуально речь идет о таких общих понятиях как усиление социально-экономической составляющей, достижение баланса между ними, безопасности, устойчивости и инклюзивного роста. Естественно, речь шла и о необходимости развития инновационной экономики и ее цифровизации, перезапуска мировой торговли и инвестиционной активности.

Естественно, участники декларировали готовность действовать в этих сферах с позиций своих интересов. Так, Президент России Владимир Путин выразил озабоченность препятствиям распространению вакцины Sputnic-V, сообщив о готовности производить до 800 млн штук препарата в год в кооперации с заинтересованными странами. Глобальность подобного предложения очевидна. Отсутствие вакцинации лишь усиливает экономический разрыв между богатыми и бедными странами, а также снижает инвестиционную привлекательность в тех регионах (как правило, менее процветающих), где в наибольшей степени свирепствует коронавирусная инфекция.

В этом же направлении действует и Председатель КНР Си Цзиньпин, который заявил о готовности Китая направить в течение трех лет 3 млрд долларов США развивающимся странам, пострадавшим от коронавируса, а также о передаче китайской вакцины в наиболее уязвимые в результате пандемии бедные государства.    

Японский премьер Есихидэ Суга описал возможные меры по ограничению распространения заболевания, вызываемого COVID-19, на примере организации Олимпийских игр в Токио. По мнению главы кабинета министров, японский опыт вполне тиражируется и в больших масштабах.

Заявление президента Соединенных Штатов Джозефа Байдена носило общий характер, но предполагало достаточно интересную концепцию инвестирования в глобальное здравоохранение, что при достаточной разработанности и согласованности крупных международных игроков позволяет говорить о новом подходе к народосбережению. Правда, американский президент не удержался от «укола» в адрес Пекина, упомянув о необходимости свободного судоходства в Индийско-Тихоокеанском регионе.

Таким образом, закрытый формат июльского саммита говорит о многом. Названная с легкой руки французского канала France24 «вирусным саммитом», встреча в верхах обозначила существование новой реальности. Прежде всего, это ожидание следующей волны COVID-19, которая, по утверждению главы Всемирной организации здравоохранения Тедроса Аданома Гибрейесуса, «накроет» человечество в ближайшее время. В этих условиях можно утверждать, что положено начало новой политической реальности. И если многие согласны в необходимости перемен, то, как раз перемены в экономике, затрагивающие народы, города и страны – вещь достаточно серьезная и местами непредсказуемая. И в этом отношении виртуальный саммит на фоне других мероприятий в рамках АТЭС становится шагом по переориентации будущего.

Первое – это осознание того, что человеческая цивилизация в ближайшее десятилетие вряд ли достигнет утопии или хотя бы состояния устойчивого благополучия. Описанные проблемы действуют комплексно и повсеместно, что предполагает затрату значительного числа ресурсов только на устранение накопившихся противоречий.

Второе – современный мир уже сформировался как глобальная система. Следовательно, дальнейший прогресс необходимо рассматривать в качестве капитального ремонта системы, необходимость которого пандемия COVID-19 лишь подчеркнула. Другой путь, то есть регионализация экономик, предполагает гораздо более длительный период нового мирового переустройства.

И, наконец, третье. Идеологические модели, которые определяли стратегию государственной власти и мировоззрение поколений, в настоящее время «не работают» как в силу изложенных причин, так и в силу усложнения всех структур глобального человечества.

Таким образом, лидеры, обсуждая детали новой конфигурации, прежде всего фокусируются на том, чтобы нивелировать различные экономические противоречия. Это и разрыв в доходах населения, и диспропорции региональных экономик. А сам «вирусный саммит» стал одним из тех мероприятий, где главы ведущих государств попытались «нащупать» первоочередные шаги для построения будущего в третьем десятилетии XXI века.

28 октября: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика