Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Sanctions of Japan will remain "decorative"

Sanctions of Japan will remain "decorative"

Daria Senina

Research Fellow, Center for Japanese Studies, Far East Institute, FAO

Soviet-Japanese and Russian-Japanese relations have always been difficult. They were complicated by the problem of the Kuril Islands, the presence of Japan in the camp of the opponents of the USSR and other factors. Now Japan reluctantly introduced the second package of sanctions against Russia. Despite all the problems, trade and economic cooperation between the neighbors never fell below a certain level. The situation for EastRussia.ru was commented on by Daria Senina, a researcher at the Center for Japanese Studies at IFES FANO:

- As of December 2013, the balance of trade operations between Russia and Japan showed their relative bias in favor of imports from the Russian Federation (-12 thousand dollars). The volume of Japanese exports to Russia in value terms for the same period amounted to 710566 thousand dollars on an annualized basis, while imports from Russia - 11 thousand dollars. In May 067, almost the same trend continued. Exports from Russia exceeded Japanese exports by 039 thousand dollars on an annualized basis.

Japan exports mineral fuel, oil and products of its distillation from Russia, wood and wood products, charcoal, natural or cultured pearls, precious and semiprecious stones, precious metals, metals clad with precious metals and articles made from them, jewelry, coins, Aluminum and articles thereof. Japanese imports consist of nuclear reactors, boilers, equipment and mechanical devices, parts thereof, electric machines and equipment and parts thereof, sound recording and reproducing equipment, equipment for recording and reproducing television images and sound, land transport vehicles other than railway or tramway rolling stock , and their parts and accessories.

This confirms the fact that Russia remains for Japan a supplier of raw materials for industrial needs, and Japanese goods are not competitive in the Russian market because of their high cost. Affected by these data and internal economic problems of Japan itself.

Japan's economic sanctions against Russia are unlikely, despite official statements from Tokyo. Most likely, they will remain “decorative” in their essence, since Japan is interested in Russian gas supplies. Realizing this, the Japanese leadership seeks to play a "double game" and declares the sanctions with an eye to the United States.

As for direct investment, their inflow from Japan to Russia has significantly increased and reached in recent years a volume of 3 billion. Japanese businessmen themselves admit that the investment potential of Japanese companies conducting operations in Russia is much larger, but bureaucratic red tape and various interpretations of legislation depending on the performer still remain an obstacle.

A possible deterioration in the state of the Russian economy may also lead to a reduction in the volume of Japanese direct investments, since the construction of new enterprises in Russia is dictated to the Japanese by the desire to reduce transport and labor costs and to receive certain benefits. But the products of new Japanese enterprises in the territory of the Russian Federation are mainly intended for consumption in the domestic market. Under the conditions of a possible economic crisis, the demand for it inside Russia will be extremely low. Probably, the majority of Japanese corporations in such conditions would prefer to refrain from large investments in the Russian economy. 
September 21: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Санкции Японии останутся «декоративными»

Санкции Японии останутся «декоративными»

Дарья Сенина

Научный сотрудник Центра исследований Японии Института Дальнего Востока ФАНО

Советско-японские и российско-японские отношения всегда были непростыми. Они были осложнены проблемой Курил, нахождением Японии в стане противников СССР и другими факторами. Вот и сейчас Япония нехотя ввела второй по счету пакет санкций против России. Несмотря на все проблемы, торгово-экономическое взаимодействие между соседями никогда не падало ниже определенного уровня. Ситуацию для EastRussia.ru прокомментировала Дарья Сенина, научный сотрудник Центра японских исследований ИДВ ФАНО:

- На декабрь 2013 г. баланс торговых операций между Россией и Японией показал их относительный перекос в пользу импорта из РФ (-12 710566 тыс. долларов). Объем японского экспорта в Россию в стоимостном выражении на тот же период составил 11 067 039 тыс. долларов в годовом исчислении, а импорт из России – 23 777 605 тыс. долларов. В мае 2014 г. сохранялась практически та же тенденция. Вывоз из России превысил японский экспорт на 6 222 170 тыс. долларов в годовом исчислении.

Япония вывозит из России минеральное топливо, нефть и продукты их перегонки, древесину и изделия из нее, древесный уголь, жемчуг природный или культивированный, драгоценные и полудрагоценные камни, драгоценные металлы, металлы, плакированные драгоценными металлами, и изделия из них, бижутерию, монеты, алюминий и изделия из него. Японский импорт состоит из ядерных реакторов, котлов, оборудования и механических устройств, их частей, электрических машин и оборудования и их частей, звукозаписывающей и звуковоспроизводящей аппаратуры, аппаратуры для записи и воспроизведения телевизионного изображения и звука, средств наземного транспорта, кроме железнодорожного или трамвайного подвижного состава, и их частей и принадлежностей.

Это подтверждает тот факт, что Россия остается для Японии поставщиком сырья для промышленных нужд, а японские товары не являются конкурентоспособными на российском рынке по причине своей высокой стоимости. Сказываются на этих данных и внутренние экономические проблемы самой Японии.

Экономические санкции Японии в отношении России маловероятны, несмотря на официальные заявления Токио. Скорее всего, они будут оставаться «декоративными» по своей сути, так как Япония заинтересована в поставках российского газа. Осознавая это, японское руководство стремится вести «двойную игру» и заявляет о санкциях с оглядкой на США.

Что касается прямых инвестиций, то их приток из Японии в Россию значительно увеличился и достиг за последние годы объема в 3 млрд. долларов. Сами же японские бизнесмены признают, что инвестиционный потенциал японских компаний, ведущих операции в России, значительно больше, но препятствием до сих пор остаются бюрократическая волокита и различные трактовки законодательства в зависимости от исполнителя.

Возможное ухудшение состояния российской экономики также может привести к сокращению объема японских прямых инвестиций, так как строительство новых предприятий в России продиктовано для японцев желанием снизить транспортные и трудовые издержки и получить определенные льготы. Но продукция новых японских предприятий на территории РФ в основном предназначена для потребления на внутреннем рынке. В условиях возможного экономического кризиса спрос на нее внутри России будет крайне низок. Вероятно, большинство японских корпораций в таких условиях предпочтет удержаться от крупных вложений в российскую экономику.