Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

The North remembers

Theatrical festival "Territory. Magadan "reminded Magadan of the glorious theatrical traditions of the past and opened the way to the future of contemporary art

The North remembers
Photo: Performance "Magadan / Cabaret" / festival "Territory. Magadan »
In 90's outside the capitals, seeing something older than Chekhov was problematic: novice directors, modern drama - there were no such words in the theater vocabulary, nor was there any particular alternative to the Three Sisters. Gradually, the matter got off the ground, but nevertheless, deliverance from provincialism proceeds slowly. This is exactly the case when space works against art: if decentralization in France, where the train went to the other end of the country 4 – 5 hours long and easy, then in Russia, with distances of thousands of kilometers, it is easier to bring a good performance closer to center than to lure someone over the Urals.

One of those who undertook to correct this injustice is the festival Territory. When everything was just beginning, 12 years ago, even in Moscow about such, for example, phenomenon as site specific, had a very remote view, whereas to the east of the modern theater sometimes there was simply no physical opportunity to learn. It was then that Yevgeny Mironov, Roman Dolzhansky and Kirill Serebrennikov (who, incidentally, came up with the name of the festival) took up the expansion of the borders. The idea is simple: initially, the Territory was created not just as a review, but as a festival-school, a completely new phenomenon at that time in Russia: according to preliminary applications, students from all over the country are selected to work, for example, with Thomas Ostermeier or participate in master class of Declan Donnellana. It is clear that the young director from Chelyabinsk or Ufa is unlikely to be able to learn all the tricks of the new drama in two hours, but such a task was not put. The main goal is to maximally expand the boundaries, to show the "other" theater, to bring together different generations of artists at one point and to allow them to search for a new language, new meanings and forms without any restrictions.
 
Territory. Magadan

The main venue of the Territory is Moscow, where the festival will be held on 12 – 24 of October, but the project’s geography is growing: CIS countries, teams from different regions of Russia are taking part in it. This year, thanks to the support of the gold mining company Polyus, it reached Magadan. It came, above all, with a very extensive educational program. Timofey Kulyabin from Novosibirsk, the director of the “Tannhäuser”, who showed his “Process” in the past “Territory”, conducts a master class here that he knows how best of all: how to find new circumstances for classic heroes. There are three interesting lectures about modern theater: the art director of the festival Roman Dolzhansky speaks about modern theater as a synthesis of arts, the editor of Theater magazine Alla Shenderova talks about the main names of the direction of recent years, and the theater commentator Elena Smorodinova talks about versatile verbatim. And yet, the lion's part of the program is given to theatrical management: here both modern communication, and long-term project planning, and fundraising are all that is needed to invent, create and, overcoming all bureaucratic and financial barricades, embody an artistic product.

"I am very happy that for the first time in its 12 years Territory has reached the Far East. It's no secret that the best performances, the best films are made not only in Moscow and St. Petersburg, as it was before, but decentralization is taking place. This means that now the centers of culture break out in different cities, different parts of our very large country. And now the festival of contemporary art is taking place in the Far East, - actor Yevgeny Mironov, one of the creators of the festival, turned to viewers and participants of the project.

As for the stage program itself, it is easily divided into two blocks: the first - gold-bearing performances from Moscow and Kostroma, the second - theaters from the regions, the finalists of the theatrical competition “Polyus. Golden Season "(held by Polyus in the regions of presence). “Performances of different genres are presented: there is a drama theater, an author's theater, and a theater dealing with contemporary directing - Praktika, and musical pages presented by the Bolshoi Theater, and dance performances of contemporary dance from Kostroma. - explains Roman Dolzhansky, art director of the festival. - It seems to me that this program, although small, turned out to be quite representative. All performances are recognized, and the performance "Magadan / Cabaret" by the Moscow theater Near the Stanislavsky House is the winner of the Golden Mask in the nomination "Small Form". "Dialogue Dance" from Kostroma is a multiple winner of the Golden Mask. "

Opened the festival with the performance "How the Zoe Geese Feeded" the Cheremkhovo Theater, with a glance from the Irkutsk Region, surveying the story of how the 100-year-old Zoya, still not dying, the intellectual-son of her, stolen by her, and what will happen in a moss-covered apartment , if in this small world to bring a small hurricane in the face of the provincial Masha, which reminded the audience that in the world, it turns out, there is love - quite a good thing. Svetlana Bazhenova's play appeared only two years ago, but managed to fall in love with Russia, starting with the author's statement on the stage of the CSD in Yekaterinburg, where she got to Saratov through the creative laboratory, and then to Cheremkhovo - a still recognizable picture of everyday life and the eternal thought of that , as all the same I want to love, today more than ever.

The next festival day, the Krasnoyarsk Theater “Search” again speaks of adult sons under vigilant maternal care, but this time it is serious. The production of “Small Money” was included in the 2017 Golden Mask out-of-year program. Social theater unfolds the picture “mother-son” on 180 °: Jason has autism, and without a mother, literally explaining on his fingers how to survive in this terrible world, without outside help, even simply without wanting to help, he cannot cope.
Москва привезла на Колыму уют, тепло и Россию: «Магадан/Кабаре» театра «Около дома Станиславского» и «Бабушек» «Практики». Первый, лауреат «Золотой Маски», воздвигает на сцене нечто вроде заб��ошенного зрительного зала откуда-то из 1970-х, в котором семь человек поют песни бардов про край света, море и ссылку, чистят картошку в мундире и любят все таким, какое оно есть, рождая в результате что-то авангардное, но пронизанное родной советской романтикой. Особенно точно попадание в аудиторию чувствуется в Магадане: зал чуть ли не подпевает, вспоминая на слух знакомые с детства мотивы.

For Grandmas, the avant-garde outweighs all the same, but in the end, it all begins with touching archetypical Siberian old women in handkerchiefs sitting on a bench, as if on a perch. Dangling their legs in felt boots, they tell and reconstruct the world of the Russian village, with its cows, their drinking husbands, their unshared love for a guitarist — so far away and at the same time familiar.
Somewhat apart from all this trembling background Kostroma "Mirliflor" of the company "Dialogue Dance" looks - which is logical, still put Belgian Karin Ponties. Modern dance, one chair and four people on stage are not about Russia at all, nor about any country at all, because about love, about the inner, which is in everyone, and it does not matter where.

A special surprise for the residents of the region was an art exhibition brought in the framework of the festival by the Moscow Museum of Modern Art. The exhibition of works by Vasily Shukhaev "Theater - territory of freedom" has more than 80 works, among which are those that the master created on Kolyma, where he spent about 12 years. Vasily Shukhaev stood at the origins of the creation of the Magadan Drama Theater.
 
Course to the East

The appearance of the "Territory" in Magadan, if we consider it in the context of the theater in the Far East for the last two years, is much more than just performances and lectures. This is the continuation of the vector, the beginning of which coincided with the appearance of the Primorsky Mariinsky Theater Stage in Vladivostok a year and a half ago (strictly speaking, the stage itself was already part of the opera and ballet theater, only the status has changed), and together with it Valery Gergiev, in the first summer gathered in Primorye international festival of classical music. It was followed by a branch of the Academy of Russian Ballet A.Ya. Vaganova, ballet school, designed to supplement the theaters with local soloists. As a result, for a couple of years, the forgotten Far East returned to the theatrical context.
It is gratifying that the event has not a one-time character, and should become annual, albeit it will be held alternately in four different cities. "The" Pole "operates in the Krasnoyarsk Territory, the Irkutsk region, Yakutia and the Magadan region. We planned to conduct the "Territory" as a theater festival in all regions of our presence. Next year we are preparing for Irkutsk, but in any case, I think that the festival will one day return to Magadan, "said Victoria Vasilieva, director of public relations at Polyus.

Speaking about the development of the cultural life of the East of Russia, one can not but mention other genres of art. So, the Sakhalin Film Festival "The Edge of the World" is gaining popularity, it has already received international recognition and attracts participants from many countries of the Asia-Pacific region. This year, the creation of the Far Eastern branch was reported by the Tretyakov Gallery, reflected on the creation of an art gallery and the Magadan Region.
March 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Север помнит

Театральный фестиваль «Территория. Магадан» напомнил Магадану о славных театральных традициях прошлого и открыл дорогу в будущее современного искусства

Север помнит
Фото: Спектакль «Магадан / Кабаре» / фестиваль «Территория. Магадан»
В 90-х за пределами столиц увидеть что-нибудь постарше Чехова было проблематично: начинающие постановщики, современная драма – таких слов в театральном лексиконе не было, как не было и никакой особой альтернативы «Трем сестрам». Постепенно дело сдвинулось с мертвой точки, но тем не менее избавление от провинциальности протекает медленно. Это как раз тот случай, когда пространство работает против искусства: если децентрализация во Франции, где до другого конца страны 4–5 часов на поезде, прошла давно и легко, то в России, с расстояниями в тысячи километров, легче привезти хорошую постановку поближе к центру, чем заманить кого-нибудь за Урал.

Один из тех, кто взялся исправить эту несправедливость, – фестиваль «Территория». Когда все только начиналось, 12 лет назад, даже в Москве о таком, например, явлении, как site specific, имели весьма отдаленное представление, тогда как восточнее о современном театре иногда просто не было физической возможности узнать. Именно тогда Евгений Миронов, Роман Должанский и Кирилл Серебренников (который, кстати, и придумал название фестивалю) взялись за расширение границ. Идея проста: изначально «Территория» была создана не просто как смотр, но как фестиваль-школа, совершенно новое на тот момент явление в России: по предварительным заявкам отбираются студенты со всех уголков страны, чтобы поработать, например, с Томасом Остермайером или поучаствовать в мастер-классе Деклана Доннеллана. Понятно, что молодой режиссер из Челябинска или Уфы вряд ли сможет научиться всем премудростям новой драмы за два часа, но такой задачи и не ставилось. Главная цель – максимально расширить границы, показать «другой» театр, свести в одной точке разные поколения художников и дать им возможность без каких-либо ограничений искать новый язык, новые смыслы и формы.
 
Территория. Магадан

Основное место действия Территории – Москва, где фестиваль пройдет 12–24 октября, однако география проекта растет: в нем принимают участие страны СНГ, коллективы из разных регионов России. В этом году, благодаря поддержке золотодобывающей компании «Полюс», дошел до Магадана. Дошел, прежде всего, с очень обширной образовательной программой. Новосибирец Тимофей Кулябин, режиссер-постановщик «Тангейзера», показавший свой «Процесс» на прошлой «Территории», здесь проводит мастер-класс о том, что умеет лучше всех: как найти новые обстоятельства для классических героев. Есть и три интересные лекции про современный театр: арт-директор фестиваля Роман Должанский говорит о современном театре как о синтезе искусств, редактор журнала «Театр» Алла Шендерова – о главных именах режиссуры последних лет, а театральный обозреватель Елена Смородинова – о разноплановом вербатиме. И все же львиная часть программы отдана под театральный менеджмент: тут и современная коммуникация, и долгосрочное планирование проектов, и фандрейзинг – все, что нужно, чтобы придумать, создать и, преодолев все бюрократические и финансовые баррикады, воплотить художественный продукт.

«Я очень рад, что впервые за свои 12 лет «Территория» добралась до Дальнего Востока. Ни для кого не секрет, что лучшие спектакли, лучшие фильмы делаются не только в Москве и Петербурге, как было раньше, а происходит децентрализация. Это означает, что сейчас очаги культуры вспыхивают в разных городах, разных районах нашей очень большой страны. И вот на Дальнем Востоке проходит фестиваль современного искусства, – обратился к зрителям и участникам проекта актер Евгений Миронов, один из создателей фестиваля.

Что касается непосредственно сценической программы, то она легко разделяется на два блока: первый – золотоносные постановки из Москвы и Костромы, второй – театры из регионов, финалисты театрального конкурса «Полюс. Золотой сезон» (проводится компанией «Полюс» в регионах присутствия). «Представлены спектакли разных жанров: есть и драматический театр, и авторский, и театр, занимающийся современной режиссурой – «Практика», и музыкальные страницы, представленные Большим театром, и танцевальные спектакли современного танца из Костромы. – поясняет Роман Должанский, арт-директор фестиваля. – Мне кажется, что эта программа, хоть и небольшая, получилась достаточно репрезентативной. Все спектакли признанные, и спектакль «Магадан/Кабаре» московского  театра Около дома Станиславского – лауреат Золотой маски в номинации «малая форма». «Диалог данс» из Костромы – неоднократный обладатель Золотой маски».

Открыл фестиваль спектаклем «Как Зоя гусей кормила» Черемховский театр, взглядом из Иркутской области окидывая историю о том, как в замшелой квартире, где живут 100-летняя Зоя, все никак не умирающая, затюканный ею интеллигент-сын, и о том, что произойдет, если в этот маленький мирок привнести небольшой ураган в лице провинциалки Маши, напомнившей собравшемся, что в мире, оказывается, есть любовь – достаточно неплохая штука. Сама пьеса Светланы Баженовой появилась всего два года назад, но успела полюбиться России, начавшись с постановки самого автора на сцене ЦСД в Екатеринбурге, откуда через творческую лабораторию добралась до Саратова, потом и в Черемхово – все-таки узнаваемая картина быта и вечная мысль о том, как все-таки хочется любить, сегодня как никогда актуальны.

На следующий фестивальный день красноярский театр «Поиск» вновь говорит о взрослых сыновьях под неусыпной материнской опекой, но на этот раз речь идет серьезно. Постановка «Малые деньги» вошла во внеконкурсную программу «Золотой Маски» 2017 года. Социальный театр разворачивает картину «мать-сын» на 180°: у Ясона аутизм, и без матери, буквально на пальцах объясняющей, как выжить в этом страшном мире, без посторонней помощи, даже просто без желания помочь, ему не справиться.
Москва привезла на Колыму уют, тепло и Россию: «Магадан/Кабаре» театра «Около дома Станиславского» и «Бабушек» «Практики». Первый, лауреат «Золотой Маски», воздвигает на сцене нечто вроде заброшенного зрительного зала откуда-то из 1970-х, в котором семь человек поют песни бардов про край света, море и ссылку, чистят картошку в мундире и любят все таким, какое оно есть, рождая в результате что-то авангардное, но пронизанное родной советской романтикой. Особенно точно попадание в аудиторию чувствуется в Магадане: зал чуть ли не подпевает, вспоминая на слух знакомые с детства мотивы.

У «Бабушек» авангард все-таки перевешивает, но уже под конец, а начинается все с трогательных архетипических сибирских старушек в платочках, сидящих на скамейке, будто на жердочке. Болтая ногами в валенках, они рассказывают и реконструируют мир русской деревни, с ее коровами, пьющими мужьями, неразделенной любовью к гитаристу – такой далекой и одновременно знакомой.
Несколько особняком на всем этом трепетном фоне смотрится костромской «Мирлифлор» компании «Диалог Данс» – что логично, все-таки ставила бельгийка Карин Понтьес. Современный танец, один стул и четыре человека на сцене совсем не про Россию, как и не про какую-либо страну вообще, потому что про любовь, про внутреннее, которое в каждом, и не важно, где.

Отдельным сюрпризом для жителей области стала художественная выставка, привезенная в рамках фестиваля Московским музеем современного искусства. Экспозиция работ Василия Шухаева «Театр – территория свободы» насчитывает более 80 произведений, среди которых и те, которые мастер создавал на Колыме, где он провел около 12 лет. Василий Шухаев стоял у истоков создания магаданского драматического театра.
 
Курс на Восток

Появление «Территории» в Магадане, если рассматривать его в контексте театра на Дальнем Востоке последних двух лет, гораздо больше, чем просто спектакли и лекции. Это продолжение вектора, начало которого совпало с появлением полтора года назад Приморской сцены Мариинского театра во Владивостоке (строго говоря, сама сцена уже была – как часть театра оперы и балета, только статус поменялся), а вместе с ней и Валерия Гергиева, в первое же лето собравшего в Приморье международный фестиваль классический музыки. За ним последовал филиал Академии Русского балета А.Я. Вагановой, балетная школа, призванная пополнить театры местными солистами. В результате за каких-то пару лет подзабытый Дальний Восток вернулся в театральный контекст.
Отрадно, что мероприятие имеет не разовый характер, и должно стать ежегодным, пусть и будет проходить поочередно в четырех разных городах. «”Полюс” работает в Красноярском крае, Иркутской области, Якутии и Магаданской области. Мы запланировали провести «Территорию» как театральный фестиваль во всех регионах присутствия. В следующем году мы готовимся к Иркутску, но в любом случае, я думаю, что фестиваль однажды вернется в Магадан», – отметила Виктория Васильева, директор по связям с общественностью компании «Полюс».

Говоря о развитии культурной жизни Востока России нельзя не сказать и о других жанрах искусства. Так, все большую популярность завоевывает сахалинский кинофестиваль «Край света», уже получивший международное признание и привлекающий участников из многих стран АТР. В этом году о создании дальневосточного филиала сообщила Третьяковская галерея, задумалась о создании художественной галереи и Магаданская область.