Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

"The North delays"

How is life after moving from a metropolis to a small town near the Arctic Circle

"The North delays"
Yakut city Udachny is located in 15 kilometers from the Arctic Circle, and from the district center - the city of Mirny - almost in 500. In these places, the frosts fall below 50 in winter, and the summer is very short: in May there is snow here, and in September - already.

They live in Udachnoye - a town of only two square kilometers, built on permafrost, - about 12 thousand people. And at least a third of them work at the local ore mining and processing enterprise (GOK), the Udachninsky division of Alrosy.

The very story of Lucky began with the fact that in the middle of the 1950-ies here were discovered the largest deposits of diamonds (the first indigenous diamond deposits in the USSR). The lucky one grew around the deposits, grew up around the concentrator. Since 1968, he is a working village by status, from 1987-th - a city.

Young Krasnoyarsk journalist Masha Pershina (now - Buzunova) moved from the millionth city to the small Udachny in October 2015. I went to a friend who had already worked at the GOK for three years. Now Masha and Constantine are husband and wife. Kostya, who lived in the north for more than five years, is already considered local. But to Maria, something still seems unusual. The more interesting is to compare life in a small town near the Arctic Circle with how people live "on the mainland" - so in the North they traditionally refer to the rest of Russia.


 
DAY, NIGHT AND SISTA
- Kostya graduated from the Institute of Mining, Geology and Geotechnology of the Siberian Federal University in Krasnoyarsk. And I went to Udachny, got a job as an engineer for mining equipment at a mining and processing enterprise. At that time we were just friends, communicated - it is clear that mostly in absentia, on the Internet. And one day Kostya writes to me: come, why are you sitting there in your Krasnoyarsk, what are you losing? - says Masha. - And I really had such a period that everything seemed to be fine, but there was really nothing to lose. I made up my mind. At first, she got a job for a short time in the city administration, and then moved to the press service of the GOK. This, of course, is not really my specialty. But I still manage to write to the corporate newspaper.

Masha says: the special move or difficulties in itself did not cause the move. I got used to it: my father was a military man, so the family moved from place to place more than once. But here in the most successful began discoveries.



- The first thing that struck after the arrival was very low trees, covered with snow. But it was only October! And small houses, as if hanging in the air. In fact, they stood on piles, and I knew that in the north, on permafrost, they build it. But at first it surprises, of course. The second impression is the complete absence of people. If the day is all at work. In the evening - at home. I did not notice the celebrated people here. And in a couple of days I saw the first in my life the northern lights. It was something grand! I could not imagine anything like it. It seemed that it should be accompanied by some cosmic sounds ... Well, then we started a dog and began to catch the northern lights with it every night.

Maria says that the polar night, when more or less light is only 3-4 hours per day (and it lasts from October to March), it's not so hard to survive. But in the afternoon the city falls asleep. In the most direct sense.

- Here many arrange an afternoon siesta - for whom work allows, of course. The town is small, everyone goes home for lunch, and ... it makes you sleepy in the polar night. I don’t know whether it’s from a lack of light or (as I heard) from a lack of oxygen, ”says Maria. - When I first fell asleep in a heroic dream in broad daylight, I was terribly surprised. But it turned out that I was not the only one. And the definition of "siesta in Udachny" belongs to a Spanish journalist who recently came to us. He watched what was happening and said: "You should still have a glass of wine after dinner - then there will definitely be a real siesta."

But the polar day, when the sun does not sit down at all, is the heaviest, says Masha. Conventional curtains do not help. Many local people at this time just completely glued windows, so that from the sun at least somehow hide.

The strongest frost, which Masha managed to catch at Udachnoye, is minus 57 degrees. He came to Baptism. In the city in the meantime, have already prepared a font, the townspeople waited for the opportunity to plunge. But, since even a strong wind rose, the mayor managed to somehow persuade people to postpone this matter.

- By itself, the frost is not so terrible. It's hard that in May, when everything is blooming and green on the mainland, and friends are sending photos with flowers and green grass, we still have snow, - Maria says. - Caught myself on the fact that I'm tired of white. Here, all have a shortage of bright colors. Therefore, houses in Udachnoy are built with bright parrot colors. The house we live in is tricolor: yellow-green-orange. But in general, for the design of facades use mostly five colors.
 
LIVE WITHOUT FAST FOOD
- If you tell me what I miss especially in Udachny, it will probably be things that are too simple, banal, - says Masha. - Most of all there is a lack of fruits and vegetables. Vegetables - especially. Here they are of poor quality, old and terribly expensive. Although entrepreneurs are trying to bring more here. Our situation is not as catastrophic as in other northern settlements, where food is delivered only a few times a year. But when you come to the mainland, you are delighted with the fact that a bunch of fresh parsley costs 20 rubles. Although, if you lived on the mainland, you might have bought this parsley once a summer.

And yet, she admits, there is not enough ... fast food.

- Funny, huh? But sometimes I really want to, instead of messing around with dinner after work, just buy something ready-made. People! You can't even imagine how cute it is, it turns out - fast food! But I don't know when he'll get to us. In small settlements, in general, not everyone understands why this is needed. Here in the district center Mirny, although it is only twice the size of Udachny, all this is there.

But the lack of fast food can still be somehow survived. But the inability to see loved ones is already unlikely. There was no normal (that is, fiber-optic, which all cities use) Internet in Udachnoye a year ago. Consider that there was no mobile communication either - there were constant interruptions. And with relatives and friends who remained in another city, you could talk, in fact, once a year - during your vacation.

“But last year, fiber optic cables were installed here, civilization reached us, so it became easier,” Masha says. - I still miss the cultural life that I got used to in Krasnoyarsk. Exhibitions, concerts - none of this is here. What do we do in our free time? Recently, a cinema has opened in Udachny. I have mastered skating. We look into the pool. In summer, the entertainment is mushrooms and berries, the city stands in the middle of the forest. And also in Udachny there are a lot of sports sections: both children and adults go to them. Udachny's hockey team is the strongest in the region. I wrote several articles about them for our newspaper, and in between times I fell in love with hockey.


 
"LEAVING NOT EASY"
To the way of life in a small polar town, too, it was necessary to get used to.

- At first I was amazed: God, why is everything happening so slowly? It seemed to me - well, what prevents to do everything a hundred times faster, well, at least to break through the products at the checkout? But there is such a rhythm of life. I don't know, maybe people save energy this way. This is not a bad or a good trait - it is special, - says Masha. - And of course, a small town is a small town. Everything is in sight. It teaches, you know, self-discipline.

And yet she was convinced that the northern mutual assistance, support - not a legend.

- I heard about it, but did not think that mutual assistance in the north is developed to such an extent. Whatever you need - to drag a closet to the fifth floor or take out a cast-iron bathtub from the fifth floor, you can turn to people (while barely familiar) and be sure that they will definitely help you. And so in everything, - says Maria. - In other places you will not see this. I don't know, maybe the need for such mutual assistance is dictated by the peculiarities of life in the North. There are few people, and on whom can they rely, if not on each other? Whatever it was, but it is what it is.

How long for the Buzunov family? Constantine, who has lived in the city for five years, considers himself a local resident, and Maria - yet. She even find it difficult to orientate here: she says, the houses are numbered randomly, there are no streets in the usual sense, it happens, and you'll get lost in the middle of the block. And, of course, to many and many other, more important things have yet to get used to.

- Although I am already imbued with the story of Udachny. Here, after all, people really did labor feats, without exaggeration. And I am proud to live in such a city, next to such people. They really have a lot to learn, - adds Masha. - I like that I'm here, I do not regret that I moved. And if I had the opportunity to drag my friends here, I would do just that. Because a person, especially a young person, can realize himself here, achieve something.



It's hard to live in the north, but on the mainland there are not those opportunities that it gives, says Maria. Material first. But not only.

- The North is addictive. Many people come here with the thought: I’ll work for five years, save up money and leave. But then they cannot do this: they get used to the local rhythm of life, and to very good earnings. When you leave for the mainland and get there, say, 25 thousand for what you received 60 in the north, it is difficult to rebuild. But it's not just that, there is a complex of reasons, - says Maria. - And many come back. I personally know people, both young and old, who seem to have finally left and then returned. I understand that I would live differently in Krasnoyark or another big city now, and I would devote most of my time to myself in terms of cultural development, for example. But, on the other hand, I understand: while we can work here, we must use those opportunities that are not available on the mainland. And whether the north will drag us in for a long time - I don't know.
December 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«Север затягивает»

Как живется после переезда из мегаполиса в маленький городок у Полярного круга

«Север затягивает»
Якутский город Удачный находится в 15 километрах от Северного полярного круга, а от райцентра – города Мирного – почти в 500. В этих местах морозы зимой опускаются ниже 50 градусов, а лето совсем короткое: в мае здесь еще лежит снег, а в сентябре – уже.

Живут в Удачном – городке площадью всего два квадратных километра, построенном на вечной мерзлоте, – около 12 тысяч человек. И по меньшей мере треть из них работают на местном горно-обогатительном комбинате (ГОКе) – удачнинском подразделении «Алросы».

Сама история Удачного началась с того, что в середине 1950-х годов здесь были открыты крупнейшие месторождения алмазов (первые коренные алмазные месторождения в СССР). Удачный вырос вокруг месторождений, разросся вокруг обогатительной фабрики. С 1968 года он по статусу рабочий поселок, с 1987-го – город.

Молодая красноярская журналистка Маша Першина (сейчас – Бузунова) переехала из миллионного города в маленький Удачный в октябре 2015 года. Ехала к другу, который к тому времени уже работал на ГОКе три года. Сейчас Маша и Константин – муж и жена. Костя, который прожил на северах больше пяти лет, уже считается местным. А вот Марии до сих кое-что кажется непривычным. Тем интереснее сравнить жизнь в маленьком городке у полярного круга с тем, как живут люди «на материке» - так на Севере традиционно называют всю остальную Россию.


 
ДЕНЬ, НОЧЬ И СИЕСТА
– Костя окончил в Красноярске Институт горного дела, геологии и геотехнологий СФУ. И поехал в Удачный, устроился инженером по горному оборудованию на ГОК. В то время мы просто дружили, общались – понятно, что в основном заочно, по интернету. И однажды Костя мне пишет: приезжай, чего ты там в своем Красноярске сидишь, что теряешь? – рассказывает Маша. – А у меня и правда период был такой, что вроде бы все неплохо, но и терять особо нечего. Я решилась. Вначале устроилась ненадолго в городскую администрацию, а потом перешла в пресс-службу ГОКа. Это, конечно, не совсем моя специальность. Но в корпоративную газету писать все-таки удается.

Маша говорит: особых переживаний или трудностей сам по себе переезд не вызвал. Привыкла: отец – военный, так что семья не раз перебиралась с места на место. Но вот в самом Удачном начались открытия.



– Первое, что после приезда поразило, – очень низкие деревья, заваленные снегом. А ведь был только октябрь! И маленькие домики, как будто висящие в воздухе. На самом деле они стояли на сваях, и я знала, что на севере, на вечной мерзлоте, так и строят. Но поначалу это удивляет, конечно. Второе впечатление – полное отсутствие людей. Если день – все на работе. Вечером – дома. Праздношатающихся я тут не замечала. А через пару дней я увидела первое в своей жизни северное сияние. Это было что-то грандиозное! Я ничего подобного и представить себе не могла. Казалось, что оно должно сопровождаться какими-то космическими звуками… Ну а потом мы завели собаку и стали с ней каждый вечер ловить северное сияние вместе.

Мария говорит, что полярную ночь, когда более-менее светло всего 3-4 часа в сутки (а длится она с октября по март), пережить не так уж тяжело. Но днем город засыпает. В самом прямом смысле.

– Здесь многие устраивают послеобеденную сиесту – кому работа позволяет, конечно. Городок маленький, все на обед ходят домой, и… очень уж в сон клонит в полярную ночь. Не знаю, от недостатка ли света или (как я слышала) от нехватки кислорода, – говорит Мария. – Когда я первый раз уснула богатырским сном посреди бела дня – страшно удивилась. Но, оказалось, не одна я такая. А определение «сиеста в Удачном» принадлежит испанскому журналисту, который недавно к нам приезжал. Понаблюдал он за происходящим и говорит: «Вам бы еще по бокальчику винца после обеда – тогда точно настоящая сиеста будет».

А вот полярный день, когда солнце вообще не садится, это самое тяжелое, говорит Маша. Обычные шторы не спасают. Многие местные в это время просто сплошь заклеивают окна, чтобы от солнца хоть как-то укрыться.

Самый сильный мороз, который Маша успела застать в Удачном, – минус 57 градусов. Пришелся он на Крещение. В городе тем временем уже подготовили купель, горожане дожидались возможности окунуться. Но, поскольку еще и сильный ветер поднялся, мэру удалось кое-как уговорить людей отложить это дело.

– Сам по себе мороз не так страшен. Тяжело, что в мае, когда на материке все цветет и зеленеет, а знакомые шлют фоточки с цветочками и зеленой травкой, у нас еще снег лежит, – говорит Мария. – Ловила себя на том, что устаю от белого цвета. Здесь у всех дефицит ярких красок. Поэтому дома в Удачном строят ярких попугайских расцветок. Дом, в котором мы живем, трехцветный: желто-зелено-оранжевый. Но вообще для оформления фасадов используют в основном по пять цветов.
 
ПРОЖИТЬ БЕЗ ФАСТ-ФУДА
– Если рассказывать, чего мне особенно не хватает в Удачном – наверное, это будут вещи слишком простые, банальные, – говорит Маша. – Больше всего не хватает фруктов и овощей. Овощей – особенно. Здесь они некачественные, старые и ужасно дорогие. Хотя предприниматели и стараются побольше сюда завезти. У нас ситуация не такая катастрофическая, как в других северных населенных пунктах, куда продукты завозят всего несколько раз в год. Но когда приезжаешь на материк, то приходишь в восторг из-за того, что пучок свежей петрушки стоит 20 рублей. Хотя, живи ты на материке, эту петрушку, может, и купил бы раз за лето.

А еще, признается она, не хватает… фаст-фуда.

– Смешно, да? Но мне иногда так хочется, вместо того чтобы после работы возиться с ужином, просто купить что-нибудь готовое. Люди! Вы даже не представляете, какая это прелесть, оказывается – фаст-фуд! Но не знаю, когда до нас он доберется. В небольших поселениях, в общем-то, не все и понимают, зачем это нужно. Вот в райцентре Мирном, хотя он всего вдвое больше Удачного, все это есть.

Но отсутствие фаст-фуда еще как-то можно пережить. А вот невозможность увидеть близких – уже вряд ли. Нормального (то есть оптоволоконного, каким пользуются все города) интернета в Удачном не было еще год назад. Мобильной связи тоже, считай, не было – перебои шли постоянно. И с родственниками и друзьями, оставшимися в другом городе, можно было пообщаться, по сути, раз в год – во время отпуска.

– Но в прошлом году сюда провели оптоволокно, цивилизация и до нас дотянулась, так что легче стало, – говорит Маша. – Еще сильно не хватает мне той культурной жизни, к которой я привыкла в Красноярске. Выставки, концерты – всего этого здесь нет. Что делаем в свободное время? Недавно в Удачном открылся кинотеатр. Я освоила коньки. В бассейн заглядываем. Летом из развлечений – грибы и ягоды, город посреди леса стоит. И еще в Удачном очень много спортивных секций: в них ходят и дети, и взрослые. А хоккейная команда Удачного – самая сильная в районе. Я несколько статей о них написала для нашей газеты и сама между делом полюбила хоккей.


 
«УЕХАТЬ НЕПРОСТО»
К образу жизни в маленьком полярном городке тоже нужно было привыкнуть.

– Я первое время поражалась: господи, почему все происходит так медленно? Мне казалось – ну что мешает сделать все в сто раз быстрее, ну хотя бы на кассе продукты пробить? Но здесь такой ритм жизни. Не знаю, может, люди так энергию экономят. Это не плохая и не хорошая черта – она особенная, – говорит Маша. – Ну и конечно, маленький город есть маленький город. Все на виду. Это приучает, знаете ли, к самодисциплине.

И еще она убедилась в том, что северная взаимовыручка, поддержка – вовсе не легенда.

– Я слышала об этом, но не думала, что взаимовыручка на северах развита до такой степени. Что бы тебе ни было нужно – затащить шкаф на пятый этаж или вынести с пятого этажа чугунную ванну, ты можешь обратиться к людям (при этом едва знакомым) и быть уверенным, что тебе точно помогут. И так во всем, – рассказывает Мария. – В других местах такого не увидишь. Не знаю, может быть, необходимость такой взаимовыручки продиктована особенностями жизни на Севере. Людей мало, и на кого им положиться, как не друг на друга? Как бы там ни было, но что есть, то есть.

Надолго ли в Удачном семья Бузуновых? Константин, живущий в городе уже пять лет, считает себя местным жителем, а Мария – пока нет. Ей даже и сориентироваться здесь еще трудновато: говорит, дома пронумерованы беспорядочно, улиц в привычном понимании нет, бывает, и заблудишься посреди квартала. И, конечно, ко многим и многим другим, более важным вещам еще предстоит привыкнуть.

– Хотя я уже прониклась историей Удачного. Здесь ведь люди реально трудовые подвиги совершали, без преувеличения. И я горжусь, что живу в таком городе, рядом с такими людьми. У них правда есть чему поучиться, – добавляет Маша. – Мне нравится, что я здесь, не жалею, что переехала. И если бы у меня была возможность перетащить сюда своих друзей, я именно так и сделала бы. Потому что человек, особенно молодой, может здесь реализоваться, чего-то достичь.



Жить на севере тяжело, но на материке нет тех возможностей, которые он дает, говорит Мария. Материальных прежде всего. Но не только.

– Север затягивает. Очень многие люди приезжают сюда с мыслью: вот поработаю лет пять, накоплю денег и уеду. Но потом они не могут этого сделать: привыкают и к здешнему ритму жизни, да и к очень хорошему заработку. Когда ты уезжаешь на материк и получаешь там, допустим, 25 тысяч за то, за что на севере получал 60, перестроиться трудновато. Но дело не только в этом, тут комплекс причин, – говорит Мария. – И многие возвращаются обратно. Я лично знаю людей, и молодых, и уже в возрасте, которые вроде бы окончательно уехали, а потом вернулись. Я понимаю, что в Красноярке или другом большом городе я сейчас жила бы по-другому, и большую часть времени посвящала себе в плане культурного развития, например. Но, с другой стороны, понимаю: пока мы можем здесь работать, надо использовать те возможности, которых нет на материке. А затянет ли надолго север именно нас – не знаю.
Дни Дальнего Востока в Москве – 2018
3–9 декабря, Тверская площадь. 13–15 декабря, Экспоцентр. Официальный сайт мероприятия ddv.moscow