Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Siberia and the Far East are integral parts of a single macroregion

In modern conditions, an integrated approach to the management of Siberia and the Far East is needed, the candidate of economic sciences, senior researcher at the Faculty of World Economy and World Politics of the Higher School of Economics, Igor Makarov

The pivot to the East in Russian public policy is gaining momentum. In 2015, its institutional base was formed: the law on priority development territories (TORs) came into force, the status of Vladivostok as a free port was fixed, the first priority investment projects were approved, the Corporation and the Far East Development Fund started working.

Siberia and the Far East are integral parts of a single macroregion

Igor Makarov

Associate Professor, Department of World Economy, Higher School of Economics, Ph.D.
It is too early to assess the performance of these institutions. But it can already be recognized that the investment climate in the region has begun to improve. All-Russian problems in the economy have not bypassed the Far East, but against the background of the recession in the country, the region still demonstrates positive dynamics both in terms of investment volumes and in terms of industrial growth.

It is now that the key moment of the Russian turn to the East is coming. There is a great temptation to pause: the process of forming a new structure for managing the region has been completed, now we can wait for the results. However, this approach would be a mistake.

First, the structural problems of the development of the Far East have not disappeared: the economy is still exclusively of a raw material nature, foreign capital does not flow, and the outflow of the population continues. Without solving these problems, the region can hardly turn into a long-term driver for the development of the Russian economy.

Secondly, since the beginning of an active state policy for the development of the Far East, the external environment has changed significantly. Hopes for a massive inflow of investments from abroad are not being justified. In the TOPs, which were conceived as a platform specifically for foreign investors, so far only one foreign resident has been registered. Commercial banks and investment funds of Asian countries assess the risks of investing in Russia as high against the background of general economic problems, political risks and sanctions from the West. Even among Chinese financial institutions, only development banks and the Silk Road Fund are active in relation to Russia, while loan terms are generally unattractive. The situation is aggravated by the general slowdown in the Chinese economy, the instability of the national financial markets and the anti-corruption campaign that keeps the Chinese elites from taking any risky initiatives.

Another important trend is China's turn to the West. The country is trying to prolong extensive economic growth through the accelerated development of relatively underdeveloped inland regions, to involve the countries of Central Eurasia in its development model, and to diversify the risks of export deliveries in the face of heightened competition with the United States on the seas.

The Russian model for the development of the eastern territories was developed in a different international environment. Without being adjusted, it turns out to be unable to adapt to new risks and seize opportunities.

First, given the difficulties of attracting large foreign business, more and more attention should be paid to interaction with medium and small businesses, both Russian and foreign. However, this is not enough to create administrative oases on the most promising sites. We need consistent work by both federal authorities and regional and local administrations to reduce administrative pressure, remove excessive barriers to business, facilitate access to infrastructure, and create a favorable social environment. The East of Russia could become a place for testing a new economic model based on the all-round encouragement of private initiative. A model that can later be extended to the entire country.

Secondly, under the new conditions, an integrated approach to the management of Siberia and the Far East becomes not only desirable, but necessary. It was incorporated into the original idea of ​​turning to the East - in particular, when S.K. Shoigu proposed an ambitious project to create the State Corporation for the Development of Siberia and the Far East. In his Address to the Federal Assembly 2013 V.V. Putin called the rise of Siberia and the Far East "a national priority for the entire XNUMXst century." And then they forgot about Siberia - in the next Messages they talked only about the Far East, which also limits the sphere of responsibility of the relevant ministry.

Meanwhile, Siberia and the Far East are integral parts of one macro-region. They are linked historically - since the time of Russian explorers, the name "Siberia" referred to the entire territory from the Ural Mountains to the Pacific Ocean. A special identity has developed on this territory, personified by the right head of a two-headed eagle on the national emblem. Siberia and the Far East are actively interacting with each other at the level of economic ties and human contacts - often more actively than with Moscow. Finally, they are interconnected infrastructurally - through the Trans-Siberian Railway and the Northern Sea Route.

The economic potential of Siberia is generally higher than the economic potential of the Far East. The population of the Siberian Federal District is 19,3 million people, the Far East - 6,2 million (with a larger area of ​​the territory). The Siberian Federal District is no less rich in natural resources, but it has great opportunities for the development of industries with high added value. The human potential is higher here: for example, in the top twenty of the rating of Russian universities there are five Siberian universities and not a single Far Eastern one.

The main curse of Siberia is its continentality, remoteness from key sales markets, complemented by poor development of transport infrastructure. The Silk Road Economic Belt project launched by China opens up new opportunities for Siberia. If the region manages to integrate into the transport-industrial cluster being created in Central Eurasia, it can find a new breath, turning the disadvantages of its geographical position into advantages.

The accelerated development of the Far East without taking into account its close relationship with Siberia will inevitably lead - through the utilization of transport capacities - to the aggravation of the continental position of the latter. Meanwhile, the development of the Far Eastern infrastructure, on the contrary, should have one of the goals of making Siberia "closer" to foreign markets. However, it is difficult to demand this from the Ministry for the Development of the Far East, whose sphere of responsibility does not include Siberia.

Similar coordination problems arise in the development of the Arctic, the division of which into Siberian and Far Eastern is nothing more than an administrative convention. However, it impedes the coordinated development of infrastructure, because a significant part of it - the one connected with the Northern Sea Route - has an interregional character.

Now that the development institutions of the Far East have started working, coordination of the development of this region with Siberia is the next important task in the framework of the policy of accelerated development of the East of Russia. It is best to solve it in parallel with the development of specific mechanisms for coupling the Eurasian integration project with the Silk Road Economic Belt. The processes taking place in the Asia-Pacific region and in Central Eurasia are unfolding very quickly, and it is important for Russia to keep up with them. The turn to the East itself was a decade late due to the rapid economic growth of the East Asian states. Now it is important not to repeat the previous mistakes.
March 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Сибирь и Дальний Восток неотъемлемые части одного макрорегиона

В современных условиях необходим интегрированный подход к управлению Сибирью и Дальним Востоком, убежден кандидат экономических наук, старший научный сотрудник Факультета мировой экономики и мировой политики НИУ ВШЭ Игорь Макаров

Поворот на Восток в российской государственной политике набирает обороты. За 2015 год сформирована его институциональная база: вступил в силу закон о территориях опережающего развития (ТОРах), закреплен статус Владивостока как свободного порта, утверждены первые приоритетные инвестиционные проекты, заработали Корпорация и Фонд развития Дальнего Востока.

Сибирь и Дальний Восток неотъемлемые части одного макрорегиона

Игорь Макаров

Доцент департамента мировой экономики НИУ «Высшая школа экономики», к.э.н.
Оценивать результаты работы этих институтов пока рано. Но уже можно признать, что инвестиционный климат в регионе начал улучшаться. Общероссийские проблемы в экономике не обошли Дальний Восток стороной, но на фоне рецессии в стране регион все же демонстрирует позитивную динамику и по объемам инвестиций, и по темпам промышленного роста.

Именно сейчас наступает ключевой момент российского поворота на Восток. Велик соблазн приостановиться: процесс формирования новой структуры управления регионом завершен, теперь можно подождать результатов. Однако такой подход был бы ошибкой.

Во-первых, структурные проблемы развития Дальнего Востока никуда не делись: экономика по-прежнему имеет исключительно сырьевой характер, иностранный капитал не идет, а отток населения продолжается. Без решения этих проблем регион едва ли может превратиться в долгосрочный драйвер развития экономики России.

Во-вторых, с момента начала активной государственной политики развития Дальнего Востока существенно изменилось внешняя среда. Надежды на массированный приток инвестиций из-за границы не оправдываются. В ТОРах, которые задумывались как площадка именно для иностранных инвесторов, пока зарегистрирован только один зарубежный резидент. Коммерческие банки и инвестиционные фонды азиатских стран оценивают риски вложений в Россию как высокие на фоне общеэкономических проблем, политических рисков и санкций со стороны Запада. Даже среди китайских финансовых институтов активность в отношении России проявляют лишь банки развития и Фонд Шелкового пути, при этом условия предоставления кредитов, как правило, малопривлекательны. Ситуацию усугубляет общее замедление в китайской экономике, нестабильность национальных финансовых рынков и антикоррупционная кампания, удерживающая китайские элиты от каких-либо рискованных инициатив.

Другая важная тенденция — поворот Китая на Запад. Страна пытается продлить экстенсивный экономический рост за счет ускоренного развития относительно слабо развитых внутренних районов, вовлечь в свою модель развития страны Центральной Евразии, диверсифицировать риски экспортных поставок в условиях обострившейся конкуренции с США на морях.

Российская модель развития восточных территорий была разработана в иной международной среде. Не будучи скорректирована, она оказывается неспособной адаптироваться к новым рискам и использовать открывающиеся возможности.

Во-первых, с учетом трудностей привлечения крупного иностранного бизнеса все большее внимание следует уделять взаимодействию со средним и малым, как российским, так и зарубежным. Однако для этого недостаточно создания административных оазисов на наиболее перспективных площадках. Нужна последовательная работа как федеральных органов власти, так и региональных и местных администраций по снижению административного давления, снятию избыточных барьеров для бизнеса, облегчению доступа к инфраструктуре, созданию благоприятной социальной среды. Восток России мог бы стать местом апробации новой экономической модели, базирующейся на всестороннем поощрении частной инициативы. Модели, которая в дальнейшем может быть распространена на всю страну.

Во-вторых, в новых условиях не просто желательным, а необходимым становится интегрированный подход к управлению Сибирью и Дальним Востоком. Он был заложен в изначальную идею поворота на Восток — в частности, когда С.К. Шойгу предлагал амбициозный проект создания Государственной корпорации развития Сибири и Дальнего Востока. В Послании Федеральному собранию 2013 г. В.В. Путин назвал подъем Сибири и Дальнего Востока «национальным приоритетом на весь XXI век». А далее про Сибирь забыли — в следующих Посланиях речь шла только о Дальнем Востоке, им же ограничивается сфера ответственности профильного министерства.

Между тем, Сибирь и Дальний Восток — неотъемлемые части одного макрорегиона. Они связаны исторически — со времен русских землепроходцев название «Сибирь» относилось ко всей территории от Уральских гор до Тихого океана. На этой территории сложилась особая идентичность, олицетворяемая правой головой двуглавого орла на национальном гербе. Сибирь и Дальний Восток активно взаимодействуют между собой на уровне экономических связей и человеческих контактов — нередко более активно, чем с Москвой. Наконец, они взаимоувязаны инфраструктурно — посредством Транссибирской магистрали и Северного морского пути.

Экономический потенциал Сибири в целом выше экономического потенциала Дальнего Востока. Население Сибирского федерального округа — 19,3 млн чел., Дальневосточного — 6,2 млн (при большей площади территории). Сибирский федеральный округ не менее богат природными ресурсами, но имеет большие возможности по развитию производств с высокой добавленной стоимостью. Здесь выше человеческий потенциал: например, в первой двадцатке рейтинга вузов России пять сибирских университетов и ни одного дальневосточного.

Главное проклятие Сибири — ее континентальность, удаленность от ключевых рынков сбыта, дополненная слабым развитием транспортной инфраструктуры. Запущенный Китаем проект Экономического пояса Шелкового пути открывает перед Сибирью новые возможности. Если региону удастся встроиться в создаваемый в Центральной Евразии транспортно-промышленный кластер, он может обрести новое дыхание, обратив недостатки своего географического положения в достоинства.

Ускоренное развитие Дальнего Востока без учета его тесной взаимосвязи с Сибирью неизбежно приведет — через загрузку транспортных мощностей — к усугублению континентального положения последней. Между тем, развитие дальневосточной инфраструктуры, наоборот, должно иметь одной из целей сделать Сибирь «ближе» к внешним рынкам. Однако сложно требовать этого от Министерства по развитию Дальнего Востока, в сферу ответственности которого Сибирь не входит.

Схожие проблемы координации встают и в развитии Арктики, деление которой на Сибирскую и Дальневосточную — не более чем административная условность. Однако она препятствует координированному развитию инфраструктуры, ведь значительная ее часть — та, которая связана с Северным морским путем — имеет межрегиональный характер.

Теперь, когда институты развития Дальнего Востока заработали, координация развития этого региона с Сибирью — следующая важная задача в рамках политики ускоренного развития Востока России. Решать ее лучше всего параллельно с разработкой конкретных механизмов сопряжения евразийского интеграционного проекта с Экономическим поясом Шелкового пути. Происходящие в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе и в Центральной Евразии процессы разворачиваются очень быстро, и России важно за ними успевать. Сам поворот на Восток запоздал на десятилетие за бурным экономическим ростом восточноазиатских государств. Сейчас важно не повторять предыдущих ошибок.