Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Amur Basin Alarm

Ecologists say a decrease in the population of cranes in the Far East

Only 15 species of cranes live in the world, of which six are found in the Amur River basin. Ecologists are sounding the alarm - the population of most species is degrading, including in the Far East. To save them, a number of international environmental organizations, including the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) of Russia, China and Mongolia, announced the Year of the Crane. They plan to conduct a complete population count and initiate a series of actions aimed at preserving the bird.

Amur Basin Alarm
Photo: pixabay.com

Rare birds

All species of cranes are quite few in number, and some of them are among the rarest birds in the world. Therefore, all 15 species of cranes are listed in the Red List of Threatened Species of the International Union for Conservation of Nature, one of the most respected environmental organizations in the world. Most of them have the status of vulnerable species, the Japanese and American cranes - the status of endangered species, and the Siberian Crane - the status of a species that is on the verge of extinction. The West Siberian Siberian Cranes are in critical condition - there are about 20 of them left in nature. Only four species of cranes, including gray cranes and belladonna, are on the Red List as the species causing the least concern.

Cranes are guarded by national and regional Red Books, including in the Far East. The Amur basin is the most "crane" region of the world, there are six species of these birds, including two of the three smallest: Japanese - less than three thousand individuals, Siberian Crane - about three thousand individuals.

“The abundance data now available show the gradual degradation of most crane species. We have fairly stable species of cranes living in the Amur basin - belladonna and gray crane. The rest are reducing their numbers, ”Yuriy Gafarov, project coordinator for the Amur branch of WWF Russia in specially protected natural areas (SPNT), the coordinator of the crane year in the Amur basin, told reporters in Vladivostok.

The last count of the crane population took place in the 90s, environmentalists still use these data on the number of birds. In 2020, scientists from Russia, China and Mongolia began to fully account for the crane population in their territories. In Russia, calculations will be held in the Primorsky Territory, Amur Region, Transbaikalia and the Jewish Autonomous Region. Birds will be counted visually, with the help of drones, according to the cries of birds on flights and nests. Accounting results will be known in November.

Only 30% survive

According to various researchers, no more than 30% of chicks emerging from eggs survive to adulthood, when birds can breed. At the same time, cranes are already not very “prolific” birds - usually only two eggs in a single clutch for a year, rarely three. And until the autumn departure, usually only one hatched chick survives. WWF believes that the main reason for the reduction in the number of cranes is fires.

“For Russia, Mongolia and China, the main problem is fires. As you know, cranes nest on the ground. In fires, nests with clutches and small chicks that cannot escape during the fire die. The same Japanese crane does not know how to nest on burnt territory, it needs tall, dry grass, ”notes Yuri Gafarov.

The second major factor affecting cranes is the involvement of their nesting sites in economic activity - drainage of swamps and their plowing for growing crops, the use of steppes and swamps for grazing, building habitats, burning dry grass necessary for crane nesting. There are also problems associated with agriculture - pollution of water bodies with pesticides used in agriculture. Affect birds and dams: a change in the water regimes of watercourses leads to a reduction in area and a deterioration in the quality of wetlands. In Mongolia and Dauria, according to the expert, there is another problem - there are many livestock that trample nests.

“A certain role is played by poaching, but this is not the most significant factor, because in our country cranes are kind, with love. There was a case in Primorye when they shot cranes, hunters themselves caught and handed over these poachers, ”the expert added.



An important role in reducing the numbers of these cautious birds can play a factor of concern. Cranes are harmed by spring hunting for waterfowl, which disturb birds at the beginning of the nesting period, make them throw masonry.

Crane Year

The International Crane Protection Fund and the Eurasia Crane Working Group have declared 2020 the World Year of the birds. The Russian Bird Conservation Union has chosen crane 2020 as a bird in Russia. He supported the Crane Year and the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF).

“The announcement of the World Year of Crane is an alarm to society. The signal that rare species of animals are in danger, and they need our help, ”said Peter Osipov, director of the Amur branch of WWF Russia.

In the Year of the Crane, in collaboration with 24 reserves and national parks of the Amur Basin, the Directorate of Regional Specially Protected Natural Areas (SPNA), non-profit public organizations and WWF Russia conservation teams will continue to work on creating new protected areas and raising the status of cranes existing in key habitats, and will conduct taking into account their number will support the activities of anti-poaching and fire-fighting groups.

In October 2020, at the Far Eastern Conference on Conservation, it is planned to consider a new version of the Strategy for the Conservation of Japanese and Daurian Cranes, the rarest in the Amur Basin.

“Our work will be aimed at reducing the area of ​​fires and the number of fires in the habitats of cranes, at working with agricultural producers in order to take into account the interest in maintaining cranes in the production of agricultural products. We will try to achieve a balance of human interests and rare species, including cranes, in the conduct of activities, ”said Yuri Gafarov.

In addition, environmentalists plan to hold an educational campaign "Crane - a bird of the world." Its main task is to provide the residents of Primorsky, Khabarovsk, Zabaykalsky territories, Amur and Jewish regions with the most complete information about cranes in the Amur basin, about the dangers that lie ahead and what people can do to protect birds.

“We have long been convinced that the conservation of rare large birds, cranes and storks depends not only on global processes, but also on each person living in their neighborhood. Therefore, we offer people to start with themselves, to reconsider their attitude - first to fires, to chemicalization and land reclamation of agriculture. Here we hope not only for the help of nature reserves and public organizations, but also for teachers, educational authorities and cultural institutions, which can also become participants in the educational campaign, ”said Yuri Gafarov, coordinator of the Year of the Crane in the Amur Basin.

WWF-Russia has opened a special section on the Foundation’s website and on the information portal of the Amur Ecoregion Amurinforcenter dedicated to the Year of the Crane. There you can watch an exhibition with elements of augmented reality, download lectures, methodological developments for teachers, interesting facts and presentations about the cranes of the Amur basin, take part in the international competition of children's drawings.

August 13: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Сигнал тревоги в бассейне Амура

Экологи заявляют о снижении численности популяции журавлей на Дальнем Востоке

Всего 15 видов журавлей обитает в мире, из них шесть встречаются в бассейне реки Амур. Экологи бьют тревогу – популяция большинства видов деградирует, в том числе на Дальнем Востоке. Для их спасения ряд международных природоохранных организаций, в том числе Всемирный фонд дикой природы (WWF) России, Китая и Монголии объявили Год журавля. Они планируют провести полный учет популяции и инициировать ряд акций, направленных на сохранение птицы.

Сигнал тревоги в бассейне Амура
Фото: pixabay.com

Редкие птицы

Все виды журавлей достаточно немногочисленны, а некоторые из них относятся к числу наиболее редких птиц мира. Поэтому все 15 видов журавлей занесены в Красный список угрожаемых видов Международного союза охраны природы – одной из самых авторитетных природоохранных организаций мира. Большинство из них имеет статус уязвимых видов, японский и американский журавли – статус вымирающих видов, а стерх – статус вида, находящегося на грани исчезновения. В критическом состоянии находятся западно-сибирские стерхи – их в природе осталось около 20. Лишь четыре вида журавлей, в том числе, серый и красавка, находятся в Красном списке как виды, вызывающие наименьшие опасения.

Журавлей охраняют национальные и региональные Красные книги, в том числе на Дальнем Востоке. Бассейн Амура – самый «журавлиный» регион мира, там шесть видов этих птиц, в том числе два из трех самых малочисленных: японский – менее трех тыс. особей, стерх – около трех тыс. особей.

«Данные по численности, которые имеются сейчас, показывают постепенную деградацию большинства видов журавлей. У нас достаточно стабильные виды из журавлей, обитающих в бассейне Амура – красавка и серый журавль. Остальные снижают свою численность», – сообщил журналистам во Владивостоке координатор проектов Амурского филиала WWF России по особо охраняемым природным территориям (ООПТ), координатор года журавля в бассейне Амура Юрий Гафаров.

Последний подсчет популяции журавлей проходил в 90-е годы, экологи до сих пор пользуются этими данными по численности птиц. В 2020 году ученые России, Китая и Монголии начали полный учет популяции журавлей на своих территориях. В России подсчеты пройдут в Приморском крае, Амурской области, Забайкалье и Еврейской АО. Птиц посчитают визуально, с помощью беспилотников, по крикам птиц на пролетах и гнездовьях. Результаты учета будут известны в ноябре.

 

Выживает только 30%

По данным различных исследователей, до взрослого возраста, когда птицы могут размножаться, доживает не более 30% птенцов, появившихся из яиц. При этом журавли и без того не очень «плодовитые» птицы – в единственной за год кладке обычно два яйца, редко три. А до осеннего отлета выживает обычно лишь один вылупившийся птенец. В WWF считают, что основная причина сокращение численности журавлей – пожары.

«Для России, Монголии и Китая основной проблемой являются пожары. Как известно, журавли гнездятся на земле. В пожарах гибнут гнезда с кладками и маленькие птенцы, которые не могут убежать во время пожара. Тот же японский журавль не умеет гнездиться на прогоревшей территории, ему нужна высокая сухая трава», – отмечает Юрий Гафаров.

Второй серьезный фактор, влияющий на журавлей, это вовлечение мест их гнездования в хозяйственную деятельность – осушение болот и их распашка для выращивания сельхозкультур, использование степей и болот для выпаса скота, застройка мест обитания, выжигание сухой травы, необходимой для гнездования журавлей. Также существуют проблемы, связанные с сельским хозяйством – загрязнения водоемов пестицидами, используемыми в сельском хозяйстве. Влияют на птиц и плотины: изменение гидрорежимов водотоков ведет к сокращению площадей и ухудшению качества водно-болотных угодий. В Монголии и Даурии, по словам эксперта, есть еще одна проблема – там много домашнего скота, который вытаптывает гнезда.

«Определенную роль играет браконьерство, но это не самый значимый фактор, потому что у нас в России к журавлям относятся трепетно, с любовью. Был случай в Приморье, когда в журавлей стреляли, сами охотники выловили и сдали этих браконьеров», – добавил эксперт.

Большую роль в снижении численности этих осторожных птиц может играть фактор беспокойства. Журавлям вредят весенние охоты на водоплавающую дичь, которые тревожат птиц в начале гнездового периода, заставляют их бросать кладки.

 

Год журавля

Международный фонд охраны журавлей и Рабочая Группа по журавлям Евразии объявили 2020 год Всемирным годом этих птиц. Союз охраны птиц России выбрал журавля птицей 2020 года в России. Поддержал проведение Года журавля и Всемирный фонд дикой природы (WWF). 

«Объявление Всемирного года журавля – это сигнал тревоги для общества. Сигнал о том, что редким видам животных угрожает опасность, и они нуждаются в нашей помощи», –заявил директор Амурского филиала WWF России Петр Осипов.

В Год журавля в содружестве с 24 заповедниками и национальными парками бассейна Амура, дирекции региональных особо охраняемых природных территорий (ООПТ), некоммерческие общественные организации и дружины охраны природы WWF России продолжат работу по созданию новых ООПТ и повышению статуса существующих в ключевых местах обитания журавлей, проведут учет их численность, поддержат деятельность антибраконьерских и противопожарных групп.

В октябре 2020 на Дальневосточной конференции по заповедному делу планируется рассмотреть новую редакцию Стратегии сохранения японского и даурского журавлей – наиболее редких в бассейне Амура.

«Наша работа будет направлена на сокращения площадей пожаров и количества возгораний в местах обитания журавлей, на работу с сельхозпроизводителями с тем, чтобы учесть интерес сохранения журавлей при производстве сельхозпродукции. Мы попытаемся достичь баланса интересов человека и редких видов, в том числе журавлей, при ведении деятельности», – отметил Юрий Гафаров.

Кроме этого, экологи планируют провести просветительскую акцию «Журавль – птица мира». Ее главная задача – предоставить жителям Приморского, Хабаровского, Забайкальского краев, Амурской и Еврейской областей наиболее полную информацию о журавлях в бассейне Амура, об опасностях, которые их подстерегают и том, что люди могут сделать для защиты птиц.

«Мы давно уже убедились в том, что сохранение редких больших птиц, журавлей и аистов, зависит не только от глобальных процессов, но и от каждого человека, живущего с ними по соседству. Поэтому мы предлагаем людям начать с себя, пересмотреть свое отношение – прежде к пожарам, к химизации и мелиорации сельского хозяйства. Здесь мы надеемся не только на помощь заповедников и общественных организаций, но и педагогов, органы образования и учреждениями культуры, которые тоже могут стать участниками просветительской акции», – отметил координатор Года журавля в бассейне Амура Юрий Гафаров.

WWF России открыл на сайте Фонда и на информационном портале Амурского экорегиона «Амуринфорцентр» специальный раздел, посвященный Году журавля. Там можно посмотреть выставку с элементами дополненной реальности, скачать лекции, методические разработки для педагогов, интересные факты и презентации о журавлях бассейна Амура, принять участие в международном конкурсе детского рисунка.

23 ноября: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайжест региональных событий и свежая статистика