Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
160 years of defense of Sevastopol and Petropavlovsk: new interpretations of known facts - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Random Campaign

160 years of defense of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky

Random Campaign

Exactly 160 years ago, at noon 17 August 1854 year, advanced posts on the beacons of Avacha Bay found a squadron of six ships. The next morning, a united Anglo-French squadron entered the bay. After two unsuccessful attempts to storm, having lost about 400 killed and 150 wounded, a foreign squadron left the Kamchatka waters.

In traditional descriptions of the Kamchatka campaign, the defense of Petropavlovsk is seen as a logical and prepared event. English ships often went with reconnaissance purposes to the port, and the Russians, preparing for war, began to strengthen Petropavlovsk. Then, after the declaration of the Crimean War, historians say, the united French-English Pacific squadron received an order to attack Petropavlovsk. The attack, which ended in the victory of the Russian troops, became one of the three victorious episodes of the Eastern campaign, along with the famous Sinop battle and the capture of the Turkish fortress of Kars in the Caucasus.

However, as an attentive study of sources shows, an attack on Petropavlovsk can hardly be considered a prepared and planned action. Judging from the available documents, the attack of Petropavlovsk in August 1854 was almost accidental. Moreover, there are a number of good reasons not to consider the ten-day campaign in Avacha Bay as an episode of the Crimean War, the main events of which took place thousands of kilometers from Kamchatka.

Let us turn to the chronicle. 27 March 1854, France and England declared war on Russia, thereby turning the local Russian-Turkish war into a campaign of European level. The dispatch of the dispatch to Admiral Price, the commander of the Pacific squadron, transferred this conflict to the world level.

Prior to Admiral Price dispatch with the declaration of war only 7 May reached and caught him in Peru, in the port of Callao. There were no specific instructions on the Petropavlovsk attack in the document, and Price had to decide for himself how to conduct the war in the Pacific.

Opponents, in fact, were very close. The fact is that a few days before the arrival of the courier ship in Callao, here, in front of Price, the Russian frigate Aurora was stockpiling food. The English ship "Verigo", carrying a dispatch to declare war, met with the "Aurora" in the ocean. However, the captain decided not to attack him, but only to deliver Price to the news of the war. The crew of the Aurora, in turn, did not know about the declaration of war and continued to sail in accordance with its round-the-world voyage route.

In fact, the arrival of the squadron in Avacha Bay is a long pursuit of the Aurora. The chaos is intermittent and inconsistent. 9 May 1854 year Price sends the dispatches to the captains of the two other squadron ships with the order to unite with the main forces in Hawaii. However, then he cancels his order, changes the meeting place, waits a long time for replenishment and gets to Honolulu only by 17 July. Here he learns that the Aurora went to Petropavlovsk, but does not rush after it, but eight days on the island. Price reports are amazing. In them - only a description of the techniques of the local king. On the plans for the forthcoming campaign, Price writes with incredible uncertainty.

"If it turns out that there is nothing to be done [in Sitka], we will undoubtedly go to Petropavlovsk ... we are, however, very unsure; One day can change all our assumptions ... "- says the admiral.

Only 27 July fleet sails from Honololu to attack the Aurora in the Russian port of Petropavlovsk. Thus, the obvious decision to attack Russian ships on the high seas (where they would not have any chance) is replaced by an attack from a distant northern port.

Drawing an analogy, you can see that in the same developments are developing in the Crimea. And by analogy, this also has the will of fate, since originally allied forces planned to conduct military operations only in the Balkans - in the territory of modern Bulgaria. The reason for the sharp expansion of the theater of military operations in July 1854 was the epidemic of cholera, which erupted right at the front. The Allies did not have enough ships to transport troops and supplies from Varna to the Crimea, so it was decided to send to the Crimea only a part of the soldiers with a minimum of baggage, and leave most of the grouping and equipment in the Balkans. The French captain Erbe described that on the July night, when this decision was made, sixty people of his subordinates came to him, who begged to send them to the landing, and not to leave at the post a huge storage room, which was organized near Varna.



Thus, according to a strange irony of fate, both heroic episodes of the Crimean War - the defenses of Petropavlovsk and Sevastopol - became the consequences of a chain of random events. And, let's note, both decisions were taken mainly from ideological, propagandistic considerations.

The Crimean War (both in Kamchatka and Crimea) was an information campaign. It was originally conceived as a "quick victorious war", which was to raise the prestige of the current governments of England and France. That is why during the Crimean War, military correspondents appeared for the first time. This was the first war, captured in photographs. In the end, detailed atlases of military operations were issued specifically for the coverage of the Crimean campaign in European countries, and an underwater telegraph cable was thrown to the Crimea itself.

This information war is the common component of the two campaigns. Avachinskaya and Balaklava battle London newspapers were presented as links of one chain. It was important for the allies not to achieve real results, but to create the appearance of a global battle and victories. Both Petropavlovsk and Sevastopol at the time seemed to be ideal targets for those. If not for the courage of Russian soldiers and the outstanding engineering talent of Zavoiko and Totleben, who prepared the cities for defense.

These campaigns are united by something else. 25 October 1854 year during the Battle of Balaklava, the commander-in-chief Lord Raglan sent the English cavalry, consisting of the color of the British aristocracy, into a suicidal attack that led to the almost complete destruction of the Englishmen's cavalry. Three months before that, Avacha Bay also became a place of suicide: on the day when the storming of Petropavlovsk began, Commander in Chief Price shot himself in his cabin. Dying, he gathered around himself officers and admitted that he had shot himself because of fear of responsibility.

Both cases are the clearest examples of the rotten British system of appointing army posts. In those days, they were simply bought or received, as we would say now, “according to the pull”. Note that his best years - from 25 to 44 years - Admiral Price spent in reserve, and his career began to go uphill only after his marriage to the niece of Admiral Taylor.

26 August 1854, the Anglo-French Brigade left Kamchatka. A few days later, the landing of the Allied assault force in the Crimea began. We note once again, both operations were mostly ideological in nature. British and French troops had to look like winners in the eyes of readers. It was the messages of victories that would justify the war in which their governments got involved. For ideological reasons, Sevastopol was stormed. How else to explain the fact that during the conclusion of the Peace of Paris in 1856, the British meekly returned the captured city to the Russians? The same applies to Petropavlovsk. The purpose of the British was not the seizure of the city or Avacha Bay. They needed to take ideological revenge. That is why in March 1855 of the year, when the English squadron again approached Petropavlovsk and found neither ships nor settlements, it did not take on a strategically important port, but simply went back. Having completed, perhaps, the most incredible episode of this strange war, which allowed Russian soldiers and officers to show the whole world heroic examples of courage and bravery.

Published in the newspaper "Fisherman of Kamchatka"

EastRussia.ru - information partner of the newspaper "Fisherman of Kamchatka"

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Случайная кампания

160 лет обороне Петропавловска-Камчатского

Случайная кампания

Ровно 160 лет назад, в полдень 17 августа 1854 года, передовые посты на маяках Авачинской бухты обнаружили эскадру из шести кораблей. Утром следующего дня объединенная англо-французская эскадра вошла в бухту. После двух неудачных попыток штурма, потеряв около 400 убитыми и 150 ранеными, иностранная эскадра покинула камчатские воды.

В традиционных описаниях камчатской кампании оборона Петропавловска рассматривается как логичное и подготовленное событие. Английские корабли не раз заходили с разведывательными целями в порт, а русские, готовясь к войне, начали укрепление Петропавловска. Затем, после объявления Крымской войны, как утверждают историки, объединенная французско-английская тихоокеанская эскадра получила приказ об атаке Петропавловска. Атаке, которая закончилась победой русских войск и стала одним из трех победных эпизодов Восточной кампании наряду со знаменитым Синопским сражением и захватом турецкой крепости Карс на Кавказе.

Однако, как показывает внимательное изучение источников, нападение на Петропавловск вряд ли можно считать подготовленной и спланированной акцией. Судя по имеющимся документам, атака Петропавловска в августе 1854 года была почти что случайностью. Более того, существует ряд веских оснований вообще не рассматривать десятидневную кампанию в Авачинской бухте как эпизод Крымской войны, основные события которой проходили в тысячах километров от Камчатки.

Обратимся к хронике. 27 марта 1854 года Франция и Англия объявили войну России, превратив тем самым локальную русско-турецкую войну в кампанию европейского уровня. Отправка депеши адмиралу Прайсу, командующему тихоокеанской эскадрой, перевела этот конфликт на мировой уровень.

До адмирала Прайса депеша с объявлением войны дошла лишь 7 мая и застала его в Перу, в порту Кальяо. Никаких конкретных указаний по поводу атаки Петропавловска в документе не содержалось, и Прайсу пришлось решать самому, как вести войну в Тихом океане.

Противники, по сути, были совсем рядом. Дело в том, что за несколько дней до прибытия в Кальяо корабля-курьера здесь, на глазах у Прайса, запасался продовольствием русский фрегат «Аврора». Английский корабль «Verigo», везший депешу об объявлении войны, встретился с «Авророй» в океане. Однако капитан решил не атаковать его, а лишь доставить Прайсу известие о войне. Экипаж «Авроры», в свою очередь, об объявлении войны не знал и продолжал плыть в соответствии со своим маршрутом кругосветного путешествия.

По сути, приход эскадры в Авачинскую бухту – это долгая погоня за «Авророй». Погоня прерывистая и непоследовательная. 9 мая 1854 года Прайс отправляет депеши капитанам двух других кораблей эскадры с приказом объединиться с основными силами на Гавайях. Однако затем он отменяет свой приказ, меняет место встречи, долго ждет пополнения и добирается до Гонолулу только к 17 июля. Здесь узнает, что «Аврора» отправилась в Петропавловск, но не бросается за ней в погоню, а восемь дней стоит на острове. Отчеты Прайса удивительны. В них – лишь описание приемов у местного царька. О планах предстоящей кампании Прайс пишет с потрясающей неуверенностью.

«Если окажется, что там делать нечего [в Ситке], мы, несомненно, пойдем в Петропавловск... мы, однако, весьма не уверены; один день может изменить все наши предположения...» – пишет адмирал.

Только 27 июля флот отплывает из Гонололу, чтобы атаковать «Аврору» в русском порту Петропавловск. Таким образом, очевидное решение атаковать русские корабли в открытом море (где у них не было бы никаких шансов), сменяется атакой далекого северного порта.

Проводя аналогии, можно заметить, что в это же самое развиваются события и в Крыму. И по аналогии, в этом также есть воля судьбы, поскольку первоначально союзные войска планировали вести боевые действия только на Балканах – на территории современной Болгарии. Причиной резкого расширения театра военных действий в июле 1854-го стала эпидемия холеры, разразившаяся прямо на фронте. У союзников не было достаточного количества кораблей, чтобы перевезти войска и провиант из Варны в Крым, поэтому было решено отправить в Крым лишь часть солдат с минимальным количеством багажа, а большую часть группировки и снаряжения оставить на Балканах. Французский капитан Эрбе описывал, что в июльскую ночь, когда было принято это решение, к нему пришли шестьдесят человек его подчиненных, которые умоляли отправить именно их в десант, а не оставлять на посту у огромной камеры хранения, которую организовали у Варны.

Таким образом, по странной иронии судьбы оба героических эпизода Крымской войны – обороны Петропавловска и Севастополя – стали следствиями цепи случайных событий. И, отметим, оба решения были приняты в основном из идеологических, пропагандистских соображений.

Крымская война (и на Камчатке, и в Крыму), была кампанией информационной. Она изначально затевалась как «быстрая победоносная война», которая должна была поднять престиж действующих правительств Англии и Франции. Именно поэтому во время Крымской войны впервые появились военные корреспонденты. Это была первая война, запечатленная на фотографиях. В конце концов, специально для освещения Крымской кампании в странах Европы выпускались подробные атласы боевых действий, а к самому Крыму был перекинут подводный телеграфный кабель.

Именно эта информационная война – общая составляющая двух кампаний. Авачинскую и Балаклавскую битву лондонские газеты представили звеньями одной цепи. Союзникам важно было не добиться реальных результатов, а создать видимость глобальной баталии и побед. И Петропавловск, и Севастополь на тот момент казались идеальными целями для таковых. Если бы не мужество русских солдат и выдающийся инженерный талант Завойко и Тотлебена, подготовивших города к обороне.

Кампании эти объединяет еще кое-что. 25 октября 1854 года во время Балаклавского сражения главнокомандующий лорд Раглан отправил английскую кавалерию, состоящую из цвета британской аристократии, в самоубийственную атаку, которая привела к практически полному уничтожению конницы англичан. За три месяца до этого Авачинская бухта тоже стала местом самоубийства: в день, когда начался штурм Петропавловска, главнокомандующий Прайс выстрелил в себя в своей каюте. Умирая, он собрал вокруг себя офицеров и признался, что застрелился из-за боязни ответственности.

Оба случая – ярчайшие примеры гнилой британской системы назначения армейских постов. Их в те времена попросту покупали или получали, как бы мы сейчас сказали, «по блату». Отметим, что свои лучшие годы – с 25 до 44 лет – адмирал Прайс провел в запасе, а его карьера начала идти в гору лишь после женитьбы на племяннице адмирала Тейлора.

26 августа 1854 года англо-французская бригада покинула Камчатку. Через несколько дней после этого началась высадка союзного десанта в Крыму. Отметим еще раз, обе операции носили в основном идеологический характер. Английским и французским войскам нужно было выглядеть в глазах читателей победителями. Именно сообщения о победах были бы оправданием войны, в которую ввязались их правительства. Именно по идеологическим причинам штурмовали Севастополь. Иначе как объяснить то, что во время заключения Парижского мира в 1856 году англичане безропотно вернули захваченный город русским? То же касается и Петропавловска. Целью англичан не был захват города или Авачинской бухты. Им нужно было взять идеологический реванш. Именно поэтому в марте 1855 года, когда английская эскадра вновь подошла к Петропавловску и не обнаружила ни кораблей, ни поселения, она не стала занимать стратегически важный порт, а просто-напросто отправилась обратно. Завершив тем самым, пожалуй, самый невероятный эпизод этой странной войны, позволившей русским солдатам и офицерам показать всему миру героические примеры мужества и отваги.

Опубликовано в газете "Рыбак Камчатки"

EastRussia.ru - информационный партнер газеты "Рыбак Камчатки"