Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Super ring against the Mongolian super desert

With China, a regime transfer is possible, with Japan - net exports

Super ring against the Mongolian super desert

One of the main topics discussed at the Eastern Economic Forum held in Vladivostok on September 2-3 is the Asian energy ring. Russian President Vladimir Putin in his speech outlined the future energy association of the NEA countries as promising. And he instructed the government to create an intergovernmental working group to study the issue.

According to the head of the RF Ministry of Energy Alexandra Novak, We are talking about the development of Russia's energy ties with neighboring countries - South Korea, China, Japan, Mongolia, etc. "Various configurations are being considered, including the purchase of electricity, the construction of power lines, the development of coal deposits with the construction of thermal power plants on the sides of the open-pit mines to provide opportunities for the transfer of electricity between countries with a large population and prospects for increasing energy consumption." “These are issues that require detailed study, because we are talking about the study of intersystem connections, what kind of power lines are needed there, what kind of generation? We have excess capacity in Siberia, and we have some in the Far East. And we need to calculate the balance of supply and demand, respectively, the configuration of intersystem connections will depend on this, ”Novak said at the briefing.

Such projects, in fact, have been discussed before. Thus, the holding company “Rossetti” at the same VEF said that it had conducted a preliminary study of the options for the supply of electricity from Siberia and the Far East to Japan in the amount of 2 GW. According to the head of the company Oleg Budargin, Rosseti, together with its Japanese partner Softbank and other partners, are working on the possibility of implementing a project to export electricity to the NEA countries as part of the creation of an Asian power ring, of which an energy bridge between Russia and Japan can become a part. The project involves the supply of electricity from the Russian Federation to Japan in volumes of up to 2 GW at the initial stage, in the future - up to 5 GW. Variants of organizing both a direct energy route Russia - Japan with points of delivery Sovetskaya Gavan (Khabarovsk Territory) and Sakhalin Island with laying a submarine cable along the bottom of the Sea of ​​Japan, and power transit through the territory of Mongolia and China are being considered. “The parties plan to develop a feasibility study with a comprehensive study and analysis of the technical and economic aspects of the operation of the energy bridge. The results of the work will be presented to the relevant ministries and departments of our countries, ”Budargin said.

Interstate energy networks are a global trend, I'm sure Sergey Podkovalnikov, Candidate of Technical Sciences, Leading Researcher, Head of the Laboratory of Interstate Electric Power Unions, ISEM SB RAS. The whole question is what tasks they will solve.

- There were quite a lot of projects of interstate electric power associations (MGEP). In the 1990, for example, Irkutskenergo was actively working on the Bratsk-Beijing transmission project, which was based on the fact that the Irkutsk region experienced an excess of electricity due to a large-scale production decline. And so the generation could be loaded and sent to China. Negotiations have been going on for many years, various routes were worked through (including one through Mongolia), but as a result, it was not possible to agree. And then the consumption in Russia was restored, the excesses disappeared and, in essence, nothing was transferred.

Then the idea of ​​this energy bridge was transformed, because in northern China, especially in Beijing, another model of electricity consumption was formed. They experienced a summer peak in the load - there it is hot, because of air conditioners, large volumes of consumption began to be fixed in the summer months. By the way, this model of power consumption is typical for countries with a hot climate and a high level of development. And Beijing is the capital, it is ahead of the whole country in the development of the economy, there high standards of life. At us, in Russia, the model of a power consumption winter. And so there was the idea of ​​sharing seasonal excess capacity. But this time it did not work out with the Chinese.

In parallel, other MEO projects were also worked out - for example, the Sakhalin-Japan energy bridge, a transfer from the Far East to northeast China. And gradually, they all took shape in a single concept, called the Asian Energy Ring - the integrated power system of Northeast Asia.

Here it is worth mentioning that the unification of national energy systems with parallel or joint work is, in principle, a global trend. In one way or another, similar processes occur all over the world. There is already a European IEA with the participation of the power systems of Western Europe, Northern, Southern and Eastern Europe, island Britain. There is a unification of the power systems of the USA, Canada and Mexico, and in South America - Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay. Even the poor countries of that macroregion (Nicaragua, Panama, etc.) form an inter-state energy association. In Africa, the same processes are going on, the ASEAN countries are also doing this ...

There was also an energy association, which included the USSR, the countries of Eastern Europe and Mongolia. And it was then one of the largest in the world. But the disintegration processes at the political level destroyed this system. There remained more or less close ties with Byelorussia, Kazakhstan, and Mongolia. As a whole, exchanges of flows between the countries of the near abroad in comparison with the Soviet period decreased approximately four times, and the integration effects also decreased accordingly. It is hoped that with the strengthening of the role of the Customs Union and the EEA, integration in the energy sector will intensify.

So far, we have nothing to boast about. There are weak ties with Mongolia, with the Far East is exporting to China. But the prospects for such an MEO of Northeast Asia (Russia, Mongolia, China, the two Koreas and Japan) are large. Countries that can enter it, one way or another are active.

Here it is necessary to first ask the question - why do neighboring countries even unite their energy systems? The answer is in system effects. There is a savings due to the exchange of excess capacity - both daily and seasonal. That allows to reduce the cost of electricity production. In addition, due to the expansion of intersystem flows, the mode of operation of power plants is improved, and the reliability of the power system for the consumer is increased. For example, in northern China now there are many wind power stations that operate in a probabilistic mode of operation - that is, they can make large energy emissions in the network, and when there is no wind, they stand idle and do not give anything out. Such work needs competent regulation. In addition, in that region of China there are no large hydropower plants, namely, they are a good regulator - to save energy in the reservoir, and then release it. And we have such stations. In some cases, exporting can also be effective. For example, in Japan, the generation of electricity is very expensive, and therefore exports from Russia - through energy bridges with Sakhalin - are quite the way out.

In Mongolia, the GobiTEK project is being developed - on the order of 100 GW of solar and wind power in the desert. These are very large volumes, Mongolia does not need them, it has all the power capacity - 1 GW. Therefore, they are aimed at exporting clean energy in all possible areas: China, Russia, Korea, and up to Japan. Such a project in itself is unlikely to be possible, but within the framework of the IER of Northeast Asia, it has chances for implementation. Because within the framework of such a merger, it will be possible to remove the problem of uneven energy output, which is characteristic of RES generation. And Mongolia itself through this project would have received an alternative to hydroelectric projects in the Selenga basin.

Thus, in the framework of the Asian energy ring, the relations between Russia and Mongolia appear to be regime regimes. The Mongols have enough of their own generation, especially in the central power hub, they have no peak capacities. As for Japan, it is more profitable to export electricity from Russia. With China and South Korea, the implementation of systemic effects is effective - they have a summer maximum load, we have a winter maximum in the Far East and in Siberia. In addition, China’s own generation is cheap, and therefore all our projects of large thermal power plants or hydroelectric power plants that are focused exclusively on exports “hang up” (look at the fate of the Erkovetskaya Thermal Power Plant, for example). The Chinese demand that the cost of the tariff at the point of delivery at the border should be no more than 5-6 cents, which means that export generation and transmission lines for two to three thousand kilometers can hardly pay off.

April 16: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Суперкольцо против монгольской суперпустыни

С Китаем возможна режимная передача, с Японией — чистый экспорт

Суперкольцо против монгольской суперпустыни

Одна из главных тем, затронутых на прошедшем во Владивостоке 2-3 сентября Восточном экономическом форуме, – азиатское энергокольцо. Президент России Владимир Путин в своем выступлении обозначил будущее энергетическое объединение стран СВА как перспективное. И поручил правительству создать для проработки вопроса межправительственную рабочую группу.

По словам главы Минэнерго РФ Александра Новака, речь идет о развитии энергетических связей России с соседними странами – Южной Кореей, Китаем, Японией, Монголией и т.д. «Рассматриваются разные конфигурации, в том числе перекупки электроэнергии, строительства линий электропередач, разработки угольных месторождений со строительством на бортах разрезов тепловых электростанций, чтобы обеспечить возможности передачи электроэнергии между странами, где проживает большое количество населения и есть перспективы роста энергопотребления». «Это вопросы, которые требуют детальной проработки, ведь речь идет о проработке межсистемных связей, какие там необходимы линии электропередач, какая генерация? У нас есть избыточные мощности в Сибири, и есть частично на Дальнем востоке. И нужен расчет баланса спроса и предложения, соответственно, от этого будет зависеть конфигурация межсистемных связей», – заявил Новак на брифинге.

Подобные проекты, на самом деле, обсуждались и раньше. Так, холдинг «Россети» на том же ВЭФ заявил, что провел предварительную проработку вариантов поставки электроэнергии из Сибири и Дальнего Востока в Японию в объеме 2 Гвт. По словам главы компании Олега Бударгина, «Россети» совместно с японским партнером Softbank и другими партнерами прорабатывают возможность реализации проекта по экспорту электроэнергии в страны СВА в рамках создания азиатского электроэнергетического кольца, частью которого может стать энергомост между Россией и Японией. Проект предполагает поставку электроэнергии с территории РФ в Японию в объемах до 2 ГВт на первоначальном этапе, в перспективе — до 5 ГВт. Рассматриваются варианты организации как прямого энергомаршрута Россия – Япония с точками выдачи Советская Гавань (Хабаровский край) и остров Сахалин с прокладкой подводного кабеля по дну Японского моря, так и транзит мощности через территорию Монголии и Китая. «Сторонами планируется разработка технико-экономического обоснования со всесторонним изучением и анализом технических и экономических аспектов функционирования энергомоста. Результаты работы будут представлены в профильные министерства и ведомства наших стран», – сообщил Бударгин.

Межгосударственные энергообъединения – это мировой тренд, уверен Сергей Подковальников, кандидат технических наук, ведущий научный сотрудник, заведующий лабораторией межгосударственных электроэнергетических объединений ИСЭМ СО РАН. Весь вопрос – какие задачи они будут решать.

– Проектов межгосударственных электроэнергетических объединений (МГЭО) было довольно много. В 1990-е, например, «Иркутскэнерго» активно прорабатывало проект передачи Братск-Пекин, который базировался на том, что в Иркутской области возник избыток электроэнергии из-за масштабного спада производства. И потому генерацию можно было загрузить и направить выработку в Китай. Переговоры шли много лет, прорабатывались различные маршруты (в том числе один – через Монголию), но в итоге договориться не удалось. А потом уже потребление в России восстановилось, избытки исчезли и передавать, по сути, стало нечего.

Потом идея этого энергомоста трансформировалась, поскольку в северном Китае, особенно в Пекине, сформировалась другая модель электропотребления. У них возник летний пик нагрузки – там жарко, из-за кондиционеров большие объемы потребления стали фиксировать в летние месяцы. Кстати, такая модель электропотребления характерна для стран с жарким климатом и высоким уровнем развития. А Пекин – это столица, он опережает всю страну в развитии экономики, там высокие стандарты жизни. У нас же, в России, модель электропотребления зимняя. И так возникла идея обмена сезонными избытками мощности. Но договориться с китайцами и в этот раз не получилось.

Параллельно прорабатывались и другие проекты МЭО – например, энергомост Сахалин – Япония, передача с Дальнего Востока в северо-восточный Китай. И постепенно все они оформились в единую концепцию, получившую название Азиатское Энергетическое кольцо – объединенной энергосистемы Северо-Восточной Азии.

Тут стоит оговорится, что объединение национальных энергосистем с параллельной или совместной работой – это, в принципе, глобальная тенденция. Так или иначе подобные процессы происходят во всем мире. Уже есть Европейское МЭО с участием энергосистем Западной Европы, Северной, Южной и Восточной Европы, островной Британии. Есть объединение энергосистем США, Канады и Мексики, а в южной Америки – Бразилии, Аргентины, Уругвая и Парагвая. Даже бедные страны того макрорегиона (Никарагуа, Панама и др.) формируют межгосударственное энергообъединение. В Африке идут такие же процессы, страны АСЕАН тоже этим занимаются…

Существовало также энергообъединение, в которое входили СССР, страны Восточной Европы и Монголия. И оно было тогда одним из крупнейших в мире. Но дезинтеграционные процессы на политическом уровне разрушили эту систему. Остались более или менее тесные связи с Белоруссией, Казахстаном, той же Монголией. В целом обмены перетоками между странами ближнего зарубежья по сравнению с советским периодом сократились примерно в четыре раза, соответственно снизились и интеграционные эффекты. Есть надежда, что с усилением роли Таможенного союза и ЕАЭС интеграция в энергетике будет усиливаться.

Пока что нам похвастаться нечем. Есть слабые связи с Монголией, с Дальнего Востока идет экспорт в Китай. Но перспективы у такого МЭО стран Северо-Восточной Азии (Россия, Монголия, Китай, две Кореи и Япония) большие. Страны, которые могут в него войти, так или иначе проявляют активность.

Тут стоит сначала задаться вопросом – зачем вообще соседним странам объединять свои энергосистемы? Ответ – в системных эффектах. Возникает экономия за счет обмена излишками мощностей – как суточными, так и сезонными. Что позволяет снижать затраты на производство электроэнергии. Кроме того, за счет расширения межсистемных перетоков улучшается режим работы электростанций, повышается надежность энергосистемы для потребителя. К примеру, в северном Китае сейчас действует множество ветровых электростанций, которые работают в вероятностном режиме работы – то есть могут делать большие выбросы энергии в сети, а когда ветра нет – простаивать и ничего не выдавать. Такая работа нуждается в грамотном регулировании. К тому же в том регионе Китая нет крупных ГЭС, а именно они хороший регулятор – накопить энергию в водохранилище, а потом ее выдать. А у нас такие станции есть. В ряде случаев эффективным может быть и экспорт. Например, в Японии генерация электроэнергии стоит очень дорого, а потому экспорт из России – через энергомосты с Сахалином – вполне выход из положения.

В Монголии прорабатывается проект «ГобиТЭК» - порядка 100 ГВт солнечных и ветровых мощностей в пустыне. Это очень большие объемы, Монголии они не нужны, у нее вся мощность энергетики – 1 ГВт. Поэтому они нацелены на экспорт чистой энергии во все возможные направления: Китай, Россия, Корея и вплоть до Японии. Такой проект сам по себе вряд ли будет возможен, но в рамках МЭО Северо-Восточной Азии он имеет шансы на реализацию. Потому что в рамках такого объединения можно будет снять проблему неравномерной энергоотдачи, характерную для ВИЭ-генерации. А сама Монголия с помощью этого проекта получила бы альтернативу проектам ГЭС в бассейне Селенги.

Таким образом, в рамках Азиатского энергокольца взаимосвязи России и Монголии представляются именно режимными. Собственной генерации, особенно в центральном энергоузле, у монголов достаточно – у них нет пиковых мощностей. Что касается Японии, то более выгоден именно экспорт электричества из России. С Китаем и Южной Кореей эффективна реализация системных эффектов – у них летний максимум нагрузки, у нас на Дальнем Востоке и в Сибири – зимний. К тому же в Китае дешевая собственная генерация, а потому все наши проекты крупных ТЭС или ГЭС, ориентированных исключительно на экспорт, «подвисают» (посмотрите на судьбу Ерковецкой ТЭС, к примеру). Китайцы требуют, чтобы стоимость тарифа в точке доставки на границе была не более 5-6 центов, а это значит, что едва ли экспортные генерация и ЛЭП на две-три тысячи километров смогут окупиться.