Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Thailand box of Pandora

Thailand box of Pandora

Ekaterina Koldunova

Associate Professor of the Department of Oriental Studies, MGIMO (U), Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, doctor of political science. N.

Ekaterina Koldunova, Associate Professor, Department of Oriental Studies, MGIMO-University (U), Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia, candidate of political sciences. :

Thailand is no stranger to living in crisis. The reality of the split of the country into opponents and supporters of the Pkhya Tkhai party - another reincarnation of the political structure that supports the protégés of ex-Prime Minister Thaksin Chinnawatra - is not new. T. Chinnawatra himself was removed from his post as a result of the 2006 coup and fled Thailand. These events led to a series of internal political crises, each of which further exacerbated the division of the country. However, the government’s attempt in November 2013 to pass an amnesty law through parliament that would open up the possibility of T. Chinnawatra’s return to politics, questioned the future of Thailand’s entire political system.

The rise and fall of Thai democracy

Thailand, which was never colonized, has perhaps the oldest experience of democratic governance in South-East Asia. In 1932, the constitutional monarchy replaced the absolute monarchy. But then followed more than five decades of authoritarianism and almost two dozen military coups. Thailand, in fact, lived in a so-called despotic paternalism, combining elements of traditional political culture and military rule.

Attempts to restore the democratic system were made in 1973 – 1976, but the final democratization occurred only at the beginning of the 1990-s. After the coup of 1991, the military tried to retain power, but by that time a wide opposition front had formed in Thai society that brought together representatives of various social groups who were in favor of real democratization. At the end of the 1990s, fundamental changes took place in the country's political system. In 1997, a new constitution was adopted that was truly democratic in nature and provided the conditions for real citizen participation in the political process.

In January of the year 2001, the party "Thay Rak Thai" (TRT), led by a large businessman Thaksin Chinnavat, won the election to parliament. Not having an absolute majority of votes, TRT representatives formed a coalition government. At the next elections in February 2005, TRT won more than 70% of seats and for the first time was able to form a one-party government. T. Chinnavat took the Prime Minister's seat for the second time. However, already in September 2006, a political crisis broke out in the country. The prime minister was accused of insulting the person of the king, corruption, the use of political power in the interests of his business and dismissed as a result of a military coup.

“Taxinization” of the whole country and its opponents

The reasons for the current split in Thai society lie in T. Chinnavat's populist politics. Mass support to it was provided by broad sections of the population, representing the agrarian regions of the country, especially the northeast, where the politician himself comes from.

T. Chinnavat's program, focused on providing preferential loans to farmers, cheap medical care and support for industrial production under the "one-tambon-one-product" scheme, found a lively response in a country where the income gap between the richest and the poorest reached frightening proportions. By the Gini coefficient (an indicator of income inequality), Thailand was ahead of many of its neighbors in the region. According to the UN, in 2000-2010 years. The Gini coefficient for Thailand was 40. For comparison: Indonesia - 34, Vietnam - 35,6, Cambodia - 37,9, Laos - 36,7, Philippines - 43, Malaysia - 46,2.

At the end of the 1980 - the beginning of the 1990-ies, as a result of a fairly successful economic development, Thailand's poverty level declined, and it fell into the group of middle-income countries. But many of those who today can be considered middle class are "yesterday's poor", which the country, which has been trapped in the middle level of development for two decades, did not leave much hope for a serious increase in well-being in the foreseeable future. Given the existing social disproportions, T. Chinnavat's populist slogans fell on fertile soil.

However, it is also true that T. Chinnavat did not forget about his own financial interests. Many of his foreign policy initiatives against neighboring Myanmar and Cambodia, in fact, covered the promotion of the interests of his company, Shin Corporation. Thaksin was supported also by representatives of large capital. As noted by the Thai researchers T. Chayvat and P. Phongpaychit, T. Chinnavat tried to break the established patron-client relations of politicians, bureaucrats and big business and replace them with a system of network relations tied to the personality of the prime minister himself.

Paradoxically, T. Chinnavat's massive social programs intensified internal territorial imbalances. In particular, due to the fact that the Democratic Party, the oldest political party in Thailand, was on the periphery of the political process, the channels of representation of the southern provinces, which traditionally voted for the democrats, were violated. In addition, the southern provinces (three of them - Narathiwat, Yala and Pattani - mostly populated by Muslims) were not seriously affected by the government's economic programs. As a result, in the south, the problem of separatism, which seemed at the beginning of the 1990-ies, was again exacerbated.

More: http://russiancouncil.ru/inner/?id_4=3408#top

May 17: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Таиландский ящик Пандоры

Таиландский ящик Пандоры

Екатерина Колдунова

Доцент кафедры востоковедения МГИМО (У) МИД России, к. полит. н.

Екатерина Колдунова, Доцент кафедры востоковедения МГИМО (У) МИД России, к. полит. н.:

Таиланду не привыкать жить в состоянии кризиса. Не нова и реальность раскола страны на противников и сторонников партии «Пхыа Тхай» – очередной реинкарнации политической структуры, поддерживающей ставленников экс-премьера Таксина Чиннавата. Сам Т. Чиннават был смещен со своего поста в результате переворота 2006 года и бежал из Таиланда. Эти события повлекли за собой череду внутриполитических кризисов, каждый из которых еще больше усугублял раскол страны. Однако попытка правительства в ноябре 2013 года провести через парламент закон об амнистии, который открыл бы возможность возвращения Т. Чиннавата в политику, поставила под вопрос будущее всей политической системы Таиланда.

Взлет и падение таиландской демократии

Таиланд, никогда не находившийся в колониальной зависимости, обладает, пожалуй, старейшим в Юго-Восточной Азии опытом демократического правления. Еще в 1932 году на смену абсолютной монархии пришла конституционная. Однако затем последовали более пяти десятилетий авторитаризма и почти два десятка военных переворотов. Таиланд, по сути, жил в условиях так называемого деспотического патернализма, сочетавшего элементы традиционной политической культуры и военного правления.

Попытки восстановить демократическую систему предпринимались в 1973–1976 гг., но окончательная демократизация произошла только в начале 1990-х годов. После переворота 1991 года военные пытались сохранить власть, но к тому времени в таиландском обществе сформировался широкий оппозиционный фронт, который объединил представителей разных социальных групп, выступавших за реальную демократизацию. В конце 1990-х годов в политической системе страны произошли кардинальные изменения. В 1997 году была принята новая конституция, носившая подлинно демократический характер и обеспечивавшая условия для реального участия граждан в политическом процессе.

В январе 2001 года на выборах в парламент победила партия «Тхай Рак Тхай» (ТРТ) во главе с крупным бизнесменом Таксином Чиннаватом. Не имея абсолютного большинства голосов, представители ТРТ сформировали коалиционное правительство. На следующих выборах в феврале 2005 года ТРТ завоевала уже более 70% мандатов и впервые смогла сформировать однопартийное правительство. Т. Чиннават занял кресло премьер-министра во второй раз. Однако уже в сентябре 2006 года в стране разразился политический кризис. Премьер был обвинен в оскорблении персоны короля, коррупции, использовании политической власти в интересах своего бизнеса и смещен с поста в результате военного переворота.

«Таксинизация» всей страны и ее противники

Причины нынешнего раскола таиландского общества кроются в популистской политике Т. Чиннавата. Массовую поддержку ему обеспечили широкие слои населения, представлявшие аграрные регионы страны, особенно северо-восток, откуда родом и сам политик.

Программа Т. Чиннавата, ориентированная на предоставление льготных кредитов фермерам, дешевое медицинское обслуживание и поддержку промышленного производства по схеме «один тамбон – один продукт», нашла живой отклик в стране, где разрыв в уровне доходов между самыми богатыми и самыми бедными достигал пугающих размеров. По коэффициенту Джини (показателю неравенства доходов населения) Таиланд опережал многих соседей по региону. По данным ООН, в 2000–2010 гг. коэффициент Джини для Таиланда составлял 40. Для сравнения: Индонезия – 34, Вьетнам – 35,6, Камбоджа – 37,9, Лаос – 36,7, Филиппины – 43, Малайзия – 46,2.

В конце 1980-х – начале 1990-х годов в результате достаточно успешного экономического развития уровень бедности в Таиланде снизился, и он попал в группу стран со средним уровнем доходов. Но многие из тех, кого сегодня можно считать представителями среднего класса, – это «вчерашние бедные», которым страна, уже два десятилетия находящаяся в «ловушке среднего уровня развития», не оставляла особых надежд на серьезное повышение благосостояния в обозримом будущем. В условиях имеющихся социальных диспропорций популистские лозунги Т. Чиннавата попали на благодатную почву.

Однако справедливо и то, что Т. Чиннават не забывал и о собственных финансовых интересах. Многие его внешнеполитические инициативы в отношении соседних Мьянмы и Камбоджи, по сути, прикрывали продвижение интересов его компании «Шин Корпорейшн». Таксина поддерживали и представители крупного капитала. Как отмечают таиландские исследователи Т. Чайват и П. Пхонгпайчит, Т. Чиннават попытался нарушить сложившиеся патронатно-клиентельные отношения политиков, бюрократов и крупного бизнеса и заместить их системой сетевых отношений, завязанных на личность самого премьера.

Парадоксально, но массовые социальные программы Т. Чиннавата усилили внутренние территориальные диспропорции. В частности, вследствие того, что Демократическая партия, старейшая политическая партия Таиланда, оказалась на периферии политического процесса, были нарушены каналы представительства южных провинций, которые традиционно голосовали за демократов. К тому же южные провинции (три из них – Наратхиват, Яла и Паттани – населены в основном мусульманами) не были серьезно затронуты экономическими программами правительства. В результате на юге вновь обострилась проблема сепаратизма, казавшаяся в начале 1990-х годов решенной.

Подробнее: http://russiancouncil.ru/inner/?id_4=3408#top