Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Shadow of elections

Irkutsk elected new mayor

Shadow of elections

On Friday in Irkutsk elections of the mayor took place. The deputies took less than 15 minutes to unanimously elect Dmitry Berdnikov - in the list of candidates he was the only one. The new mayor has already made his first promises, and experts believe that he is in a winning position: the mayor will not disappoint the Irkutsk people, because no one expects from him.

The election of the mayor was the first question on Friday, the ninth meeting of the Irkutsk Duma. Despite the fact that any deputy, including a self-promoted candidate, could nominate his candidacy, the final list of candidates for the post of mayor consisted of only one name. On the eve of the vote, 28 deputies nominated Dmitry Berdnikov for the post of mayor of the Parliament’s Speaker, and on Friday all of the 33 attendees present at the meeting gave him their votes. They chose the old-fashioned way - by raising their hands, and not using an electronic system. "To eliminate all kinds of failures," explained the deputy chairman, Alexander Khankhalayev.

The fact that the mayoral elections have passed, the majority of Irkutskians learned from the media. The fact is that the amendments to the city charter, according to which the national elections are canceled, and the mayor should be elected by deputies and from among the deputies, were adopted only last Monday. Then the 31 MP voted for the changes, only communist Vitaly Matviychuk spoke out against it, calling the amendments "an attack on democracy," another MP from the Civic Platform party abstained. "The mayor must choose the people, and the cancellation of direct elections tramples on the last sprouts of political freedom," believes the deputy of the Legislative Assembly and the head of the faction "GP" Vladimir Matienko. According to him, the past elections reflect the "abnormal" political system of the country and have nothing to do with the interests of the Irkutsk people. "At the September elections to the Duma, there was a minimum turnout of 19%, because then people still did not know that the mayor would be elected from among the deputies, so people can not speak about the will of the people," Matienko told EastRussia. "The new mayor is just a pocket assistant to the governor."

In accordance with the amended amendments, henceforth "the mayor of the city will be elected from among the deputies for a term of five years," and "candidates for the post of mayor are entitled to nominate Duma deputies, including through self-nomination." On the voting day, candidates are listed alphabetically, and the first bidder for whom 2 / 3 votes from the number of deputies becomes the winner - no further voting on the list is made. If no one has scored the required number of votes, the procedure is repeated. "By and large, the" alphabetical "detail does not matter: the deputies know in advance who will be on the final list, and who they will vote for," the analyst of the Internet portal "Taiga.info" Aleksey Mazur said in an interview with EastRussia.

The new election model in Irkutsk was developed quickly, but not immediately. Back in May last year, the Legislative Assembly of the Irkutsk Region approved a law according to which direct elections of mayors and deputies in municipalities are preserved. He was introduced by the governor of the region Sergey Eroshchenko "The governor decided that the heads of municipalities, as well as all representative bodies of local self-government are elected by the people in direct elections," the regional government’s press service said.

However, in December the concept changed - the deputy Edinoross Andrey Labygin introduced a draft law in the Legislative Assembly, which supposes the cancellation of direct elections and the division of the mayor's functionality into a politician and a city manager who would assume the economic management of the city. Changes without special battles were promptly adopted by deputies in three readings. But almost immediately, in February, the Legislative Assembly considered the new amendments introduced by the deputy from the LDPR Oleg Kuznetsov. He suggested leaving one mayor in the city, but he should still be elected from among the deputies. The draft was also approved by the Legislative Assembly.

"Administrative models have changed several times - most likely this is caused by a bureaucratic failure," believes Irkutsk political scientist and historian Sergei Schmidt. "Apparently, interim decisions were made at the regional level, and the final decision was made in Moscow, taking into account the whims of the Irkutsk voter. Moscow is accepted to obey. " "It is more convenient when the mayor is alone, because with the" two-headed "scheme, the mayor and city manager rarely get along, and internal conflicts arise, and the residents do not understand whom to ask," explains Alexey Mazur.

Dmitry Berdnikov is a newcomer to the political arena. Before last year he went to the Duma and became its speaker, having collected a little less than a thousand votes from his district, he was known as the owner of the Irkutsk entertainment center "Ladoga" and as the son of Albina Kovaleva, the former city attorney and current adviser to the Prosecutor General of the Russian Federation . Judging by the biographical information on the official Irkutsk portal, Mr. Berdnikov was born in 1966 year, he graduated from the faculty of special construction works of the Irkutsk Polytechnic Institute, where he received the qualification of a civil engineer, and also "mastered the profession of a bricklayer, concrete worker and carpenter". After graduation from the university in 1988, the future mayor was sent to the state trust "Vostoksantehmontazh", where he was promoted to the chief engineer of the installation department. From 1991 to 1993, Mr. Berdnikov was the director of the plant "Baikalinterplast", and in 2001, he received a second degree in law, and in 2006, "together with like-minded people created the social complex of Ladoga." According to the Information Agency of the Irkutsk Region Altair, from 1993 to 2006 the official served in the bodies of the Foreign Intelligence Service of the Russian Federation.



"For all the 62 years that I lived in Irkutsk, I have never heard of Dmitri Berdnikov up until the Duma elections," Mr. Matienko marvels. An alarming moment was the political inexperience of the new mayor and Sergei Shmidt: "You can not manage a city as a business system, and business skills are not always converted into competent political decisions." However, the political scientist sees the pluses in the current situation. "Dmitry Berdnikov is a new man, and residents do not associate with him any hopes, he will not disappoint them, because they are not fascinated," Mr. Schmidt argues in a conversation with EastRussia correspondent. "He can work without pressure commitments, without a lead load of hope, which usually lies with the mayor chosen by direct vote." In addition, according to the expert, the coordinated mayor will benefit the Irkutsk people, because the absence of conflict with the higher authorities can replenish the city budget. "The previous mayor, Viktor Kondrashov (CPRF), was elected residents, greatly overtaking the candidate from the party of power, and despite the fact that after the election he moved to United Russia, he never became his own for the governor, and with him Irkutsk did not participate neither in federal, nor in regional state programs - perhaps now this will change, "the political scientist hopes.

State Duma deputy from the Irkutsk region Sergei Ten believes that Berdnikov will become an effective mayor. "He directly supervised the construction and construction, and, being a deputy, plunged into the problems of all areas of the life of the city: kindergartens, schools, public health," - said Mr. Ten local media. He also hopes that under the new mayor, the efforts of the city and regional authorities will be combined: "The city and the region are consolidated."

Dmitry Berdnikov, in his pre-election speech before the deputies, also emphasized the establishment of closer ties with the regional and federal authorities. He noted that now Irkutsk does not use all the resources for its development. In addition, the mayor promised to focus on the construction of social facilities (schools, clinics, kindergartens), deal with bad roads and establish a situation with urban public transport. The pace of housing construction, according to him, will increase, and Mr. Berdnikov said a decisive "no" to the point development.

According to experts, at least the next year the new mayor will work without public criticism. "Now people are concerned about the general economic problems and the situation in Ukraine," explains Mr. Schmidt. "But if in a year there are no special successes, then he will be remembered also how he was elected." According to the political scientist, attempts to resist the cancellation of direct elections in Irkutsk were, but not large-scale ones - "none of the well-known politicians openly benefited". "There were assumptions that representatives of the Irkutsk construction business who have a conflict with the governor will take part in the campaign against the cancellation of direct elections, but they did not materialize," said Sergei Schmidt. Experts agree that now it is too early to talk about the political style, management principles and prospects of the new mayor - he should wait until he calls his team members, but while Mr. Berdnikov keeps their names secret.

Recall that the regions began to massively cancel direct elections after in May 2014, Russian President Vladimir Putin approved changes to the federal law "On the general principles of the organization of local government in Russia." Among other things, the amendments proposed to the regions within six months themselves to choose one of four models for the formation of local authorities. It was possible to maintain direct elections, but there was also the opportunity to move to a two-tier model, when the population elects district dumas, and those in turn form a city duma that elects the mayor and participates in the appointment of the city manager.

According to the newspaper "RBC", now direct elections remained only in 14 administrative centers of 80, while Moscow, St. Petersburg and Sevastopol do not count, because they are federal cities, and their mayors, respectively, are considered governors; in the Moscow and Leningrad regions there are no capitals. Only last year 22 region declined from direct elections. Political analysts believe that until the total cancellation of direct elections in the whole country, the matter still does not reach. "On the one hand, it is advantageous for the authorities to put their people, but often there is simply no one to appoint, and then it would be more logical to keep direct elections in order not to take responsibility, and it was always possible to say" they themselves chose - they are to blame "," notes Alexei Mazur.

Inauguration of Dmitry Berdnikov was held on Saturday in the Irkutsk Regional Drama Theater. N.P. Okhlopkova. The governor of the region, honorable residents of Irkutsk and veterans congratulated the mayor. The mayor himself promised to "work, work and once again work." The festive atmosphere was spoiled only by the first secretary of the Right-Bank District Committee of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation Andrey Kalinkin - according to the information of the IA "Baikal24", he greeted the guests with the poster "Why Irkutskians have an illegitimate mayor?".

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Тень выборов

Иркутянам выбрали нового мэра

Тень выборов

В пятницу в Иркутске состоялись выборы мэра. Депутатам понадобилось менее 15 минут на то, чтобы единогласно избрать единороса Дмитрия Бердникова - в списке кандидатов он был единственным. Новый градоначальник уже дал первые обещания, а эксперты считают, что он находится в выигрышной позиции: мэр не разочарует иркутян, потому что от него никто ничего не ждет.

Выборы мэра стояли первым вопросом на пятничном, девятом по счету заседании Иркутской Думы. Несмотря на то, что свою кандидатуру мог выставить любой депутат, в том числе самовыдвиженец, окончательный список претендентов на пост градоначальника состоял лишь из одного имени. Накануне голосования 28 депутатов выдвинули на должность мэра спикера парламента Дмитрия Бердникова, а в пятницу все 33 присутствующих на заседании депутата отдали ему свои голоса. Выбирали старомодно - поднятием руки, а не с помощью электронной системы. «Чтобы исключить всяческого рода сбои», - объяснил заместитель председателя Александр Ханхалаев.

О том, что мэрские выборы прошли, большинство иркутян узнали из СМИ. Дело в том, что поправки в устав города, в соответствии с которыми всенародные выборы отменяются, а градоначальник должен быть выбран депутатами и из числа депутатов, были приняты только в прошлый понедельник. Тогда за изменения проголосовал 31 депутат, только коммунист Виталий Матвийчук высказался против, назвав поправки «наступлением на демократию», еще один депутат, от партии «Гражданская платформа», воздержался. «Мэра должен выбирать народ, а отмена прямых выборов топчет последние ростки политической свободы», - считает депутат заксобрания и руководитель фракции «ГП» Владимир Матиенко. По его словам, прошедшие выборы отражают «ненормальную» политическую систему страны и не имеют никакого отношения к интересам иркутян. «На сентябрьских выборах в Думу была минимальная явка в 19%, ведь тогда люди еще не знали, что мэра выберут из числа депутатов, поэтому о волеизъявлении граждан говорить не приходится, - сообщил господин Матиенко корреспонденту EastRussia. - Новый мэр - просто карманный помощник губернатора».

В соответствии с внесенными поправками, отныне «мэра города будут избирать из числа депутатов сроком на пять лет», а «кандидатуры на должность мэра вправе выдвигать депутаты Думы, в том числе путем самовыдвижения». В день голосования кандидатов записывают в список в алфавитном порядке, и первый же претендент, за которого проголосует 2/3 от числа депутатов, становится победителем - дальнейшее голосование по списку не проводится. Если нужного количества голосов не набрал никто, процедура повторяется. «По большому счету, "алфавитная" деталь не имеет значения: депутаты заранее знают, кто будет в окончательном списке, и за кого они будут голосовать», - уточнил в беседе с EastRussia аналитик интернет-портала «Тайга.инфо» Алексей Мазур.

Новая модель выборов в Иркутске вырабатывалась быстро, но не сразу. Еще в мае прошлого года заксобрание Иркутской области утвердило закон, по которому прямые выборы мэров и депутатов в муниципальных образованиях сохраняются. Его внес губернатор региона Сергей Ерощенко. «Губернатором принято решение, что главы муниципальных образований, а также все представительные органы местного самоуправления избираются населением на прямых выборах», - заявили тогда в пресс-службе регионального правительства.

Однако в декабре концепция изменилась - депутат-единорос Андрей Лабыгин внес в заксобрания законопроект, предполагающий отмену прямых выборов и разделение функционала градоначальника на мэра, занимающегося политикой, и сити-менеджера, который взял бы на себя хозяйственное управление городом. Изменения без особых баталий были стремительно приняты депутатами в трех чтениях. Но почти сразу, в феврале, заксобрание рассмотрело новые поправки, внесенные уже депутатом от ЛДПР Олегом Кузнецовым. Он предложил оставить в городе одного мэра, но избирать его все же из числа депутатов. Проект также был одобрен заксобранием.

«Управленческие модели менялись несколько раз - скорее всего это вызвано бюрократическим сбоем, - считает иркутский политолог и историк Сергей Шмидт, - Видимо, промежуточные решения принимались на региональном уровне, а окончательное - в Москве, с учетом капризности иркутского избирателя. Москву принято слушаться». «Удобнее, когда мэр один, потому что при "двуглавой" схеме мэр и сити-менеджер редко уживаются, и возникают внутренние конфликты, да и жители не понимают, с кого спрашивать», - объясняет Алексей Мазур.

Дмитрий Бердников на политической арене новичок. До того, как в прошлом году он прошел в Думу и стал ее спикером, набрав чуть меньше тысячи голосов избирателей от своего округа, его знали как владельца иркутского развлекательного центра «Ладога» и как сына Альбины Ковалевой, бывшего прокурора города и нынешнего советника генпрокурора РФ. Судя по биографической справке на официальном портале Иркутска, господин Бердников родился в 1966 году, окончил факультет специальных строительных работ Иркутского политехнического института, где получил квалификацию инженера строителя, а также «освоил профессии каменщика, бетонщика и плотника». После окончания вуза в 1988 году будущего мэра направили в государственный трест «Востоксантехмонтаж», где он дослужился до главного инженера монтажного управления. С 1991 по 1993 год господин Бердников был директором завода «Байкалинтерпласт», а в 2001 году получил второе образование по специальности «юриспруденция», и в 2006 году «вместе с единомышленниками создал комплекс социальной направленности "Ладога"». По информации ИА Иркутской области «Альтаир», с 1993 по 2006 год чиновник служил в органах Службы внешней разведки (СВР) РФ.

«За все 62 года, которые я прожил в Иркутске, ни разу вплоть до думских выборов не слышал о Дмитрии Бердникове», - удивляется господин Матиенко. Тревожным моментом назвал политическую неопытность нового мэра и Сергей Шмидт: «Управлять городом как бизнес-системой нельзя, а бизнес-навыки не всегда конвертируются в грамотные политические решения». Однако политолог видит в сложившейся ситуации и плюсы. «Дмитрий Бердников - новый человек, и жители не связывают с ним никаких надежд, он не разочарует их, потому что они не очарованы, - рассуждает в разговоре с корреспондентом EastRussia господин Шмидт. - Он может работать без давления обязательств, без свинцового груза надежд, который обычно лежит на мэре, выбранном прямым голосованием». Кроме того, по словам эксперта, согласованный мэр принесет пользу иркутянам, потому что отсутствие конфликта с вышестоящим начальством может пополнить городской бюджет. «Предыдущий мэр Виктор Кондрашов (КПРФ) был избран жителями, сильно обогнав кандидата от партии власти, и несмотря на то, что после избрания перешел в "Единую Россию", он так и не стал своим для губернатора, и при нем Иркутск не принимал участия ни в федеральных, ни в областных госпрограммах - возможно, теперь это изменится», - надеется политолог.

Депутат Госдумы от Иркутской области Сергей Тен считает, что Бердников станет эффективным мэром. «Он и производством непосредственно руководил и стройкой занимался, а, будучи депутатом, окунулся в проблематику всех направлений жизни города: детские сады, школы, здравоохранение», - рассказал господин Тен местным СМИ. Он также надеется, что при новом мэре произойдет объединение усилий городской и областной властей: «Город с областью консолидируются».

На налаживании более тесных связей с областными и федеральными властями сделал акцент и сам Дмитрий Бердников в своей предвыборной речи перед депутатами. Он отметил, что сейчас Иркутск использует не все ресурсы для своего развития. Кроме того, мэр пообещал сделать упор на строительстве социальных объектов (школы, поликлиники, детсады), разобраться с плохими дорогами и наладить ситуацию с городским общественным транспортом. Темпы жилищного строительства, по его словам, увеличатся, а точечной застройке господин Бердников сказал решительное «нет».

По мнению экспертов, как минимум ближайший год новый мэр проработает без общественной критики. «Сейчас люди озабочены общими экономическими проблемами и ситуацией на Украине, - поясняет господин Шмидт, - Но если через год особенных успехов не будет, то ему припомнят и то, как он избирался». По словам политолога, попытки противодействовать отмене прямых выборов в Иркутске были, но не масштабные – «никто из известных политиков открыто не полез». «Были предположения, что участие в кампании против отмены прямых выборов примут представители иркутского строительного бизнеса, у которых конфликт с губернатором, но они не оправдались», - уточнил Сергей Шмидт. Эксперты сходятся на том, что сейчас говорить о политическом стиле, принципах управления и перспективах нового градоначальника рано - надо дождаться, пока он назовет членов своей команды, однако пока господин Бердников держит их имена в секрете.

Напомним, что регионы стали массово отменять прямые выборы после того, как в мае 2014 года президент РФ Владимир Путин утвердил изменения в федеральный закон «Об общих принципах организации местного самоуправления в РФ». В числе прочего, поправки предлагали регионам в течение полугода самим выбрать одну из четырех моделей формирования органов местной власти. Можно было сохранить прямые выборы, но была и возможность перейти на двухуровневую модель, когда население избирает районные думы, а те, в свою очередь, формируют городскую думу, которая избирает мэра и участвует в назначении сити-менеджера.

По данным газеты «РБК», сейчас прямые выборы остались лишь в 14 административных центрах из 80, при этом Москва, Санкт-Петербург и Севастополь не в счет, потому что являются городами федерального назначения, а их мэры, соответственно, считаются губернаторами; в Московской и Ленинградской областях столиц нет. Лишь за прошлый год от прямых выборов отказались 22 региона. Политологи считают, что до тотальной отмены прямых выборов во всей стране дело все же не дойдет. «С одной стороны, власти выгодно ставить своих людей, но часто назначать просто некого, и тогда логичнее сохранить прямые выборы, чтобы не брать на себя ответственность, и можно было всегда сказать "сами выбрали - сами виноваты"», - отмечает Алексей Мазур.

Инаугурация Дмитрия Бердникова прошла в субботу в Иркутском областном драматическом театре им. Н.П. Охлопкова. Поздравили градоначальника губернатор области, почетные жители Иркутска и ветераны. Сам мэр пообещал «работать, работать и еще раз работать». Праздничную атмосферу подпортил лишь первый секретарь Правобережного райкома КПРФ Андрей Калинкин - по сообщению ИА «Байкал24», он встречал гостей торжества с плакатом «Зачем иркутянам нелегитимный мэр?».