Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Target - 2%

The Far East will work for export

Target - 2%

The Governmental Commission for the Development of the Far East has defined the export orientation as the most effective way of developing the region. This is the result of the next meeting that took place on October 11 in Komsomolsk-on-Amur, chaired by Dmitry Medvedev.

As the chairman of the government noted, the measures applied earlier to develop the region did not bring economic benefits. He also listed three possible scenarios: either to substitute imports and focus on the domestic regional market, or focus on the all-Russian market, or develop export potential. However, the first scenario is not very promising because the DFO market is limited and amounts to only 5% of the country's GDP. The second scenario is difficult because of the poor transport accessibility of the region to large Russian consumption centers.

The development strategy of the Far East should be export-oriented - such an economic model for the region is considered optimal by the Russian government. According to the Ministry for the Development of the Far East, the orientation of the Far Eastern industry to export the most economically feasible, taking into account the specifics of this region.

The domestic market of the Far East today is less than 5% of the Russian GDP, and working on it is not very profitable. But the Asia-Pacific countries market is currently showing strong growth, access to this site can give regional enterprises a substantial profit. As for the market of the European part of the country, any possible benefit is negated by the inevitable transport costs due to the geographical remoteness of the Far East regions. The distance from the Far Eastern cities to the capitals of the Asian states is much less than to Moscow.

What can the Russian Far East count on the market of APR countries? The total volume of imports of its member states is now more than 6 trillion dollars a year and has a tendency to increase. Therefore, investors who decided to deploy production in the Far East, may be interested in investing in Russian enterprises that will be export-oriented. This will make it possible to use the advantageous geographical position of the Far Eastern regions of the Russian Federation and ensure their stable economic growth.

However, in order for the Russian Far Eastern exports to reach the stated ambitious indicators - 2% of the total import volume of the APR, significant efforts are needed. To increase the competitiveness of industry and entrepreneurship in the Far East, it is required to introduce not only tax and customs privileges, but also to establish various kinds of preferences and favorable conditions in the field of attracting personnel, leasing land, etc. The development of high-quality modern infrastructure is of great importance. greatly hinders the development of the Far Eastern business, and keeps investors from investing in the regional economy.

It is necessary to solve the problem of personnel hunger, attract qualified workers and, if not suspend, at least to reduce the migration outflow from the Far Eastern regions. Now many residents, especially young people, prefer to go to the European part of the country or abroad - just to the countries of the Asia-Pacific region. However, if people in their native city or nearby will see prospects for work and professional self-realization, to start their own business, it is possible that they will refrain from moving. True, you can not convince such residents of the Far East of promises of a "bright future": they want changes for the better here and now.

The key issue of the development strategy is what to export even further from the Far East? Now the region mainly exports resources - natural, raw, energy. It is necessary to create a favorable investment climate, create industrial-industrial zones and technoparks in the Far East. On the way to this promising, but not too easily attainable goal, it will be necessary to study the experience of the neighbors in the Asia-Pacific region (for example, China, Japan, South Korea, Southeast Asian countries), the United States and Brazil.

A number of experts are concerned that the development model of the economy, which is almost entirely focused on Asia, will further alienate the Far East from the rest of Russia. But otherwise, economic dependence and subsidies are inevitable, which certainly will not benefit the region. To put the Far East in even greater dependence on the center is clearly not to be. The main task is to make it a rich, actively developing region, and not a distant periphery. The only thing that needs to be recognized is that the orientation towards the export model can serve as a tactic rather than a long-term strategy.

Naturally, one should not completely abandon work in the domestic market. Entry into the Asian market will take time, and this period must be used to make Far Eastern products competitive at first “at home”, and then beyond.

October 31: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Цель – 2%

Дальний Восток будет работать на экспорт

Цель – 2%

Правительственная комиссия по развитию Дальнего Востока определила ориентацию на экспорт как наиболее эффективный путь развития региона. Таков результат очередного совещания, прошедшего 24 октября в Комсомольске-на-Амуре под председательством Дмитрия Медведева.

Как отметил председатель правительства, применявшиеся ранее меры по развитию региона не принесли экономического эффекта. Он же перечислил три возможных сценария: либо замещать импорт и делать акцент на внутренний региональный рынок, либо ориентироваться на общероссийский рынок, либо развивать экспортный потенциал. При этом первый сценарий малоперспективен из-за того, что рынок ДФО ограничен и составляет всего 5% от ВВП страны. Второй сценарий затруднителен из-за плохой транспортной доступности региона по отношению к крупным российским центрам потребления.

Стратегия развития Дальнего Востока должна быть ориентированной на экспорт – такую экономическую модель для региона считает оптимальной правительство РФ. Как полагают в Министерстве по развитию Дальнего Востока, ориентация дальневосточной промышленности на экспорт наиболее экономически оправданна с учетом специфики этого региона.

Внутренний рынок самого Дальнего Востока на сегодня составляет менее 5% общероссийского ВВП, работать на него не слишком выгодно. А вот рынок стран АТР в настоящее время демонстрирует активный рост, выход на эту площадку может дать предприятиям региона существенную прибыль. Что же касается рынка европейской части страны, то любую возможную выгоду сводят на нет неизбежные транспортные издержки в силу географической отдаленности регионов ДВ. Расстояние от дальневосточных городов до столиц азиатских государств гораздо меньше, чем до Москвы.

На что может рассчитывать российский Дальний Восток на рынке стран АТР? Совокупный объем импорта входящих в него государств составляет сегодня более 6 трлн долларов в год и имеет тенденцию к росту. Поэтому инвесторы, решившие размещать производство на Дальнем Востоке, могут быть заинтересованы в капиталовложениях в российские предприятия, которые будут ориентированы на экспорт. Это позволит использовать выгодное географическое положение дальневосточных регионов РФ и обеспечит им стабильный экономический рост.

Правда, чтобы российский дальневосточный экспорт достиг заявленных амбициозных показателей – 2% от общего объёма импорта АТР, необходимы значительные усилия. Для повышения конкурентоспособности промышленности и предпринимательства на Дальнем Востоке, требуется ввести не только налоговые и таможенные льготы, но и установить разного рода преференции и выгодные условия в сфере привлечения кадров, аренды земли и др. Большое значение имеет и развитие качественной современной инфраструктуры, нехватка которой пока сильно тормозит развитие дальневосточного бизнеса, а инвесторов удерживает от капиталовложений в экономику региона.

Необходимо решить и проблему кадрового голода, привлечь квалифицированных работников и если не приостановить, то хотя бы снизить миграционный отток из дальневосточных регионов. Сейчас многие жители, особенно молодёжь, предпочитают уезжать в европейскую часть страны либо за границу – как раз в страны Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона. Однако если в родном городе или поблизости от него люди будут видеть перспективы для работы и профессиональной самореализации, для открытия собственного бизнеса, вполне возможно, что от переезда они воздержатся. Правда, обещаниями «светлого будущего» таких жителей Дальнего Востока не убедишь: они хотят перемен к лучшему здесь и сейчас.

Ключевой вопрос стратегии развития – что именно экспортировать с Дальнего Востока еще дальше? Сейчас на экспорт регион поставляет в основном ресурсы - природные, сырьевые, энергетические. Необходимо формирование благоприятного инвестиционного климата, создание на территории Дальнего Востока промышленно-производственных зон и технопарков. На пути к этой перспективной, но пока не слишком легко достижимой цели потребуется изучить опыт соседей по АТР (например, Китая, Японии, Южной Кореи, стран Юго-Восточной Азии), США и Бразилии.

Ряд экспертов выражает опасение, что модель развития экономики, почти полностью ориентированная на Азию, еще больше отдалит Дальний Восток от остальной части России. Но в противном случае неизбежна экономическая зависимость и дотационность, что уж точно не пойдет региону во благо. Ставить Дальний Восток в еще большую зависимость от центра явно не следует. Главная задача – сделать его богатым, активно развивающимся регионом, а не отдалённой периферией. Единственное, что необходимо признать, – ориентация на экспортную модель может служить скорее тактикой, чем долгосрочной стратегией. 

Полностью отказываться от работы на внутреннем рынке, естественно, не следует. Выход на азиатский рынок потребует времени, и этот период надо использовать, чтобы сделать дальневосточную продукцию конкурентоспособной сначала «дома», а затем уже и за его пределами.