Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Tourist caress of Alaska

What is the most northern state of the United States can offer to a visitor from Russia

Tourist caress of Alaska
Photo: shutterstock
Alaska is becoming more popular with tourists expecting an unusual holiday and ready to invest heavily in it. Traditionally, the state attracted visitors with sea cruises and a large and spectacular Alaska Day. But in the region they do not stop there and are looking for new incentives for newcomers - from "drugs" to demonstrating Indian culture. What has the Russian roots of North America can be of interest to Russian tourists, found out EastRussia.

Alaska authorities hope to break the record for the number of attracted tourists this season - to receive more than 2 million guests against 1,7 million people a year earlier. The main stake is still on the growing cruise tourism: it was on board the ships at the beginning of October that more than a million people visited the state, and the number of ships arriving in Alaska is growing. Against the background of unstable oil prices, tourism development is one of the undisputed drivers for the Alaskan economy, so the authorities are ready to develop and use the tourist advantages of the territory to the maximum. True, the population, as it happens, treats tourists in different ways. In the Aleutian Islands, where tourist services are often a family business, visitors are generously treated to donuts. And in the remote village of Inupiac Point Lay on the northwest coast, they are so worried about the influx of people who want to admire the huge walrus rookery that they launched an active public anti-tourist activity.

Among the large-scale events of the state for tourists in the first place is the National Day of Alaska (Alaska Day), held annually on October 18 in honor of the transfer of the Russian colonies in North America to the sovereignty of the United States. On this day, as it should be on public holidays, government and judicial institutions, schools, libraries and many enterprises are closed. The colorful festival takes place over three days in the former state capital, Sitka.

The main event is a staged ceremony in 1867, which involves lowering the Russian flag from the top of Castle Hill and raising the US flag, accompanied by music. The mayor of the city also makes a speech at the festival, a parade and ball in historical costumes, dance performances and concerts are held, a military ensemble plays. In addition, the festival organizes races and demonstrations of military air and sea forces. Together with the military on the day of the holiday, you can take part in a memorial service at the Sitka national cemetery.

This year, the celebration of Alaska Day turned out to be even more colorful than in previous ones. In addition to the traditional parade, a real beer feast was held within the framework of the festival - local breweries held a tasting of their products on Sitka Totem Square with live music. Cash prizes were awarded to the winners of various competitions, including the competition for the amount of food eaten, the competition for the best historical costume and races in bags. And on the eve of the festival, festivities and performances by art groups took place throughout the city and its environs, most of which were of Russian flavor. For example, the guests of the holiday and local residents were entertained by women in Russian folk costumes and kokoshniks.

In addition, guests of Alaska are invited not only to revel and have fun, but also to enjoy the beautiful. Fairbanks regularly hosts a real "ice show" - an exhibition of creations created on the spot by ice carvers. The local ice is famous for its amazing purity - popularly called the "Arctic diamond". The show turns out to be very spectacular: in the dark, unusual ice scenes and mythical figures created by carvers shimmer and sparkle with multi-colored lights under the night sky of Alaska.

At the same time, Alaska is gradually moving away from the bet on the wealthy tourist and is looking for new methods of attracting guests. For example, the inclusion of tribal and indigenous peoples of Alaska in the state strategy for the development of tourist facilities is being discussed. Foreign tourists are happy to come there even now, for example, in 2014, 1,65 million people visited the places of residence of Alaska Indians - about 5% of all foreign visitors to the United States. The Senate has already approved a bill that will update the Department of Commerce and the Department of the Interior plans and strategies for tourism development by including the territories of Native residents of Alaska and Hawaii. He was supported by American Indians from the Alaska Tourism Association. 

Another innovation, which is still only looking for a place in Alaska, is drug tourism. Now in the US, the legalization of the sale of marijuana is being discussed, and in this regard, the possibility of tourists visiting shops where "weed" is sold and getting acquainted with the process of its cultivation and production. The ban on transportation will remain in place. In some other states of America, soft drugs are not seen as a potential tourist attraction. In the state of Oregon, for example, it is believed that wine tasting is a much greater reason for a tourist to visit a particular territory. Therefore, how popular drug tourism may be in Alaska is still in question.

Member of the Russian Geographical Society Sergey Livshits explains to EastRussia that tourism in the United States is still mainly the rest of the Americans themselves, who make up 80-90% of tourists, and Alaska is no exception. Therefore, local administrations, organizing holidays, do not focus on foreign tourists. "In general, such holidays are staged in the North of the States on a grand scale - they are beautiful and well-organized. And this is not surprising: Americans, attracted by the stunning nature of the Arctic Ocean coast, at the same time are very fond of spectacular events," the expert notes. 

At the same time, very little remains of the Russian heritage in Alaska, which makes this state not very attractive for tourists from Russia, Sergey Livshits admits. "The Russian heritage in Alaska has become so scanty that it can only be seen if one has set such a goal. There is no Russian left in both local life and architecture. We are talking only about the presence in Alaska to some extent of Orthodoxy and a fairly large local the Old Believer community, "says Sergei Livshits. In his opinion, the perception of Russian heritage not only in Alaska, but in America as a whole is complicated by the fact that it is actually ignored by local travel agencies. As an example of this, he cites a fun fact: during a bus tour of San Francisco, the local huge Orthodox church, which houses such a large Orthodox shrine as the relics of St. John of Shanghai and San Francisco, is called a "synagogue" by the guide.

At the same time, the orientation of city administrations in the United States towards a massive influx of visitors on national holidays makes Alaska attractive for Russian tourists these days, says Leonid Smirnyagin, professor at the Department of Socio-Economic Geography of Foreign Countries at the Geography Faculty of Moscow State University. "A striking example is the large-scale festival held annually in Fort Ross, as well as the Alaska Day festival dedicated to the Russian past of this settlement. The whole city is involved in its preparation. Directly during the festival, many of its participants are walking around in Russian clothes, and shots are heard every now and then. from Russian cannons. ”A huge number of people come to it, mainly - immigrants from the USSR”, - notes Leonid Smirnyagin.
January 20: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Туристическая ласка Аляски

Что приезжему из России может предложить самый северный штат США

Туристическая ласка Аляски
Фото: shutterstock
Аляска все популярнее у туристов, рассчитывающих на необычный отдых и готовых на него серьезно потратиться. Традиционно штат привлекал гостей морскими круизами и масштабным и зрелищным Днем Аляски. Но в регионе не останавливаются на достигнутом и ищут новые стимулы для приезжих — от "наркотуров" до демонстрации индейской культуры. Чем имеющий русские корни север Америки может быть интересен российским туристам, выясняла EastRussia.

Власти Аляски в текущем сезоне надеются побить рекорд по количеству привлеченных туристов — принять более 2 млн гостей против 1,7 млн человек годом ранее. Основная ставка по-прежнему на растущий круизный туризм: именно на борту лайнеров на начало октября штат посетили более миллиона человек, и число судов, прибывающих на Аляску, растет. На фоне нестабильных цен на нефть развитие туризма — один из безусловных драйверов для экономики Аляски, поэтому власти готовы развивать и использовать туристические преимущества территории по максимуму. Правда, население, как это и бывает, относится к туристам по-разному. На Алеутских островах, где обслуживание туристов — зачастую семейный бизнес, приезжих щедро потчуют пончиками. А в отдаленной деревушке Инупиак Пойнт Лей на северо-западном побережье настолько обеспокоены наплывом желающих полюбоваться на огромное лежбище моржей, что развернули активную общественную антитуристическую деятельность.

Из масштабных событий штата для туристов на первом месте — национальный День Аляски (Alaska Day), ежегодно проводящийся 18 октября в честь передачи русских колоний в Северной Америке под суверенитет Соединенных Штатов. В этот день, как и положено в дни государственных праздников, закрываются государственные и судебные учреждения, школы, библиотеки и многие предприятия. Красочный фестиваль проходит в течение трех дней в бывшей столице штата — городе Ситка.

Главное мероприятие — инсценировка церемонии 1867 года, предполагающая опускание с вершины Замковой горы российского флага и поднятие флага США в сопровождении музыки. На фестивале также выступает с речью мэр города, проходят парад и бал в исторических костюмах, танцевальные спектакли и концерты, играет военный ансамбль. Кроме того, в рамках фестиваля организуются гонки и демонстрация военных воздушно-морских сил. Вместе с военными в день праздника можно принять участие в панихиде на национальном кладбище Ситки.

В этом году празднование Дня Аляски получилось еще красочнее, чем в предыдущие. Помимо традиционного парада в рамках фестиваля прошло настоящее пивное пиршество — местные пивоварни провели на Тотемной площади Ситки дегустацию своей продукции под живую музыку. Победителям различных конкурсов, в том числе соревнования по количеству съеденного, конкурса на лучший исторический костюм и гонки в мешках, предоставлялись денежные призы. А в преддверии фестиваля по всему городу и его окрестностям проходили гуляния и представления творческих коллективов, большинство из которых носило русский колорит. К примеру, гостей праздника и местных жителей развлекали женщины в русских народных костюмах и кокошниках.

Кроме того, гостям Аляски предлагается не только кутить и веселиться, но и наслаждаться прекрасным. В Фэрбанксе регулярно проводится настоящее "ледяное шоу" — выставка создаваемых прямо на месте резчиками по льду творений. Местный лед славится своей изумительной чистотой — в народе его называют "арктический алмаз". Шоу получается очень зрелищным: в темное время суток необычные ледяные сюжеты и мифические фигуры, создаваемые резчиками, переливаются и сверкают разноцветными огнями под ночным небом Аляски.

При этом Аляска постепенно отходит от ставки на обеспеченного туриста и ищет новые методы привлечения гостей. Например, обсуждается включение в государственную стратегию развития туристических объектов территорий проживания племен и коренных народов Аляски. Иностранные туристы с удовольствием приезжают туда и сейчас, так, в 2014 году места проживания индейцев Аляски посетили 1,65 млн человек — около 5% от числа всех иностранных гостей Соединенным Штатов. Сенат уже одобрил законопроект, предусматривающий обновление Министерством торговли и Министерством внутренних дел планов и стратегий по развитию туризма через включение в них территорий проживания коренных жителей Аляски и Гавайских островов. Его поддержали американские индейцы из Ассоциации туризма на Аляске. 

Другое нововведение, которому пока только ищут место на Аляске — это наркотуризм. Сейчас в США обсуждается легализация продажи марихуаны, и в связи с этим — возможность посещения туристами магазинов, где продается "травка", и ознакомления с процессом ее выращивания и производства. Запрет на транспортировку при этом сохранится. В некоторых других штатах Америки легкие наркотики не рассматривают как потенциальное направление привлечения туристов. В штате Орегон, к примеру, считают, что гораздо большим резоном для посещения той или иной территории для туриста явлется дегустация вин. Поэтому то, насколько популярен может оказаться на Аляске наркотуризм, еще под вопросом.

Член Российского Географического Общества Сергей Лившиц объясняет EastRussia, что туризм в США — это все-таки преимущественно отдых самих американцев, составляющих 80-90% туристов, и Аляска здесь не исключение. Поэтому и местные администрации, организуя праздники, не ориентируются на иностранных туристов. "В целом такого рода праздники поставлены на Севере Штатов на широкую ногу — они красивы и качественно организованы. И это неудивительно: американцы, привлекаемые потрясающей природой побережья Северного Ледовитого Океана, в то же время очень любят зрелищные мероприятия",— отмечает эксперт. 

При этом из русского наследия на Аляске осталось совсем немного, что делает этот штат не очень привлекательным для туристов из России, признает Сергей Лившиц. "Русское наследие на Аляске стало настолько мизерным, что его можно увидеть только в том случае, если задаться такой целью. И в местном быту, и в архитектуре русского не осталось. Речь разве что о присутствующем на Аляске в некоторой степени православии и достаточно большой местной старообрядческой общине",— говорит Сергей Лившиц. По его мнению, восприятие русского наследия не только на Аляске, но и в целом в Америке осложнено тем, что оно фактически игнорируется местными турфирмами. Как пример этого он приводит забавный факт: во время автобусной экскурсии по Сан-Франциско местный огромный православный храм, в котором находится такая большая православная святыня, как мощи святого Иоанна Шанхайского и Сан-Францисского, гид называет "синагогой".

Вместе с тем, ориентация городских администраций в США на массовый приток приезжих на национальные праздники делает Аляску привлекательной для российских туристов именно в эти дни, считает профессор кафедры социально-экономической географии зарубежных стран Географического факультета МГУ Леонид Смирнягин. "Яркий пример — ежегодно проводимый в Форт-Россе масштабный фестиваль, как и фестиваль Дня Аляски, посвященный русскому прошлому этого населенного пункта. В его подготовке участвует весь город. Непосредственно во время фестиваля множество его участников расхаживает в русских одеждах, то и дело разносятся выстрелы из русских пушек. На него съезжается огромное количество людей, главным образом — выходцы из СССР»,— отмечает Леонид Смирнягин.