Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

"We have no fear that with the return of Alaska to the Northern Forum, American influence will increase"

"We have no fear that with the return of Alaska to the Northern Forum, American influence will increase"

Vladimir Vasiliev, Minister for Federal Relations and External Relations of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia):

- By 2011, there was a crisis in the work of the Northern Forum, connected in many respects with changes in the global space (for example, the strengthening of Russia's position in the international arena). Only 9 regions of the world remained in the organization, such strong regions as the state of Alaska (USA), Heilongjiang province (China), Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug (Russia) and others (Northern Forum is an international non-governmental organization of the northern regions, formed on the initiative of regional governments of Hokkaido (Japan), Alaska (USA), Magadan and Kamchatka regions (USSR) in 1991. In the early 2000s, it included 25 regions from 11 countries. Ed.).

When we undertook the restoration of the Northern Forum as an international organization that would be a full-fledged partner of the Arctic CouncilWe understood that there are a number of key regionswhose membership will attract new members and set everyone up for constructive dialogue and a new level of cooperation. Whether we like it or not, UnitedAmerica plays one of the leading roles in the whole world, and if we are talking about the Arctic, then there is no way to do without the state of Alaska.

Alaska for many years lediroshaft in the Northern Forum, although in the construction ofThe organization’s policy with Russia has always been equal. We have no fear that with the return of Alaska to the Northern Forum, American influence will increase. Moreover, I am confident that with the entry of this state into the Northern Forum, the organization will find a "second wind". GuAlaska Bernator Bill Walker is a high-level and broad-based politician Views that are sufficiento loyal to Russia.

At the end of November last year, we invited the Director of the Institute of the North from the USA, Nils Andreassen, and the head of the province of Lapland, Mika Riipi to our conference. "The Arctic: Prospects for Sustainable Development". Interest in the topic of one of the Arctic leaders of Northern Europe and AlaskaInns representative gave us a good opportunity while sitting face to face, discuss a number of important momentsTents.

According to the rules of the Arctic Council, In April this year, its chairman will be the United States of America. For several years, the Northern Forum raised questionsO strengthening cooperation with the Arctic Council. We advised how to strengthen this cooperation. It turned out that it is quite feasible if during the US chairmanship of the Arctic Council in the Northern Forum the chairman is Alaska. It turns out that we transfer leadership in the Arctic organizations of different levels of the United States for two years. This idea was liked by Miku Riipa, because in this way in two years the chairman of the Northern Forum will be LaplandiI. Nils Andreassen immediately saidthat the thought is very correct. So the return of Alaska is still an idea, and life will show how feasible it is. Around Russia there is now a sufficiento difficult situationand we must evaluate the consequences of our actions.

September 21: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«У нас нет боязни, что с возвращением Аляски в Северный форум усилится американское влияние»

«У нас нет боязни, что с возвращением Аляски в Северный форум усилится американское влияние»

Владимир Васильев, министр по федеративным отношениям и внешним связям республики Саха (Якутия):

- К 2011 году в работе Северного форума случился кризис, связанный во многом с изменениями в глобальном пространстве (например, укреплением позиций России на международной арене). В организации остались лишь 9 регионов мира, ее покинули такие сильные регионы, как штат Аляска (США), провинция Хейлунцзян (Китай), Ямало-Ненецкий автономный округ (Россия) и другие (Северный форум – международная неправительственная организация северных регионов, образованная по инициативе региональных правительств провинции Хоккайдо (Япония), штата Аляска (США), Магаданской и Камчатской областей (СССР) в 1991 году. В начале 2000-х гг. в нее входило 25 регионов из 11 стран мира. – прим.ред.).

Когда мы взялись за восстановление Северного форума как международной организации, которая была бы полноценным партнером Арктического совета, мы понимали, что есть ряд ключевых регионов, членство которых будет привлекать новых участников и настраивать всех на конструктивный диалог и новый уровень сотрудничества. Хотим мы того или нет, Соединенные Штаты Америки играют одну из ведущих ролей во всем мире, а если речь идет об Арктике, то тут без штата Аляски никак не обойтись.

Аляска долгие годы лидировала в Северном форуме, хотя в построении общей политики организации с Россией всегда была на равных. У нас нет боязни, что с возвращением Аляски в Северный форум в нем усилится американское влияние. Более того, я уверен, что с вступлением этого штата в Северный форум организация обретет «второе дыхание». Губернатор Аляски Билл Уокер – политик высокого уровня и широких взглядов, который достаточно лояльно относится к России.

В конце ноября прошлого года мы пригласили директора Института Севера из США Нильса Андреассена и главу провинции Лапландия Мику Риипи на нашу конференцию «Арктика: перспективы устойчивого развития». Интерес к теме одного из арктических лидеров Северной Европы и аляскинского представителя дали нам хорошую возможность, сидя лицом к лицу, обсудить ряд важных моментов.

Согласно правилам Арктического совета, в апреле этого года его председателем станут Соединенные Штаты Америки. В течение нескольких лет в рамках Северного форума поднимался вопрос укрепления сотрудничества с Арктическим советом. Мы посоветовались, как можно усилить это сотрудничество. Оказалось, оно вполне выполнимо, если во время председательства США в Арктическом совете в Северном форуме председателем сделать Аляску. Получается, мы передаем лидерство в арктических организациях разного уровня США на два года. Эта идея понравилась Мику Риипе, потому что таким образом через два года председателем Северного форума станет Лапландия. Нильс Андреассен сразу сказал, что мысль очень правильная. Так что возвращение Аляски – пока идея, и жизнь покажет, насколько она реализуема. Вокруг России сейчас сложилась достаточно сложная ситуация, и мы должны оценивать последствия наших действий.