Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Threat to growth

Speed ​​of Indonesia's economic growth could not be synchronized with the pace of construction of infrastructure, hence - constant traffic jams

Threat to growth

A large number of companies operating in the country are forced to struggle against the obstacles created by the lack of a well-developed and efficient industrial infrastructure.

Stuck in traffic

The work at the Toyota plant in Jakarta is constantly hampered by traffic difficulties. According to one of the company's managers, the road to the port (about 50 kilometers) takes two and a half hours. He also believes that in the next five years this time may increase to nine hours and there is a possibility that infrastructure problems could lead to serious production downturns.

Sales of new cars in Indonesia over the past decade have tripled. The number of cars in the country's capital is growing at 10% each year. However, the total throughput of roads has remained virtually unchanged, according to officials of the Ministry of Transport. The average speed of transport in Jakarta is 10 km / h due to constant difficulties on the roads.

Indonesia ranked 53rd in a World Bank study on transport infrastructure efficiency. For comparison, Thailand was ranked 35th and Malaysia 25th. Under the leadership of outgoing President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, Indonesia's economy has shown steady growth over the past decade. During this period, the country's GDP grew by 80 percent. However, the infrastructure needed for the economy to function, especially road networks, has not been improved to keep pace with the speed of development.

President-elect Yoko Vidodo assured that the administrative efforts and budget funds for the construction of roads, airports and ports will be increased. Whether Indonesia is able to create the necessary infrastructure quickly enough depends on the degree of interest of the new presidential administration in political and budgetary reforms.

For example, it is necessary to substantially cut state subsidies in a large number of industries, in particular, in the fuel sector. These subsidies at the moment are up to 20 percent of government spending. Significant damage to public infrastructure projects was also caused by corruption, related to various permits and licensing.

Vidodo will have to demonstrate his leadership in order to prevent the blocking of the reforms necessary for continued economic growth from the group of entrepreneurs. The main concern about the actions of the new administration in the framework of economic policy is the apparent inclination of the future president to protectionism, which will keep the economy from further opening to foreign investment and a competitive market.

Advantage for their

During the presidential debate held in mid-June in Jakarta, Vidodo voiced protectionist views during the discussion of the economic union of the member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations planned for the end of the 2015 year. He noted that Indonesia undoubtedly needs to keep certain barriers to foreign business, which plans to enter the market, and promised to create advantages for domestic companies in the field of government approvals and permits for their business.

A new administration is expected to maintain a controversial ban on the export of unprocessed ore, which was introduced by Widodo's predecessor. The protectionist rhetoric of the new president revives concerns about the international competitiveness of Indonesian industry. Data that confirms these concerns is sufficient.

The ministry responsible for the country's industry recently issued a report on exports from Indonesia, which included 4000 product categories. According to the report, 69 percent of Indonesian products are not competitive in the Asian market. A major ministry official said that the economic efficiency of many industries in Indonesian industry is low due to severe dependence on imported materials and fuel.

Mineral and oil resources at the moment are half the cost of total exports. This percentage has been increasing steadily since 2002, when it was 30%. The Indonesian economy became increasingly dependent on natural resources, while the manufacturing industry, which was internationally competitive, simply did not appear.

How?

In Indonesia, since the 2012 year, there is a shortage of both tax and current accounts. If the country continues to stimulate domestic demand with subsidies and does not increase exports, the economy will remain dependent on foreign capital - primarily in the area of ​​its growth. The situation will inevitably create a risk that the country's currency will become a target for Forex speculators.

About half of the 250 million population of Indonesia, the largest among the ASEAN countries, are in the "up to 30" age category. This means that the country will still be able to benefit from the demographic situation, having a large percentage of people who are aged, suitable for work until about 2030 year. For the first time, Indonesia ranked first in the list of countries most attractive for investment, which was the Japanese Bank for International Cooperation in 2013.

However, a country may lose the chance that the demographic “window” gives it if it does not take effective steps to cope with the many structural and political challenges that exist in its economy. Obviously, the Indonesian government must do to spur economic growth. It is necessary to develop industrial infrastructure, while at the same time taking measures to relax the prohibitions, thereby attracting foreign capital.

The question is whether the Vidodo administration has the political will necessary to go through the painful reforms that are necessary to achieve political and economic goals.

ps At the moment, Widodo’s victory in the elections has been protested in court, but sources say that the chance of satisfying the appeal is small - EastRussia.ru 

February 27: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Угроза для роста

Скорость экономического роста Индонезии не удалось синхронизировать с темпами возведения инфраструктуры, отсюда - постоянные пробки на дорогах

Угроза для роста

Большое количество компаний, работающих в стране, вынуждены бороться с препятствиями, которые создает отсутствие хорошо развитой и эффективной промышленной инфраструктуры.

Застрявшие в пробке

Работы на заводе «Тойота» в Джакарте постоянно осложняются затруднениями с движением. По данным одного из руководителей предприятия, дорога до порта (около 50 километров) занимает два с половиной часа. Также он считает, что в ближайшие пять лет это время может увеличиться до девяти часов и существует возможность, что проблемы с инфраструктурой могут привести к серьезным спадам производства.

Продажи новых машин в Индонезии за последнее десятилетие утроились. Количество машин в столице страны растет на 10% каждый год. Однако общая пропускная способность дорог осталась практически неизменной, по словам чиновников министерства транспорта. Средняя скорость передвижения транспорта в Джакарте составляет 10 км/ч в связи с постоянными затруднениями на дорогах.

В исследовании, проведенном Всемирным Банком на тему эффективности транспортной инфраструктуры, Индонезия заняла 53-е место. Для сравнения – Таиланд занял 35-е, а Малайзия – 25-е место. Под руководством покидающего свой пост президента Сусило Бамбанга Юдойоно экономика Индонезии показывала постоянный рост за последнее десятилетие. ВВП страны за этот период вырос на 80 процентов. Однако инфраструктура, необходимая для функционирования экономики, в особенности дорожные сети, не была улучшена, чтобы соответствовать скорости развития.

Избранный президент – Йоко Видодо – заверил, что административные усилия и бюджетные средства на постройку дорог, аэропортов и портов будут увеличены. Сумеет ли Индонезия создать необходимую инфраструктуру достаточно быстро, зависит от степени заинтересованности новой президентской администрации в политических и бюджетных реформах.

Например, необходимо существенно урезать государственные субсидии в большом количестве отраслей, в частности в топливной. Эти субсидии на данный момент составляют до 20 процентов расходов правительства. Существенный урон государственным инфраструктурным проектам также нанесла коррупция, связанная с различными разрешениями и лицензированием.

Видодо придется продемонстрировать свои лидерские качества с целью предотвратить блокирование реформ, необходимых для продолжения экономического роста, со стороны групп предпринимателей. Главным опасением по поводу действий новой администрации в рамках экономической политики является очевидная склонность будущего президента к протекционизму, что удержит экономику от дальнейшего открытия иностранным инвестициям и конкурентному рынку.

Преимущество для своих

Во время президентских дебатов, проведенных в середине июня в Джакарте, Видодо озвучил протекционистские взгляды в ходе обсуждения запланированного на конец 2015 года экономического объединения стран-членов «Ассоциации стран Юго-Восточной Азии». Он отметил, что Индонезии, без сомнения, необходимо сохранить определенные барьеры для иностранного бизнеса, который планирует войти на рынок, и пообещал создать преимущества для отечественных компаний в области государственных утверждений и разрешений для их бизнеса.

От новой администрации ожидают сохранения спорного запрета на экспорт необработанной руды, который был введен предшественником Видодо. Протекционистская риторика нового президента возрождает опасения по поводу международной конкурентоспособности индонезийской промышленности. Данных, которые подтверждают эти опасения, достаточно.

Министерство, ответственное за промышленность страны, недавно выпустило отчет, касающийся экспорта из Индонезии, в который был включено 4000 категорий продуктов. По данным отчета, 69 процентов индонезийской продукции неконкурентоспособны на азиатском рынке. Крупный чиновник министерства заявил, что экономическая эффективность многих отраслей индонезийской промышленности является низкой из-за серьезной зависимости от импортируемых материалов и топлива.

Минеральные и нефтяные ресурсы на данный момент составляют половину стоимости от общего объема экспорта. Этот процент постоянно увеличивался с 2002 года, когда он составлял 30%. Индонезийская экономика становилась все более зависимой от природных ресурсов, в то время как производящая промышленность, конкурентоспособная на международном уровне, просто не появилась.

Каким путем?

В Индонезии еще с 2012 года наблюдается дефицит как налоговый, так и по текущим счетам. Если страна продолжит стимулировать внутренний спрос с помощью субсидий и не будет увеличивать экспорт, экономика останется зависимой от иностранного капитала – в первую очередь в области своего роста. Ситуация неизбежно создаст риск того, что валюта страны станет целью для спекулянтов Форекса.

Около половины 250-миллионного населения Индонезии, самого большого среди стран АСЕАН, находятся в возрастной категории «до 30». Это означает, что страна по-прежнему сможет получать преимущества от демографической ситуации, имея большой процент людей, находящихся в возрасте, подходящем для работы примерно до 2030 года. Впервые Индонезия заняла первое место в списке стран, наиболее привлекательных для инвестирования, который составил Японский Банк Международного Сотрудничества в 2013 году.

Однако страна может потерять тот шанс, который дает ей демографическое «окно», если не предпримет эффективных шагов, чтобы справиться с множеством структурных и политических вызовов, которые существуют в ее экономике. Очевидно, что индонезийское правительство должно делать, чтобы подстегнуть экономический рост. Необходимо развивать промышленную инфраструктуру, одновременно принимая меры для ослабления запретов, тем самым привлекая иностранный капитал.

Вопрос заключается в том, есть ли у администрации Видодо политическая воля, необходимая для прохождения через болезненные реформы, которые необходимы, чтобы достичь политические и экономические цели.

p.s. На данный момент победа Видодо на выборах опротестована в суде, но источники сообщают, что шанс удовлетворения апелляции невелик – EastRussia.ru