Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

What is the "superpower" of the Khabarovsk Territory?

How to brand the region, pondered on the "days of PR in Khabarovsk" and the media forum

What is the "superpower" of the Khabarovsk Territory?
Photo by saiko3p / Shutterstock.com

Vladislav Shulaev

Co-Chairman of the RASO Committee for Branding and Promotion of Territories, Director for Promotion of the Territories of the AGT Communications Agency
It was really a riotous event - even by Russian standards. In May, in Khabarovsk, the Strategic Communications Forum of the region was held. The first two days - called "Days of PR in Khabarovsk" (organizers - Pacific State University and Far Eastern School of PR), the third day - as Khabarovsk media forum (organizers - the government of the province).

The organizers have set a serious task: to discuss existing projects to promote the Khabarovsk Territory and to develop priorities.

Here it should be noted “on the margins” that discussing a brand without a strategy almost always leads to a dead end. It is already clear to everyone that the brand of a territory is not only a logo (although a modern visual style is also very important). A brand is not only about associations and symbols. But a very important step - the public formulation of a communication strategy - is not resolved in all regions. The regional media forum boldly chose as its motto "Khabarovsk Territory is a territory of dialogue", which, I hope, reflects the intention of publicly defining communication priorities.

Participation in a rich discussion in various formats of the Khabarovsk "strategic" forum and some media research conducted by the AGT communication agency and the Smyslografiya analytical agency allow us to formulate a number of positions that, in my opinion, would be useful for developing a strategy and program for promoting the Khabarovsk Territory.


ADVANTAGES NEED TO CONSCIOUS
The strategy of the territory largely reflects the public consensus on the issue, in which the "superpower" of the region. In Khabarovsk Krai, its advantages are not seriously discussed yet and, accordingly, are not realized. And the advantages of the territory need to be identified (or grown, if they do not exist) in different directions, not limited to the awareness, for example, of the industrial leadership of the region in the Far Eastern Federal District.

And therefore, first of all it is necessary to determine the platforms for dialogue (on, as stated, the territory of the dialogue) - in key areas of promotion. There is a Civil Forum to discuss social issues. There is a forum "Cupid", which is still perceived as a youth camp at GLK "Haldomi", and not as a platform for strategic discussion and development of new management decisions. Although the June Forsyte Camp on the Amur showed its potential. There is a forum "Our Choice - 27", which, in theory, is designed to provide mutual understanding in the program of promotion of Khabarovsk products

Without the annual territory for dialogue, today there are three important areas for promotion: tourism, education and, paradoxically, investment and economic. Turning to the design mode, we can say that the Khabarovsk Territory needs its own tourism exhibition-fair. It will be useful for your university forum-festival at the intersection of professional education, science and self-realization of students. And there would be an effective investment forum, focused on the undoubted advantages of the region.

The reflection of the Khabarovsk Territory on the pages of the federal and foreign press serves as a hint on priorities, possible projects and topics of the sites. Media drivers - what the media write about more often - are projects with large communication capital, which will take much less time to “roll out”.


DRIVERS FOR EDGE
An analysis of the presence of Russian regions in the leading English-language media - a joint annual survey of the Smyslografiya agency and Dow Jones - shows that in 2016 the most popular news stories in the Khabarovsk Territory abroad were news related to oil production and refining with the KHL HC Club Amur ", with the implementation of the" Far Eastern hectare "program, as well as commemorative events in honor of Kim Jong Il, who was born in the Khabarovsk Territory.

A pilot analysis of the presence of "Khabarovsk words" in the Russian federal media field (January-April 2017) gave the following group of regional media leaders: Komsomolsk-on-Amur, Sukhoi Superjet, football SKA Khabarovsk and the Amur tiger - more than 2000 references. The second group of media drivers - "Far Eastern hectare" (in connection with the Khabarovsk Territory), the Amur River, SKA "Neftyanik" (ball hockey), Governor Vyacheslav Shport, Port Vanino - more than 1000 references. And a group of media "assets", which, with a certain communication support, can also become regional media drivers: Alexander Mogilny, HC "Amur" (hockey), "Platinum-Arena", KnAAZ, TOP / PSEDA "Komsomolsk", TOGU - Pacific State University - more than 300 references.

What do these media studies suggest?

Firstly, in Khabarovsk, in the capital of the Far Eastern Federal District, it is necessary to “charge” at least an annual conference on the practice and prospects of the state program “Far Eastern hectare”. It will be of interest to Russian and foreign media, residents and the country's leadership, investors and business. And I would recommend not to postpone the start.

Secondly, in the territory of the TKS "Komsomolsk" obviously a forum arises that is connected with aircraft building. At the same time, its urgent need as a "platform for dialogue" does not depend on whether an extremely complex airshow in Komsomolsk-on-Amur is organized in 2018. The interest of media, industry experts and business to the aircraft building forum, judging by the relevance of topical news - is guaranteed.

Thirdly, the Khabarovsk ASEZ also needs its own “investment dialogue forum”. And here it is necessary to select the subject very accurately, taking into account both media drivers and additional circumstances - the railway "capital" of Khabarovsk, the upcoming Free Port regime not only for Vladivostok, the key oil refining position of the region in the Far East, the intermodal uniqueness of the regional transport system.

Fourth, the data of these media studies tell us, the Khabarovsk Territory has a colossal front of work in the field of tourism and in the field of food of its own production. No grocery brand, no festival, no tourist attraction has received more than 70 mentions in 4 months. Partly an exception can be considered Shantara (140 references).

Therefore, the regional support program for the local manufacturer “Our Choice 27” is timely. And even the number 27, which does not say anything to an outside observer, is normal at this stage. For the Khabarovsk Territory, it is now important to take care of one of the most stable sectors of the national economy - food. Now in Khabarovsk stores there are mainly products from Blagoveshchensk, Primorye, Jewish Autonomous Region, Irkutsk, Novosibirsk, and, of course, from Korea and Japan. In Khabarovsk - almost 600 thousand people, in the region - more than 1,3 million. This is a tremendous challenge for the government, the agro-industrial complex and the communication community of the region to raise their product lines and technological chains in several segments of the food industry. At the current stage, Our Choice 27 is a good answer to this challenge. But the next step is to design other programs, events and titles. And within the framework of "PR Days" such design began.


COMBINING KHABAROVSK
Hence one more conclusion: The Strategic Communication Forum of the Khabarovsk Territory as a platform for discussion of the complex communication strategy of the region has proved its effectiveness and usefulness. Although, perhaps, it would be more effective with dates at the beginning of the calendar year.

The design of the communication component of the tourism strategy presupposes a clear strategy for the development of tourism, which so far, apparently, the region does not have, and which could be discussed and updated at a possible annual trade fair. But for two moments you can pay attention now.

Khabarovsk, justifying one of the connotations of its name, can deliberately become a tourist hub for guests from the bordering countries of the APR traveling to the fabulous countries of the Far Eastern Federal District - Yakutia, Kamchatka, Kolyma and Chukotka. And to offer guests a package of two regions (together with the Khabarovsk Territory) and logistics.

The Khabarovsk Territory has a historical place that could potentially become a unique international site for visitors. It is about the place of service of Kim Il Sung, later the leader of the DPRK, and the possible place of the first years of his son Kim Jong Il's life.

The entry of the SKA football club into the Premier League of Russian football is not yet recognized in the region as an event of increased importance. However, this is so. Thanks to its performance in the elite division, the Khabarovsk Territory practically staked out its presence in the top 10 Russian regions in foreign media at the end of 2017 and 2018. Moreover, a significant number of sports fans number one from neighboring regions (primarily the Amur Region, the Jewish Autonomous Region and Primorye) will come to the matches of the leading Russian clubs, and this is an additional opportunity for the development of domestic tourism. The successes of the Khabarovsk sports teams against the background of the performances of the Primorsky clubs somewhat counterbalance the increased federal activity in Vladivostok. And the rapidly growing popularity of football among the neighboring countries of Khabarovsk will make it possible to design interesting formats of cooperation, at least in the tourism sector.

And the last, although it was not discussed at the Khabarovsk forum. The upcoming 2018 year is the year of the 100 anniversary of the Komsomol. It would be logical to hold the annual federal program of the anniversary of the Komsomol in the city, which is called Komsomolsk-on-Amur.
September 17: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

В чем «суперсила» Хабаровского края?

Как брендировать регион, размышляли на «днях PR в Хабаровске» и медиафоруме

В чем «суперсила» Хабаровского края?
Фото: saiko3p / Shutterstock.com

Владислав Шулаев

Сопредседатель комитета РАСО по брендингу и продвижению территорий, директор по продвижению территорий коммуникационного агентства АГТ
Это было действительно нерядовое событие — даже по российским меркам. В мае в Хабаровске состоялся фактически Стратегический коммуникационный форум края. Первые два дня — под названием «Дни PR в Хабаровске» (организаторы — Тихоокеанский государственный университет и дальневосточная школа PR), третий день — как Хабаровский медиафорум (организаторы — правительство края).

Организаторы поставили серьезную задачу: обсудить существующие проекты по продвижению Хабаровского края и выработать приоритеты.

Тут надо «на полях» отметить, что обсуждение бренда без наличия стратегии почти всегда заводит в тупик. Всем уже понятно, что бренд территории — это не только логотип (хотя современный визуальный стиль —  это тоже очень важно). Бренд — это не только ассоциации и символы. Но на очень ответственный  шаг — публичное формулирование коммуникационной стратегии — решаются далеко не во всех регионах. Краевой медиафорум смело выбрал своим девизом «Хабаровский край — территория диалога», что, надеюсь, отражает и намерение публичного определения коммуникационных приоритетов.

Участие в насыщенном обсуждении в различных форматах  Хабаровского «стратегического» форума и некоторые медиаисследования, проведенные коммуникационным агентством АГТ и аналитическим агентством «Смыслография»,  позволяют сформулировать ряд позиций, которые, на мой взгляд, были бы полезны для разработки стратегии и программы продвижения Хабаровского края.


ПРЕИМУЩЕСТВА НУЖНО ОСОЗНАВАТЬ
Стратегия территории во многом отражает общественное согласие по вопросу, в чем «суперсила» региона. В Хабаровском крае его преимущества пока всерьез не обсуждаются и, соответственно, не осознаются. Причем преимущества территории нужно выявлять (или выращивать, если их нет) по разным направлениям, не ограничиваясь осознанием, например, индустриального лидерства края в Дальневосточном федеральном округе.

И поэтому первым делом нужно определиться с площадками диалога (на, как было заявлено, территории диалога) — по ключевым направлениям продвижения. Есть Гражданский форум для обсуждения социальных вопросов. Есть форум «Амур», который пока воспринимается как молодежный лагерь на ГЛК «Холдоми», а не как площадка стратегического обсуждения и разработки новых управленческих решений. Хотя июньский Форсайт-кэмп на Амуре показал его потенциал. Есть форум «Наш выбор – 27», который, по идее, призван обеспечить взаимопонимание в программе продвижения хабаровской продукции

Без ежегодных краевых площадок диалога на сегодня остаются три важных направления продвижения: туристическое, образовательное и, как ни парадоксально, инвестиционно-экономическое. Переходя в проектный режим, можно утверждать, что Хабаровскому краю нужны своя туристическая выставка-ярмарка. Будет полезен свой вузовский форум-фестиваль на стыке профессионального образования, науки и самореализации учащейся молодежи. И был бы эффективен инвестиционный форум, сфокусированный на несомненных преимуществах края.

В качестве подсказки по приоритетам, возможным проектам и тематикам площадок выступает отражение Хабаровского края на страницах федеральной и зарубежной прессы. Медиадрайверы —  то, о чем чаще пишут СМИ — это проекты с большим коммуникационным капиталом, на чью «раскрутку» потребуется значительно меньше времени.


ДРАЙВЕРЫ ДЛЯ КРАЯ
Анализ присутствия российских регионов в ведущих англоязычных медиа — совместное ежегодное исследование агентства «Смыслография» и Доу Джонс — показывает, что в 2016 году за рубежом самыми популярными информационными  поводами по Хабаровскому краю стали новости, связанные с добычей и переработкой нефти, с клубом  КХЛ ХК «Амур», с реализацией программы «дальневосточный гектар», а также с памятными мероприятиями в честь Ким Чен Ира, родившегося в Хабаровском крае.

Пилотный анализ присутствия «хабаровских слов» в российском федеральном медийном поле (январь-апрель 2017 г) дал следующую группу медиалидеров края: Комсомольск-на-Амуре, Sukhoi Superjet  / Сухой Суперджет, футбольный СКА Хабаровск и амурский тигр — более 2000 упоминаний. Вторая группа медиадрайверов — «дальневосточный гектар» (в связи с Хабаровским краем), река Амур, СКА «Нефтяник» (хоккей с мячом), губернатор Вячеслав Шпорт, Порт Ванино — более 1000 упоминаний. И группа медийных «активов», которые при определенной коммуникационной поддержке могут тоже стать краевыми медиадрайверами:  Александр Могильный, ХК «Амур» (хоккей), «Платинум-Арена», КнААЗ, ТОР/ТОСЭР «Комсомольск», ТОГУ —Тихоокеанский государственный университет – более 300 упоминаний.

Что подсказывают эти медиаисследования?

Во-первых, в Хабаровске, в столице ДФО,  нужно «заряжать», как минимум, ежегодную  конференцию по практике и перспективам государственной программы «дальневосточный гектар». Это будет интересно российским и зарубежным СМИ, жителям и руководству страны, инвесторам и бизнесу. И я бы рекомендовал не откладывать старт.

Во-вторых, на территории ТОР «Комсомольск» очевидно напрашивается форум, связанный с авиастроением. При этом его острая необходимость как «площадки диалога» не зависит от того, будет ли организован в 2018 году чрезвычайно сложный для реализации авиасалон в Комсомольске-на-Амуре. Интерес медиа, отраслевых экспертов и бизнеса к авиастроительному форуму, судя по востребованности тематических новостей — гарантирован.

В-третьих, ТОР «Хабаровск» тоже нужен свой «форум инвестиционного диалога». И здесь нужно очень точно подобрать тематику, учитывая как медиадрайверы, так и дополнительные обстоятельства — железнодорожную «столичность» Хабаровска, грядущий режим Свободного порта  не только для Владивостока, ключевую нефтеперерабатывающую позицию края на Дальнем Востоке, интермодальную уникальность транспортной системы края.

В-четвертых, говорят нам данные этих медиаисследований,  у Хабаровского края — колоссальный фронт работ в сфере туризма и в сфере продуктов питания собственного производства. Ни один продуктовый бренд, ни один фестиваль, ни одна туристическая достопримечательность не набрали более 70 упоминаний за 4 месяца. Отчасти исключением можно считать Шантары (140 упоминаний).

Поэтому краевая программа поддержки местного производителя «Наш выбор 27» —своевременная. И даже ничего не говорящее для внешнего наблюдателя число 27 на данном этапе — нормально. Для Хабаровского края сейчас важно позаботиться об одной из самых стабильных отраслей народного хозяйства — продуктах питания. Сейчас в хабаровских магазинах преимущественно продукция из Благовещенска, Приморья, ЕАО, Иркутска, Новосибирска, и, само собой, из Кореи и Японии. В Хабаровске — почти 600 тысяч населения, в крае — более 1,3 млн. Это грандиозный вызов для правительства, АПК и коммуникационного сообщества региона поднять свои продуктовые линейки и технологические цепочки в нескольких сегментах пищевой промышленности. На текущем этапе «Наш выбор 27» — хороший ответ на этот вызов. Но на следующем шаге нужно  проектировать другие программы, события и названия. И в рамках «Дней PR» такое проектирование началось.


ОБЪЕДИНЯЮЩИЙ ХАБАРОВСК
Отсюда еще один вывод: Стратегический коммуникационный форум Хабаровского края как площадка обсуждения комплексной коммуникационной стратегии региона доказал свою результативность и полезность. Хотя, возможно, он был бы более эффективным с датами проведения в начале календарного года.

Проектирование коммуникационной составляющей туристической стратегии предполагает наличие четкой стратегии развития туризма, которой пока, видимо, у края нет, и которую можно было бы обсуждать и актуализировать на возможной ежегодной отраслевой выставке-ярмарке. Но на два момента можно обратить внимание уже сейчас.

Хабаровск, оправдывая одну из коннотаций своего имени, может осознанно стать туристическим хабом для гостей из приграничных стран АТР, путешествующих в  сказочные страны Дальневосточного федерального округа – Якутию, Камчатку, Колыму и Чукотку. И предлагать гостям пакетом два региона (вместе с Хабаровским краем) и логистику.

У Хабаровского края есть историческое место, которое потенциально может стать уникальным международным объектом посещения. Речь идет о месте службы Ким Ир Сена, впоследствии руководителя КНДР, и возможном месте первых лет жизни его сына Ким Чен Ира.

Выход футбольного клуба СКА в Премьер-лигу российского футбола пока не осознается в крае, как событие повышенной важности. Однако это так. Благодаря выступлению в элитном дивизионе Хабаровский край практически застолбил свое присутствие в топ-10 российских регионов в зарубежных СМИ по итогам 2017 и 2018 годов. Более того, значительное число болельщиков спорта номер один из соседних регионов (прежде всего Амурская область, ЕАО и Приморье) будут приезжать на матчи ведущих российских клубов, и это — дополнительная возможность для развития внутреннего туризма. Успехи хабаровских спортивных  команд на фоне выступлений приморских клубов несколько уравновешивают повышенную федеральную активность во Владивостоке. А стремительно растущая популярность футбола у ближайших к Хабаровску стран-соседей позволит проектировать интересные форматы сотрудничества как минимум, в туристической сфере.

И последнее, хоть это и не обсуждалось на Хабаровском форуме. Предстоящий 2018 год — год 100-летия комсомола. Было бы логичным проведение годовой федеральной программы юбилея ВЛКСМ в городе, который называется Комсомольск-на-Амуре.