Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

In anticipation of warming

What prevents the Northern Sea Route from competing with the route through Suez, studied EastRussia

The Northern Sea Route (SMP) is a colossal logistical resource of Russia, but not yet a competitor route through the Suez Canal: it is expensive, unreliable and unavailable all year round. Experts interviewed by EastRussia believe that in the medium term, SMEs can make competitive investments through the Vladivostok Free Port regime, and in the long term - integration into global transport corridors and warming gradually increasing the period of navigation in the Arctic.

In anticipation of warming
Photo: shutterstock
Unreliable "dwarf"

In mid-January, due to the complex ice conditions in the East Siberian Sea, two dry cargo ships, accompanied by two icebreakers, could not leave the water area of ​​the Pevek port in Chukotka: the hull was icebound. Pevek is one of the key ports of the Northern Sea Route, stretching for 5,6 thousand km from Murmansk to Providence. Difficulties were found by the vessels already on the way back to the Northern Sea Route, after the successful delivery of construction materials for the construction of the floating nuclear thermal power plant Akademik Lomonosov. About a week later, one icebreaker managed to escape, the second and two dry cargo ships were left to winter in the polar latitudes.

According to the Ministry of Economic Development, for the last four years, the SMP demonstrated stable dynamics in domestic cargo transportation: 2013 million tons in 2,8, 2014 million tons in 3,7, 2015 million tons in 4,5, and 2016 million tons in 6,8. Russian companies engaged in the extraction of natural resources are actively using the Sevmorput. The lion's share of supplies falls on materials and equipment for the construction of the gas transportation infrastructure of Gazprom in the Yamal-Nenets Autonomous District, the cargo of Norilsk Nickel, and the Arctic oil from the Prilazlomnaya platform. About 15% - for cargoes to the Arctic for the needs of the Ministry of Defense.

But in terms of the volume of international transcontinental shipments, the NSR, compared to the route through the Suez Canal, looks like a dwarf: several dozen vessels a year against 15-20 thousand ships across Suez. Moreover, the volume of transit freight through the NSR for the last four years has fallen sharply: from 1,3 million tons in 2013 to 240 thousand tons in 2016. The main reasons: the price of marine fuel, the remaining complex ice conditions in the Arctic, undeveloped infrastructure.

According to Evgeny Novoseltsev, Deputy Director General of the Far Eastern Research, Design and Survey, and Design and Technological Institute of the Marine Fleet, one of the main problems in the development of transport communications in the Arctic is that “in Russia there is not a single large shipping company that would see its own commercial interest in the organization of large-scale Arctic shipping, primarily transit navigation. " Therefore, having a high potential for the development of container ports-hubs in Murmansk and Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russia is still unable to organize a stable transit of containers on the Europe-Asia line relying on these ports.

EastRussia Help. Since the tsarist times, the Northern Sea Route is considered the main arctic highway in Russia - the route connects the Far East with the European part of the country. Since 1991, the Northern Sea Route has been opened for the international trade navigation of the fleets of all states. The vessels and non-Arctic ice classes are allowed into the water area. Icebreaker fleet services for wiring are provided by nuclear icebreakers Rosatomflot and diesel icebreakers of Rosmorport, Murmansk Shipping Company, Far Eastern Shipping Company and LUKOIL. The cost of one day of work of the icebreaker is from several hundred thousand to several million rubles.

The NSR is objectively not very profitable in terms of transit cargo, says Evgeny Novoseltsev. For year-round through navigation along the Northern Sea Route, it is necessary to build Arctic container ships. The cost of one such vessel with a capacity of 2500 TEU is 2,5 times higher than the cost of a traditional container ship. At the same time, in the summer, the cost of shipping containers via the NSR is on average 33-35% lower than the cost of shipping them through the Suez Canal. However, for such shipments, the reliability, timeliness and regularity of delivery are not guaranteed. The profitability of the NSR is also hit hard by the fact that many insurance companies do not undertake to insure ships sailing along the NSR route. The reason is the impossibility of an accurate assessment of all risks.

The preliminary calculations of the Sovcomflot company, which are referred to by the Institute of Economic Research of the Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, are definitely not in favor of the NSR. According to them, the costs for the transit of a consignment of 30 thousand tons of bulk cargo along the southern corridor through the Suez Canal are about $ 80 thousand, and when passing through the NSR - $ 688 thousand.

Start from the Yellow Sea

Certainly, the Northern Sea Route wins the route through Suez along the length: from St. Petersburg to Vladivostok via the Northern Sea Route - about 14,3 thousand km, through the Suez Canal - 23,2 thousand km. From Hamburg (Germany) to Yokohama (Japan) via the 12 NSR, thousand kilometers through Suez - 20,5 thousand. That's why representatives of the Asia-Pacific countries say at expert sites that the Northern Sea Route is a potential alternative to the way through the Suez Canal. Japan’s special envoy for the Arctic as ambassador to Russia, Kazuko Shiraishi, even said that the Japanese are ready to send up to 40% of their cargoes that go to Europe via the Indian Ocean. Only large-scale investments can eliminate the shortcomings of the Northern Sea Route.

“Great prospects for the development of the Northern Sea Route, I believe, are opened by the special regime of the Free Port of Vladivostok (FPV). Within the framework of FPV, at the expense of resident investors, it would be possible to build up a chain of logistics powerful points for the collection of containers. Then form large container consignments from them in ports such as Vladivostok or Zarubino, for example, and send them to Europe using the Northern Sea Route, ”says Mikhail Robkanov, a member of the Association of Russian Sea Trade Ports. In order for Vladivostok and the NSR to turn from a potential link into a real one, he notes, "it is necessary to develop its container component: more than half of all transcontinental shipping is carried out by container ships." “Of course, this will require investments both in the construction of additional powerful nuclear icebreakers and ice-class transport ships,” admits Mikhail Robkanov.

Member of the Presidium of the General Council of the "Business Russia" Dmitry Purim does not believe that in the next ten years the Northern Sea Route could seriously compete with the transcontinental sea crossing through the southern seas and the Suez Canal: "The climate in the Arctic is extremely volatile and difficult to forecast." But SMP plays an extremely important role in the development of oil and gas projects, and vice versa, he admits. "As for the Freeport regime with respect to the points of the Northern Sea Route, while one Pevek is included in this regime, it is too early to speak about any improvement in efficiency. Today, at the governmental level, the possibility of creating territories for advanced development in the Arctic and the expansion of the port-franco regime to the main ports of the Northern Sea Route is being discussed. But the program is only beginning to develop, it will be possible to evaluate its effectiveness only in the long term, "- says Dmitry Purim.

At the Institute of Economic Research FEB RAS are sure that the key to the successful development of the NSR is its integration into larger transport corridors. "Russia and China are already discussing the project" Sea Silk Road of the XXI century. " It is expected that this route will start from the seaport of Lianyungang (Jiangsu Province on the Yellow Sea coast), along the eastern coast of China, then along the seas of the Russian Far East, from there to the North Sea Route, and thence to Europe, "says the AIE DVO officer RAS Elena Zaostrovskikh. According to her, one of the largest shipping companies of the world Maersk Line signed a contract with the shipbuilding company COSCO Shipyard Co., Ltd (China) in 2015 for the construction of seven ice-class container ships with the capacity of 3600 TEU. The vessels should be handed over to the customer in the second half of the year 2017. The proposed region of work is the North Atlantic, but it is possible that the Arctic as well, the representative of the institute believes.

Meanwhile, the chance to break into a full-fledged global transport corridor in the NSR is due to global warming, which, according to many years of research, leads to a rapid melting of the Arctic ice cover. So, according to NASA's cartographic data, the area of ​​Arctic ice in the period from 1984 to 2016 years decreased from 6,4 to 4,14 million square meters. Kilometers, that is, one and a half times. During this time, the navigation period, when it is possible to pass through the NSR without escorting icebreakers, has grown: instead of July-October, now it is June-November.


March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

В ожидании потепления

Что мешает Севморпути конкурировать с маршрутом через Суэц, изучала EastRussia

Северный морской путь (СМП) — колоссальный логистический ресурс России, но пока не конкурент маршруту через Суэцкий канал: он дорог, ненадежен и недоступен круглый год. Эксперты, опрошенные EastRussia, считают, что в среднесрочной перспективе СМП могут сделать конкурентным инвестиции через режим Свободного порта Владивосток, а в долгосрочном — встраивание в глобальные транспортные коридоры и потепление, постепенно увеличивающее период навигации в Арктике.

В ожидании потепления
Фото: shutterstock
Ненадежный «карлик»

В середине января из-за сложной ледовой обстановки в Восточно-Сибирском море два сухогруза в сопровождении двух ледоколов не смогли покинуть акваторию порта Певек на Чукотке: корпуса сковал лед. Певек — один из узловых портов Северного морского пути, протянувшегося на 5,6 тыс. км от Мурманска до Провидения. Трудности застали суда уже на обратной дороге по Севморпути, после успешной доставки стройматериалов для строительства плавучей атомной теплоэлектростанции «Академик Ломоносов». Примерно через неделю одному ледоколу удалось вырваться, второй и два сухогруза остались зимовать в полярных широтах.

По данным Минэкономразвития, за последние четыре года СМП демонстрировал стабильную динамику по внутренним грузоперевозкам: в 2013 году — 2,8 млн тонн, в 2014 — 3,7 млн тонн, в 2015 году — 4,5 млн тонн, в 2016-м — 6,8 млн тонн. Активно используют Севморпуть российские компании, занятые в добыче природных ресурсов. Львиная доля поставок приходится на материалы и технику под строительство газотранспортной инфраструктуры «Газпрома» в Ямало-Ненецком автономном округе, грузы «Норникеля», арктическую нефть с платформы «Прилазломная». Около 15% — на грузы в Арктику для нужд Минобороны.

Но по объему международных трансконтинентальных перевозок СМП по сравнению с маршрутом через Суэцкий канал выглядит сущим карликом: несколько десятков судов в год против 15-20 тысяч судов через Суэц. Причем объем транзитного грузопотока по СМП за последние четыре года резко упал: с 1,3 млн тонн в 2013 году до 240 тыс. тонн в 2016-м. Главные причины: цены на судовое топливо, остающаяся сложной ледовая обстановка в Арктике, неразвитая инфраструктура.

По мнению заместителя гендиректора Дальневосточного научно-исследовательского, проектно-изыскательского и конструкторско-технологического института морского флота Евгения Новосельцева, одна из главных проблем развития транспортного сообщения в Арктике заключается в том, что «в России нет ни одной крупной судоходной компании, которая бы видела свой коммерческий интерес в организации крупномасштабного арктического судоходства, прежде всего, транзитного плавания». Поэтому, имея высокий  потенциал развития контейнерных портов-хабов в Мурманске и Петропавловске-Камчатском, Россия пока не может организовать устойчивый транзит контейнеров на линии Европа–Азия с опорой на эти порты.

Справка EastRussia. С царских времен СМП считается главной арктической магистралью в России — маршрут связывает Дальний Восток с европейской частью страны. С 1991 года Севморпуть открыт для международного торгового мореплавания флотов всех государств. В акваторию допускаются суда и неарктических ледовых классов. Услуги ледокольного флота для проводки судов обеспечивают атомные ледоколы «Росатомфлота» и дизельные ледоколы компаний «Росморпорт», «Мурманское морское пароходство», «Дальневосточное морское пароходство» и «ЛУКОЙЛ». Стоимость одного дня работы ледокола — от нескольких сот тысяч до нескольких миллионов рублей.

СМП объективно не очень рентабелен в плане транзитных грузоперевозок, говорит Евгений Новосельцев. Для круглогодичного сквозного плавания по Севморпути необходимо строить арктические контейнеровозы. Стоимость одного такого судна вместимостью 2500 TEU в 2,5 раза превосходит стоимость контейнеровоза традиционного типа. В то же время, в летний период себестоимость доставки контейнеров по СМП в среднем на 33-35% ниже себестоимости их доставки через Суэцкий канал. Однако при подобных  перевозках не гарантированы надежность, своевременность и регулярность доставки. По рентабельности СМП сильно бьет и то обстоятельство, что многие страховые компании не берутся страховать суда, отправляющиеся по маршруту СМП. Причина — невозможность точной оценки всех рисков.

Однозначно не в пользу СМП говорят предварительные расчеты компании «Совкомфлот», на которые ссылаются в Институте экономических исследований ДВО РАН. Согласно им, расходы при транзите судовой партии 30 тысяч  тонн навалочного груза по южному коридору через Суэцкий канал составляют около $80 тысяч, а при прохождении через СМП — $688 тысяч.
Читайте также:

Старт от Желтого моря

Безусловно, Севморпуть выигрывает у маршрута через Суэц по протяженности: от Санкт-Петербурга до Владивостока через Севморпуть — около 14,3 тыс. км, через Суэцкий канал — 23,2 тыс. км. Из Гамбурга (Германия) в Иокогаму (Япония) по СМП 12 тыс. км, через Суэц — 20,5 тыс. Именно поэтому на экспертных площадках представители стран АТР заявляют, что Севморпуть — потенциальная альтернатива пути через Суэцкий канал. Спецпредставитель Японии по вопросам Арктики в ранге посла в России Казуко Сираиси даже заявляла, что японцы готовы направить по СМП до 40% своих грузов, которые идут в Европу через Индийский океан. Устранить недостатки Севморпути могут только масштабные инвестиции.

«Большие перспективы для развития Севморпути, я считаю, открывает спецрежим Свободного порта Владивосток (СПВ). В рамках СПВ за счет резидентов-инвесторов можно было бы отстроить цепь логистически мощных пунктов по сбору контейнеров. Затем формировать из них крупные контейнерные партии в таких портах, как Владивосток или Зарубино, к примеру, и отправлять  в Европу, используя Севморпуть»,— считает член Ассоциации морских торговых портов России Михаил Робканов. Для того, чтобы Владивосток и СМП превратились из потенциальной связки в реальную, отмечает он, «надо развить ее контейнерную составляющую: более половины всех трансконтинентальных морских перевозок осуществляются именно контейнеровозами». «Конечно, для этого придется вложиться как в строительство дополнительно мощных атомных ледоколов, так и транспортных судов ледового класса»,— признает Михаил Робканов.

Член президиума генсовета «Деловой России» Дмитрий Пурим не считает, что в ближайшие десять лет Севморпуть может составить серьезную конкуренцию трансконтинентальному морскому переходу через южные моря и Суэцкий канал: «Климатическая обстановка в Арктике крайне переменчива и сложно прогнозируема». Но СМП играет исключительно важную роль в развития нефтегазовых проектов, и наоборот, признает он. «Что касается режима Свободного порта в отношении пунктов Севморпути, то пока один Певек включен в это режим, и говорить о каком-то повышении эффективности еще рано. Сегодня на правительственном уровне обсуждается возможность создания территорий опережающего развития в Арктике и распространения режима порто-франко на опорные порты Северного морского пути. Но программа только начинает развиваться, оценить ее эффективность можно будет лишь в долгосрочной перспективе»,— говорит Дмитрий Пурим.

В Институте экономических исследований ДВО РАН уверены, что залог успешного развития СМП — его интеграция в более масштабные транспортные коридоры. «Между Россией и Китаем уже обсуждается проект „Морской шелковый путь XXI века“. Предполагается, что этот маршрут начнется от морского порта Ляньюньган (провинция Цзянсу на побережье Желтого моря), пройдет вдоль восточного побережья Китая, затем по морям Дальнего Востока России, оттуда выйдет к трассам Севморпути, и далее — на Европу»,— говорит сотрудник ИЭИ ДВО РАН Елена Заостровских. По ее данным, одна из крупнейших судоходных компаний мира Maersk Line еще в 2015 году подписала контракт с судостроительной компанией COSCO Shipyard Co., Ltd (Китай) на строительство семи контейнеровозов ледового класса вместимостью 3600 TEU. Суда должны быть переданы заказчику уже во второй половине 2017 года. Предполагаемый регион работы — Северная Атлантика, но не исключено, что и Арктика также, считает представитель института.

Между тем, шанс выбиться в полноценный глобальный транспортный коридор у СМП есть в связи с глобальным потеплением, которое, согласно многолетним исследованиям ученых, приводит к стремительному таянию ледяного покрова Арктики. Так, по картографическим данным NASA, площадь арктических льдов в период с 1984 по 2016 годы уменьшилась с 6,4 до 4,14 млн кв. километров, то есть в полтора раза. За это время навигационный период, когда по СМП можно пройти без сопровождения ледоколов, вырос: вместо июля-октября теперь это июнь-ноябрь.