Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
Igor Katin, Researcher, Far Eastern Marine Biosphere Reserve, on the dangers of poachers for the ecosystem of the Sea of ​​Japan - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

In a state of permanent environmental disaster

Researcher of the Far Eastern Marine Biosphere Reserve Igor Katin on the harm of poachers to the ecosystem of the Sea of ​​Japan

Regularly in the waters of the Primorsky Territory, border guards massively detain North Korean fishermen. This fall, an armed conflict occurred, as a result of which there were wounded and dead. The problem has reached the level of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Igor Katin, a researcher at the Far Eastern Marine Biosphere Reserve, spoke about the danger of North Korean poachers to the inhabitants of the Sea of ​​Japan in an interview with EastRussia.

In a state of permanent environmental disaster
Photo: Marina Sklyarova

- How urgent is the problem of the "invasion" of North Korean poachers now?

- North Koreans regularly fish on small borders of ten-meter wooden vessels at the border, enter Russian territorial waters, including the Far Eastern Marine Reserve. On satellite images we see a lot of ships, sometimes their number exceeds one thousand units per ten thousand square meters. km, and the density reaches up to ten ships per square. a mile.

The harm from the North Koreans is not that they catch squid or fish. The garbage left by poachers over the past 10-15 years has become a real disaster for the continental part of the Sea of ​​Japan. We are talking about abandoned craft and industrial production floats and scraps of gear. It is these wastes that make up the majority of all marine debris found in the Far Eastern Marine Reserve.


- What poses the greatest danger to the water area and its inhabitants?

- The main danger is their monstrous fishing gear. Each schooner puts at a time km or more disposable nets. After the Koreans take the catch, they stoke or throw the net. Especially for this, they take on board stones that are used as anchors. Disposal of networks does not occur, they are not taken back to the DPRK. This fact is established and confirmed. How many networks are installed - no one controls.

To understand the scale of what is happening, I will give the numbers. If in one image we see simultaneously up to 3, 5 thousand mining barges, and each of them puts more than one km of networks, then at the same time 3-3,5 thousand km of networks is put. For comparison: the equator is up to 40 thousand km. You can encircle the Earth with these networks several times already.

- How are these networks arranged?

- Networks of poachers from kapron, they are very thin, like a web. You take it with your hand, and she catches for the roughness of the skin, for her hair - like a cobweb clings to everything. It is easy to break it with your hand, but when two layers, then it is more difficult to do, when three is even more difficult. I found seals, a dolphin, a guinea pig that weighs 250 kg, and a Pacific herring shark weighing 300 kg in such nets. Despite their mass, they get entangled in it and cannot break out.

- How can we assess the harm caused by their actions to the Sea of ​​Japan?

- In fact, we are in a state of permanent environmental disaster. But we can only evaluate the potential harm, because the nets left behind, mammals, fish, and mollusks killed in them are not counted.

In the journal "Theoretical and Applied Ecology" this year, under my co-authorship, an article was published entitled "The Impact of Marine Litter on the Habitat of Pinnipeds in the Sea of ​​Japan". It cites facts that prove that nets and debris left by poachers can lead to a reduction in the size of the largha population in Peter the Great Bay of Primorsky Krai to a critical level. But this is only a small part of the problem.


- What exactly can undermine the population?



- The most harmful litter that pinnipeds encounter is fishing nets. Seals are endangered by contact with them both in water and on shore. When a piece of net is relatively small, the animal can move with it for a long time. If a seal gets entangled in water in a sufficiently large fragment of the net and cannot be quickly released, then it will certainly drown. Moving along the coast, the largha can also become entangled in snippets of nets and it is usually impossible to get free from it.

Also, animals swallow plastic. We found a hut with a swallowed, twisted into a harness fishing net. The total length of the network fragment was 2,5 meters, and most of it was already in the stomach.

Another, but not so obvious, but nevertheless, quite serious harm from litter is that it accumulates on the shore in places where seals give birth and feed young. When part of the rookery is blocked by garbage, the females are forced to look for another place less convenient for childbirth. Because of this, the likelihood that the female will give birth and be able to successfully feed the cub decreases.


- You have been observing poachers for several years, what has changed?

- Now they are more active. They have not starved for a long time and do not go with outstretched hands; poaching is an active business. As I understand it, China is buying squid from them. All their boats, longboats, are equipped very well, although they look ugly. The equipment is Chinese. They have a global positioning system, Beidou (the Chinese equivalent of Glonass and GPS). These sailors do not suffer distress, they did not get lost, as they want to imagine it.

It is clear that they are escorted by large vessels, which, most likely, do not enter our borders. It is simply impossible to leave your port for several hundred miles and not be supplied. In August, we discovered ice in the holds of violators to sprinkle squid. The same networks: they cannot store 30 km of networks for a month on their small schooners. Most likely, they take the production to large vessels with refrigerators, replenish supplies and return to poach further.

Moreover, the “invasion” did not begin this year, and not in the past, it was ten years ago. In those days, we poorly understood what was the reason, but now there is no doubt - public policy.


- How do poachers react to the inspectors of the reserve?

- They do not obey, aggressive. We have clashes all the time. There were no armed conflicts yet, but inspectors were attacked with sticks. They have five to six people on the boat, and one or two inspectors. The forces are not equal. Well, if border guards come up, then they, of course, obey. Although according to all laws, both ours and international, they need to be prosecuted for violating the borders of the reserve and illegal extraction. These are not people in distress. Those in distress rush to their breasts and ask for bread. I had such, I brought them to the cordon of the reserve, gave me food and water. But today they are well-trained organized criminals.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

В состоянии перманентной экологической катастрофы

Научный сотрудник Дальневосточного морского биосферного заповедника Игорь Катин о вреде браконьеров для экосистемы Японского моря

Регулярно в акватории Приморского края поргранслужбы массово задерживают северокорейских рыбаков. Этой осенью произошел вооруженный конфликт, в результате которого были раненые и погибшие. Проблема вышла на уровень министерства иностранных дел России. О том, чем опасны северокорейские браконьеры для обитателей Японского моря, в интервью EastRussia рассказал научный сотрудник Дальневосточного морского биосферного заповедника, кандидат биологических наук Игорь Катин.

В состоянии перманентной экологической катастрофы
Фото: Марина Склярова

- Насколько сейчас актуальна проблема «нашествия» северокорейских браконьеров?

- Северокорейцы на небольших десятиметровых деревянных судах регулярно рыбачат на границе, заходят в российские территориальные воды, в том числе в пределы Дальневосточного морского заповедника. На спутниковых снимках мы видим множество судов, иногда их число превышает одну тыс. единиц на десять тыс. кв. км, а плотность достигает до десяти судов на кв. милю.

Вред от северных корейцев не в том, что они ловят кальмара или рыбу. Мусор, который оставляют браконьеры, за последние 10-15 лет стал настоящим бедствием для приконтинентальной части Японского моря. Речь идет брошенных поплавках кустарного и промышленного производства и обрывках снастей. Именно эти отходы составляют большую часть всего морского мусора, который находят в Дальневосточном морском заповеднике.


- Что представляет наибольшую опасность для акватории и ее обитателей?

- Основную опасность представляют их чудовищные орудия лова. Каждая шхуна ставит за один раз км или более одноразовых сетей. После того, как корейцы забирают улов, они топят или выбрасывают сети. Специально для этого на борт они берут камни, которые используются как якоря. Утилизации сетей не происходит, в КНДР их обратно не забирают. Это факт установленный и подтвержденный. Сколько установлено сетей — никто не контролирует.

Чтобы понять масштаб происходящего, приведу цифры. Если на одном изображении мы видим одновременно до 3, 5 тыс. добывающих баркасов, а каждый из них ставит больше одного км сетей, то одновременно ставится 3-3,5 тыс. км сетей. Для сравнения: длина экватора — до 40 тыс. км. Можно опоясать Землю этими сетями уже несколько раз.

- Как устроены эти сети?

- Сети браконьеров из капрона, они очень тонкие, как паутина. Ее берешь рукой, и она ловит за шероховатость кожи, за волос — как паутина цепляется за все. Разорвать ее рукой легко, но когда два слоя, то сделать это сложнее, когда три — еще сложнее. Я в таких сетях находил тюленей, дельфина, морскую свинью, который весит 250 кг, тихоокеанскую сельдевую акулу весом 300 кг. Несмотря на свою массу, они запутываются в ней и не могут вырваться.  

- Как можно оценить вред, нанесенный их действиями Японскому морю?

- По сути, мы находимся в состоянии перманентной экологической катастрофы. Но оценить мы можем только потенциальный вред, ведь не ведется подсчет оставленных сетей, погибших в них млекопитающих, рыб, моллюсков.

В журнале «Теоретическая и прикладная экология» в этом году при моем соавторстве опубликована статья «Влияние морского мусора на местообитания ластоногих в Японском море». В ней приводятся факты, которые доказывают, что сети и мусор, оставленные браконьерами, может привести к снижению численности популяции ларги в заливе Петра Великого Приморского края до критического уровня. Но это лишь малая часть проблемы.


- Что именно может подорвать популяцию?



- Наиболее вредоносный мусор, с которым сталкиваются ластоногие – это рыболовные сети. Тюлени подвергаются опасности при контакте с ними как в воде, так и на берегу. Когда кусок сети относительно небольшой, животное может перемещаться с ним продолжительное время. Если тюлень запутается в воде в достаточно большом фрагменте сети и не сможет быстро освободиться, то он непременно утонет. Передвигаясь по берегу, ларга также может запутаться в обрывках сетей и высвободиться у нее, как правило, не получается.

Также животные глотают пластик. Мы обнаружили ларгу с проглоченной, скрученной в жгут рыболовной сетью. Общая длина фрагмента сети составила 2,5 метра, и большая его часть уже была в желудке.

Другой, не столь очевидный, но, тем не менее, достаточно серьезный вред от мусора заключается в том, что он накапливается на берегу в местах, где тюлени рожают и выкармливают детенышей. Когда часть лежбища перекрыта мусором, самки вынуждены искать другое место, менее удобное для родов. Из-за этого вероятность того, что самка родит и сможет успешно выкормить детеныша, уменьшается.


- Вы наблюдаете за браконьерами не первый год, что изменилось?

- Сейчас они более активны. Они давно не голодают и не идут с протянутой рукой, браконьерство у них — активный бизнес. Как я понимаю, кальмар у них скупает Китай. Все их лодки, баркасы, оборудованы очень хорошо, хоть и выглядят неказисто. Оборудование китайское. У них есть система глобального позиционирования, Бейдоу (китайский аналог Глонасс и GPS). Эти моряки не терпят бедствие, они не заблудились, как хотят это представить.

Понятно, что идут они в сопровождении больших судов, которые, скорее всего, в границы наши не заходят. Просто невозможно уйти от своего порта на несколько сот миль и не снабжаться. В августе мы обнаруживали в трюмах нарушителей лед, чтобы пересыпать кальмара. Те же сети: не могут они на своих небольших шхунах запасти на месяц 30 км сетей. Скорее всего, добычу они отвозят на большие суда с рефрижераторами, пополняют запасы и возвращаются браконьерствовать дальше.

Причем началось «нашествие» не в этом году, и не в прошлом, это было и десять лет назад. В те времена мы плохо понимали в чем причина, а сейчас сомневаться не приходится — государственная политика.


- Как реагируют браконьеры на инспекторов заповедника?

- Они не подчиняются, агрессивные. У нас стычки постоянно. Вооруженных конфликтов пока не было, но на инспекторов нападали с палками. У них на лодке пять-шесть человек, а инспекторов один-два. Силы не равны. Хорошо, если подойдут пограничники, тогда они, конечно, подчиняются. Хотя по всем законам, и нашим и международным, их нужно привлекать к уголовной ответственности за нарушение границ заповедника и незаконную добычу. Это не терпящие бедствие люди. Терпящие бедствие бросаются на грудь и просят хлеба. У меня были такие, я на кордон заповедника их приводил, давал еды и воды. Но сегодня это хорошо подготовленные организованные преступники.