Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

In Albazino, a mass grave was discovered

In Albazino, a mass grave was discovered

Andrey Cherkasov

Scientific secretary of the Petropavlovsk Foundation

Andrey Cherkasov, Head of the Albazin Expedition, Scientific Secretary of the Petropavlovsk Foundation:

- “Albazinskaya Expedition” was initiated and organized by our Foundation and the Center for the Preservation of Historical and Cultural Heritage of the Amur Region in 2011. The project involves a complex of activities of a different nature. In particular, the conduct of archaeological research at the site of the monument of federal significance “The Settlement“ Albazinsky Ostrog ”” with the use of high-precision technologies; support and modernization of the largest cultural institutions of the region; research work with artifacts; replenishment of museum funds; restoration of historical and cultural monuments; educational work through the publication of scientific articles in major specialized publications and participation in specialized events; patriotic work with young people.

During the expedition this year, during excavations of the monument "Gorodische" Albazinskaya Fortress ", a mass burial of Cossacks was discovered. Presumably, this could be one of the "scoundrel" - the communal graves of the defenders of the 17th-century prison. Already at the time of the clearing of the burials the remains of more than twenty people have been uncovered. The last time such a mass grave was found here, in Albazino, in 1992 year. Then the earth was lifted and reburied 57 bodies. We have every reason to believe that we will be able to obtain a significant archaeological material.

The fact that it is the XVII century confirms the found objects, for example buttons, and the very form of burial. The discovered skuadelnitsa is a large semi-dugout with the remains of a pillar structure and a door jamb. The buried ones lie in rows in several tiers. Usually such burials were arranged during any extreme events - wars or epidemics, in which there was no possibility to bury individually.

Above the main excavation there is a large tent, which allows us to work in all weather conditions. Ahead of us is a long and laborious work, as the analysis of burials is one of the most complex operations in archeology. All the results are carefully recorded, photographs and sketches are made. All the soil taken from the dugout is carefully washed and sieved to not miss the smallest finds.

After a thorough study and fixation - the remains of the dead Cossacks will be reburied in accordance with the Orthodox tradition.

I want to note that the discovery of the burial of the defenders of Fort Albazin is a very important event for historical science and society. The burials of the Russian population of Siberia and the Far East during the period of the excavation movement are now practically not studied. And this is a great opportunity to get unique archaeological and anthropological material. Its study will help to better understand the process of settling the territory of the Amur region by the Russian population, as well as shed light on the problems of the genesis of the Russian ethnos in the XNUMXth century.

The discovery of the burial is another reason to remember the defenders of the Albazin fort, who defended the borders of our Motherland at the cost of their lives. Their study and subsequent reburial in accordance with the Orthodox tradition is our moral duty.

May 15: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

В Албазино обнаружено массовое захоронение

В Албазино обнаружено массовое захоронение

Андрей Черкасов, руководитель «Албазинской экспедиции», ученый секретарь Фонда «Петропавловск»:

- «Албазинская экспедиция» инициирована и организована нашим Фондом и Центром по сохранению историко-культурного наследия Амурской области в 2011 году. Проект предполагает комплекс мероприятий разного характера. В частности, проведение археологических исследований на месте памятника федерального значения «Городище «Албазинский острог»» с привлечением высокоточных технологий; поддержку и модернизацию крупнейших культурных учреждений области; научно-исследовательскую работу с артефактами; пополнение музейных фондов; реставрацию памятников истории и культуры; просветительскую работу посредством публикации научных статей в крупных профильных изданиях и участие в профильных мероприятиях; патриотическую работу с молодежью.

В ходе экспедиции в этом году при раскопках памятника «Городище «Албазинская крепость» было обнаружено массовое захоронение казаков. Предположительно, это может быть одна из «скудельниц» - братских могил защитников острога XVII века. Уже сейчас при расчистке погребений обнажились останки более двадцати человек. Последний раз такое массовое захоронение находили здесь же, в Албазино, в 1992 году. Тогда из земли подняли и перезахоронили 57 тел. У нас есть все основания полагать, что и нам удастся получить значимый археологический материал.

То, что это именно XVII век подтверждают найденные предметы, например пуговицы, и сама форма погребения. Обнаруженная скудельница представляет собой большую полуземлянку с остатками столбовой конструкции и дверного косяка. Погребенные лежат в ней рядами в несколько ярусов. Обычно такие погребения устраивались во время каких-либо экстремальных событий - войн или эпидемий, при которых не было возможности хоронить индивидуально.

Над основным раскопом установлен большой шатер, который позволяет нам вести работу при любых погодных условиях. Впереди нас ждет долгая и кропотливая работа, так как разбор погребений - это одна из самых сложных операций в археологии. Все результаты тщательно фиксируются, делаются фотографии и зарисовки. Весь грунт, вынутый из землянки, тщательно промывается и просеивается, чтобы не упустить самых малоразмерных находок.

После всестороннего изучения и фиксации - останки погибших казаков будут перезахоронены в соответствии с православной традицией.

Я хочу отметить, что обнаружение погребения защитников Албазинского острога – очень важное для исторической науки и общества событие. Захоронения русского населения Сибири и Дальнего Востока периода землепроходческого движения сейчас практически не исследуются. И это замечательная возможность получить уникальный археологический и антропологический материал. Его изучение поможет лучше понять процесс заселения территории Приамурья русским населением, а также пролить свет на проблемы генезиса русского этноса в XVII веке.

Открытие захоронения –  лишний повод вспомнить о защитниках Албазинского острога, которые ценой своей жизни отстаивали рубежи нашей Родины. Их изучение и последующее перезахоронение в соответствии с православной традицией – это наш нравственный долг.