Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Vietnam - to them or to us?

Experts recommend not to give the best, once, a friend of the USSR to the mercenary of the West

On the eve of the visit of the President of Vietnam to Moscow, experts from the Institute for Far Eastern Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences have been diagnosed: the level of development of bilateral relations between the Russian Federation and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam lags far behind what was in the Soviet era and could be now. Vietnam is increasingly drawn into the orbit of the United States and the West as a whole, moving away from Russia, practically, in all spheres of activity. Today, one way to reverse the negative trend - the involvement of Vietnamese private business in Russia's economic projects in the Far East - scientists believe. EastRussia listened to the opinions of experts.

Vietnam - to them or to us?
Photo: VTC News
IF IT DO NOT CHINA ...
The visit of the President of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, Chiang Dai Kuang to Moscow (the first, by the way, his official visit to Russia as head of state) scheduled for the end of June is formally regarded as the next step in the development of good-neighborly relations between our countries, which have long interacted with each other in A comprehensive strategic partnership. At the same time, there is an increasing involvement of Vietnam, once one of the most reliable allies of the USSR, into the economic and socio-cultural orbit of the United States and other Western countries. On the eve of the visit of Chiang Dai Kuang to Moscow, participants of the expert press conference and the round table "The Current State and Prospects of Russian-Vietnamese Relations", which took place on the site of the Institute for Far Eastern Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, spoke about the alarming for Russia deepening of this trend and possible ways of its refraction.

According to the gathered experts, the progressively warming relations between Vietnam and the United States (in the recent historical past, sworn enemy of Vietnam) are promoted by the traditionally strained relations of Vietnam with China. The latter, as we know, pretends to be one of the leading roles in the Asia-Pacific region and has for many years been unable to resolve with Vietnam and other countries of Southeast Asia the question of the nationality of a number of islands in the South China Sea (the Paracel and the Spratly Archipelago ).

"The Chinese factor objectively stimulates the rapprochement between Vietnam and the United States. And Washington is powerfully and systematically strengthening its positions in all spheres of economic and political interaction with Vietnam in opposition to its geopolitical competitor in the region - China. If Moscow's position is neutrality, complete non-interference in territorial disputes between Vietnam and China, calling for a peaceful bilateral negotiation process on this issue between the conflicting parties themselves, America stands for the international debate and even condemns China. Therefore, it is not surprising that such political position of the White House is more appealing to Vietnam than to the position of non-interference from the Kremlin, "said Sergei Luzyanin, director of the Institute of Far Eastern Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Doctor of Historical Sciences.


PARTNERSHIP NOT FOR LOVE
Head of the Center for the Study of Southeast Asia, Australia and Oceania of the Institute of Oriental Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Doctor of Historical Sciences Dmitry Mosyakov stated in his report that the economic influence of Russia in Vietnam has significantly weakened, but the dominance of developed countries led by the United States grows in all strategic directions of the national economy countries.

"This, however, does not cause concern to the Vietnamese leadership, although it threatens the economic and political sovereignty of the SRV. At the same time, Russia's positions in trade and investment cooperation with Vietnam are much weaker than those of Western countries, and are developing at a slower pace, "the scientist said.

Leading fellow of the Center for the Study of Vietnam and the ASEAN of the Institute for Far Eastern Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences Grigory Lokshin agreed with the assessment of his colleagues, but stressed that the Vietnamese-American partnership is ambivalent. "The relationship between Vietnam and the United States is more a partnership not for love, but for interests. On the part of Washington, certain conditions and demands are constantly put forward, which essentially means demanding a change in the social order of Vietnam. But Vietnam will never go to this ... ".

The manipulative nature of such a policy towards Vietnam was emphasized by Vladimir Kolotov, head of the Department of History of the Far East of the St. Petersburg State University: "The West is applying to Vietnam a strategy for changing regimes, preparing and conducting" color revolutions. " The Vietnamese media space has become permeable to external influences and reflexive control. Through it in social networks and a number of Internet media, so-called fake news will spread to distort reality, discredit the leadership and policy of the Russian Federation, reduce the status and undermine Russian-Vietnamese relations, reorient the sympathies of the population towards other states. "

Characterizing the movement of Vietnam from Russia towards Western countries, the participants of the round table also noted such sad facts and trends as: Vietnam's refusal to build a nuclear power plant on its territory by Russia, refusal to purchase small arms in Russia in favor of Israel, increased control from the West Over the economic sovereignty of Vietnam, the declining number of Vietnamese students in Russia (for comparison, today in the US they are taught about 40 thousand, while in the Russian Federation - no more than 5 thousand people), the fall is popular The Russian language in Vietnam, increasingly criticized by the Vietnamese media for its neutral position in the Vietnam-China territorial disputes, the disappointment in Russia of a significant part of the Vietnamese elite, the curtailment of scientific and cultural cooperation between the Russian Federation and the SRV.




THE FAR EAST AS A RECOMMENDATION
The main conclusion made at the expert press conference and the round table “The current state and prospects of Russian-Vietnamese relations” - the level of development of bilateral relations between our countries lags far behind what was in the Soviet era and could be now. It must be borne in mind that since the time of the great friendship between the two states, much has changed. Russia is not the USSR, and Vietnam is no longer the same, it has become much more powerful economically and politically. Russia must make certain efforts to get out of its degrading relations with it. To change the situation for the better, the experts, as always happens at the discussion venues of the Institute of the Far East of the Russian Academy of Sciences, have developed a number of recommendations.

According to them, Russia needs to: diversify its political and trade and economic relations in the APR (not focusing only on China); to offer Vietnam assistance in combating the negative and manipulative influence on the public opinion of this country from the West, to form in the eyes of Vietnamese society a positive and friendly image of our country, supporting it with concrete actions; in the mutual trade, switch to the currencies of the two countries, abandoning the US dollar and creating a joint investment fund and foreign exchange reserves; expand the removal of trade restrictions under the Free Trade Agreement between Vietnam and the EEU, which entered into force last year; actively attracting Vietnamese private business to investing in various economic projects in different parts of Russia.

The last recommendation is closely linked to the projects in the Russian Far East, which have already begun to be implemented within the territories of advanced development and the Free Port of Vladivostok.

Vladimir Mazyrin, the moderator of the round table, the head of the Center for the Study of Vietnam and the ASEAN countries of the Institute of the Far East, said in an interview with EastRussia: "After the introduction of Western sanctions against Russia and devaluation of the ruble to businesses from developing countries, including Vietnam, Agriculture, for example. In particular, in the spring of this year, the largest Vietnamese company TH True Milk (during the March visit of Plenipotentiary Yury Trutnev to Vietnam) expressed interest in the construction of a cattle-breeding complex and a milk processing plant in the Primorsky Territory. The project is expected to be implemented within the framework of the TOP. To invest in it the Vietnamese company intends not less than one and a half billion US dollars and now is looking for suitable land plots. She already has experience in investing in Russia. In the Moscow and Kaluga regions, TH True Milk launched similar projects, announcing a sum of investments of 2,5 billion. This is even more than all Vietnamese investments in Russia that have been accumulated since the 90-ies, including investments in the oil and gas sector, where giant state corporations such as Gazprom and PetroVietnam cooperate.

In addition to agriculture, Vladimir Mazyrin believes, the Russian Far East is potentially of interest to Vietnam as an industrial site for food and light industry, as well as a place for joint projects with Russia in the field of tourism.


BOOK EastRussia
Vietnam became the first state with which the Eurasian Economic Union (EEA) entered into the Free Trade Agreement (signed 29 May 2015 year, entered into force 5 October 2016 year). Within the framework of the Agreement, it is expected to intensify trade and economic relations, increase the mutual flow of goods, services, investments between the EEA member countries and the SRV. As for the largest member of the EAES - Russia - its foreign trade turnover with Vietnam in 2016 amounted to about $ 2,7 billion, which is an order of magnitude less than that of Vietnam with the US or the European Union. The share of Vietnam in the foreign trade turnover of Russia is only 0,7-0,8%. The Russian-Vietnamese strategic partnership is based, in the main, on cooperation in the exploration and production of oil and gas. Interacting among themselves, the profile associations of the two countries - PJSC Gazprom, Zarubezhneft JSC, Rosneft Oil Company and Petrovietnam, the state oil and gas state corporation - implement joint projects in Russia and the SRV. Also, cooperation in the military-industrial sphere has been established: 90% of the weapons of the SRV Army is made up of Russian-made equipment. In addition, the Russian Federation supplies fuel to Vietnam, oil products, fertilizers, construction materials, ferrous metals and products from them. Vietnam exports tea, coffee, spices, knitwear, footwear to Russia.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Вьетнам – к ним или к нам?

Эксперты рекомендуют не отдавать лучшего, когда-то, друга СССР на откуп корыстному Западу

В преддверие визита президента Вьетнама в Москву эксперты Института Дальнего Востока РАН диагностировали: уровень развития двусторонних отношений между Российской Федерацией и Социалистической республикой Вьетнам сильно отстает от того, что был в эпоху СССР и мог бы быть сейчас. Вьетнам все сильнее втягивается в орбиту США и Запада в целом, удаляясь от России, практически, во всех сферах деятельности. Сегодня один из способов переломить негативную тенденцию — вовлечение вьетнамского частного бизнеса в российские экономические проекты на Дальнем Востоке, — считают ученые. EastRussia прислушалась к мнениям экспертов.

Вьетнам – к ним или к нам?
Фото: VTC News
ЕСЛИ БЫ НЕ КИТАЙ...
Намеченный на конец июня визит президента Социалистической Республики Вьетнам Чан Дай Куанг в Москву (первый, кстати, его официальный визит в Россию в качестве главы государства) формально рассматривается как очередной шаг в развитии добрососедских связей между нашими странами, которые уже давно взаимодействуют друг с другом в формате всеобъемлющего стратегического партнерства. Вместе с тем налицо все большее вовлечение Вьетнама, некогда одного из самых надежных союзников СССР, в экономическую и социально-культурную орбиту США и других западных стран. О тревожном для России углублении этой тенденции и возможных способах ее преломления говорили накануне визита Чан Дай Куанга в Москву участники экспертной пресс-конференции и круглого стола «Современное  состояние и перспективы российско-вьетнамских отношений», которая состоялась на площадке Института Дальнего Востока РАН.

По мнению собравшихся экспертов, прогрессирующему потеплению в отношениях между Вьетнамом и США (в недавнем историческом прошлом заклятым врагом Вьетнама) способствуют традиционно натянутые отношения Вьетнама с Китаем. Последний, как известно, претендует на одну из ведущих ролей в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе и уже в течение многих лет не может решить с Вьетнамом и другими странами Юго-Восточной Азии вопрос о государственной принадлежности ряда островов в Южно-Китайском море (Парасельские и архипелаг Спратли).

«Китайский фактор объективно стимулирует сближение Вьетнама и США. И Вашингтон мощно и системно усиливает свои позиции во всех сферах экономического и политического взаимодействия с Вьетнамом в противовес своему геополитическому конкуренту в регионе – Китаю. Если позиция Москвы — нейтралитет, полное невмешательство в территориальные споры между Вьетнамом и Китаем, взывание к мирному двустороннему переговорному процессу по этой проблеме между самими противоборствующими сторонами, то Америка ратует за вынесение этого спора на международное обсуждение и даже демонстрирует осуждение Китая. Поэтому не удивительно, что Вьетнаму такая политическая позиция Белого Дома более импонирует, чем позиция невмешательства со стороны Кремля», – заметил в своем выступлении директор Института Дальнего Востока РАН, доктор исторических наук, Сергей Лузянин.


ПАРТНЕРСТВО НЕ ПО ЛЮБВИ
Руководитель Центра изучения Юго-Восточной Азии, Австралии и Океании Института Востоковедения РАН, доктор исторических наук Дмитрий Мосяков в своем докладе констатировал, что экономическое влияние России во Вьетнаме заметно ослабло, зато доминирование развитых стран во главе с США растет на всех стратегических направлениях народного хозяйства этой страны. 

«Это, однако, не вызывает озабоченности у вьетнамского руководства, хотя угрожает экономическому и политическому суверенитету СРВ. Вместе с тем позиции РФ в торговле и инвестиционном сотрудничестве с Вьетнамом значительно слабее, чем у западных стран, и развиваются более медленными темпами», – подчеркнул ученый.

Ведущий сотрудник Центра изучения Вьетнама и АСЕАН Института Дальнего Востока РАН Григорий Локшин согласился с оценкой коллег, но подчеркнул, что вьетнамско-американское партнерство носит двойственный характер. «Отношения Вьетнама с США — это скорее партнерство не по любви, а по интересам. Со стороны Вашингтона постоянно выдвигаются определённые условия и требования, которые по сути своей означает требование изменения общественного строя Вьетнама. Но на это Вьетнам никогда не пойдёт...».

На манипулятивном характере подобной политики по отношению к Вьетнаму сделал акцент заведующий кафедрой истории стран Дальнего Востока Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета Владимир Колотов: «Запад применяет к Вьетнаму стратегию смены режимов, подготовки и проведения «цветных революций». Вьетнамское медиапространство стало проницаемым для внешнего воздействия и рефлексивного управления. Через него в социальных сетях и ряде интернет-СМИ распространятся так называемые фейковые новости с целью искажения реальности, дискредитации руководства и политики РФ, понижения статуса и подрыва российско-вьетнамских отношений, переориентации симпатий населения в сторону других государств».

Характеризуя движение Вьетнама от России в сторону западных стран, участники круглого стола отметили и такие печальные факты и тенденции, как: отказ Вьетнама от строительства Россией атомной электростанции на его территории, отказ от закупок стрелкового вооружения в РФ в пользу Израиля, усиливающийся контроль со стороны Запада над экономическим суверенитетом Вьетнама, сокращающееся число вьетнамских студентов в России (для сравнения, сегодня в США их обучается около 40 тыс., в то время как в РФ — не более 5 тыс. человек), падение популярности русского языка во Вьетнаме, все чаще звучащая во вьетнамских СМИ критика России за ее нейтральную позицию во вьетнамско-китайских территориальных спорах, разочарование в России значительной части вьетнамской элиты, сворачивание научного и культурного сотрудничества между РФ и СРВ.


ДАЛЬНИЙ ВОСТОК КАК РЕКОМЕНДАЦИЯ
Основной вывод, прозвучавший на экспертной пресс-конференции и круглом столе «Современное  состояние и перспективы российско-вьетнамских отношений» –  уровень развития двусторонних отношений между нашими странами сильно отстает от того, что был в эпоху СССР и мог бы быть сейчас. Необходимо учитывать, что со времен великой дружбы между двумя государствами многое изменилось. Россия — не СССР, да и Вьетнам уже не тот, он стал гораздо мощнее в экономическом и политическом плане. Для выхода из деградирующих отношений с ним Россия должна приложить определенные усилия. Для изменения ситуации в лучшую сторону эксперты, как всегда это происходит на дискусиионных площадках Института Дальнего Востока РАН, выработали ряд рекомендаций.

Согласно им, России необходимо: диверсифицировать свои политические и торгово-экономические отношения в АТР (не зацикливаясь только на Китай); предложить Вьетнаму помощь в борьбе с негативным и манипуляционным воздействием на общественное мнение этой страны со стороны Запада, формировать в глазах вьетнамского общества позитивный и дружественный образ нашей страны, подкрепляя его конкретными делами; во взаимной торговле перейти на валюты двух стран, отказавшись от доллара США и создав совместный инвестиционный фонд и валютные резервы; расширять снятие торговых ограничений в рамках Соглашения о свободной торговле между СРВ и ЕАЭС, вступившего в силу в прошлом году; активно привлекать вьетнамский частный бизнес к инвестированию в различные экономические проекты в разных частях России.

Последняя рекомендация тесно увязана с проектами на Дальнем Востоке России, которые сегодня уже начали реализовываться в рамках территорий опережающего развития и Свободного порта Владивосток.

Как заметил в беседе с корреспондентом EastRussia модератор круглого стола Владимир Мазырин, руководитель Центра изучения Вьетнама и стран АСЕАН Института Дальнего Востока: «После введения западных санкций против России и девальвации рубля бизнесу из развивающихся стран, в том числе из Вьетнама, стало выгодно вкладываться в российское сельское хозяйство, к примеру. В частности, весной этого года крупнейшая въетнамская компания TH True Milk (во время мартовского визита полпреда Юрия Трутнева во Вьетнам) выразила интерес в строительстве на территории Приморского края животноводческого комплекса и завода по переработке молока. Проект предполагается осуществить в рамках ТОР. Вложить в него вьетнамская компания намерена не менее полутора миллиардов долларов США и сейчас ищет подходящие земельные участки. Опыт подобного инвестирования в России у нее уже есть. В Московской и Калужской областях TH True Milk приступила к реализации подобных проектов, заявив суму инвестиций в 2,5 миллиарда долларов. Это даже больше, чем все вьетнамские инвестиции в Россию, накопленные в период, начиная с 90-х годов, включая инвестиции в нефтегазовый сектор, где между собой сотрудничают гигантские госкорпорации типа «Газпрома» и PetroVietnam».

Кроме сельского хозяйства, считает Владимир Мазырин, российский Дальний Восток потенциально интересен Вьетнаму как производственная площадка для пищевой и легкой промышленности, а также место для реализации совместных с Россией проектов в сфере туризма.


СПРАВКА EastRussia
Вьетнам стал первым государством, с которым Евразийский экономический союз (ЕАЭС) заключил Соглашение о свободной торговле (подписано 29 мая 2015 года, вступило в силу 5 октября 2016 года). В рамках Соглашения предполагается активизировать торгово-экономические связи, увеличить взаимный поток товаров, услуг, инвестиций между странами-членами ЕАЭС и СРВ. Что касается крупнейшего члена ЕАЭС — России – то ее внешнеторговый оброт с Вьетнамом в 2016 году составил около $2,7 млрд, это на порядок меньше чем у Вьетнама с США или Евросоюзом. Доля Вьетнама во внешнеторговом обороте России составляет всего 0,7-0,8%. Российско-вьетнамское стратегическое партнерство строится, в основном, на кооперации в разведке и добыче нефти и газа. Взаимодействуя меж собой, профильные объединения двух стран — ПАО «Газпром», АО «Зарубежнефть», ПАО «НК «Роснефть» и госкорпорация нефти и газа «Петровьетнам» – реализуют совместные проекты на территории России и СРВ. Также налажено сотруднчество в военно-промышленной сфере: 90% вооружения Армии СРВ сотставляет техника российского производства. Кроме этого РФ поставляет в СРВ топливо, нефтепродукты, удобрения, стройматериалы, черные металлы и изделия из них. Вьетнам в Россию экспортирует чай, кофе, пряности, трикотажные изделия, обувь.