Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Vladivostok: the last wharf of the Poet ...

At a poetic rally in Vladivostok in honor of 125 anniversary of Osip Mandelstam, Chinese students read his poems. One of them admitted to the correspondent of "ER" that Mandelshtam was for him "the most Russian poet ..."

15 January turned 125 anniversary of the birth of the poet Osip Mandelstam, one of the most outstanding representatives of the Russian literary "Silver Age".

Vladivostok: the last wharf of the Poet ...
He - being in the status of a prisoner by the notorious 58 article (counterrevolutionary activity) - died of starvation and physical exhaustion 78 years ago at the transit point of the Gulag in Vladivostok. The exact place of his burial is still unknown. Such was the cruel retribution for a few poetic lines about the "Kremlin highlander", depicting in the unattractive light "father of all peoples" Joseph Stalin.

Despite the severe frost and piercing wind at noon in the park of the Vladivostok State University of Economics and Service (VGUES) 15 January was quite crowded. Near the monument to Osip Mandelshtam on his day 125 Anniversary townspeople, connoisseurs of literary creativity, gathered for a poetic rally. Organizers were teachers, employees and students of the University, not indifferent to history and literature.

People carried flowers to the monument, read lines standing beside him, lines from Mandelstam, sang songs written in his poems. Among the speakers were foreigners. It was especially touching and penetrating in broken Russian: "I returned to my city, familiar to tears, to veins, to children's swollen glands ...". This was read by Sun Yun Fung, 20-year-old Chinese student, student of linguistics at the Institute of Foreign Languages ​​of VSUES, native of Primorye Chinese province of Jilin (in total, VSUES has about 600 students from South-East Asia).

After Sun Yun Fung finished reciting, I approached him and, gently picking up the words, asked: "Where in a young man brought up in a country with communist ideology such a love for the poet's work, which was considered in the Soviet Union, to put it mildly, an opponent of this ideology "?

“Mandelstam for me is the most Russian poet. He finds words and images that touch the deepest feelings in the human soul. This is generally characteristic of Russian literature. But in particular to Mandelstam, it seems to me, ”the Chinese student answered.

After the poetic rally there was an excursion to that place, in the northern part of the city, where in 30-e For years, there was the Vladivostok transit point, intended for the temporary stay of those prisoners, who then had to go - in cramped, terribly crowded ship holds - to Kolyma, extreme north.

Mandelstam avoided such a fate, since already in Vladivostok he was recognized as a "goner", doomed to death. He died in the last days of December 1938. His body with hundreds of other bodies of the same "reached" then lay for another two or three months in the backyard of the transit point, and then was buried. Where - is still unknown.

The disgraced poet had long since become an unofficial symbol of the city, where he was destined to die a cruel and unsightly death. Today, the military unit of the Pacific Fleet is in place of the Vladpiperpot. But there are no memorable signs about the last days of Mandelstam, and other artifacts of the Stalin era. Somehow it is not accepted. Unless the harsh appearance of the buildings themselves is reminiscent of the time that the poet called the "wolfhound age".
November 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Владивосток: последняя пристань Поэта...

На поэтическом митинге во Владивостоке в честь 125-летия Осипа Мандельштама, китайские студенты читали его стихи. Один из них признался корреспонденту “ER”, что Мандельштам для него - «самый русский поэт...»

15 января исполнилось 125 лет со дня рождения поэта Осипа Мандельштама, одного из самых ярких представителей русского литературного «Серебряного века».

Владивосток: последняя пристань Поэта...
Он — будучи в статусе заключенного по пресловутой 58-статье (контрреволюционная деятельность) — погиб от голода и физического истощения 78 лет назад на пересыльном пункте Гулага во Владивостоке. Точное место его захоронения до сих пор неизвестно. Такова была жестокая расплата за несколько поэтических строк про «кремлевского горца», рисующих в неприглядном свете «отца всех народов» Иосифа Сталина.

Не смотря на лютый мороз и пронизывающий ветер в полдень в сквере Владивостокского государственного университета экономики и сервиса (ВГУЭС) 15 января было довольно-таки многолюдно. Возле памятника Осипу Мандельштаму в день его 125-летия горожане, ценители литературного творчества, собрались на поэтический митинг. Организаторам выступили преподаватели, сотрудники и студенты Университета, неравнодушные к истории и литературе.

Люди несли к памятнику цветы, читали, стоя возле него, строчки из Мандельштама, пели песни, написанные на его стихи. Среди выступающих были и иностранцы. Особенно трогательно и проникновенно прозвучало на ломаном русском языке: «Я вернулся в мой город, знакомый до слез, до прожилок, до детских припухлых желез...». Это читал Сунь Юн Фунг, 20-летний студент китайский студент, обучающийся лингвистике в Институте иностранных языков ВГУЭС, уроженец соседней с Приморьем китайской провинции Цзилинь (всего во ВГУЭСе учится около 600 студентов из стран Юго-Восточной Азии).

После того, как Сунь Юн Фунг закончил декламировать я подошел к нему и, деликатно подбирая слова, спросил: «Откуда в юноше, воспитанном в стране с коммунистической идеологией такая любовь к творчеству поэта, который считался в Советском Союзе, мягко говоря, противником этой идеологии»?

«Мандельштам для меня — самый русский поэт. Он находит такие слова и образы, которые задевают самые глубокие чувства в человеческой душе. Это вообще свойственно русской литературе. Но Мандельштаму в особенности — так мне кажется», — ответил китайский студент.

После поэтического митинга была экскурсия к тому месту, в северной части города, где в 30-е годы находился Владивостокский пересыльный пункт, предназначенный для временного пребывания тех заключенных, которым потом предстояло отправится — в тесных, жутко переполненных корабельных трюмах — на Колыму, крайний север.

Мандельштам такой участи избежал, так как уже во Владивостоке был признан «доходягой», обреченным на смерть. Он умер в последних числах декабря 1938 года. Его тело с сотнями других тел таких же «доходяг» потом лежало еще два-три месяца на задворках пересыльного пункта, а потом было похоронено. Где — до сих пор неизвестно.

Опальный поэт давно уже стал неофициальным символом города, где ему было уготовано судьбой умереть жестокой и неприглядной смертью. На месте Владперпункта сегодня находится военная часть Тихоокеанского флота. Но никаких памятных знаков о последних днях Мандельштама, да и прочих артефактов сталинской эпохи здесь не содержится. Как-то не принято. Разве что суровый облик самих построек напоминает о том времени, которое поэт назвал «век-волкодав».