Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

There are more questions than answers

EEU and Vietnam signed an agreement on the creation of a free trade zone

29 May 2015, the EEA member countries and Vietnam signed an agreement on the creation of the first free trade area (FTA) in the history of the Eurasian Union. Despite the significance of this event, from the point of view of the technical component of the document creating the FTA, there are still many questions for further elaboration, and the time for implementation of the tasks set and achievement of the necessary quantitative indicators of trade is of the order of 10-15 years. What is special about this document? What do its components look like? The situation is commented on by Vladimir Mazyrin, Doctor of Economics, head of the Center for the Study of Vietnam and ASEAN of the IFES RAS, an expert of the INF.

There are more questions than answers
- Why is the conclusion of a free trade zone with the EAEU interesting for Vietnam?
- International integration became the main slogan of Vietnam's foreign economic policy. In accordance with this strategy, Vietnam seeks to participate in all formats of free trade that are only accessible to it. In this respect, Vietnam already has vast experience. He has several dozens of similar free trade agreements, the latter was concluded with South Korea on the eve of the establishment of an FTA with the EAEC. In this respect for Russia, this experience is very useful and interesting.
There are certain contradictions here. For example, the participation of Vietnam in the free trade zone with the EU and the Eurasian Economic Union at the same time can be difficult, because technical barriers are different, and it is extremely difficult to adjust their products and certificates for the two sets of requirements. Of course, Vietnam seeks to get preferential access to a new wide market, and this is not only Russia, but also the countries of the Eurasian Union - about 180 million people. Moreover, if with Russia against the background of the other members of the union, the volume of trade is significant enough (although it is ten times inferior to trade with the United States), then with the rest of the member countries of the union, the trade is extremely small.
Vietnam received additional benefits and incentives for trade with a number of EAEU member countries that are not part of the WTO, as their markets Vietnamese goods were subject to higher duties than those determined by the preferential rates of the WTO. The FTA is the format of the WTO +, that is, here the entrance barriers are even lower than in the WTO. Therefore, adding similar partners to Russia in the common market, Vietnam receives a double benefit. The same can be said about the movement of goods in the opposite direction. In this sense, such countries as Kazakhstan have an additional interest in getting a duty-free or preferential access to the Vietnamese market.

- How will the mutual opening of the markets take place?

- In general, the opening of markets has happened: the transition to free trade in goods has begun. By signing the agreement, the parties have already decided on the schedule of liberalization and the coverage of commodity items. There is a formal boundary - the parties must ratify the agreement, and after 60 days after that it will enter into force. In Vietnam, the summer session of the National Assembly has begun, and ratification may occur soon enough, within the next couple of months. As for the member countries of the Eurasian Union, the situation is less clear here, but I don’t see any reason to delay ratification with an interest in creating an FTA.
The speed of liberalization is determined by the principle that works in many FTAs ​​and, in particular, in the mentioned agreement of Vietnam with South Korea. Time is given for the coordination of mutual requirements for certification and the quality of individual goods, temporary exceptions for positions that are recognized as sensitive to remove them in a certain agreed period - from 10 to 15 years.

- What issues remained unresolved during the negotiations on this agreement?
- From the world experience and statements made by the Russian authorized bodies and the Eurasian Economic Commission, it follows that the FTZ being created is a new format of agreements, which is of a complex nature. It provides for not only trade in goods, but also services, mutual investments, movement of labor, exchange of technologies and information. Initially, it was assumed that the relations of the participants in these forms will be codified. However, the signed document agrees exclusively with the trade in goods. As the experts - participants in the talks explain, there was not enough time to agree on the remaining forms of interaction due to the recent accession of two new members - Armenia and Kyrgyzstan - to the EEMP.
Russia and Vietnam separately to this agreement signed protocols on the conditions for the liberalization of trade in services and investments, again leaving behind the exchange of labor. The issue of admitting Vietnamese labor to the Russian market is very sensitive, to solve it, in essence, it is necessary to change the entire migration policy of the Russian Federation, which is unlikely. It is important that the FTA agreement provided for the possibility of joining the rest of the Union member countries to this protocol later. While the agreement is limited, but it will be supplemented and refined in the future.

- What products were on the list of exceptions? What products will be on the Russian market? Is there a demand for these products?
- The range of goods exported by Vietnam to the Russian Federation is unlikely to change significantly, volumes should grow, but not in all positions. Of the 100% of the entire product mix, not only Russian, but also of other member countries of the union, 12% fell into the list of exemptions, respectively, on 88% the duty is zeroed or reduced sharply. Now the weighted average tariff (customs duty) on Vietnamese goods is approximately 10%, and in 2025 there will be 1%. Laid a decent time during which the barriers will be reduced.
Also the principle of quoting is applied. In addition to sensitive goods, which do not reduce duty, there are exempted goods that can only be imported in limited quantities. This is a very interesting device, allowing, on the one hand, to give preferences, and on the other hand, to protect the industries of national production. In this case, the duty-free supply of Vietnamese rice in the amount of 10 thousand tons annually is just one ship lot. Any excess of a given amount will be subject to a normal duty. In the Russian market, such a volume of imports can not change the situation, but it stimulates purchases of basic Vietnamese products.
In the list of such sensitive exceptions, a whole range of goods, including outerwear, coffee and tea, which have a high demand in the Russian market, fell into the list. The SRV also provides for postponing the reduction of customs duties on imports of a number of goods of the member countries of the EAEC. For example, Russia very much sought to reduce duties on car kits, since during the visit of Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev in April of 2015 in Hanoi, the assembly of an assembly plant in Vietnam of a number of Russian cars was agreed upon. However, we will receive a zero fee for these kits only in 10 years. The current duty is more than 70%, i.е. It is actually prohibitive.

- Will the structure of bilateral Russian-Vietnamese trade change with the conclusion of an FTA?

- Before answering this question, it is necessary to make a very important remark. The current understanding of the structure of mutual supplies has become obsolete. The structure of trade has already changed greatly in the unfavorable for Russia side. Russia ceased to supply machines and equipment to Vietnam in the volumes and proportions that had been before, and almost completely switched over to the raw materials and products of the first industrial redistribution. Vietnam instead of mainly agricultural raw materials and seafood began to supply Russia with high-tech products: two thirds of our imports from Vietnam today is microelectronics.
I hope that the reduction of barriers to Russian manufactured goods will help them to be sold successfully in the Vietnamese market, where their competitors are Japanese, South Korean and Chinese enterprises, which this market has already seized.

- Which Russian and Vietnamese industries may come under attack, if this is possible, and will the governments of the two countries help them?
- I believe that such a scenario is unlikely, because the necessary measures are taken to protect the parties' national interests. Russian experts have expressed fears that if the export of Vietnamese rice or clothing becomes completely free, then the corresponding production in the Russian Federation, for example, rice in the Krasnodar Territory, will become unprofitable. Therefore, reasonable delimitations were made.
Vietnam, in turn, also included such items in the lists of sensitive goods, for example, rolled steel. Ten years ago, Vietnam bought it from Russia in huge batches. Since then, import substitution has gone so far in this product category that Vietnam has turned from a net importer of steel products into an exporter and sells over 1,5 million tons of steel to foreign markets.
January 22: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Вопросов больше, чем ответов

ЕАЭС и Вьетнам подписали соглашение о создании зоны свободной торговли

29 мая 2015 года страны-члены ЕАЭС и Вьетнам подписали соглашение о создании первой зоны свободной торговли (ЗСТ) в истории существования Евразийского союза. Несмотря на значимость данного события, с точки зрения технической составляющей документа, создающего ЗСТ, осталось еще много вопросов для дальнейшей проработки, а время на реализацию поставленных задач и достижение необходимых количественных показателей торговли составляет порядка 10-15 лет. В чем особенность данного документа? Как выглядят его составляющие? Ситуацию комментирует Владимир Мазырин, д.э.н., руководитель Центра изучения Вьетнама и АСЕАН ИДВ РАН, эксперт РСМД.

Вопросов больше, чем ответов
– Почему для Вьетнама заключение зоны свободной торговли с ЕАЭС представляется интересным?
– Главным лозунгом внешнеэкономической политики Вьетнама стала международная интеграция. В соответствии с этой стратегией Вьетнам стремится участвовать во всех форматах свободной торговли, которые только ему доступны. В этом отношении Вьетнам уже имеет огромный опыт. У него несколько десятков подобных соглашений о свободной торговле, последнее было заключено с Южной Кореей накануне создания ЗСТ с ЕАЭС. В этом отношении для России подобный опыт очень полезен и интересен.
Здесь есть определенные противоречия. Например, участие Вьетнама в зоне свободной торговли с ЕС и с Евразийским экономическим союзом одновременно может быть затруднительным, потому что технические барьеры разнятся, и подстраивать свою продукцию и сертификаты под два пакета требований крайне сложно. Безусловно, Вьетнам стремится получить преференциальный выход на новый широкий рынок, а это не только Россия, но и страны-члены Евразийского союза – около 180 миллионов человек. Причем если с Россией на фоне остальных членов союза объем торговли достаточно весомый (хотя он в десять раз уступает товарообороту с США), то с остальными странами-членами союза товарооборот крайне мал.
Вьетнам получил дополнительные выгоды и стимулы для торговли с рядом стран-членов ЕАЭС, которые не входят в ВТО, так как на их рынках вьетнамские товары облагались более высокими пошлинами, чем те, что определены преференциальными ставками ВТО. ЗСТ – это формат ВТО+, то есть здесь входные барьеры еще ниже, чем в ВТО. Поэтому добавляя к России подобных партнеров на общем рынке, Вьетнам получает двойную выгоду. То же можно сказать о движении товаров в обратную сторону. В этом смысле у таких стран, как Казахстан, есть дополнительный интерес получить беспошлинный или льготный выход на вьетнамский рынок.

– Как будет проходить взаимное открытие рынков?

– В целом, открытие рынков произошло: начался переход к свободной торговле товарами. Подписывая соглашение, стороны уже определились с графиком либерализации и с охватом товарных позиций. Существует формальный рубеж – стороны должны ратифицировать соглашение, и через 60 дней после этого оно вступит в силу. Во Вьетнаме началась летняя сессия Национального собрания, и ратификация может произойти достаточно скоро, в течение ближайшей пары месяцев. Что касается стран-членов Евразийского союза, то здесь ситуация менее ясная, но причин затягивать ратификацию при заинтересованности в создании ЗСТ я не вижу.
Быстрота либерализации обусловлена принципом, который работает во многих ЗСТ и, в частности, в упомянутом соглашении Вьетнама с Южной Кореей. Предоставляется время на согласование обоюдных требований по сертификации и качеству отдельных товаров, временных исключений по позициям, которые признаются чувствительными, чтобы снять их в через определенный согласованный срок – от 10 до 15 лет.

– Какие вопросы остались нерешенными в ходе переговоров по данному соглашению?
– Из имеющегося мирового опыта и заявлений, сделанных российскими уполномоченными органами и Евразийской экономической комиссией, следовало, что создаваемая ЗСТ – это новый формат соглашений, который носит комплексный характер. Он предусматривает не только торговлю товарами, но и услугами, взаимные инвестиции, передвижение рабочей силы, обмен технологиями и информацией. Изначально предполагалось, что отношения участников именно в этих формах и будут кодифицированы. Однако подписанный документ согласовывает исключительно торговлю товарами. Как объясняют эксперты – участники переговоров, не хватило времени согласовать остальные формы взаимодействия из-за недавнего вступления двух новых членов – Армении и Киргизии – в ЕАЭС.
Россия и Вьетнам отдельно к этому соглашению подписали протоколы об условиях либерализации торговли услугами и инвестициях, опять оставив за рамками обмен рабочей силой. Вопрос допуска вьетнамской рабочей силы на российский рынок очень чувствительный, для его решения, по сути, требуется изменить всю миграционную политику РФ, что маловероятно. Важно, что соглашение о ЗСТ предусмотрело возможность присоединения остальных стран-членов союза к этому протоколу позднее. Пока соглашение носит ограниченный характер, но оно будет дополняться и дорабатываться в будущем.

– Какие товары оказались в списке исключений? Какие товары окажутся на российском рынке? Есть ли спрос на эти товары?
– Номенклатура товаров, экспортируемых СРВ в РФ, вряд ли заметно изменится, должны вырасти объемы, но не по всем позициям. Из 100% всей товарной номенклатуры, не только российской, но и других стран-членов союза, 12% попали в список изъятий, соответственно на 88% пошлина обнуляется или снижается резко. Сейчас средневзвешенный тариф (таможенная пошлина) на вьетнамские товары – примерно 10%, а в 2025 году будет 1%. Заложен приличный срок, в течение которого барьеры будут снижены.
Также применен принцип квотирования. Помимо чувствительных товаров, на которые не снижается пошлина, есть освобожденные от налогообложения товары, которые можно ввозить только в ограниченных количествах. Это очень интересный прием, позволяющий, с одной стороны, давать преференции, а с другой стороны, защищать отрасли национального производства. В данном случае оговорены беспошлинные поставки вьетнамского риса в размере 10 тыс. тонн ежегодно – это всего лишь одна судовая партия. Любое превышение заданного объема будет облагаться обычной пошлиной. На российском рынке такой объем импорта не может изменить ситуацию, но стимулирует закупки основной вьетнамской продукции.
В список таких чувствительных исключений попал целый ряд товаров, в том числе предметы верхней одежды, кофе и чай, которые имеют высокий спрос на российском рынке. В СРВ также предусмотрены отсрочки снижения таможенных пошлин на импорт ряда товаров стран-членов ЕАЭС. Например, Россия очень добивалась снижения пошлин на машинокомплекты, поскольку во время визита премьера Д. Медведева в апреле 2015 года в Ханой было согласовано развертывание сборочного производства во Вьетнаме ряда российских автомобилей. Однако нулевую пошлину мы получим на эти комплекты только через 10 лет. Нынешняя пошлина составляет более 70%, т.е. она фактически запретительная.

– Изменится ли структура двусторонней российско-вьетнамской торговли с заключением ЗСТ?

– Прежде чем отвечать на этот вопрос, надо сделать очень важную ремарку. Сложившиеся представления о структуре взаимных поставок устарели. Структура торговли уже сильно изменилась в неблагоприятную для России сторону. Россия перестала поставлять во Вьетнам машины и оборудование в тех объемах и пропорциях, которые были раньше, и почти целиком перешла на сырье и продукцию первого промышленного передела. Вьетнам же вместо преимущественно сельскохозяйственного сырья и морепродуктов стал поставлять России уже высокотехнологичные товары: две трети нашего импорта из СРВ сегодня составляет микроэлектроника.
Я надеюсь, что снижение барьеров на российские промышленные товары поможет им успешнее продаваться на вьетнамском рынке, где их конкурентами являются японские, южнокорейские и китайские предприятия, которые этот рынок уже захватили.

– Какие российские и вьетнамские отрасли могут оказаться под ударом, если такое возможно, и станут ли правительства двух стран им помогать?
– Я полагаю, что такой сценарий маловероятен, потому что необходимые меры приняты, чтобы стороны защитили свои национальные интересы. Российские эксперты высказывали опасения, что если экспорт вьетнамского риса или одежды станет полностью свободным, то соответствующие производства в РФ, например, риса в Краснодарском крае, станут нерентабельными. Поэтому и были приняты разумные отграничения.
Вьетнам, в свою очередь, тоже включил в списки чувствительных товаров такие позиции, например, стальной прокат. Десять лет назад Вьетнам закупал его у России огромными партиями. С тех пор импортозамещение зашло настолько далеко по этой товарной категории, что Вьетнам из чистого импортера стальной продукции превратился уже в экспортера и продает свыше 1,5 млн т стали на внешние рынки.