Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Bribery is important for the Korean economy

Bribery is important for the Korean economy

Konstantin Asmolov

Leading Researcher, Center for Korean Studies, Institute of Far Eastern Studies, Russian Academy of Sciences

Konstantin Asmolov, Leading Researcher, Center for Korean Studies, Institute of Far Eastern Studies, Russian Academy of Sciences:

- In Korea, the fight against corruption is a more complex and more ideological process than it seems. What is the reason for this? Partly with the role of an official in traditional Korea. Small officials received a small salary and in many respects lived at the expense of extortions from the population. Therefore, the unrest was not directed against the system as a whole, but against a specific corrupt official. Usually, a standard peasant uprising took place like this: an official brought people to a "white heat", the people gathered, killed this official - and waited for a pardon, since they considered themselves to have restored justice. The state stated that evidence of the official's incompetence was provided and only those who directly killed him would be executed, and a new one would be sent to him in return.

The level of corruption in feudal Korea was quite high, and I have to admit that this was one of the reasons for the failure of Korean modernization in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, especially after the yard actually dispersed all the "progressists". An unpleasant element of Japanese enslavement of Korea was that the Japanese successfully loaned Korea loans on extremely unfavorable conditions for the country, while 80% of this money was plundered by court cliques. After that, the Japanese declared that the Korean ruling regime was incapacitated and insolvent. Despite the active mass movements, including the movement to pay Japan's Korean foreign debt (Koreans gave their money and jewelry), in 1905 Korea was imposed a protectorate.

In fact, such corrupt lawlessness continued in the Republic of Korea under Lee Seung Man. In particular, the last mayor of Seoul under Lee Seung Mang had the nickname "10 percent." Some officials have a similar amount of rollback reached 30%. All attempts to do something in this area during the First (1948-1960's. - EastRussia.ru) and Second (1960-61's. - EastRussia.ru) Of the republic ended in failure. The Americans limited themselves to the answer "maybe you'll just steal less?" - even in a situation where they did not particularly try to steal.

Then came Pak Jung He who became the author of the "Korean economic miracle" and led a rather tough fight against organized crime and corruption. Although Pak himself was a fairly modest man, many of his associates periodically came across serious corruption scandals. Later, approximately since the moment when the power was handed over from the hands of the military to civilians (1986-86 - EastRussia.ru) And at the helm was a democratic government, the fight against corruption became an integral part of the Korean political landscape.

The fact is that fighting corruption is a fairly standard method of political struggle. Almost any official or politician is able to excel in corruption - the question is only in its scale. Many politicians who declared their non-involvement in corruption, eventually found themselves embroiled in corruption scandals - either themselves, or with the participation of members of their family. For example - the son of Kim Yong Sam (President of the Republic of Korea with 1993 for 1998 - EastRussia.ru). A number of corruption scandals occurred in the rule of No Moo Hyun (President of the Republic of Korea with 2003 for 2008 - EastRussia.ru), Which resulted in the bringing to the suicide of the guilty officials. But Mu Hyun also committed suicide in 2009, which in the Far Eastern tradition erases all charges against him and his family, since he actually washed them away with blood.

South Korea - Confucian Society. At the same time, informal connections play a big role here. A significant number of South Korean corruption schemes are not bribes in monetary terms, but the constant payment of bills of a certain official and gifts to him from, say, a businessman. Thus, he binds an official with peculiar moral obligations, and when he comes to him with a request, he does not have the moral right to refuse. One of the corruption scandals was connected with the fact that the president’s son traveled with a group of businessmen who paid all his bills.

It is curious that in Russia the attention of the investigation and public censure is directed at the bribe-giver, while in Korea the bribe-taker receives more "stones in his garden". In some particularly large corruption scandals, businessmen were almost excused from responsibility because they were too important for the development of the economy.

It was in the order of things that the press presented the people accused of corruption as criminals, and when the suspects were called by the investigators, the case was presented as if they were guilty and looking for evidence was only a matter of time. This is due to developed regionalism and the existence of a “recruitment of officials”. The new president or the head of the structure of lower rank, who comes to a new place, brings with them new people - largely due to loyalty considerations. Since jobs need to be vacated, it is not difficult to find what can be considered a crime of corruption using a personal communication system.

They tried to fight against such corruption in different ways, including focusing on moral motivation, namely the introduction of codes of ethics for officials - to report on gifts or limit their size. However, it cannot be said that this method is effective: a system in which “they are judged not for being stolen, but for being caught” actually operates to this day.

The material was prepared on the basis of a report from the round table of the Higher School of Economics "The cultural perception of corruption in North and South Korea».

February 25: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Взяткодатели важны для корейской экономики

Взяткодатели важны для корейской экономики

Константин Асмолов

Ведущий научный сотрудник Центра Корейских исследований Института Дальнего Востока РАН

Константин Асмолов, Ведущий научный сотрудник Центра Корейских исследований Института Дальнего Востока РАН:

- В Корее борьба с коррупцией процесс более сложный и более идеологизированный, чем кажется. С чем это связано? Отчасти - с ролью чиновника в традиционной Корее. Мелкие чиновники получали малое жалование и во многом жили за счет поборов с населения. Поэтому волнения были направлены не против системы в целом, а против конкретного коррупционера. Обычно стандартное крестьянское восстание проходило так: чиновник доводил людей до «белого каления», народ собирался, убивал этого чиновника – и ждал помилования, поскольку считал себя восстановившим справедливость. Государство заявляло, что доказательства некомпетентности чиновника предоставлены и будут казнены только те, кто непосредственно его убивал, а взамен ему будет прислан новый.

Уровень коррупции в феодальной Корее был довольно высок, и я вынужден констатировать, что это стало одной из причин провала корейской модернизации в конце XIX-начале XX века, особенно после того, как двор фактически разогнал всех «прогрессистов». Неприятным элементом японского закабаления Кореи явилось то, что японцы благополучно выдавали Корее денежные займы на крайне невыгодных для страны условиях, при том что 80% этих денег было разворовано придворными кликами. После этого японцы заявляли, что корейский правящий режим недееспособен и неплатежеспособен. Несмотря на активные массовые движения, в том числе движение по выплате Японии корейского внешнего долга (корейцы сдавали свои деньги и украшения), в 1905 году Корее был навязан протекторат.

По сути дела, подобный коррупционный беспредел продолжался и в Республике Корея при Ли Сын Мане. В частности, последний мэр Сеула при Ли Сын Мане имел прозвище «10 процентов». У некоторых чиновников подобная сумма отката доходила до 30%. Все попытки что-то сделать в этой сфере во время Первой (1948-1960 гг. – EastRussia.ru) и Второй (1960-61 гг. – EastRussia.ru) республики заканчивались провалом. Американцы ограничивались ответом «может, вы просто будете меньше воровать?» – даже в той ситуации, когда особенно воровать не пытались.

Затем к власти пришел Пак Чон Хи, который стал автором «корейского экономического чуда» и повел довольно жесткую борьбу с организованной преступностью и коррупцией. Хотя сам Пак был человеком изрядно скромным, многие его соратники периодически попадались на серьезных коррупционных скандалах. Позже, примерно начиная с того момента, когда власть из рук военных была передана в руки гражданских (1986-86 гг. – EastRussia.ru) и у руля оказалось демократическое правительство, борьба с коррупцией стала неотъемлемой составляющей корейского политического ландшафта.

Дело в том, что борьба с коррупцией – довольно стандартный метод политической борьбы. Уличить в коррупции можно почти любого чиновника или политика – вопрос заключается лишь в ее масштабе. Многие политические деятели, которые заявляли о своей непричастности к коррупции, в итоге оказывались втянуты в коррупционные скандалы – или сами, или с участием членов их семьи. Например – сын Ким Ен Сама (президент республики Корея с 1993 по 1998 гг. – EastRussia.ru). Несколько коррупционных скандалов произошло и в правление Но Му Хёна (президент республики Корея с 2003 по 2008 гг. – EastRussia.ru), закончившихся доведением до самоубийства провинившихся чиновников. Но Му Хён также покончил жизнь самоубийством в 2009 году, что в дальневосточной традиции перечеркивает все обвинения против него и его семьи, так как он фактически смыл их кровью.

Южная Корея – общество конфуцианское. При этом большую роль здесь играют неформальные связи. Значительное количество южнокорейских коррупционных схем – это не взятки в денежном эквиваленте, а постоянная оплата счетов определенного чиновника и подарки ему со стороны, скажем, бизнесмена. Таким образом, он связывает чиновника своеобразными моральными обязательствами, и когда приходит к нему с просьбой, тот не имеет морального права отказать. Один из коррупционных скандалов был связан именно с тем, что сын президента путешествовал с группой бизнесменов, которые оплачивали все его счета.

Любопытно, что в России внимание следствия и общественное порицание направлены на взяткодателя, в Корее же больше "камней в свой огород" получает взяткополучатель. В случаях некоторых особо крупных коррупционных скандалов бизнесменов почти освобождали от ответственности, поскольку они слишком важны для развития экономики.

В порядке вещей было то, что пресса представляла обвиненных в коррупции уже как преступников, а когда подозреваемые вызывались следователями, дело преподносилось так, будто они виновны и поиск доказательств – только вопрос времени. Это связано с развитым регионализмом и существованием «рекрутского набора чиновников». Новый президент или руководитель структуры рангом ниже, приходящий на новое место, приводит с собой и новых людей – во многом из-за соображений лояльности. Так как рабочие места нужно освобождать, найти то, что можно посчитать коррупционным преступлением, используя систему персональных связей, не представляется сложным.

Бороться с подобной коррупцией пытались по-разному, в том числе делая упор на моральную мотивацию, а именно введением кодексов этики для чиновников – рапортовать о подарках или ограничивать их размеры. Однако нельзя сказать, что этот способ эффективен: по сей день фактически действует система, в которой «судят не за то, что воруют, а за то, что попадаются».

Материал подготовлен на основе отчета с круглого стола НИУ ВШЭ «Культурное восприятие коррупции в Северной и Южной Корее».