Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Japan - insurance for Russia from excessive orientation to the West

Japan - insurance for Russia from excessive orientation to the West

Daria Senina

Research Fellow, Center for Japanese Studies, Far East Institute, FAO

Daria Senina, Research Fellow, Center for Japan Research, Far East Institute FANO:

- The VI Russian-Japanese Investment Forum held in Tokyo demonstrated two important features of economic relations between our countries.

First, it is necessary to share the position of Japanese business and Japanese political circles, which rely on the choice of a policy course for the US position. Businessmen of Japan, on the contrary, are inclined to constructive cooperation. This is largely due to protracted deflationary processes in the Japanese economy, which are pushing large companies to transfer production abroad. The main reason for this strategy has long been not to save labor costs. The deflationary processes are characterized by the fact that the invested money becomes more expensive for the entrepreneur over time. Therefore, Japanese business is trying to transfer production sites outside the country, and no longer to China, but to Vietnam and India. Russia can become a new donor of direct investment from Japan.

Secondly, mutual interest can become for Russia insurance against excessive orientation to the West, which puts our economy under attack with the possible introduction of sanctions. Therefore, it would be appropriate to diversify our economic contacts and channels in the light of developments in Ukraine. Perhaps Japan will become one of the few countries that will refrain from applying economic sanctions against Russia.

It should be noted that a number of Russian officials (and the head of the Bank of Russia E. Nabiullina as well) acknowledge that the GDP growth rate in 2014 will not exceed 1%. This suggests that the Russian economy is waiting for difficult times. In this situation, foreign investments are especially needed, which become an additional source of capital investment in production and trade, and do not place a burden on the country's budget or increase its external debt. Foreign direct investment from Japan also contributes to the transfer of high technology, which is especially important for Russia, which has taken the path of innovative development.

It is very important to note that the forum discussed cooperation not only in energy projects, but also the possible implementation of bilateral cooperation in the automotive industry and auxiliary industries, regional cooperation, agriculture and food industry, medicine and pharmaceuticals, special economic zones, small and medium-sized enterprises . The Japanese side voiced interesting proposals and projects related to the town planning and industrial parks, where its experience is unique and extremely useful for our country. In Russia, this will help solve the problem of single-industry towns and the restructuring of urban infrastructure.

I think that Japanese direct investment, accumulated experience in the field of high technologies and integrated solutions would be very useful for our country.



September 25: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Япония – страховка для России от чрезмерной ориентации на Запад

Япония – страховка для России от чрезмерной ориентации на Запад

Дарья Сенина

Научный сотрудник Центра исследований Японии Института Дальнего Востока ФАНО

Дарья Сенина, Научный сотрудник Центра исследований Японии Института Дальнего Востока ФАНО:

- Прошедший в Токио VI Российско-Японский инвестиционный форум продемонстрировал две важные особенности экономических взаимоотношений между нашими странами.

Во-первых, следует разделять позицию японского бизнеса и японских политических кругов, которые опираются в выборе политического курса на позицию США. Бизнесмены Японии, напротив, настроены на конструктивное сотрудничество. Это во многом вызвано затяжными дефляционными процессами в японской экономике, которые подталкивают крупные компании к переносу производства за рубеж. Главной причиной данной стратегии уже давно не является экономия затрат на труд. Дефляционные процессы характеризуются тем, что вложенные деньги становятся для предпринимателя дороже с течением времени. Поэтому японский бизнес старается переносить производственные площадки за пределы страны, и уже не в Китай, а во Вьетнам и Индию. Россия может стать новым донором прямых инвестиций из Японии.

Во-вторых, взаимный интерес может стать для России страховкой от чрезмерной ориентации на Запад, что ставит нашу экономику под удар при возможном введении санкций. Следовательно, было бы уместно диверсифицировать наши экономические контакты и каналы в свете событий на Украине. Возможно, Япония станет одной из немногих стран, которые воздержатся от применения экономических санкций в отношении России.

Следует отметить, что ряд российских чиновников (и глава Банка России Э.Набиуллина в том числе) признают, что темпы роста ВВП в 2014 году составят не более 1%. Это говорит о том, что российскую экономику ждут непростые времена. В такой ситуации особенно необходимы иностранные инвестиции, которые становятся дополнительным источником капитальных вложений в производство и торговлю, а также не ложатся бременем на бюджет страны и не увеличивают ее внешний долг. Прямые иностранные инвестиции из Японии также способствуют передаче высоких технологий, что особенно важно для России, которая встала на путь инновационного развития.

Очень важно отметить, что на форуме обсуждалось сотрудничество не только в энергетических проектах, но и возможная реализация двустороннего сотрудничества в области автомобильной промышленности и вспомогательных отраслей, регионального сотрудничества, сельского хозяйства и пищевой промышленности, медицины и фармацевтики, особых экономических зон, малого и среднего предпринимательства. Японская сторона озвучила интересные предложения и проекты, связанные с градоустройством и индустриальными парками, где ее опыт является уникальным и крайне полезным для нашей страны. В России это поможет решить проблему моногородов и реструктуризации городской инфраструктуры.

Думаю, что японские прямые инвестиции, накопленный опыт в области высоких технологий и комплексных решений был бы очень полезен для нашей страны.