Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

"We are waiting for you in the Far East"

Is it possible to negotiate with the famous Far Eastern vile

"We are waiting for you in the Far East"
Photo: Instagram anastasiagav_

In the Primorsky Territory, on the banks of a mountain river, from the first seconds mosquitoes “eat” a person in the bite with repellents. The same story with the lotus lake in the Khabarovsk Territory, with Kamchatka geysers and with the Chukchi berry tundra. And from Yakutia they’re generally taking photos of people strewn with blood-sucking enemies. Out of almost seven million km² of Far Eastern territory, there is no infamous * on the individual Arctic islands of Chukotka. How to reconcile with mosquitoes, midges, horseflies and their relatives? Advice is given by foresters, tourists and scientists who spend half their lives in the fields.

Gnus * - a set of blood-sucking diptera (Diptera) insects: mosquitoes, midges, midges, mosquitoes, horseflies and autumn livers. In total, in the Far East, according to the laboratory of animal ecology of the Institute of Water and Environmental Problems, Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, there are about 25 species. Gnus is most common in the tundra and forests, especially numerous in open low-flowing water bodies, in swamps and around them, since the larvae and pupae of most of these insects develop in water. Females need blood as a source of protein to produce prolific offspring.

CRAFT "LAT"

Lusine Ignatova is an organizer of trips along the Primorsky and Khabarovsk Territories, an experienced fighter with a “beast”, whom no less than bears and tigers fear in the taiga. For five years, she tried the entire available arsenal of insect repellents and recognized their poor effectiveness. Even repellents with a high content of diethyltoluamide (DETA) are only able to delay, but not cancel the “date” with midges and mosquitoes.


“On one of the mosquito rides there was a wild amount. Around a black cloud, they bite you from all sides, although you are dressed from head to toe. In warm time, I walked in a raincoat, like in a raincoat, so that they wouldn’t bite, ”says Lyusine Ignatova. - And from the midge I sewed a special thing from a very fine mesh with a hood and a lock, which is worn over the cap and all things. This is my anti-skit suit. When twilight falls, the midge ceases to fly and bite. Mosquitoes also disappear, but they live longer, and this is worse than mosquitoes because they can bite through my “armor”, thick clothes, and pants. And there are horseflies: they bite painfully, managing to bite even construction gloves and tight hiking pants! Gnus attacks and gnaws pieces of skin. When they are critically large, nothing helps. But there is a trick: when you are sweating, they stick around you very much, because they are attracted to the smell, and when you plunge into the river, quickly dressed, they “hammer” a little less. My advice is to completely shut off the body in any weather. ”


You can mask the smell of sweat with a weak vinegar solution diluted with water. You can also solve the "vile" problem in the store fisherman-hunter. Mosquito “breathing” suits with cuffs are produced for adults and children.

METHOD NOT FOR AESTHETES

“Do you like to swim - love and feed mosquitoes.
Do you like to ride in the pole - love and feed mosquitoes.
Do you like to go to the forest for berries - love to feed mosquitoes.
Do you like to walk around the city in the evening - love to feed mosquitoes.
Do you like to walk in the park - love to feed mosquitoes.
Not a single day of summer can do without them! ”, A resident of Yakutia writes on her Instagram page. Anastasia Gruzdeva. In the largest of the Far Eastern subjects, this horror flying on the wings of day and night is treated calmly. They even sunbathe, though without leaving their shelters.

In the midge season, the Yakut ethnographer Yuri Sleptsov recommends walking in an encephalitic suit and avoiding thick grass. Conventional fumigators and repellents, in his opinion, are enough for protection. But what if you are in the tundra, and the “ammunition” suddenly ended?


Photo by Lusine Ignatova

“Previously, smoke smokers were used in Yakut uluses, mullein or horse droppings were used,” says Yuri Sleptsov, a junior researcher at the Department of Archeology and Ethnography at the Institute for Humanitarian Studies of the Indigenous Peoples of the North. - According to the recipe, it must be dried. There is no need to dry specifically, this good is enough everywhere. There is no specific smell like fresh manure. If you go camping, it happens that you are forced to take several mullein. But this is in extreme cases, if there is no store nearby with creams, spirals or so on. Manure is suitable for everyone, and for a long-haired one, and for any ungulates. Or take the green branches of larch, or other conifers, and light them up. You can fan yourself as a fan. But coniferous smoke does not save for a long time, mullein is better. The main thing is to dress not in the dark: mosquitoes fly to it. When you are dressed in light, you can be seen from afar, you won’t get lost. ”


Photo by Yuri Sleptsov

“In May we have haar byrdah - snow mosquitoes, they come out of the snow, large. But they do not bite much, and disappear with warm days, ”continues Yuri Sleptsov. - And in the summer, little black ones appear. Here they are evil, they do not give the passage. You go into a pine forest, there are brown ones, there are even bees that look like bee-mosquitoes. It’s problematic for foreigners in our mosquito spots to even go to the toilet. And we are people accustomed to this matter. Although when I come to another region, on the contrary, they attack me: the guest has arrived! Fresh blood! ”

However, according to insect experts, a "snow mosquito" is not a mosquito at all, but a representative of another squad. Real blood enemies of people appear along with the first grass. From midges, which flies in Yakutia in late July - early August, traditional vanillin and cloves are used: they are bred with water and smeared with open areas.

“And there is an insect that is not well known to anyone other than foresters,” says Dmitry Kurenshchikov, senior researcher at the animal ecology laboratory at the Institute of Water and Environmental Problems, Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences. “This is a moose louse, also a dipteran insect that has been flattened by evolution.” This fly attacks in the fall on warm-blooded animals, including humans. She doesn’t stick, she just bites. It is interesting that when a moose louse finds a place to eat, it discards its wings - apparently for this ability it was called a louse. An unpleasant insect, I personally underwent attacks, then healed for a month and a half. Sometimes people confuse gadflies and horseflies, and so: gadgets bite only animals, and horseflies, which we have five species, also attack humans. ”



RESCUE GRASS

Kamchatka Evens and other small nations are saved from mosquitoes by larch. Green branches are burned on the street and in yarangs, clothes are saturated with coniferous smoke, which repels the vile. Fir or pine branches are also suitable.

“In addition, Evens consider that it is necessary to relax, comprehend Zen, and mosquitoes will lag behind,” says Khabarovsk Elena Khalipskaya. - The Evens in the village of Anavgay said: the more you think about them, the more they bite you. And honestly, this helped me for some time. When you are not confused every second, mosquitoes seem to really become smaller. And so we used a bunch of different means: ointments, and zhikalki, and expensive, and cheap - it is useless. "

“Still locals are saved by tansy grass,” Elena continues. - Take a twig, and fanning themselves around. Tansy has a sharp, characteristic smell of camphor, which not all people tolerate. This plant can be hung in a tent or in a house - and it will scare away insects. "


Tourism Specialist "Reserve Amur Region" Victor Matashov from the Khabarovsk Territory advises to get rid of buzzing with the help of wormwood, which is growing everywhere. Elderberry, pelargonium (geranium), eucalyptus extract or anise oil are also suitable.

“Wormwood can be hung in a tent inside and near the entrance. Women, I know, cut a long wormwood with a knife, weave a pigtail out of it and put it on a belt, ”Victor Matashov shares his observations. - Now I'm going to the Shantar Islands, there are no mosquitoes along the shore, but when you enter the realm of flowers and herbs, you become a caricature. One day my eyes narrowed from bites there, my face was swollen because whilst making our way along the bear’s tracks, I whipped myself all over. And once an American came to us, engaged in all kinds of extreme sports, so he said: "Take me to the most mosquito place so that I get high!" Well, he was taken to Mari on our ducts, he undressed almost naked and ran all night. Surprisingly, he liked it. ”


Photo by Andrey Sorokin on Instagram andrew5sorokin

If you have already been bitten, pharmacy creams “after an insect bite” or a weak solution of ammonia will help relieve itching and irritation. You can also take a hot bath.

“A scale of territory comfort by the number of vultures has been developed,” says entomologist Dmitry Kurenshchikov. - If a person has undergone two or three attacks per minute, this is normal, but if there are more than 30 attacks per minute, then such a place is considered absolutely uncomfortable for living. From an economic point of view, we get a decrease in working capacity in humans, and in cattle milk production is reduced. ”

Gnus

Mosquitoes perceive sounds generated by personal ultrasonic protective equipment. This is perhaps the only "stop word" that they understand. Most “tweeters” are produced in the form of trinkets, bracelets or watches with a regulator of the frequency of supply of sound waves. They work on batteries, some are charged from the network. The range is from 1,5 to 80 meters. It is important to wear such a keychain over clothes so that nothing interferes with sound waves. The problem with all devices of this kind is that there is no tangible evidence of their effectiveness.

“I usually take the buzzer, the ultrasonic mosquito repeller, I take it with me,” says a specialist in tourism at the Federal State Budgetary Institution "Reserve Amur" Victor Matashov. - I hear a little squeak published by him, it is like an ultrasound. The keychain does not scare away everyone, but some part tuned to this wave. For women, it would be possible to release an option with these "tweeters" in the form of jewelry, for example, ear clips. "In the left ear - a clip from mosquitoes, in the right - from midges."


Photo by George Basharin

To protect the campsite or summer cottage from the vile, industrial stationary devices are also used. These devices play on insect weaknesses: for example, mosquitoes fly to the human breath - the carbonic trap works on this principle. More expensive and powerful are propane devices. When this gas is oxidized, moisture and CO2 are formed, and both attract insects. There are models that attract mosquito swarms only with light (UV traps), heat or water. Of all these traps, mosquitoes have no move.

Some also consider floods as a means of combating bloodsuckers, believing that after a natural disaster, the vulture in the region will see less often for several years, as mosquitoes or their larvae have drowned. But this version does not hold water: insects breed just in water.


Photo by Yuri Sleptsov

“The simplest example: pour water on a barrel in the country, and after a while you will see there bending red mosquito larvae. They prefer stagnant water, ”explains Dmitry Kurenshchikov, senior researcher at the animal ecology laboratory at the Institute of Water and Environmental Problems, Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences. - Larvae of midges develop in running water - rivers, streams. This diptera insect has a phenological chord: it attacks when the fruiting of strawberries is underway. The standard cycle of peaks and declines in insect numbers is about seven years. The number of dipterans naturally limit fungal, bacterial and viral diseases, everything is in dynamic equilibrium. ”

People can be called "sponsors" of mosquito weddings, "donors" of the vile, but it happens and vice versa.

“At scientific meetings, we have the first toast for the organizers, and the second for our breadwinners, for the insects! They are links of the trophic chain. If insects disappear or are destroyed by humans, nature may eventually forget about the lost link, but this will be another biosphere, and it remains to be seen whether there is a place for humans in it. Now insects are food for spiders, dragonflies, small birds, frogs and so on. Recall the destruction of sparrows in China in the middle of the last century: it seems to have been done for the good, but the ecosystem has been disrupted, and it still has not come into equilibrium. And insects, even blood-sucking ones, are also beautiful. Look into the rainbow eyes of horseflies - you want to photograph and admire them, ”concludes the expert on insects.


Photo by Andrey Sorokin on Instagram andrew5soroki

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«Ждем вас на Дальнем Востоке»

Можно ли договориться со знаменитым дальневосточным гнусом

«Ждем вас на Дальнем Востоке»
Фото: Instagram anastasiagav_

В Приморском крае на берегах горной реки с первых секунд комары «поедают» человека вприкуску с репеллентами. Такая же история с озером лотосов в Хабаровском крае, с камчатскими гейзерами и с чукотской ягодной тундрой. А из Якутии вообще везут фото людей, усыпанных кровососущими недругами. Из почти семи млн км² дальневосточной территории гнуса* нет разве что на отдельных арктических островах Чукотки. Как примириться с комарами, мошкой, слепнями и их родственниками? Советы дают лесники, туристы и ученые, которые проводят в полях половину жизни.

Гнус* — совокупность кровососущих двукрылых (Diptera) насекомых: комаров, мошки, мокрецов, москитов, слепней и осенней жигалки. Всего на Дальнем Востоке, по данным лаборатории экологии животных Института водных и экологических проблем ДВО РАН, насчитывается около 25 видов. Гнус наиболее распространен в тундре и лесах, особенно многочислен у открытых слабопроточных водоемов, на болотах и вокруг них, поскольку личинки и куколки большинства этих насекомых развиваются в воде. Кровь нужна самкам как источник белка для получения плодовитого потомства.

КРАФТОВЫЕ «ЛАТЫ»

Люсине Игнатова — организатор походов по Приморскому и Хабаровскому краям, опытный боец со «зверем», которого в тайге боятся не меньше медведей и тигров. За пять лет она перепробовала весь доступный арсенал средств от насекомых и признала их слабую эффективность. Даже репелленты с высоким содержанием диэтилтолуамида (ДЭТА) способны лишь отсрочить, но не отменить «свидание» с мошкой и комарами.


«В одной из поездок комаров было дикое количество. Вокруг черная туча, тебя кусают со всех сторон, хотя ты одет с ног до головы. В теплое время я ходила в дождевике, как в плащ-палатке, чтобы не прокусывали, — рассказывает Люсине Игнатова. — А от мошки я сшила специальную штуку из очень мелкой сетки с капюшоном и замочком, которая надевается поверх кепки и всех вещей. Это мой антимошкариный костюм. Когда падают сумерки, мошка перестает летать и кусать. Комары тоже исчезают, но они дольше живут, и это напасть похлеще мошкары, потому что они способны прокусить и мои "доспехи", толстую одежду, и штаны. А еще есть слепни: они больно кусают, умудряясь прокусывать даже строительные перчатки и плотные походные штаны! Гнус нападает и выгрызает куски кожи. Когда их критически большое количество, не помогает ничего. Но есть хитрость: когда ты вспотевший, тебя облепляют очень сильно, потому что их привлекает запах, а когда окунулся в речку, быстро оделся, "долбят" немного меньше. Мой совет — тело закрывайте полностью, в любую погоду».


Замаскировать запах пота можно слабым, разведенным с водой раствором уксуса. Также решить «гнусную» проблему можно в магазине рыболов-охотник. Антимоскитные «дышащие» костюмы с манжетами выпускают для взрослых и детей.

МЕТОД НЕ ДЛЯ ЭСТЕТОВ

«Любишь купаться — люби и комаров кормить.
Любишь в полюшко ездить — люби и комаров кормить.
Любишь в лес за ягодами ходить — люби и комаров кормить.
Любишь вечерком по городу погулять — люби и комаров кормить.
Любишь в парке гулять — люби и комаров кормить. 
Без них не обходится ни один день лета!», — пишет на своей страничке в Instagram жительница Якутии Анастасия Груздева. В самом большом из дальневосточных субъектов к этому ужасу, летящему на крыльях дня и ночи, относятся хладнокровно. Даже загорают, правда, не покидая укрытия.       

В сезон мошки якутский этнограф Юрий Слепцов рекомендует гулять в энцефалитном костюме, и избегать густой травы. Обычных фумигаторов и репеллентов, на его взгляд, достаточно для защиты. Но что если ты в тундре, и «боеприпасы» вдруг закончилось?


Фото Люсине Игнатовой

«Раньше в якутских улусах делали дымокуры, использовался коровяк или лошадиный помет, — просвещает младший научный сотрудник отдела археологии и этнографии Института гуманитарных исследований проблем малочисленных народов Севера Юрий Слепцов. — По рецепту он должен быть сушеным. Специально сушить не надо, этого добра везде хватает. Специфического запаха, как у свежего навоза, нет. Если идешь в поход, то бывает, вынужден брать несколько штук коровяка. Но это в экстремальных случаях, если рядом нет магазина с кремами, спиралями или так далее. Навоз подойдет всякий, и сохатого, и любых копытных. Или берешь зеленые ветки лиственницы, или других хвойных деревьев, и зажигаешь. Можно себя как веером обмахивать. Но хвойный дым надолго не спасает, коровяк лучше. Главное, одеваться нужно не в темное: комары на это летят. Когда ты одет в светлое, тебя издалека видно, не потеряешься».


Фото Юрия Слепцова

«В мае у нас есть хаар бырдах – снеговые комары, они из снега выходят, крупные. Но они сильно не кусаются, и с теплыми днями пропадают, — продолжает Юрий Слепцов. — А летом появляются маленькие черные. Вот они злые, проходу не дают. В сосновый лес заходишь, там попадаются коричневые, даже есть на пчел похожие — комары-полосатики. Иностранцам в наших комариных местах даже в туалет сходить проблемно бывает. А мы — люди привыкшие в этом деле. Хотя когда я приезжаю в другой регион, они, наоборот, набрасываются на меня: гость приехал! Свежая кровь!».

Однако, по словам специалистов по насекомым, «снеговой комар» – это и не комар вовсе, а представитель другого отряда. Реальные кровные враги людей появляются вместе с первой травой. От мошки, которая летит в Якутии в конце июля — начале августа используют традиционные ванилин и гвоздику: разводят их с водой и мажут открытые участки.

«А еще есть насекомое, мало кому известное, кроме лесников, — рассказывает старший научный сотрудник лаборатории экологии животных Института водных и экологических проблем ДВО РАН Дмитрий Куренщиков. — Это лосиная вошь, тоже двукрылое насекомое, которое сплющила эволюция. Эта муха нападает по осени на теплокровных животных, в том числе, на человека. Она не присасывается, просто кусает. Интересно, что когда лосиная вошь находит место, где можно питаться, то сбрасывает крылья — видимо, за такую способность ее и назвали вошью. Неприятное насекомое, я лично подвергался атакам, заживало потом месяца полтора. Иногда люди путают оводов и слепней, так вот: оводы кусают только животных, а слепни, которых у нас пять видов, нападают и на человека».



СПАСИТЕЛЬНАЯ ТРАВА

Камчатские эвены и другие малые народы спасаются от комаров лиственницей. Зеленые ветки жгут на улице и в ярангах, одежда пропитывается хвойным дымом, который отпугивает гнус. Подойдут также еловые или сосновые ветки.

«Кроме того, эвены считают, что нужно расслабиться, постигнуть дзен, и комары отстанут, — отмечает хабаровчанка Елена Халипская. — Эвены в селе Анавгай говорили: чем больше вы о них думаете, тем больше вас кусают. И, честно говоря, мне это какое-то время помогало. Когда ты не заморочен ежесекундно, комаров как будто реально становится меньше. А так мы пользовались кучей разных средств: и мазями, и пшикалками, и дорогими, и дешевыми – бесполезно».

«Еще местные спасаются травой пижмы, — продолжает Елена. — Берут веточку, и вокруг себя обмахиваются. Пижма имеет резкий, характерный запах камфоры, который не все люди переносят. Это растение можно повесить в палатке или в доме — и оно будет отпугивать насекомых».


Специалист по туризму ФГБУ «Заповедное Приамурье» Виктор Маташов из Хабаровского края советует избавляться от жужжания с помощью полыни, которая растет повсеместно. Подойдет также бузина, пеларгония (герань), экстракт эвкалипта или масло аниса.

«Полынь можно подвесить и в палатке внутри и возле входа. Женщины, я знаю, срезают ножом длинную полынь, плетут из нее косичку и надевают на пояс, — делится наблюдениями Виктор Маташов. — Сейчас я собираюсь на Шантарские острова, комаров там по берегу нет, но стоит войти в царство цветов и трав, ты как карикатура становишься. У меня там однажды от укусов глаза сузились, лицо опухло оттого, что пока пробирались по следу медведя, исхлестал себя всего. А однажды к нам американец приехал, занимается всяким экстримом, так он сказал: "Отвезите меня в самое комариное место, чтобы я кайф поймал!". Ну его на мари повезли на наших протоках, он разделся почти догола и бегал всю ночь. Удивительно, но ему понравилось».


Фото Андрея Сорокина в Instagram andrew5sorokin

Если вас уже покусали, снять зуд и раздражение помогут аптечные кремы «после укуса насекомых» или слабый раствор нашатырного спирта. Также можно принять горячую ванну.

«Разработана шкала комфортности территорий по количеству гнуса, – рассказывает энтомолог Дмитрий Куренщиков. — Если человек подвергся двум-трем атакам в минуту, это нормально, если же больше 30 атак в минуту, то такое место считается абсолютно дискомфортным для проживания. С экономической точки зрения мы получаем снижение работоспособности у человека, а у крупного рогатого скота снижаются надои».

СТРАШИЛКА ДЛЯ ГНУСА

Комары воспринимают звуки, генерируемые персональными ультразвуковыми средствами защиты. Это, пожалуй, единственное «стоп-слово», которое они понимают. Большинство «пищалок» выпускают в виде брелоков, браслетов или наручных часов с регулятором частоты подачи звуковых волн. Работают они на батарейках, некоторые заряжаются и от сети. Радиус действия — от 1,5 до 80 метров. Важно носить такой брелок поверх одежды, чтобы ничто не мешало звуковым волнам. Проблема всех девайсов подобного рода в том, что нет весомых доказательств их результативности.  

«Я обычно "пищалку" — ультразвуковой отпугиватель комаров — с собой беру, — рассказывает специалист по туризму ФГБУ "Заповедное Приамурье" Виктор Маташов. — Я немного слышу издаваемый им писк, он как ультразвук. Брелок отпугивает не всех, а какую-то часть, настроенную на эту волну. Для женщин можно было бы выпустить вариант с этими "пищалками" в виде украшения, например, клипсов для ушей. В левое ухо — клипсу от комаров, в правое — от мошки».


Фото Георгия Башарина

Для защиты кемпинга или дачного участка от гнуса используют и промышленные стационарные устройства. Эти приборы играют на слабостях насекомых: например, комары летят на дыхание человека — по такому принципу работает углекислая западня. Более дорогие и мощные — пропановые устройства. При окислении этого газа образуются влага и CO2, и то, и другое привлекает насекомых. Есть модели, приманивающие комариные стаи только светом (УФ-ловушки), теплом или водой. Из всех этих ловушек комарам нет хода.

Некоторые к средствам борьбы с кровососами причисляют и наводнения, считая, что после стихийного бедствия гнус в регионе в течении нескольких лет будет видеть реже, так как комары или их личинки утонули. Но эта версия не выдерживает критики: насекомые размножаются как раз в воде.


Фото Юрия Слепцова

«Самый простой пример: залейте водой бочку на даче, и через некоторое время вы увидите там изгибающихся красных личинок комаров. Они предпочитают стоячую воду, — объясняет старший научный сотрудник лаборатории экологии животных Института водных и экологических проблем ДВО РАН Дмитрий Куренщиков. — Личинки мошки развиваются в проточной воде — речках, ручьях. У этого двукрылого насекомого есть фенологический аккорд: оно нападает тогда, когда идет плодоношение клубники. Стандартный цикл пиков и спада численности насекомых составляет около семи лет. Численность двукрылых естественным образом ограничивают грибные, бактериальные и вирусные заболевания, все находится в динамическом равновесии».

Людей можно назвать "спонсорами" комариных свадеб, "донорами" гнуса, но бывает и наоборот.

«На научных собраниях у нас первый тост - за организаторов, а второй - за наших кормильцев, за насекомых! Они – звенья трофической цепи. Если насекомые исчезнут или будут уничтожены человеком, возможно, природа со временем и забудет о потерянном звене, но это будет уже другая биосфера, и еще неизвестно, найдется ли в ней место человеку. Сейчас насекомые являются пищей для пауков, стрекоз, мелких птиц, лягушек и так далее. Вспомним уничтожение воробьев в Китае в середине прошлого века: вроде бы делали на благо, но экосистема была нарушена, и она до сих пор не пришла в равновесие. А насекомые, даже кровососущие — еще и красивые. Посмотрите в радужные глаза слепня — их хочется фотографировать и любоваться», — заключает знаток насекомых.


Фото Андрея Сорокина в Instagram andrew5soroki