Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Fat of the Earth: mud volcanoes of Sakhalin

Undiscovered potential of the island in the Far East

Same as magmatic volcanoes, but hundreds of times smaller; erupt, but without lava and volcanic bombs; for the most part do not threaten people, but they themselves need protection. On Sakhalin Island you can see how the experimental "dishes" gurgling in the kitchen of Mother Nature, among which mud volcanoes. They are frequent satellites of gas and oil fields and one of the region's brands. Eruptions of mud volcanoes on the island occur regularly.

Fat of the Earth: mud volcanoes of Sakhalin
Photo: boomerangclub.ru
Mud volcanoes - «must see» sightseeing tours around the island, they are in the catalog of all local travel agencies. Scientists call 4 locations: the mud volcano Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk in the south, the Pugachev group and Lesnovsky in the south-east of the island, in the same direction, near the hot springs - Daginsky. Lesnovsky (in the Korsakovsky district) is like a trivial puddle in the forest, so guides guide guests only to the first three. Mud volcanoes on the Taman and Kerch peninsulas (more than 320 formations) are also known in Russia. Geothermal muds in Kamchatka are similar in appearance to griffins (muddy) mud volcanoes, but differ in the causes of origin and the composition of the substance carried to the surface.

Mud volcano is a geological formation in the form of a hole on the surface of the earth (salsa) or a cone with a crater (griffin, mud volcano), makaluba, from which constantly and sometimes erupt mud masses and hydrocarbon gases, usually methane, often accompanied by water and oil. (For comparison: asphalt volcanoes spew gas, oil and tar). Plastovye water soften the clay and carry it along with the fragments of hard bedrock. On the site of mud eruptions are found beautiful crystals of pyrite, sulfuric and iron ore. Especially noticeable are "treasures" in sunny weather. According to one version, mud volcanoes are the residual phase of magmatic volcanoes decay, the same phenomenon as fumaroles, termites or geysers. On the other hand, mud volcanoes are caused by the processes taking place in the sedimentary layer of the Earth (ie, at much lower depths, compared to the first version) and are associated with processes of formation of hydrocarbons from organic matter that is contained in sedimentary deposits.

MUDY VOLCANO SOUTH-SAKHALIN

8 Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano. There are always people here. Photo by Sergey Pervukhin.jpg
Photo: On the Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano. Sergey Pervukhin

15 Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano. Photo by Elena Struseevich.jpg
Photo: Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano. Elena Struseevich

The largest one is the Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano (47 ° 5'sN 142 ° 35'E) - is located in 24 km from the capital of the region in the foothills of the Kamyshovy Ridge, near the Novodeverenskaya railway station. The height of the flat cone is about 300 m above sea level. His griffins are like a series of mini volcanoes, as if someone is raising them like seedlings. At different times in Yuzhno-Sakhalin there are from 20 to 40 breathable griffins and boilers. Vegetation appears in 5-10 years after the eruption. The diameter of the Yuzhno-Sakhalin volcano is ~ 200 m. The most powerful in the historical period of observations is the eruption in 1959, when the clods of dirt reached the railway. The Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano is unique in the chemical composition of the gas. Unlike most others, carbon dioxide prevails, and not methane.

The pilgrimage to the mud volcano, both organized and spontaneous, goes from May to October. Skipping is not necessary, but without a guide, and especially at night it is dangerous to walk here - you can get lost or fail.

"Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano is a geological monument of nature of regional importance, it is impossible to build here on motor transport, it is impossible to build bonfires!" - says Rafael Zharkov, Ph.D. in Geography, leading researcher of the laboratory of volcanology and volcanism of IMGG FEB RAS. "But, alas, some manage to drive into this mud even on moto and quad bikes, visitors break griffins, stick sticks, measure depth, take dirt with them. All because there is no guard. True, in 2016 year there the path was improved, put benches, a gazebo, sold-out with information. But on the plate there are certain blunders, it was made without consulting with scientists. There is a danger from the volcano, Yuzhno-Sakhalinsky erupted quite powerfully at the end of 2001. Mud flows descended into the 2 side. Because of gases, eruptions can be sharp with a fiery column, as happens, for example, on mud volcanoes in Azerbaijan. In unsuccessful circumstances, people may die. People, do not stick a stick, so I'll tell you: the depth is about 10 meters! On the surface of mud boilers are meters and a half in diameter. We did geophysical work, scanned this surface, and found that at a depth of 7-8 meters the funnel of the mud boiler narrows and passes into a crack. If you jump there, you can drown "- warns the scientist.

9 Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano. Information board.Photo Sergey Pervuhin.jpg
Photo: Information board at the Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano. Sergey Pervukhin

At the Sakhalin forums, the culture of visiting cold volcanoes is hotly debated. The owners of 4WD and mountain bikes are hampered with mud - the traces of their technique there are the most.

MUDY VOLCANO PUGACHEVSKY

14 Moscow tourists on the Pugachev mud volcano. Photo by Julia Lunkina.jpg
Photo: Moscow tourists on the Pugachev mud volcano. Julia Lunkina

The second largest mud volcano in Sakhalin, (48 ° 13'sH, 142 ° 35'E) is located at 167 km north of Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk in the headwaters of the Vulkanka and Pridorozhny rivers. This brand is behind natural armor - swamps, and hordes of ticks and mosquitoes.

Mud volcanoes of the Pugachev group are a monument of nature of regional importance (the status is assigned in 1983) with a total area of ​​1180 ha. "Chip" Magunthana, the main of this group - a top view, a bright geological anomaly. The volcano is like a giant eye, composed of concentric rings. They acquired it after the eruption, when the mud evenly spread out in all directions, without forming "languages."

18 Pugachev mud volcano (Magunthan). Photo by Yury Frolov.jpg
Photo: Huge "eye" - Pugachevsky mud volcano (Magunthan) from a height. Yury Frolov

"Magunthan is a group of volcanoes with a huge ancient mud field, which can be easily seen from outer space," Sergey Pervukhin, candidate of geographical sciences, guide on the island of Sakhalin. "The field in the form of an ellipse 2,1 × 1,7 km stretches from the southwest to the northeast and is formed by three volcanoes: North, Central (Main) and South. Apart from them, to the northeast, about 4 km, there is a mud volcano Vostochny. Magunthan differs from the Kerch and Taman volcanoes, primarily by form. This is not a classical salsa - a depression in which you can lie down, and not standard cones of large size, in 5, 10 and more meters. According to the testimony of Japanese and Soviet researchers, the most violent eruptions occurred on Magoundan at 1929, 1934, 1961, 1967, 2005, when mud streams flew up to 50 m. The mud streams broke the trees, and the noise, according to eyewitnesses, was similar to the hum of a jet engine . The composition of the fragments of rocks captured by the mud substrate when moving in the vale of the volcano is a complete set, typical for the Upper Cretaceous (the last period of the Mesozoic era). This is indicated by findings of fragments of ammonite and inoceramus fauna, which indicates that the volcano's crusts are in the deposits of the Upper Cretaceous, at a depth of up to 2-3 km. "

Here, too, are endemics that are listed in the Red Book of the Sakhalin Region: wormwood, withered Sugawara, Sakhalin primrose and Czlevlya pike.

MUDY VOLCANO DAGINSKY

It is located next to the famous Daginsky thermal springs, near which there are healing mud on the shore of the bay. They come to the surface through "funnels" on the shore. In the waters of the Daginsky mud volcano, as well as in the waters of Yuzhno-Sakhalinsky and Pugachevsky, bromine, boron and iodine are contained.

Is it useful to smash face on Sakhalin? "My point of view is that the curative nature of volcanic mud is determined by the strength of man's faith," says Valery Ershov, head of the research department of the material composition of the geospheres of the IMGI FEB RAS. "I always show two hands: one is always in the griffin of a mud volcano, I take samples, something else, the other in the air. I suggest you look at the difference. But there is no difference! "

His colleague from the laboratory of volcanology and volcanic hazard, IMGiG FEB RAS Rafael Zharkov, shared the results of the research: "For comparison, there is more mineralization in the Dead Sea than in Sakhalin sources, on the other hand, it is not known whether such an organism needs such a large mineralization," says the leading researcher. "For example, in the Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano, the content of minerals in water is 15-20 grams per liter, that is, 1,5 times less than in seawater. Not far from the Yuzhno-Sakhalin mud volcano, we have a large sanatorium "Sinegorskiy Mineral Waters", there mineral waters with arsenic. So, this deposit has one origin with the waters of a mud volcano. But since it is a natural monument, it is prohibited to remove dirt from a volcano for medical purposes ".

1 Pugachev mud volcano_Foto Valery Ershov.jpg
Photo: Pugachevsky Cone mud of the volcano. Valery Yershov

But you can meditate with griffins and mud pots on the ever-changing patterns, listen to the cold broth, pull strange odors. To maintain the Sakhalin miracle of one improvement - ecological paths and plaques - is not enough, seasonal protection is needed, which would only let pedestrians, followed the order and cleanliness. Scientists with ready-made projects and travel agencies, who are already ashamed not only for foreigners but also for fellow countrymen, often asked officials about it. With all the rather big budget of the region, this has not been found yet.

The editorial office of East Russia thanks for the help in preparing the material of the research staff IMGiG FEB RAS Valery Ershov and Rafael Zharkov, and guide-guide on the island of Sakhalin Sergey Pervukhin.
What happened in the Far East in a week and who benefits?
Exclusive analytics from EastRussia - every Tuesday in your inbox

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Жир Земли: грязевые вулканы Сахалина

Нераскрытый потенциал острова на Дальнем Востоке

Такие же, как магматические вулканы, но в сотни раз меньше; извергаются, но без лавы и вулканических бомб; по большей части не угрожают людям, а сами нуждаются в защите. На острове Сахалин можно увидеть, как булькают экспериментальные «блюда» на кухне у мамы-природы, среди которых грязевые вулканы. Они – частые спутники газовых и нефтяных месторождений и один из брендов региона. Извержения грязевых вулканов на острове происходят регулярно.

Жир Земли: грязевые вулканы Сахалина
Фото: boomerangclub.ru
Грязевые вулканы – «must see» обзорных экскурсий по острову, они есть в каталоге всех местных турфирм. Ученые называют 4 локации: грязевой вулкан Южно-Сахалинский на юге, Пугачевская группа и Лесновский на юго-востоке острова, в том же направлении, неподалеку от горячих источников – Дагинский. Лесновский (в Корсаковском районе) похож на тривиальную лужу в лесу, поэтому гиды водят гостей только на первые три. В России также известны грязевые вулканы на Таманском и Керченском полуостровах (более 320 образований). Геотермальные грязи на Камчатке по своим внешним проявлениям похожи на грифоны (сальзы) грязевых вулканов, но отличаются причинами происхождения и составом выносимого на поверхность вещества.

Грязевой вулкан это геологическое образование в виде отверстия на поверхности земли (сальза) или конуса с кратером (грифон, грязевая сопка), макалуба, из которого постоянно или время от времени извергаются грязевые массы и углеводородные газы, обычно метан, нередко сопровождаемые водой и нефтью. (Для сравнения: асфальтовые вулканы извергают газ, нефть и смолы). Пластовые воды размягчают глину и выносят ее вместе с обломками твердых коренных пород. На месте грязевых извержений находят красивые кристаллы пирита, серную и железную руду. Особенно заметны «сокровища» в солнечную погоду. По одной из версий, грязевые вулканы – остаточная фаза затухания вулканов магматических, такое же явление, как фумаролы, термы или гейзеры. По другой, грязевые вулканы обусловлены процессами, протекающими в осадочном слое Земли (т.е. на гораздо меньших глубинах, в сравнении с первой версией) и связаны с процессами образования углеводородов из органического вещества, которое содержится в осадочных отложениях.

ГРЯЗЕВОЙ ВУЛКАН ЮЖНО-САХАЛИНСКИЙ

8 Южно-Сахалинский грязевой вулкан. Здесь всегда есть люди.Фото Сергей Первухин.jpg
Фото: На Южно-Сахалинском грязевом вулкане. Сергей Первухин

15 Южно-Сахалинский грязевой вулкан. Фото Елена Струсеевич.jpg
Фото: Южно-Сахалинский грязевой вулкан. Елена Струсеевич

Самый крупный - Южно-Сахалинский грязевой вулкан (47°5’с.ш. 142° 35’в.д.) - находится в 24 км от столицы области в предгорьях Камышёвого хребта, вблизи железнодорожной станции Новодеревенская. Высота плоского конуса около 300 м над уровнем моря. Его грифоны похожи на серию мини-вулканчиков, будто здесь кто-то выращивает их, как рассаду. В разное время на Южно-Сахалинском насчитывают от 20 до 40 дышащих грифонов и котлов. Растительность появляется через 5-10 лет после извержения. Диаметр Южно-Сахалинского вулкана ~200 м. Самым мощным в исторический период наблюдений считается извержение в 1959 г., когда комья грязи долетали до железной дороги. Южно-Сахалинский грязевой вулкан уникален химическим составом газа. В отличие от большинства других, преобладает углекислый, а не метан.

Паломничество на грязевой вулкан, и организованное, и стихийное, идет с мая по октябрь. Пропуска не нужно, но без проводника, и особенно ночью гулять здесь опасно – можно заблудиться или провалиться.

«Южно-Сахалинский грязевой вулкан это геологический памятник природы регионального значения, сюда нельзя на автотранспорте, нельзя разводить костры!» - рассказывает Рафаэль Жарков, кандидат географических наук, ведущий научный сотрудник лаборатории вулканологии и вулканоопасности ИМГиГ ДВО РАН. «Но, увы, некоторые умудряются заезжать в эту грязь даже на мото- и квадроциклах, посетители ломают грифоны, суют туда палки, меряют глубину, берут грязь с собой. Все потому, что нет охраны. Правда, в 2016 году там тропинку облагородили, поставили скамейки, беседку, аншлаг с информацией. Но на табличке есть определенные ляпы, ее составляли, не проконсультировавшись с учеными. Опасность от вулкана есть, Южно-Сахалинский довольно мощно извергался в конце 2001 года. Грязевые потоки спустились в 2 стороны. Из-за газов извержения могут быть резкими с пламенным столбом, как бывает, например, на грязевых вулканах в Азербайджане. При неудачных стечениях обстоятельств могут погибнуть люди. Люди, не суйте палки, я итак вам скажу: глубина около 10 метров! На поверхности грязевые котлы имеют метр-полтора в диаметре. Мы делали геофизические работы, сканировали эту поверхность, и установили, что на глубине 7-8 метров воронка грязевого котла сужается и переходит в трещину. Если туда прыгнуть, можно утонуть» - предостерегает ученый.

9 Южно-Сахалинский грязевой вулкан. Информационный щит.Фото Сергей Первухин.jpg
Фото: Информационный щит у Южно-Сахалинского грязевого вулкана. Сергей Первухин

На форумах Сахалина горячо обсуждают культуру посещения холодных вулканов. Владельцев 4WD и горных велосипедов мешают с грязью – следов их техники там больше всего.    

ГРЯЗЕВОЙ ВУЛКАН ПУГАЧЁВСКИЙ

14 Московские туристы на Пугачевском грязевом вулкане. Фото Юлия Лункина.jpg
Фото: Московские туристы на Пугачевском грязевом вулкане. Юлия Лункина

Второй по величине грязевой вулкан Сахалина, (48°13’с.ш. 142°35’в.д.) - находится в 167 км к северу от Южно-Сахалинска в верховье рек Вулканки и Придорожной. Этот бренд за броней естественного происхождения - болотами, и полчищами клещей и комаров.  

Грязевые вулканы Пугачевской группы – памятник природы регионального значения (статус присвоен в 1983 г.) с общей площадью 1180 га. «Фишка» Магунтана, главного из этой группы – вид сверху, яркая геологическая аномалия. Вулкан похож на гигантский глаз, сложенный из концентрических колец. Ими он обзавелся после извержения, когда грязь равномерно растекалась во все стороны, не образуя «языков».

18 Пугачевский грязевой вулкан (Магунтан). Фото Юрий Фролов.jpg
Фото: Огромный "глаз" - Пугачевский грязевой вулкан (Магунтан) с высоты. Юрий Фролов

«Магунтан - это группа вулканов с огромным древним грязевым полем, которое хорошо просматривается из космоса», - рассказывает Сергей Первухин, кандидат географических наук, гид-проводник по острову Сахалин. «Поле в виде эллипса 2,1×1,7 км вытянуто с юго-запада на северо-восток и образовано тремя вулканами: Северным, Центральным (Главным) и Южным. Особняком от них, на северо-восток, примерно в 4 км, находится грязевой вулкан Восточный. Магунтан отличается от керченских и таманских вулканов, прежде всего, формой. Это и не классическая сальза — углубление, в котором можно полежать, и не стандартные конусы большого размера, в  5, 10 и более метров. По свидетельству японских и советских исследователей самые сильные извержения происходили на Магунтане в 1929, 1934, 1961, 1967, 2005  годах, когда струи грязи взлетали на 50 м. Потоки грязи ломали деревья, а шум, по словам очевидцев, был похож на гул реактивного двигателя. Состав обломков пород, захваченных грязевым субстратом при движении в жерле вулкана, представляет собой полный набор, характерный для верхнего мела (последний период мезозойской эры). На это указывают и находки обломков фауны аммонитов и иноцерамусов, что говорит о том, что корпи вулкана, находятся в отложениях верхнего мела, на глубине до 2–3 км».

Здесь же растут эндемики, занесённые в Красную книгу Сахалинской области: полынь илистая, горечавочка Сугавары, первоцвет сахалинский и щучник Цвелева.

ГРЯЗЕВОЙ ВУЛКАН ДАГИНСКИЙ

Расположен рядом со знаменитыми Дагинскими термальными источниками, возле которых на берегу залива есть целебные грязи. Они выходят на поверхность через «воронки» на берегу. В водах Дагинского грязевого вулкана, также как в водах Южно-Сахалинского и Пугачевского, содержатся бром, бор и йод.  

Полезно ли ударить в грязь лицом на Сахалине? «Моя точка зрения, что лечебность вулканической грязи определяется силой веры человека» - уверен Валерий Ершов, руководитель отдела исследования вещественного состава геосфер ИМГиГ ДВО РАН. - Я всегда показываю две руки: одна у меня все время в грифоне грязевого вулкана, отбираю пробы, еще что-то, другая на воздухе. Предлагаю посмотреть разницу. А разницы никакой нет!»

Его коллега из лаборатории вулканологии и вулканоопасности ИМГиГ ДВО РАН Рафаэль Жарков поделился результатами исследований: «Для сравнения, минерализация в Мертвом море больше, чем в сахалинских источниках, с другой стороны, неизвестно, нужна ли организму такая большая минерализация» - рассуждает ведущий научный сотрудник. «Например, в Южно-Сахалинском грязевом вулкане содержание минералов в воде 15-20 граммов на литр, то есть, в 1,5 раза меньше, чем в морской воде. Недалеко от Южно-Сахалинского грязевого вулкана у нас есть большой санаторий «Синегорские минеральные воды», там минеральные воды с мышьяком. Так вот, это месторождение имеет одно происхождение с водами грязевого вулкана. Но так как это памятник природы, изымать грязи с вулкана для применения в лечебных целях запрещено законом».

1 Пугачевский грязевой вулкан_Фото Валерий Ершов.jpg
Фото: Конус Пугачевского грязевого вулкана. Валерий Ершов

Зато можно медитировать у грифонов и грязевых котлов на то и дело меняющиеся узоры, слушать, как шкворчит холодный бульон, втягивать странные запахи. Для сохранения сахалинского чуда одного благоустройства – экологических троп и табличек - недостаточно, нужна сезонная охрана, которая пускала бы только пешеходов, следила за порядком и чистотой. Ученые с готовыми проектами и турфирмы, которым уже не только перед интуристами, но и перед земляками стыдно, не раз просили об этом чиновников. При всем немаленьком бюджете области денег на это пока не нашлось. 

Редакция "East Russia" благодарит за помощь в подготовке материала научных сотрудников ИМГиГ ДВО РАН Валерия Ершова и Рафаэля Жаркова, и гида-проводника по острову Сахалин Сергея Первухина