Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

In winter and in summer one Baikal-2

Part two. Who does not take risks, he does not go to Lake Baikal

The legendary Russian lake, included in the UNESCO World Heritage List, is a magnet for tourists from all over the world. We asked two travelers with experience, at what time of year it is better to go to Baikal. Everyone insisted on his version. Julia talked about an extreme trip on turquoise ice. "What about the campground and the kayak trip?" - Alexander was obstinate. I had to declare a draw. The time of year does not matter if the purpose of your trip is the freshwater sea of ​​Siberia.

In winter and in summer one Baikal-2
Photo: shutterstock.com

A trip to Baikal is a subject of many travelers' dreams. Covered with mystical stories, attracting with its depth and unknownness, the lake would like to see thousands of Muscovites and Petrograders, but few come here. The blame for this - battered stereotypes, ignorance of the domestic tourist market and fear of adventure.

To the "heart" on the "loaf"

At first glance, "office plankton" is difficult to decide on a trip to Baikal. Everyone knows: the place is wild, shamans, civilization as it is, but as it were not ... But in fact it turns out that there are a lot of offers on the market: in one of the tourist clubs we were offered at once a dozen different in cost, complexity and duration of the routes. We opted for a turn-key option: five days on the island of Olkhon, then - a kayak trip along the coast of the Chivyrkuy Bay.

Olkhon Island is the heart of the Baikal civilization. From Irkutsk to a free ferry to the island, only five hours drive along a good road and a few hours waiting in line. It should be noted that both local residents and visitors from all neighboring regions willingly come here to rest - they are easy to calculate by car numbers.

The population of the island of Olkhon is slightly less than 1700 people. Residential buildings are located in the western, steppe part of the island with sand dunes and picturesque beaches on the shore. There are roads here, though mediocre. The most popular car is a "loaf". It's no wonder that the Ulyanovsk Automobile Plant is in no hurry to remove the old 2206 from the assembly line: the demand for it is very high here.

Other benefits of civilization - electricity, water and communications - are also present here. At the tourist base there is a pay shower, you can go to the bathhouse. It is necessary to swim in Baikal - it's an unforgettable experience. In mid-July, the water temperature is rarely higher than 15 ° C, but it invigorates and young.

There is no problem with food on the island. Mandatory local delicacy - chopped (frozen raw fish, something that resembles stroganina). Another dish is the smoked Baikal omul, which is sold at every step. This is the main local gastronomic brand. Seize this all possible poses - Buryat analog khinkali. Public catering in Olkhon is quite a lot, you can find for every taste: from dining rooms to quite cozy cafes and restaurants with a view of the lake. Ordering lattes and tiramisu, you can connect to Wi-Fi and walk around the expanses of the Net. Sitting here, you feel at a fashionable resort - no worse.

However, most of the island is not inhabited. It is occupied by forests, in which local residents do not prefer to walk without a gun - the probability of meeting with a bear is great. Exoticism adds various references to a culture of shamanism that can be seen on the roadside of a graded road. Prayer bands are tied with colored ribbons and pieces of cloth. There are real places of power, like, for example, Shamanka rock.

Dived - drank

Leaving Olkhon, prepare to say goodbye and with the blessings of civilization. The way on the "rocket" to the settlement of Ust-Barguzin takes more than three hours. Moving along the water, you can estimate the scale and strength of Lake Baikal. There are no hotels here, and we will have to live in a tent camp, moving along the shore in canoes.

In the Chevyrkuisky Bay, water usually warms up well, so you can swim for a long time ... and drink. This is the most pleasant impression from Baikal - when you wanted to drink and just dived to quench your thirst. We have to boil the porridge for the camp - again for water to Baikal. And no unpleasant sensations in the body. Baikal crustaceans (epishura) do their work. However, moving on the water in a kayak, beware of high waves - storms are not uncommon here.

Clumsy friend

Another danger that can await you already on the shore is active bears. One of them can easily come to visit you in the camp in search of food. As a rule, the beast does not attack first, but it is necessary to be careful not to provoke it. On the other hand, a meeting with a bear is an integral part of traveling to the lake: most tourists see the live clubfoot.

Usually, guides warn "neighbors" of a bear walking around in the vicinity. In our group, when receiving such information, night duty was set. When the beast came, the whole camp rustled and shouted to drive it away: it is necessary to show the bear that you are many and that he is not afraid of you. However, by the end of the trip, sleep overcame fear. On the final day the young bear came to the camp to a plate of barbecue left on the table. Everyone heard that they were sounding an alarm, but nobody came out of the tents. Well, yes, you have to sleep, too ...

Price impressions

It should be noted how keenly local residents are about the cleanliness of Lake Baikal. For them, the lake is the breadwinner and the employer. And they try to impart this attitude to tourists. It's nice to see that the coastline looks very neat and tidy.

Is it expensive to go to Baikal? Ten-day campaign cost us 30 thousand rubles per person. Plus equipment: a tent, a backpack, shoes and so on. Air tickets - 25 thousand rubles, but this amount can be reduced by half if you book in advance. And then everything depends on how much you take with you a smoked omul. The cost of travel is quite high, but I'm sure no one pities about the money spent. Baikal must be seen with my own eyes, these impressions will last a lifetime, but your friends will eat the fish brought in the first evening. Checked.
What happened in the Far East in a week and who benefits?
Exclusive analytics from EastRussia - every Tuesday in your inbox

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Зимой и летом один Байкал-2

Часть вторая. Кто не рискует, тот не едет на Байкал

Легендарное российское озеро, включенное в Список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО, – магнит для туристов со всей планеты. Мы спросили у двух путешественников со стажем, в какое время года лучше ехать на Байкал. Каждый настаивал на своей версии. Юлия рассказывала о экстремальной поездке по бирюзовому льду. «А как же палаточный лагерь и путешествие на байдарках?» – упрямствовал Александр. Пришлось объявить ничью. Время года не имеет значения, если цель вашей поездки – пресноводное море Сибири.

Зимой и летом один Байкал-2
Фото: shutterstock.com

Поездка на Байкал – предмет мечтаний многих путешественников. Окутанное мистическими историями, манящее своей глубиной и неизведанностью озеро хотели бы увидеть тысячи москвичей и питерцев, но доезжают сюда немногие. Виной тому – избитые стереотипы, незнание внутреннего туристического рынка и боязнь приключений.

До «сердца» на «буханке»

На первый взгляд «офисному планктону» сложно решиться на поход по Байкалу. Всем известно: место дикое, шаманы, цивилизация как бы есть, но как бы и нет… Но на деле оказывается, что предложений на рынке достаточно много: в одном из туристических клубов нам предложили сразу с десяток различных по стоимости, сложности и продолжительности маршрутов. Мы остановили свой выбор на варианте под ключ: пять дней на острове Ольхон, далее – поход на байдарках вдоль побережья Чивыркуйского залива.

Остров Ольхон – сердце байкальской цивилизации. От Иркутска до бесплатной паромной переправы на остров всего пять часов езды по хорошей дороге и несколько часов ожидания в очереди. Нужно отметить, сюда охотно приезжают на отдых как местные жители, так и гости из всех соседних регионов – их легко вычислить по автомобильным номерам.

Население острова Ольхон – чуть менее 1700 человек. Жилая застройка находится в западной, степной части острова с песчаными дюнами и живописными пляжами на берегу. Дороги здесь есть, хоть и посредственного качества. Самая популярная машина – «буханка». Неудивительно, что Ульяновский автомобильный завод не торопится снимать с конвейера старушку 2206: спрос на нее здесь очень велик.

Другие блага цивилизации – электричество, водопровод и связь – здесь тоже присутствуют. На туристической базе есть платный душ, можно сходить и в баню. Обязательно нужно искупаться в Байкале – это незабываемые ощущения. В середине июля температура воды редко бывает выше 15 °С, зато бодрит и молодит.

С питанием на острове проблем нет. Обязательный местный деликатес – расколотка (замороженная сырая рыба, чем-то напоминающая строганину). Еще одно блюдо – копченый байкальский омуль, который продается на каждом шагу. Это главный местный гастрономический бренд. Заесть это все можно позами – бурятским аналогом хинкали. Общепитов на Ольхоне достаточно много, найдете на любой вкус: от столовых до вполне уютных кафе и ресторанов с видом на озеро. Заказав латте и тирамису, можно подключиться к Wi-Fi и погулять по просторам Сети. Сидя здесь, чувствуешь себя на модном курорте – ничуть не хуже.

Однако большая часть острова не заселена. Ее занимают леса, в которые местные жители без ружья предпочитают не ходить – велика вероятность встречи с медведем. Экзотичности добавляют различные отсылки к культуре шаманизма, которые можно увидеть на обочинах грейдированной дороги. На молитвенные столбы повязывают разноцветные ленты и отрезки ткани. Есть и настоящие места силы, как, например, скала Шаманка.

Нырнул – выпил

Покидая Ольхон, приготовьтесь попрощаться и с благами цивилизации. Путь на «ракете» до населенного пункта Усть-Баргузин занимает более трех часов. Двигаясь по воде, можно оценить масштаб и силу Байкала. Здесь нет гостиниц, и жить предстоит в палаточном лагере, передвигаясь вдоль берега на байдарках.

В Чевыркуйском заливе вода обычно хорошо прогревается, поэтому можно долгое время плыть… и пить. Это самое приятное впечатление от Байкала – когда ты захотел пить и просто нырнул, чтобы утолить жажду. Надо сварить кашу для лагеря – за водой опять в Байкал. И никаких неприятных ощущений в организме. Байкальские рачки (эпишура) делают свое дело. Однако передвигаясь по воде на байдарке, берегитесь высоких волн – штормы здесь не редкость.

Косолапый друг

Другая опасность, которая может ждать вас уже на берегу, – активные медведи. Один из них запросто может прийти в гости к вам в лагерь в поисках съестного. Как правило, зверь не нападает первым, но необходимо проявлять осторожность, чтобы его не спровоцировать. С другой стороны, встреча с медведем – неотъемлемая часть путешествия на озеро: увидеть живого косолапого мечтает большинство туристов.

Обычно гиды предупреждают «соседей» о гуляющем в окрестностях медведе. В нашей группе при получении подобной информации устанавливались ночные дежурства. Когда зверь приходил, всем лагерем шумели и кричали, чтобы его прогнать: необходимо показать медведю, что вас много и что он вам не страшен. Впрочем, к концу похода сон взял верх над страхом. В финальный день молодой мишка пришел в лагерь к тарелке оставленного на столе шашлыка. Все слышали, что бьют тревогу, но из палаток никто не вышел. Ну да, спать ведь тоже надо…

Цена впечатлений

Надо отметить, насколько трепетно местные жители относятся к чистоте Байкала. Для них озеро – кормилец и работодатель. И это отношение они стараются привить туристам. Приятно видеть, что береговая линия выглядит очень опрятной и ухоженной.

Дорого ли съездить на Байкал? Десятидневный поход обошелся нам в 30 тыс. рублей с человека. Плюс экипировка: палатка, рюкзак, обувь и так далее. Авиабилеты – 25 тыс. рублей, но эту сумму можно уменьшить вдвое, если забронировать услуги заранее. А дальше все зависит от того, сколько вы увезете с собой копченого омуля. Стоимость путешествия достаточно высока, но, уверен, никто не жалеет о потраченных средствах. Байкал нужно увидеть своими глазами, эти впечатления сохранятся на всю жизнь, а вот привезенную рыбу ваши друзья съедят в первый вечер. Проверено.
Что на Дальнем Востоке произошло за неделю и кому это выгодно?
Эксклюзивная аналитика от EastRussia – каждый вторник в вашем почтовом ящике