Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

In the winter and summer, one Baikal

Part one. Baikal ice, or the Formula of love

The legendary Russian lake, included in the UNESCO World Heritage List, is a magnet for tourists from all over the world. We asked two travelers with experience, at what time of year it is better to go to Baikal. Everyone insisted on his version. Julia talked about an extreme trip on turquoise ice. "What about the campground and the kayak trip?" - Alexander was obstinate. I had to declare a draw. The time of year does not matter if the purpose of your trip is the freshwater sea of ​​Siberia.

In the winter and summer, one Baikal
Photo: satorifoto.livejournal.com / Daniil Korjonov
"We'll get there - and I'll show you the place where KamAZ, with firewood to the bottom, left last week. If the polynya in that place is frozen evenly, then through the ice you can see the cabin, it's shallow! They say that the driver did not manage to get out and did not have time, "- under such" cheerful "tales of my Irkutsk friend Dima and the clattering of my teeth on a huge expedition jeep, we are cheerfully rushing from Irkutsk to Lake Baikal. On the calendar the second half of February. I, who caught the first "narcotic" parish from seeing the fierce blue of the Baikal waters in the fall, now strive to see its legendary turquoise ice.

KamAZ, firewood and Baikal perfumes

The road from Irkutsk to the village of Sakhurta, from where the ferry goes to the island of Olkhon in the warm season, and the official ice crossing begins in winter, takes about three hours. And most of the time it takes to indulge the local spirits with a complex character. This is done at special points - Burkhans, located all along the route. "You have to drink alcohol is white and leave a coin made of white metal. And then shish you, not good weather and strong ice; brandy and wine are not rolled, "Dima explains with knowledge, wagging his brows menacingly. Huddling in the cold wind of the Ust-Orda steppes and remembering the men who had gone to the bottom, the firewood and KamAZ, I dutifully swallow the vodka and search for trifles in my pockets.

For such conscientious check-in on burkhan on the way to Olkhon, the spirits favorably disregard the instinct of self-preservation. And as a result, for the first time you go to the open ice outside the official ice crossing, you do not yell with fear, but quietly yelp from horror and delight, sitting in a multi-toned car, which uncontrollable projectile rushes through the mirror of the Small Sea practically without adhesion to the surface. Under the wheels - a dark blue abyss, white meteors of shallow surface cracks, dotted with galaxies of bubbles and nebulae of rare snowballs. The process of braking on absolutely smooth ice is a whole special operation, requiring special skills in instantly calculating the mass of the car in relation to the speed and approximate distance to the nearest ice hummocks or the rock protruding from the ice. God save us!

The Penguin Man

"It's impossible to get close to the rocks," Dima said, blocking all wheels and effectively driving the car south a hundred meters from Olkhon's steep bank. "They heat up from the sun and the ice next to them melt. But we'll go there on foot. " By this moment, the consciousness completely resigns itself to the fact that for the next few days there will be 50-80 cm of crystal clear ice underneath you and God knows how many tens or hundreds of meters of the water column of the deepest lake on this planet. Therefore, the first steps on the ice are made with the doom of the wingman to be shot: in the end, what's the difference, where will this swallow you absorb - in the middle of the Small Sea or near the nearest rock. But in the next moments - after an epic fall on the fifth point with three unsuccessful attempts at recovery - the theme of the unfolding abyss closes completely. Henceforth, your main concern is the retention of your own body in an upright position. The only working method for my more or less safe movement on mirror ice in my case was the "penguin man" mode. In this case, to prevent bruises and fractures in the fall, you need to provide clothing that maximally brings you closer to the shape of the ball.

The road of life

To see the main treasures of the winter Olkhon - ice grottoes in the north - you can only go beyond the boundaries of the official crossing. This is a road along the ice of Lake Baikal, which the Irkutsk branch of the Ministry of Emergency Situations paves every year. The road of life, as Olkhon residents call it. It is this route that is used for trips to the mainland, it imports products for island villages, wood for heating (on Olkhon, which is entirely a protected zone, cutting is prohibited) and medicines.

Even under the ice Baikal is alive, it breathes, it turns, forming terrible cracks and giant hummocks. Underwater currents and hurricane winds in some bays change the structure of ice, there are polynyas. Local residents, going to the open ice, are well aware of such problem areas and go around their side. For beginners, traveling outside the limits of the stakes set by the Ministry of Emergency Situations is a big risk. Every year dozens of cars leave the Baikal ice. Very often, the victims are drunk drivers and guests from other regions, on arrival in Irkutsk, renting steep cars and splitting them over a frozen lake. Therefore, the main lifhak for those traveling to the winter Baikal: forget about renting a car. When driving on ice, there must be a sober local resident who has knowledge of the ice situation along your route.

Poses on the ice

All those who leave for the open ice are left to their own devices. And everyone thinks up entertainment to their own taste, featuring a different degree of insanity and extreme. Athletes do multi-kilometer multi-day skating with ski poles, dragging equipment in a sleigh. In the bays you can meet fishermen: ice fishing omul turns men into zombies. Some fanatics bring plywood houses with them and put them right above the hole, they also spend the night. Desperate bikers spike the rubber of their enduro motorcycles and cross Baikal from south to north, with overclocking jumping over irresistible for the cars hummocks and cracks. Kite hunters are caught by crazy winds by towing kites. About ice diving, I'm even scared to think.

Far from sports extreme, the people from the tourist centers are first densely packed with fried omul and postures - giant Buryat pel'menis. On the pose from above - a hole. "First, you suck at her" soul "- hot meat juice from the hole on the crown. And then you're already biting it empty ", - I'm advised by experienced eaters. The juice burns the tongue, steam comes from the hole. Next sweet tea with lemon, dressing with a gradual adoption of the shape of the ball and exit-pull out on a sunny frosty day.

And restless tourists already rent "Khivus" - hovercraft boats - and are carried away on them through openings and cracks into the Small Sea. But "Khivus" is expensive for a long time, so after that people arrange rides on off-road vehicles on ideally flat ice with maximum acceleration and subsequent drift. At the same time, I recommend turning one of Strauss' waltzes at full volume in the car. For example, "Tales from the Vienna Woods". Most likely, then you will not be seasick for a long time on any vehicle. When just drifting becomes boring, inflatable sleds are tied to the cars. Entertainment, by the way, is quite dangerous: "cheesecake makers" risk being smeared on the Baikal ice in the event of an awkward turn by an inexperienced driver. Therefore, we did not risk it and tied a long cable to the car ... my friend Katerina on skates. They did everything neatly: at first Katerina resisted listlessly, and then demanded to continue.

Gala Concert

In general, of course, the slide is ideal. The wind blows the snow off the ice surface and forms the ideal ice rink. Huge, deserted and free. Dumbfounded with happiness, Katerina rushed along the ice with shouts of "This is all mine! My!". Before leaving for the airport, one of my most important tasks was to catch her and take off my skates.

And the supernatural transparency of the Baikal ice is also striking. God knows, due to what is this shade of unearthly turquoise formed - the chemical composition of water or the refraction of sunlight? By the way, the weather on Olkhon is noticeably different from other places on Baikal: according to the results of many years of observations, there are only 48 cloudy days a year on the island. And if the day is sunny and calm, then, for example, local -15 or -20 ° С are quite comfortable for a long stay in the fresh air.

Yes, and sounds this ice produces special. He then shoots sharp breaks of distant cracks of the ground, then in a serpentine quietly hisses a network of shallow superficial under his feet, then booms loudly under the blows of the hands of local ice drummers. The final gala concert was initiated by us and already on the shore of the Great Baikal. Simultaneously, large pieces of ice were smashed and then they listened for a long time, as sharply sing-rang sharp fragments rolling along the ice field to a pink sunset descending to Buguldeisky Bay. And at that time the spirits of shamans from Mishkina Mountain laughed at the insubstantial attempts of the madmen to decipher the formula of love for this amazing place over the name of Baikal by the sound and color of the ice.
September 25: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Зимой и летом один Байкал

Часть первая. Байкальский лед, или Формула любви

Легендарное российское озеро, включенное в Список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО, – магнит для туристов со всей планеты. Мы спросили у двух путешественников со стажем, в какое время года лучше ехать на Байкал. Каждый настаивал на своей версии. Юлия рассказывала о экстремальной поездке по бирюзовому льду. «А как же палаточный лагерь и путешествие на байдарках?» – упрямствовал Александр. Пришлось объявить ничью. Время года не имеет значения, если цель вашей поездки – пресноводное море Сибири.

Зимой и летом один Байкал
Фото: satorifoto.livejournal.com / Даниил Коржонов
«Вот доедем – и покажу тебе место, где на прошлой неделе КамАЗ с дровами на дно ушел. Если полынья в том месте ровненько замерзла, то сквозь лед можно увидеть кабину, там неглубоко! Говорят, водила выбраться так и не успел», – под такие «веселые» байки моего иркутского приятеля Димы и клацанье моих зубов на огромном экспедиционном джипе бодро мчим из Иркутска к Байкалу. На календаре вторая половина февраля. Я, словившая первый «наркотический» приход от лицезрения яростной сини байкальских вод осенью, теперь стремлюсь увидеть его легендарные бирюзовые льды.

КамАЗ, дрова и байкальские духи

Дорога от Иркутска до поселка Сахюрта, откуда в теплое время года на остров Ольхон ходит паром, а зимой берет свое начало официальная ледовая переправа, занимает около трех часов. Причем большая часть времени уходит на задабривание местных духов со сложным характером. Делается это в специальных точках – бурханах, расположенных на всем протяжении трассы. «Надо выпить алкоголь именно белого цвета и оставить монетку из белого металла. А то шиш тебе, а не хорошая погода и крепкий лед; коньяк и вино не прокатывают», – со знанием дела объясняет Дима, грозно шевеля бровями. Ежась на холодном ветру усть-ордынских степей и вспоминая ушедших на дно мужика, дрова и КамАЗ, покорно глотаю водку и ищу мелочь по карманам.

За такие добросовестные check-in`ы на бурханах по пути к Ольхону духи благосклонно приглушают инстинкт самосохранения. И в результате, впервые выезжая на открытый лед, за границы официальной ледовой переправы, ты не орешь от страха, а тихонько подвываешь от ужаса и восторга, сидя в многотонном автомобиле, который неуправляемым снарядом несется по зеркалу Малого моря практически без сцепления с поверхностью. Под колесами – темно-синяя бездна, исчерченная белыми метеорами мелких поверхностных трещин, усеянная галактиками пузырей и туманностями редких снежных проплешин. Процесс торможения на абсолютно гладком льду – это целая спецоперация, требующая особых навыков по мгновенному расчету массы автомобиля по отношению к скорости и примерному расстоянию до ближайших торосов или торчащей изо льда скалы. Господи, спаси и сохрани!

Человек-пингвин

«К скалам близко подъезжать нельзя», – говорит Дима, блокируя все колеса и эффектно пуская машину юзом в сотне метров от обрывистого берега Ольхона. «Они нагреваются от солнца и лед рядом с ними подтаивает. Но мы туда сейчас пешком сходим». К этому моменту сознание полностью смиряется с тем, что на ближайшие несколько дней под тобой будет 50–80 см совершенно прозрачного льда и бог знает сколько десятков или сотен метров водной толщи самого глубокого на этой планете озера. Поэтому первые шаги по льду делаются с обреченностью ведомого на расстрел: в конце концов, какая разница, где тебя поглотит сия пучина – посередине Малого моря или у ближайшей скалы. Но в следующие мгновенья – после эпичного падения на пятую точку с тремя безрезультатными попытками подъема – тема разверзающейся бездны закрывается полностью. Отныне главной твоей заботой становится удержание собственного тела в вертикальном положении. Единственным в моем случае работающим способом более-менее безопасного передвижения по зеркальному льду был режим «человека-пингвина». При этом для профилактики ушибов и переломов при падениях необходимо предусмотреть одежду, которая максимально приближает вас к форме шара.

Дорога жизни

Увидеть главные сокровища зимнего Ольхона – ледяные гроты на севере – можно, только выехав за границы официальной переправы. Это дорога по льду Байкала, которую иркутское подразделение МЧС прокладывает каждый год. Дорога жизни, как ее называют жители Ольхона. Именно этой трассой пользуются для поездок на материк, по ней завозят продукты для островных поселков, дрова для отопления (на Ольхоне, который целиком является заповедной зоной, вырубка запрещена) и медикаменты.

Байкал даже подо льдом – живой, он дышит, ворочается, образуя страшные становые трещины и гигантские торосы. Подводные течения и ураганные ветра в некоторых заливах меняют структуру льда, появляются полыньи. Местные жители, выезжая на открытый лед, хорошо знают такие проблемные участки и объезжают их стороной. Для новичков выезд за пределы вешек, поставленных МЧС, – большой риск. Каждый год под байкальский лед уходят десятки машин. Очень часто жертвами становятся нетрезвые водители и гости из других регионов, по прилете в Иркутск арендующие крутые машины и рассекающие на них по замерзшему озеру. Поэтому главный лайфхак для путешествующих на зимний Байкал: забудьте про аренду автомобиля. За рулем при поездках по льду должен находиться трезвый местный житель, обладающий знаниями о ледовой обстановке по вашему маршруту.

Позы на льду

Все выезжающие на открытый лед предоставлены сами себе. И каждый придумывает развлечения по своему вкусу, отличающие разной степенью безумия и экстремальности. Спортсмены делают многокилометровые многодневные переходы на коньках с лыжными палками, волоча за собой снаряжение в санях. В заливах можно встретить рыбаков: подледный лов омуля превращает мужиков в зомби. Некоторые фанатики привозят с собой фанерные домики и ставят их прямо над лункой, в них же и ночуют. Отчаянные байкеры шипуют резину своих мотоциклов эндуро и пересекают Байкал с юга на север, с разгону перепрыгивая непреодолимые для машин торосы и трещины. Кайтеры буксировочными змеями ловят шальные ветра. Про подледный дайвинг мне даже страшно думать.

Далекий от спортивного экстрима народ с турбаз сначала плотно утрамбовывается жареным омулем и позами – гигантскими бурятскими пельменями. На позе сверху – дырка. «Сначала высасываешь у нее «душу» – горячий мясной сок из отверстия на макушке. А потом уже пустую кусаешь сбоку», – советуют мне опытные едоки. Сок обжигает язык, из отверстия идет пар. Дальше сладкий чай с лимоном, одевание с постепенным принятием формы шара и выход-выкат в солнечный морозный день.

А неугомонные туристы уже арендуют «Хивусы» – катера на воздушной подушке – и уносятся на них через полыньи и трещины в Малое море. Но «Хивус» надолго – это дорого, поэтому после народ устраивает покатушки на внедорожниках по идеально ровному льду с максимальным разгоном и последующим дрифтом. Рекомендую при этом врубить в машине на всю громкость какой-нибудь из вальсов Штрауса. Например, «Сказки Венского леса». Скорее всего, вас потом долго не будет укачивать ни на одном транспортном средстве. Когда просто дрифтовать становится скучно, к машинам привязывают надувные санки-ватрушки. Развлечение, кстати, довольно опасное: «ватрушечники» рискуют быть размазанными о байкальский лед в случае неловкого поворота неопытного водителя. Поэтому мы рисковать не стали и привязали длинным тросом к машине… мою подругу Катерину на коньках. Все сделали аккуратно: Катерина сначала вяло сопротивлялась, а потом требовала продолжения.

Гала-концерт

Вообще, конечно, скольжение идеальное. Ветер сдувает снег с ледовой поверхности и образует идеальный каток. Огромный, безлюдный и бесплатный. Ошалевшая от счастья Катерина носилась по льду с криками «Это все мое! Мое!». Перед выездом в аэропорт одной из моих важнейших задач было поймать ее и снять коньки.

А еще поражает сверхъестественная прозрачность байкальского льда. Бог его знает, за счет чего формируется этот оттенок неземной бирюзы – химического состава воды или преломления солнечных лучей? Кстати, погода на Oльxoне заметно отличается от других мест на Бaйкaле: по результатам многолетних наблюдений, на острове всего 48 пасмурных дней в году. И если день солнечный и безветренный, то, например, местные -15 или -20 °С вполне комфорты для долгого пребывания на свежем воздухе.

Да и звуки этот лед издает особые. Он то стреляет резкими разрывами далеких становых трещин, то по-змеиному тихо шипит сетью мелких поверхностных под ногами, то гулко булькает под ударами ладошек местных ледовых барабанщиков. Финальный гала-концерт мы инициировали сами и уже на берегу Большого Байкала. Синхронно разбивали большие куски льда и потом долго вслушивались, как тонко поют-звенят острые осколки, катящиеся по ледовому полю к розовому закату, опускающемуся на Бугульдейский залив. А в это время духи шаманов с Мишкиной горы хохотали над бесплотными попытками безумцев по звуку и цвету льда расшифровать формулу любви к этому удивительному месту над названием Байкал.
Дни Дальнего Востока в Москве – 2018
3–9 декабря, Тверская площадь. 13–15 декабря, Экспоцентр. Официальный сайт мероприятия ddv.moscow