Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

BAM gives demography lessons

EastRussia dealt with the paradox of growth in cargo traffic and population decline

The demographic situation in the area of ​​the Baikal-Amur Mainline continues to deteriorate, although the state is still ready to invest heavily in increasing the capacity of the road - this is one of the main ways to export high-yield goods through the Far East for export. How many thousands of people lost the BAM zone during the post-perestroika years, and EastRussia could understand what might have kept the remaining ones.

BAM gives demography lessons
Photo: TASS
According to the draft program for the development of the Eastern Range of Railways, by 2025 the annual throughput of the Trans-Siberian and Baikal-Amur Mainlines will exceed 200 million tons (now about 100 million tons of cargo arrive at the Far Eastern ports by rail). The state is investing huge sums of money in the modernization of infrastructure, but at least in the case of the BAM, it risks facing a big problem: there will be no one to serve the growing freight traffic. According to the Russian Railways commission, which examined the BAM zone, over the past few years, about 8,5 people have left the areas where the highway passes. People are leaving because of high consumer prices and utility tariffs, weak social infrastructure. 

BAM connects Transsib with ports of Vanino and Sovetskaya Gavan (Khabarovsk Territory). From Tayshet (Irkutsk Region), the trunk line goes through Bratsk, Ust-Kut, Severobaikalsk (Buryatia), Tynda (Amur Region) and Komsomolsk-on-Amur. In total, in the zone of the mainline there are more than 200 stations and sidings, it passes through 60 settlements, being for many of them the only means of communication. Now the main cargo traffic in BAM is coal, which is exported through the ports of the south of the Far East. 

The BAM zone has been losing population since 90-ies - just like the whole of the Far East. In the main Bamovka settlement of Tynda, for example, in 1991, according to Rosstat, there were 65 thousand people, and on 1 January 2018, there were a total of 33 thousand people. Severobaikalsk for the same period reduced the population from 30 thousand to 23,6 thousand people, Ust-Kut from 62 thousand to 42 thousand people, Taishet from 43 thousand to 33 thousand people, Bratsk from 289 thousand. to 231 thousand people. Komsomolsk-on-Amur in the post-perestroika years lost 71 thousand people, Sovetskaya Gavan - 11 thousand people, Vanino - 6,5 thousand people.

"We looked at the statistics. There was no population growth in any of these settlements over the past five years," said the head of the Amur Region, Vasily Orlov, this summer. "People are gradually leaving, this is an inevitable process, it is extremely difficult to stop it. Only investment projects that will create jobs. A very difficult topic. "

According to railway workers, the share of employees of northern enterprises under the age of 30 decreases every year, that is, there is essentially no influx of young people to BAM. Another age group of workers from 31 to 45 years is fairly stable. But in the next category of personnel, there is an outflow again: after 45, having accumulated funds, many people leave BAM. While they work there, they acquire housing in large settlements. Already, in a number of linear enterprises, there is a shortage of personnel in such large-scale professions as a roadman, electrical signaling and control systems, a mechanic for repairing rolling stock. Moreover, unemployment in the BAM zone is quite low - the population in the near-ground settlements is becoming less.

The occupancy of general educational institutions is reduced, which also poses a big problem. “Dipkun is a small Bamovsky village. The school is not complete, there are only four students in the class where my child studies,” says Natalya Baranova, technician at the Dipkun distance section of the path. “There are no teachers in some subjects. The problem is with additional education. because the future of their child is not indifferent. "

Railway workers are trying to retain staff through higher wages - zonal salary increments and other payments, for example, for professional skills. To provide living space at some BAM stations, technological housing is being built, and at those distances where there is a shortage of personnel, a shift method of work is being developed using the resources of the so-called donor enterprises. But with further growth in traffic, the highway may face more challenges. "Today, the road to all targets for staffing fulfills, overlapping somewhere due to the redeployment of labor resources. But the further the traffic will grow, the number of trains, problem areas will begin to worsen and, unfortunately, we will not be able to cope with the growth of volumes without human hands ", - say in the Far Eastern Railway.

But the key problem of the BAM settlements is the expensive housing and utilities infrastructure: initially, many villages were designed for a much larger population than they are left now, hence the scale of utility facilities and the need to "scatter" the costs of their operation for all remaining residents. The operation of the boiler houses is subsidized by regional authorities, for example, the Amur region spends 400 million rubles annually. on compensation "BAM Utilities". 

Obviously, the consolidation of the population in the zone of the Baikal-Amur Mainline is a joint task of the business and the leadership of the territories: what salary or pay if there is no developed social infrastructure (kindergartens, schools, shops, cultural and sports facilities), people will tend to leave. 

In the meantime, the BAM zone, which is a transit area, has not been greatly favored by the attention of investors and budgets of various levels. So far, the Selemdzhinsky region has the greatest prospects, where in the coming years the Ogodzhinsky coal deposit (up to 10 million tons of coal per year) and gold mining facilities can be developed. In total, new enterprises can give plus 11 thousand jobs - this is more than the entire current population of the region, slightly exceeding 10 thousand people. The Rostec subsidiary developing Ogodja has already promised to build 130 km of roads and railways in the region, which will connect the field and Fevralsk. But such projects in the BAM zone are, unfortunately, isolated, and the state is committed to the development of social infrastructure in the Far East through budgetary investments, primarily in large settlements - centers of socio-economic growth. 
February 27: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

БАМ дает уроки демографии

В парадоксе роста грузопотока и падения численности населения разбиралось EastRussia

Демографическая ситуация в зоне Байкало-Амурской магистрали продолжает ухудшаться, хотя государство по-прежнему готово вкладывать значительные средства в наращивание пропускной способности дороги - это один из главных путей для вывоза через Дальний Восток на экспорт высокодоходных грузов. Сколько тысяч человек потеряла зона БАМа за постперестроечные годы и что могло бы удержать остающихся, разбиралось EastRussia.

БАМ дает уроки демографии
Фото: ТАСС
Согласно проекту программы развития Восточного полигона железных дорог, к 2025 году ежегодная пропускная способность Транссибирской и Байкало-Амурской магистралей превысит 200 млн тонн (сейчас в дальневосточные порты по железной дороге приходит порядка 100 млн тонн грузов). Государство вкладывает огромные средства в модернизацию инфраструктуры, но по крайней мере в случае с БАМом рискует столкнуться с большой проблемой: растущие грузопотоки будет некому обслуживать. По данным комиссии РЖД, обследовавшей зону БАМа, за последние несколько лет из районов, где проходит магистраль, выехало порядка 8,5 тыс. человек. Люди уезжают из-за высоких потребительских цен и тарифов ЖКХ, слабой социальной инфраструктуры. 

БАМ соединяет Транссиб с портами Ванино и Советская Гавань (Хабаровский край). От Тайшета (Иркутская область) магистраль идет через Братск, Усть-Кут, Северобайкальск (Бурятия), Тынду (Амурская область) и Комсомольск-на-Амуре. Всего в зоне магистрали более 200 станций и разъездов, она проходит через 60 населенных пунктов, являясь для многих из них единственным средством сообщения. Сейчас основной грузопоток по БАМу - это уголь, идущий на экспорт через порты юга Дальнего Востока. 

Зона БАМа теряет население с 90-х годов - как и весь Дальний Восток. В главном бамовском поселке Тында, к примеру, в 1991 году по данным Росстата проживало 65 тыс. человек, а на 1 января 2018 года - всего 33 тыс. человек. Северобайкальск за этот же период снизил численность населения с 30 тыс. до 23,6 тыс. человек, Усть-Кут - с 62 тыс. до 42 тыс. человек, Тайшет - с 43 тыс. до 33 тыс. человек, Братск - с 289 тыс. до 231 тыс. человек. Комсомольск-на-Амуре за постперестроечные годы потерял 71 тыс. человек, Советская Гавань - 11 тыс. человек, Ванино - 6,5 тыс. человек.

"Мы посмотрели статистику, ни по одному из этих населенных пунктов за последние пять лет не было роста численности населения, - говорил этим летом глава Приамурья Василий Орлов. - Люди постепенно уезжают, это неизбежный процесс, остановить его крайне сложно. Это могут сделать только инвестиционные проекты, которые создадут рабочие места. Очень тяжелая тема".

По данным железнодорожников, доля сотрудников северных предприятий в возрасте до 30 лет с каждым годом снижается, то есть притока на БАМ молодежи по существу нет. Другая возрастная группа работников от 31 до 45 лет достаточно стабильна. Но в следующей категории персонала снова наблюдается отток: после 45-ти, накопив средства, многие люди уезжают с БАМа. Пока они там работают, приобретают жилье в крупных населенных пунктах. Уже сейчас по ряду линейных предприятий ощущается нехватка кадров по таким массовым профессиям, как монтер пути, электромеханик СЦБ, слесарь по ремонту подвижного состава. Причем безработица в зоне БАМа достаточно низкая - населения в притрассовых поселках становится все меньше.

Сокращается наполняемость общеобразовательных заведений, что также несет большую проблему. "Дипкун – небольшой бамовский поселок. Школа малокомплектная, в классе, где учится мой ребенок, всего четыре ученика, - говорит техник участка Дипкунской дистанции пути Наталья Баранова. - Учителей по некоторым предметам нет. Проблема и с дополнительным образованием. Поневоле задумаешься о переезде, ведь будущее своего ребенка не безразлично".

Железнодорожники пытаются удерживать персонал через повышение заработков - зональные надбавки к зарплате и другие выплаты, к примеру, за профмастерство. Для обеспечения жилплощадью на некоторых станциях БАМа строится технологическое жилье, а на тех дистанциях, где имеется кадровый дефицит, развивается вахтовый метод работы с использованием ресурсов так называемых предприятий-доноров. Но с дальнейшим ростом перевозок магистраль может столкнуться с очередными вызовами. "Сегодня дорога все целевые показатели по обеспеченности персоналом выполняет, где-то перекрываясь за счет передислокации трудовых ресурсов. Но чем дальше будет расти грузопоток, количество поездов, проблемные места начнут усугубляться и, к сожалению, мы не сможем справляться с ростом объемов без участия человеческих рук", - говорят в ДВЖД.

Но ключевая проблема населенных пунктов БАМа - дорогое ЖКХ: изначально многие поселки проектировались на значительно большее население, чем в них осталось сейчас, отсюда - масштабность коммунальных объектов и необходимость "раскидывать" затраты на их функционирование на всех оставшихся жителей. Функционирование котельных субсидируется властями регионов, например, Амурская область тратит ежегодно 400 млн руб. на компенсации "Коммунальным системам БАМа". 

Очевидно, закрепление населения в зоне Байкало-Амурской магистрали - совместная задача бизнеса и руководства территорий: какую зарплату ни плати, если нет развитой социальной инфраструктуры (детских садов, школ, магазинов, объектов культуры и спорта), люди будут стремиться уехать. 

Пока же зона БАМа, являющаяся транзитным районом, не сильно обласкана вниманием инвесторов и бюджетов различных уровней. Наибольшие перспективы пока что имеет Селемджинский район, где в ближайшие годы могут быть освоены Огоджинское месторождение каменных углей (до 10 млн тонн угля в год) и объекты золотодобычи. В сумме новые предприятия могут дать плюс 11 тыс. рабочих мест - это больше, чем все нынешнее население района, незначительно превышающее 10 тыс. человек. Разрабатывающее Огоджу дочернее предприятие Ростеха уже пообещало построить в районе 130 км автомобильных и железных дорог, которые свяжут месторождение и Февральск. Но подобные проекты в зоне БАМа пока, к сожалению, единичны, а государство настроено на развитие социальной инфраструктуры на Дальнем Востоке за счет бюджетных инвестиций в первую очередь в крупных населенных пунктах - центрах социально-экономического роста. 
Что на Дальнем Востоке произошло за неделю и кому это выгодно?
Эксклюзивная аналитика от EastRussia – каждый вторник в вашем почтовом ящике