Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Large fish devour small

Alexander Saveliev on Mergers and Acquisitions in Fisheries

Large fish devour small
Photo: stop-book.com

Alexander Saveliev

Head of the Fisheries Information Agency
Five hundred years have passed, but nothing has changed.

Like the graphic genius of Peter Brueghel the Elder, nicknamed Muzhitsky, on the famous engraving "Big Fish Eats Small", now in the fishing industry of Russia the same passions are boiling.

The news came that people from Roman Abramovich's team became co-owners of Sakhalin fishing company Poronai. And before there was a message that the people of Gennady Timchenko bought either from the Chinese, or from Russian individuals, fish-producing enterprises with a huge number of quotas, with a worn-out fleet and turned into a "Russian fishing company." And how many more people from a well-known list of billionaires are now scouring the fishery complex ?! And the industry has richly grown its billionaires!

I have no doubt there will be more news. The successes of Russian fishermen, impressive economic indicators, enviable profitability have drawn like a magnet to Big Business renewable raw materials. Well, he has a short conversation with a small one.

Big Business has a lot of ambition, however, as they say, a swing for a ruble, and a blow for a penny.

This is their main theme for the last four years. According to Rosrybolovstvo, in 2012 there were 4000 vessels in the industry. Two years later - 2600. That is, the rate of retirement of the fishing fleet, the depreciation of which is estimated at 90%, is catastrophic. And they only promise to build about 30 new ones, of which 7 have just been laid at the shipyard, as the head of the Federal Agency for Fishery Ilya Shestakov said at yesterday's meeting with Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev. That is, it will take over 100 years to restore the potential. And only on condition that the companies of this very Big Business do not abandon the dubious program, as, for example, the "Preobrazhenskaya Trawl Fleet Base" has already done.

Now it is quite obvious that the project, for which the law was changed and issued about thirty decisions of the government, failed. The investment quotas will allow the Russian Fisheries Company, and perhaps even a couple of billionaires, to update their collapsing fishing fleet, but certainly not at the Admiralty shipyards, filled with defense orders, and absolutely not from domestic components.

In the industry, newcomers behave like an elephant in a china shop, and everyone strives to modernize and rebuild something to suit their Big Business interests. The fishermen have just begun to move away from the investment scourge and resign themselves to the fact that they will now annually withdraw 20% of the total allowable catch from them - and this is no less than 600 thousand tons of aquatic biological resources - for the construction of ships for companies of just this Big Business is like a new attack looming. Now modernizers have their eyes on the crab. And it would be good, as is customary and as permissible by law, to buy companies with quotas for this very crab, but no: inspired by investment quotas, they decided not to bother, but to put these crab quotas at auctions.

Then the entire industry, hardened by storms, shuddered!

All were revolted: associations and unions, bankers and businessmen, veterans and young specialists, heads of Far Eastern regions and the plenipotentiary in the Far Eastern District. Yes, there the plenipotentiary, Vladimir Putin himself, the president of the Russian Federation, at the December press conference clearly stated that the historical principle is good for fishing, it needs to be preserved.

All were unambiguous about the catastrophic threat to the well-established historical principle from the disruptive crab auctions. All are ready to firmly defend the historical principle of giving fishermen the opportunity to fish not only crabs, but fish in general for the coming fifteen-year period at the forthcoming IV Congress of Russian fish industry workers. But will that stop the Big Fish ?!

A huge fish is shown with a ripped belly and an open mouth, from which other small fish drop out. Those, in turn, keep smaller fish, and in the air above the water an average fish flies with an open snout, hoping to grab the prey. On the hill is a creature resembling a person with a fish body, which drags its own prey in the mouth.

In federal and non-federal, sectoral and non-industrial mass media, a PR company is deployed, which should convince us how the country will be covered with donated fish and crab at the price of herring, it is only the quota for these crabs put up for auctions. By the way, the authors of crazy statements are not indicated, as in his time Peter Bruegel signed his famous engraving in the name of Bosch in order to please the rich customers.

The engraving is now strikingly modern ... So, Bruegel depicts the world of people, where the strong devours the weak, but he can also be the victim of a larger creature.

Agree, the Dutch painter PR more abruptly. He and through half a thousand years pierces us with the thought that everyone is a predator and a victim at the same time. Nowhere and no one knows what is happening in reality, and what will happen next second.

I, like Bruegel, have no interest in a particular person, whether Abramovich or Timchenko, Vorobiev or Frank, Malkin or Panchenko, Orlov or Ponomariov, as well as I have no illusions about humanity: pathetic, weak and lazy. As they say in our village, there is always more fish in someone else's boat.
May 9: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Большие рыбы пожирают малых

Александр Савельев о слияниях и поглощениях в рыбной хозяйстве

Большие рыбы пожирают малых
Фото: stop-book.com

Александр Савельев

руководитель Информационного агентства по рыболовству
Пятьсот лет прошло, а ничего не изменилось.

Как и у гения графики Питера Брейгеля Старшего, прозванного Мужицким, на знаменитой гравюре "Большие рыбы пожирают малых", нынче в рыбной отрасли России бурлят те же самые страсти.

Вот прилетела новость, что люди из команды Романа Абрамовича стали совладельцами сахалинской рыболовецкой компании "Поронай". А прежде было сообщение, что люди Геннадия Тимченко купили то ли у китайцев, то ли у российских физлиц рыбодобывающие предприятия с огромным количеством квот, с изношенным флотом и превратились в "Русскую рыбопромышленную компанию". А сколько ещё людей из известного списка миллиардеров рыщут сейчас по рыбохозяйственному комплексу?! Да и своих миллиардеров отрасль богато взрастила!

Не сомневаюсь, новости ещё будут. Успехи российских рыбаков, впечатляющие экономические показатели, завидная рентабельность как магнитом потянули к возобновляемому сырью Big Business. Ну а у него с малым, как говорится, разговор короткий.

Гонору-то у Big Business немеряно, однако, что называется, замах на рубль, а удар на копейку.

Вот их главная тема последних четырёх лет. По данным Росрыболовства в 2012 году в отрасли было 4000 судов. Два года спустя - 2600. То есть темп выбытия из строя промыслового флота, износ которого оценивается на 90%, катастрофический. А новых лишь обещают построить около 30, из которых 7 только заложили на верфи, как заявил на вчерашней встрече в премьер-министром Дмитрием Медведевым глава Росрыболовства Илья Шестаков. То есть, чтобы восстановить потенциал, потребуется более 100 лет. И то при условии, если компании этого самого Big Business не откажутся от сомнительной программы, как, например, уже это сделала "Преображенская база тралового флота".

Теперь уже совершенно очевидно, что проект, ради которого изменили законодательство и выпустили порядка тридцати постановлений правительства, провалился. Инвестиционные квоты позволят разве что "Русской рыбопромышленной компании" и ещё, может быть, парочке миллиардеров обновить свой разваливающийся рыбопромысловый флот, но уж точно не на Адмиралтейских верфях, заваленных оборонными заказами, и абсолютно точно не из отечественных комплектующих.

В отрасли новички ведут себя, как слон в посудной лавке, и всё норовят чего-нибудь модернизировать и перестроить под свои Big Business интересы. Только-только начали рыбаки отходить от инвестиционной напасти и смиряться, что у них теперь ежегодно будут изымать по 20% из общего допустимого улова, - а это ни много ни мало 600 тысяч тонн водных биологических ресурсов, - на строительство судов для компаний как раз этого Big Business, как новая напасть замаячила. Теперь модернизаторы глаз положили на краба. И добро бы, как это принято и как законом допустимо, покупать компании с квотами на этого самого краба, ан нет: воодушевлённые инвестиционными квотами решили не заморачиваться, а пустить эти крабовые квоты на аукционы.

Тут-то вся отрасль, закалённая штормами, вздрогнула!

Возмутились все: ассоциации и союзы, банкиры и предприниматели, ветераны и молодые специалисты, главы дальневосточных регионов и сам полпред в Дальневосточном округе. Да что там полпред, сам Владимир Путин, президент Российской Федерации, на декабрьской пресс-конференции чётко заявил, что исторический принцип хорош для рыболовства, его нужно сохранить.

Все высказались однозначно в отношении катастрофической угрозы великолепно зарекомендовавшему себя историческому принципу от разрушительных крабовых аукционов. Все готовы твёрдо отстаивать исторический принцип наделения рыбаков возможностью промысла не только крабов, а и рыбы в целом на предстоящий пятнадцатилетний период на грядущем IV съезде работников рыбного хозяйства России. Но разве это остановит Большую Рыбу?!

Огромная рыба показывается с распоротым брюхом и раскрытой пастью, откуда вываливаются другие мелкие рыбешки. Те, в свою очередь, держат рыб поменьше, а в воздухе над водой летит средняя рыба с открытым рылом, надеясь схватить добычу. На холме - существо, похожее на человека с рыбьим телом, который тащит в пасти уже собственную добычу.

В федеральных и нефедеральных, отраслевых и неотраслевых средствах массовой информации развёрнута PR-компания, которая должна нас убедить, как страну завалят дармовой рыбой и крабами по цене селёдки, стоит только квоты на этих самых крабов выставить на аукционы. Кстати, авторы шальных утверждений не указаны, как в своё время и Питер Брейгель подписал свою знаменитую гравюру именем Босха, чтобы угодить богатым заказчикам.

Гравюра и теперь поразительно современна…  Так, Брейгель изображает мир людей, где сильный пожирает слабого, но и тот может оказаться в роли жертвы более крупного существа.

Согласитесь, у голландского живописца PR покруче. Он и через полтысячи лет пронзает нас мыслью о том, что каждый является хищником и жертвой одновременно. Нигде и никто не знает о происходящем в реальности, и что будет происходить в следующую секунду.

Я, как и Брейгель, не испытываю интереса к конкретной личности, будь то Абрамович или Тимченко, Воробьёв или Франк, Малкин или Панченко, Орлов или Пономарёв равно, как и не испытываю иллюзий по поводу человечества: жалкого, слабого и ленивого. Как говорят в нашей деревне, в чужой лодке всегда больше рыбки.