Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Black Chinese - made in Russia

Alexander Saveliev on where the elite delicacy gets to the shelves of shops

In Rosrybolovstvo, they predict that by the year 2000 2030 will double the production of aquaculture black caviar. The task, frankly speaking, is not ambitious. However, it is difficult - if feasible at all. And poaching is not the only obstacle to this goal, although the flow of criminally harvested black caviar from the Far East is only increasing.

Black Chinese - made in Russia
Photo: shutterstock.com

Alexander Saveliev

Head of the Fisheries Information Agency
Contrary to the prevailing stereotypes, the center for illegal mining of black gold has long moved from the Astrakhan lower reaches of the Volga to the lower reaches of the Amur River in the Khabarovsk Territory. It is from there, from the east of Russia, as well as from the ways of delicatessen supply to the main regions of consumption located in the west, we regularly read in criminal news about the detention of halftone parties. Of course, crime undermines legal business, but does not destroy it completely, like another danger. Also from the east.

The threat in China. More precisely - in the incredible development and incredible profitability of Chinese aquaculture.

Today, in the Russian market, the price per kilogram of black caviar is 45 thousand rubles. In China, the purchase price is about $ 20, that is, about 1200 rubles. Thus, this makes it completely pointless to produce black caviar in Russia. Moreover, the flow of Chinese black caviar to the Russian market significantly reduced the profitability of poaching. The situation on the Russian market now looks like it's much cheaper, easier and safer to buy a delicacy in the Middle Kingdom and sell it to us. Which, in fact, is happening with great success.

Yes, Chinese black caviar of low quality (and who now gives some quality to the quality?) Yes, it has a "special" taste (who now remembers the real taste of black caviar ?!). However, the Chinese feed the tens of tons of sturgeon, fed, by the way, from broodstocks exported from Russia to the 90-ies, with a great deal of enthusiasm, and abundantly spiky the non-interesting black delicacy with preservatives. Worse, the size of the carcasses of 7-9-year-old sturgeons that come to us for imports from China is much larger than in the aquaculture of other countries. This indicates quite clearly the presence of growth hormones in the feed. At the same time, sturgeons give caviar only at 8-th year of life, and in China it happens much faster. Nobody seriously studied what the Chinese are pumping our legendary fish.

In figures, the production of black caviar is as follows. The total volume of world production is approaching 300 tons. France produces 28 tons, Germany - 12 tons, Italy - 26 tons, the USA - 40 tons, Latin America - 15 tons, Spain - 5 tons, Israel-6, Iran-1,2 tons. How much China produces is unknown, accurate data are not available. Although only one large Chinese company in 2016 produced 36 tons of black caviar. I think the total figure is about 150 tons.

In total, according to the Rosselkhoznadzor, China has accredited 136 enterprises that have the right to supply sturgeon and caviar to the Russian Federation.

And supply. And not only legally.

In Russia, the cultivation of sturgeon is done by the order of 60 companies, which in total produced 2016 tons of black caviar in 44, according to Rosrybolovstva. Data on exports and imports for the past year yet, but in 2015, for export, according to the Federal Customs Service, it took 6,5 tons. And as much import was imported, mainly from China. The fresh figures will obviously be much higher. Add to this the flows through Kazakhstan and other routes, and it becomes clear that the Chinese have filled us with black caviar.

The volume of consumption of black caviar in Russia is impossible to estimate: poachers do not report on their work, and suppliers from China (those who do it illegally) do not. Colleagues at the FSB estimate the illegal turnover of black caviar in Russia at $ 1,5 billion.

The recent news about how the Moscow employees of the "Post of Russia", using X-rays, calculated half a ton of doubtful eggs, smiled not because the layers of red hid the black caviar, but because the cargo came from the Kamchatka Territory, where the sturgeon never slept. Of course, it was delivered to Kamchatka from China.

Next came the news even more "more fun." Already a ton of black caviar was confiscated by Tver operatives in one of the pigsties in the Rzhevsky district, where the masterpieces of Chinese aquaculture were packed under the "Gold of the Caspian" brand for expensive supermarkets in the capital at a retail price of 80 (eighty!) Thousand rubles per kilogram.

Actually, this is how this simple and extremely profitable business works - Chinese caviar is simply packaged into a well-known Russian brand.

This problem first arose in 2015 year, last year - it has become even more acute. It is known that both the police and the FSB are working to suppress the channels of Chinese "import" and the opening of frauds to turn it into Russian products. I am sure that the above-mentioned criminal cases are not extreme, and we will hear more than once about high-profile detentions. However, it is already clear that in every second can of black caviar from three, on which there is the inscription "Made in Astrakhan", in fact - black aquaculture roe from China.

Therefore, the forecast of a double increase in the production of black caviar in Russia so far does not seem convincing.

First, it is necessary to reliably protect the native manufacturer from rampant Chinese expansion.
October 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Черная китайская — made in Russia

Александр Савельев о том, откуда элитный деликатес попадает на полки магазинов

В Росрыболовстве прогнозируют к 2030 году двукратное увеличение производства аквакультурной чёрной икры. Задача, прямо скажем, не амбициозная. Однако трудновыполнимая — если выполнимая вообще. И браконьерство — не единственное препятствие на пути к этой цели, хотя поток преступно добытой чёрной икры с Дальнего Востока только увеличивается.

Черная китайская — made in Russia
Фото: shutterstock.com

Александр Савельев

руководитель Информационного агентства по рыболовству
Вопреки сложившимся стереотипам, центр нелегальной добычи чёрного золота уже давно переместился из астраханских низовьев Волги в хабаровские низовья Амура. Именно оттуда, с востока России, а также с путей поставки деликатеса в основные регионы потребления, расположенные на западе, мы регулярно читаем в криминальных новостях о задержаниях полутонных партий. Безусловно, криминал подрывает легальный бизнес, но не губит его окончательно, как другая опасность. Тоже с востока.

Угроза в Китае. Точнее – в невероятном развитии и невероятной рентабельности китайской аквакультуры.

Сегодня на российском рынке цена за килограмм чёрной икры — 45 тысяч рублей. В Китае закупочная цена составляет около $20, то есть около 1200 рублей. Таким образом, это делает совершенно бессмысленным производство чёрной икры в России. Более того, поток китайской чёрной икры на российский рынок значительно снизил рентабельность браконьерства. Ситуация на российском рынке теперь выглядит так, что намного дешевле, проще и безопаснее покупать деликатес в Поднебесной и реализовывать у нас. Что, собственно, и происходит с большим успехом.

Да, китайская чёрная икра невысокого качества (а кто сейчас качеству придаёт хоть какое то значение?!) Да, у неё «особый» вкус (а кто сейчас помнит настоящий вкус чёрной икры?!). Однако китайцы с большим задором вскармливают животными кормами десятки тонн осетров, взращенных, кстати, из маточных стад, вывезенных из России в 90-е годы, и обильно шпигуют совершенно не интересный им чёрный деликатес консервантами. Хуже того, размеры тушек 7-9-летних осетров, которые поступают к нам по импорту из Китая, значительно больших размеров, чем в аквакультуре других стран. Это совершенно точно указывает на присутствие в кормах гормонов роста. При этом осетры дают икру только на 8-й год жизни, а в Китае это происходит гораздо быстрее. Никто серьёзно не изучал, чем накачивают китайцы нашу легендарную рыбу.

В цифрах производство чёрной икры выглядит следующим образом. Общий объем мирового производства приближается к 300 тоннам. Франция производит 28 тонн, Германия — 12 тонн, Италия — 26 тонн, США — 40 тонн, Латинская Америка — 15 тонн, Испания — 5 тонн, Израиль — 6, Иран — 1,2 тонны. Сколько производит Китай неизвестно, точные данные отсутствуют. Хотя только одна крупная китайская компания в 2016 году произвела 36 тонн черной икры. Думаю, общая цифра составляет порядка 150 тонн. 

Всего, по данным Россельхознадзора, в КНР аккредитовано 136 предприятий, которые имеют право поставлять в Российскую Федерацию осетровые виды рыб и их икру.

И поставляют. И не только легально.

В России выращиванием осетровых занимаются порядка 60 компаний, которые суммарно произвели в 2016 году, по данным Росрыболовства, 44 тонн чёрной икры. Сведений по экспорту-импорту за прошлый год пока нет, но вот в 2015 году на экспорт, по данным ФТС, ушло 6,5 тонн. И столько же было ввезено по импорту, в основном из Китая. Свежие цифры совершенно очевидно будут значительно выше. Добавьте к этому потоки через Казахстан и прочие пути, и станет ясно, что китайцы завалили нас чёрной икрой.

Объем потребления черной икры в России оценить невозможно: браконьеры не отчитываются о своей работе, да и поставщики из Китая (те, которые делают это нелегально) — тоже. Коллеги в ФСБ оценивают нелегальный оборот чёрной икры в России в $1,5 млрд.

Недавняя новость о том, как московские сотрудники "Почты России" с помощью рентгена вычислили полтонны сомнительной икры, улыбнула не тем, что в слоях красной скрывалась чёрная икра, а тем, что груз пришёл из Камчатского края, где осетров отродясь не ловили. На Камчатку она, естественно, была доставлена из Китая.

Следом последовала новость ещё «веселее». Уже тонну чёрной икры изъяли тверские оперативники в одном из свинарников Ржевского района, где шедевры китайской аквакультуры фасовали под маркой «Золото Каспия» для дорогих столичных супермаркетов по розничной цене 80 (восемьдесят!) тысяч рублей за килограмм.

Собственно, так и устроен этот нехитрый и чрезвычайно доходный бизнес — китайскую икру просто упаковывают в известный российский бренд.

Эта проблема впервые встала в 2015 году, в прошлом году — она еще более обострилась. Известно, что и полиция, и ФСБ работают над пресечением каналов китайского «импорта» и вскрытию махинаций по его превращению в российскую продукцию. Уверен, что упомянутые уголовные дела не крайние и мы ещё не раз услышим о громких задержаниях. Однако уже сейчас ясно, что в каждой второй банке чёрной икры из трех, на которой стоит надпись «Сделано в Астрахани», в действительности — чёрная аквакультурная икра из Китая.

Поэтому прогноз о двукратном увеличении производства чёрной икры в России пока выглядит неубедительно.

Сначала необходимо надёжно защитить родного производителя от безудержной китайской экспансии.