Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
Far East: a strategic priority of the Russian state - EastRussia | Opinions

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

The Far East: the strategic priority of the Russian state

About why the Russian authorities paid attention to the development of the eastern territories and what results were achieved in this direction

The Far East: the strategic priority of the Russian state
Photo: TASS

Rostislav Turovsky

Doctor of Political Sciences, Professor of HSE, Scientific Editor East Russia
The Far East remains a strategic priority in Russian regional policy, which is confirmed time and again by presidential messages. So, in the message of the president, sounded 1 December, the intention of the state to pay special attention to the development of its eastern outskirts was confirmed. There are a number of reasons for this, among them the need to overcome the backlog in the development of these territories, and the intensification of efforts to include Russia in international relations in the APR, which are of particular importance in the current geopolitical situation. In 2016, the state continued to work on the creation of special tax and economic regimes in the Far East that were designed to stimulate investment activity, made decisions on state support for various projects, paid attention to systemic measures designed to improve the business climate in the Far East, introduce new "rules of the game" In the fishing industry, etc.

Like throughout Russia, the current Far East policy was not affected by the current financial constraints. This year, an updated version of the state program for social and economic development of the Far East was approved, but the parameters of its financing have become the subject of uneasy battles. Ultimately, the budget expenditures for this program, like many other regional development programs, have been curtailed. However, the breakthrough was the decision on mandatory presence of Far Eastern sections in all state and federal target programs. Thus, the task of proportional inclusion of the Far East in government programs has been resolved.

But as a whole, the state is moving further and further from direct financing of the Far East to creating a favorable business climate, which in the future will allow it to develop without constant “pumping” of budget money. The current stage from this point of view can be called transitional. So far, the state and its related structures are involved in co-financing the Far Eastern projects, as evidenced by the increased activity of the Far East Development Fund, a series of government decisions on the selection of projects receiving state support. Particular attention, given the specificity of the territory, is paid to raw materials and infrastructure projects, but in general, their list is varied.

The development of the Far East is impossible without overcoming infrastructure constraints. During the year, the issue of equalizing the Far Eastern energy tariffs, the magnitude of which hampers the development of business in the region, with the average Russian ones, was not without difficulty. In the end, a solution to this problem was found, and in the foreseeable future, the relevant federal law will begin to operate.

The Far East is gradually becoming the center of international cooperation, where one of the important lines has been the diversification of Russian ties with various countries. The Second Eastern Economic Forum, held in Vladivostok, became an even larger event than the first. For objective reasons, China remains the main partner of Russia in the Far East. The construction of the Power of Siberia gas pipeline continues, Chinese capital is included in the largest project of the oil refining complex in Primorye, decisions are made on the development of cross-border cooperation (a special intergovernmental commission has been created for this). At the same time, this year more and more attention is being paid to relations with Japan, and companies from India are expanding their presence in the oil business. This ensures a more balanced interaction of Russia with various countries of the world. Despite the known difficulties, cooperation with Western countries is not curtailed. For example, this year the government gave permission to Amur Minerals, a US-Canadian company, to work at the Malmyzhskoye gold-copper deposit in the Khabarovsk Territory.



Systemic measures of the state on the development of the Far East suggest that it becomes a whole "scattering" of growth points, represented in all subjects of the federation. As part of the implementation of last year's presidential address, the long-term plan for socio-economic development of Komsomolsk-on-Amur, the second largest city in the Khabarovsk Krai and a large industrial center, was approved in 2016. The expansion of the regime of the free port from Vladivostok to other territories began: free ports appeared in the Khabarovsk Territory, on Sakhalin, Kamchatka and Chukotka. The process of creating territories for advanced social and economic development (TACER) is continuing. This year new TOSER began to be created for large industrial projects - extraction of minerals in South Yakutia, shipyard "Zvezda" in Primorsky Krai. There was the first TACER in the underdeveloped Jewish Autonomous Region and two TOSER - agrarian and tourist on Sakhalin.

An ambitious project of the state was the distribution of free hectares of the Far Eastern land, designed to bring into circulation empty lands and attract the population to work in the Far East. Given the roughness in the organization of this unprecedented process, then a bill was drafted clarifying many details of the provision of land. Meanwhile, from 1 February of the next year, not only Far Easterners, but also all the inhabitants of Russia will be able to get hectares in the Far Eastern Federal District. This program is partly related to solving the demographic problems of the Far East, where, incidentally, the situation begins to level off: statistics show that the demographic situation in the Far East is slightly better than the average Russian, and the seemingly endless outflow of population is slowing down.

The resource potential of the Far East and the systemic measures of the state allow us to speak about a very gradual transition of the DFO to a model of advanced development, although there has not yet been a breakthrough, and the statistics do not look better than the average Russian. For example, according to the results of January-October 2016, the industrial growth in the Far Eastern Federal District was only 100,2% in comparison with the same period of 2015. This growth is still provided by the largest commodity production. Nevertheless, completely new projects are appearing - gas processing in the Amur region, production of mineral fertilizers and ferrous metallurgy in Primorsky Krai. The strategy of the diamond industry is changing: Russia is increasingly counting on sales in Asian markets, and therefore the Eurasian Diamond Center was opened in Vladivostok. The reform of the fishing industry has created a system of investment quotas, in connection with which fishermen will have to place orders for construction of ships in Russia, which can revive the Far Eastern shipbuilding. Industrial development of the Far East is closely interconnected with the infrastructure. This year, all the seaports of the Far Eastern Federal District show good dynamics, the construction of railway and automobile bridges connecting Russia and China has been launched, and the painful issue of financing new stages in the modernization of key railways - Trans-Siberian and BAM - is being resolved.

The Far Eastern policy of the Russian state has become unprecedented in recent history, providing for a whole range of measures aimed at developing this most important part of the country, which has previously been given insufficient attention. In 2016, new results of this policy began to appear, evidencing the gradual formation of the potential for transforming the Far East into a locomotive for the growth of the Russian economy and for deepening Russia's integration into the APR.


Published in the tab "East of Russia"
(Joint project of the newspaper Izvestia and EastRussia)

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дальний Восток: стратегический приоритет российского государства

О том, почему российские власти обратили внимание на развитие восточных тер­риторий и каких результатов на этом направлении удалось добиться

Дальний Восток: стратегический приоритет российского государства
Фото: ТАСС

Ростислав Туровский

Доктор политических наук, профессор НИУ ВШЭ, научный редактор East Russia
Дальний Восток остается стратегическим приоритетом в российской региональной политике, что раз за разом подтверждают президентские послания. Так и в послании президента, прозвучавшем 1 декабря, были подтверждены намерения государства уделять развитию его восточной окраины особое и подчеркнутое внимание. Для этого есть целый ряд оснований, среди которых и потребность в преодолении отставания в развитии этих территорий, и активизация усилий по включению России в международные отношения в АТР, имеющие особое значение в нынешней геополитической ситуации. В 2016 г. государство продолжало работу над созданием на Дальнем Востоке особых налогово-экономических режимов, призванных стимулировать инвестиционную деятельность, принимало решения о государственной поддержке различных проектов, уделяло внимание системным мерам, призванным улучшить деловой климат на Дальнем Востоке, ввести новые «правила игры» в рыбной отрасли и др.

Как и по всей России, на дальневосточную политику не могли не повлиять текущие финансовые ограничения. В этом году была утверждена обновленная редакция государственной программы социально-экономического развития Дальнего Востока, но параметры ее финансирования стали предметом непростых баталий. В конечном итоге бюджетные расходы на эту программу, как и на многие другие программы регионального развития, были урезаны. Однако прорывом стало решение об обязательном наличии дальневосточных разделов во всех государственных и федеральных целевых программах. Тем самым задача по пропорциональному включению Дальнего Востока в правительственные программы решена.

Но в целом государство все дальше продвигается от прямого финансирования Дальнего Востока к созданию благоприятного делового климата, который в будущем позволит развиваться без постоянного «закачивания» бюджетных денег. Нынешний этап с этой точки зрения можно назвать переходным. Пока государство и связанные с ним структуры участвуют в софинансировании дальневосточных проектов, о чем свидетельствуют возросшая активность Фонда развития Дальнего Востока, серия правительственных решений об отборе проектов, получающих государственную поддержку. Особое внимание, учитывая специфику территории, уделяется сырьевым и инфраструктурным проектам, но в целом их список разнообразен.

Развитие Дальнего Востока невозможно без преодоления инфраструктурных ограничений. В течение года не без труда решался вопрос о выравнивании дальневосточных энерготарифов, величина которых мешает развитию бизнеса в регионе, со среднероссийскими. В конечном итоге вариант решения этой проблемы был найден, и в обозримой перспективе начнет действовать соответствующий федеральный закон.

Дальний Восток постепенно превращается в центр международного сотрудничества, где одной из важных линий стала диверсификация российских связей с различными странами. Второй Восточный экономический форум, прошедший во Владивостоке, стал еще более масштабным мероприятием, чем первый. По объективным причинам главным партнером России на Дальнем Востоке остается Китай. Продолжается строительство экспортного газопровода «Сила Сибири», китайский капитал входит в крупнейший проект нефтеперерабатывающего комплекса в Приморье, принимаются решения о развитии приграничного сотрудничества (для этого создана специальная межправительственная комиссия). В то же время в этом году все больше внимания уделяется связям с Японией, а в нефтяном бизнесе расширяют свое присутствие компании из Индии. Тем самым обеспечивается более сбалансированное взаимодействие России с различными странами мира. Несмотря на известные трудности, не сворачивается сотрудничество с западными странами. Например, в этом году правительство дало разрешение американо-канадской компании «Амур Минералс» на работу на Малмыжском золото-медном месторождении в Хабаровском крае.

Системные меры государства по развитию Дальнего Востока предполагают его превращение в целую «россыпь» точек роста, представленных во всех субъектах федерации. В рамках реализации прошлогоднего президентского послания, в 2016 г. был утвержден долгосрочный план социально-экономического развития Комсомольска-на-Амуре – второго по величине города в Хабаровском крае и крупного промышленного центра. Началось расширение режима свободного порта с Владивостока на другие территории: свободные порты появились в Хабаровском крае, на Сахалине, Камчатке и Чукотке. Продолжается процесс создания территорий опережающего социально-экономического развития (ТОСЭР). В этом году новые ТОСЭР стали создаваться под крупные промышленные проекты – добычу полезных ископаемых в Южной Якутии, судоверфь «Звезда» в Приморском крае. Появилась первая ТОСЭР в слаборазвитой Еврейской АО и две ТОСЭР – аграрная и туристическая на Сахалине.

Амбициозным проектом государства стало распределение бесплатных гектаров дальневосточной земли, призванное ввести в оборот пустующие земли и привлечь население к работе на Дальнем Востоке. Учитывая шероховатости в организации этого беспрецедентного процесса, затем был разработан законопроект, уточняющий многие детали предоставления земли. Тем временем с 1 февраля следующего года получить гектары в ДФО смогут не только дальневосточники, но и все жители России. Эта программа отчасти связана с решением демографических проблем Дальнего Востока, где, кстати, ситуация начинает выравниваться: статистика свидетельствует о том, что демографическая ситуация на Дальнем Востоке немного лучше среднероссийской, а казавшийся бесконечным отток населения замедляется.

Ресурсный потенциал Дальнего Востока и системные меры государства позволяют говорить об очень постепенном переходе ДФО к модели опережающего развития, хотя пока еще прорыва не случилось, и статистика не выглядит лучше среднероссийской. Например, по итогам января-октября 2016 г., промышленный рост в ДФО составил всего 100,2% в сравнении с аналогичным периодом 2015 г. Этот рост обеспечивают по-прежнему наиболее крупные сырьевые производства. Тем не менее, появляются совершенно новые проекты – газопереработка в Амурской области, производство минеральных удобрений и черная металлургия в Приморском крае. Меняется стратегия работы алмазной отрасли: Россия все больше рассчитывает на сбыт на азиатских рынках, в связи с чем во Владивостоке открылся Евразийский алмазный центр. Реформа рыбной отрасли создала систему инвестиционных квот, в связи с которыми рыбопромышленники должны будут размещать заказы на строительство судов в России, что способно оживить дальневосточное судостроение. Промышленное развитие Дальнего Востока тесно взаимосвязано с инфраструктурным. В этом году хорошую динамику показывают все морские порты ДФО, запущена реализация проектов по строительству железнодорожных и автомобильных мостов, соединяющих Россию и Китай, решается весьма болезненный вопрос о финансировании новых этапов модернизации ключевых железнодорожных магистралей – Транссиба и БАМа.

Дальневосточная политика российского государства стала беспрецедентной в новейшей истории, предусматривая целый комплекс мер, направленных на развитие этой важнейшей части страны, которой прежде уделялось недостаточное внимание. В 2016 г. стали появляться новые результаты этой политики, свидетельствующие о постепенном формировании потенциала для превращения Дальнего Востока в локомотив роста российской экономики и об углублении интеграции России в АТР.


Опубликовано во вкладке «Восток России»
(совместный проект газеты «Известия» и EastRussia)