Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Friendly power lines

The "accessible nest" program for a rare Far Eastern stork

Specialists of the branch of PJSC FGC UES - the Amur Main Power Grid Enterprise help to preserve and enhance the species included in the International Red List (IUCN). The number of the Far Eastern, or black-billed stork on the planet has decreased threefold over the past 40 years, in the Far East of Russia, in China, Korea and Japan, there are 4 thousand of them.  

Friendly power lines
Photo: Alexander Hitrov

Photos in material: Alexander Hitrov"PrimDiscovery"

a_khitrov_03.jpg

Relations between power engineers and Far Eastern storks have been tense since the day when the first bird pair chose the power transmission line over the traditional tree. Nests of storks made of twigs and clay weigh under 200 kilograms. Not every tree can do this, and the plains in the Amur Region are not particularly wooded. The birds moved to reliable, firmly standing on power transmission lines, which raised the nests to an almost unattainable height from predators - bears. This brought great trouble to the power engineers; repair teams were frequenting the fields. For storks, family life with electricity nearby was also unsafe. Specialists of the federal grid company tried to scare off the birds with special anti-invasive devices - "hedgehogs", but stubborn birds built nests on them too. Then the power engineers found a way out.

42304326755_3ceb274d7f_b.jpg

"We have been interacting with the Far Eastern stork for a long time, for more than a decade, and for this time we have developed a whole range of measures for the safe living of birds on power lines and ensuring the uninterrupted operation of our networks. Even a few, because the time goes by, something more efficient, something less. It was in FGC UES that they came up with a special site for nests on the power transmission lines, which became a very successful project! " "PrimDiscovery" Alexander Krivosheev, director of the branch of JSC FGC UES - the Amur enterprise of backbone electrical networks.

The project "Let's Save the Far Eastern Stork Together" is being implemented by FGC UES engineers with WWF Russia and the Russian Geographical Society. On the poles with power lines, experts are assembling sites for nests, a kind of foundation for creating strong stork families. The platforms are placed away from high-voltage wires. In the stork habitat, special protective equipment was installed on 52 out of 59 power lines. In 2018, half of the population of the Far Eastern stork has already moved to metal "forests" in the Amur Region. Only 10% of such sites are empty. In total, more than 26 thousand safe structures have been installed in the Far East.

Solving the "housing" issue is not the only way to help the Far Eastern stork. And although the bird weighing about 4 kilograms and about 120 cm in height has few natural enemies (bears and poachers ravage the nests), the species is sensitive to pollution. The stork is a symbol of the ecological well-being of the area. But if harmful substances appear in water, soil or air, birds cannot hatch eggs and breed full-fledged offspring. In addition, these birds are monogamous, and in the event of the death of a partner, they do not always find a replacement for him.

42304328285_c97de73e8b_b.jpg

"2018-th year is named the World Wildlife Fund as the Year of the Far Eastern Stork. More than 90% of its nests are in Russia. Last account of black and white was made 13 years ago, it's time to understand what we came to during this time, and again tell about the need to protect this species. Felling of trees, pollution of reservoirs, poachers, fires - because of the human impact on the ecosystem, the population of the Far Eastern stork is declining, and now people have the task to help "- says Anna Barma, senior coordinator for the specially protected natural areas of the Amur branch World Wildlife Fund (WWF) of Russia.

m_parilov_01.jpg

Photo Shoot: Mikhail Parilov

The Far Eastern storks are also helped by the “Stork Nest Keepers” - 30 people and 5 curator organizations who take care of 130 nests. The World Wildlife Fund has provided them with everything they need.

Ecologists carry out ringing of birds, their census and registration of nests, processing of habitats from fires and fires, protection of populated trees from predators. The project of FGC UES with the installation of platforms on supports in many ways simplified this work. In April 2018 specialists launched a bird version of the show "Houses 2" - Internet-project «Stork online»... The camera was installed next to one of the nests near the village of Tambovka, Amur Region, at a height of 20 meters. The project has been tentative and has been suspended for now, but viewers are hoping for a continuation. 

42304327725_a6a5d7f1e3_b.jpg

January 21: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дружелюбные ЛЭП

Программа «доступное гнездо» для редкого дальневосточного аиста

Специалисты филиала ПАО «ФСК ЕЭС» - Амурского предприятия магистральных электросетей помогают сохранить и приумножить вид, занесенный в Международный красный список (МСОП). Численность дальневосточного, или черноклювого аиста на планете за последние 40 лет сократилась втрое, на Дальнем Востоке России, в Китае, Корее и Японии их осталось 4 тысячи.  

Дружелюбные ЛЭП
Фото: Александр Хитров

Фото в материале: Александр Хитров"PrimDiscovery"

a_khitrov_03.jpg

Отношения энергетиков и дальневосточных аистов складывались напряженно со дня, когда первая птичья пара предпочла опору ЛЭП традиционному дереву. Гнезда аистов из прутьев и глины весят под 200 килограммов. Не каждому дереву это под силу, да и равнины в Амурской области не особенно лесисты. Птицы перебрались на надежные, крепко стоящие на опорах линии электропередачи, поднявшие гнезда на почти недосягаемую высоту от хищников - медведей. Энергетикам это принесло большие хлопоты, в поля зачастили ремонтные бригады. Для аистов семейная жизнь с током под боком тоже была небезопасной. Специалисты федеральной сетевой компании пробовали отпугнуть пернатых специальными противоприсадочными устройствами – «ежами», но настырные птицы вили гнезда и на них. Тогда энергетики нашли выход.

42304326755_3ceb274d7f_b.jpg

«Мы взаимодействуем с дальневосточным аистом давно, уже не один десяток лет, и за это время разработали целый комплекс мероприятий для безопасного проживания птиц на ЛЭП и обеспечения бесперебойной работы наших сетей. Даже несколько, потому что время идет, что-то более эффективно, что-то менее. Именно в ФСК ЕЭС придумали установить специальные площадки для гнезд на опорах ЛЭП, что стало очень успешным проектом!» - рассказал "PrimDiscovery" Александр Кривошеев, директор филиала ОАО «ФСК ЕЭС» - Амурского предприятия магистральных электрических сетей.

Проект «Сохраним дальневосточного аиста вместе» инженеры ФСК ЕЭС воплощают со Всемирным фондом дикой природы WWF России и Русским географическим обществом. На столбах с линиями электропередачи специалисты монтируют площадки для гнезд, - своеобразный фундамент для создания крепких аистиных семей. Платформы размещают в стороне от высоковольтных проводов. В зоне обитания аистов на 52 из 59 ЛЭП было установлено и специальное защитное оборудование. В 2018 году на металлические «леса» в Амурской области уже перебралась половина популяции дальневосточного аиста. Пустуют лишь 10% таких площадок. Всего на Дальнем Востоке установили более 26 тысяч безопасных сооружений.

Решение «квартирного» вопроса – не единственное, чем помогают дальневосточному аисту. И хотя у птицы весом около 4-х килограммов и высотой около 120 см немного естественных врагов (гнезда разоряют медведи и браконьеры), вид чувствителен к загрязнениям. Аист - символ экологического благополучия местности. Но стоит в воде, почве или в воздухе появиться вредным веществам, птицы не могут высидеть яйца и вывести полноценное потомство. Кроме того, эти пернатые - однолюбы, и в случае гибели партнера не всегда находят ему замену.

42304328285_c97de73e8b_b.jpg

«2018-й год назван Всемирным фондом дикой природы Годом дальневосточного аиста. Более 90% его гнезд находится в России. Последний учет черно-белых производился 13 лет назад, пришла пора понять, к чему мы пришли за это время, и снова рассказать о необходимости защищать этот вид. Вырубка деревьев, загрязнение водоемов, браконьеры, пожары - из-за воздействия человека на экосистему сокращается популяция дальневосточного аиста, и теперь задача людей – помочь» - уверена Анна Барма, старший координатор по особо охраняемым природным территориям Амурского филиала Всемирного фонда дикой природы (WWF) России.

m_parilov_01.jpg

Фото: Михаил Парилов

Помогают дальневосточным аистам и «Хранители аистиных гнезд» - 30 человек и 5 организаций-кураторов, которые заботятся о 130 гнездах. Всемирный фонд дикой природы снабдил их всем необходимым.

Экологи проводят кольцевание птиц, их перепись и учёт гнёзд, обработку мест обитаний от палов и пожаров, защиту заселённых деревьев от хищников. Проект ФСК ЕЭС с установкой площадок на опорах во многом упростил эту работу. В апреле 2018 года специалисты запустили птичью версию шоу "Дома 2" - интернет-проект «Аист онлайн». Камеру установили рядом с одним из гнёзд возле села Тамбовка Амурской области, на 20-метровой высоте. Проект был пробный, и пока приостановлен, но зрители надеются на продолжение. 

42304327725_a6a5d7f1e3_b.jpg