Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Contracts for weapons

Due to sanctions, Russian arms exports will largely depend on Chinese orders

Contracts for weapons

In 2014, the total volume of Russian arms exports exceeded $ 13 billion. Despite the drop in export volumes in this area over the past few years, the Russian Federation was able to maintain its “client base”, and in 2015 it expects to find new partners.

Last year's results

According to foreign media reports, in 2014 the volume of arms exports from Russia exceeded $ 13 billion, which indicates a clear negative trend in this area. In 2013, the total volume of arms exports was $ 15 billion, and in 2012 - $ 15,1 billion. In addition, according to statistics, there have been changes in the structure, assortment of exports, as well as in the list of buyers of Russian weapons. In 2013, for example, 42% of exports were naval equipment, including warships, submarines, and related weapons and technologies, 41% - aviation equipment, mainly consisting of aircraft and helicopters, 10% - air defense equipment, and 7 % - infantry weapons.

In 2014, the situation changed - the share of aviation equipment and ammunition already accounted for 37% of exports, 26% - for air defense systems, 21% - for infantry weapons, 12% - for naval equipment. The figures show that the share of naval equipment has fallen, while the share of air defense systems and infantry weapons has grown significantly.

India remains the main buyer of Russian military-industrial complex products. In the military-technical cooperation of the two countries, the main points are the supply of aircraft carriers, the purchase of spare parts for the Su-30, the purchase of warships, sea-based MiG-29K aircraft and Mi-17 transport helicopters, the improvement of the MiG-29 aircraft, the purchase of aircraft engines, repair and maintenance. submarines, as well as the supply of weapons and spare parts. Even in this area, Russia faces certain challenges. For example, in 2013, the Americans won a $ 500 million tender for the supply of anti-tank systems. In addition, the Indians plan to further increase the import of military equipment from the United States, and in 2013 India became the largest buyer of US military-industrial complex products. The Indian government has already secured firm contracts for the supply of Boeing P-8 anti-submarine aircraft, Lockhead C-130 transport aircraft, and Apache helicopters.

Among other important partners of Russia can be identified China, Vietnam, Syria, the United Arab Emirates, Venezuela, Azerbaijan, Afghanistan, Iraq and Algeria. China mainly buys Mi-17 helicopters, Il-76 transport aircraft, as well as jet engines for military aircraft manufactured in China. With regard to the production of military aircraft in China, it today depends heavily on the supply of engines from Russia.

If we talk about naval equipment, Vietnam is the largest importer of Russian equipment in this area. The main export items to Vietnam are submarines of the Varshavyanka project and missile boats. In addition, despite the urgent need to update the fleet of military aircraft, Vietnam purchased a limited batch of Su-30 fighters.

Syria also continues to secretly purchase Russian weapons. Now that the civil war in Syria has subsided somewhat, the following types of weapons are in particular demand: Iskander missile systems, Yakhont anti-ship missiles, ammunition, and spare parts for aircraft. Unfortunately, the UN has banned the supply of S-300 air defense systems to Syria, and a batch of MiG-29 fighters intended for Syria had to be delivered to Serbia. Afghanistan and Iraq, which are currently waging a war on terrorism, will also remain significant partners for Russia in the field of arms exports. Iraq, which is fighting IS, in addition to a contract for the supply of Mi-28, Mi-35 and Pantsir S-1 air defense missile systems, also signed a contract for the supply of used Su-25 attack aircraft.

The crisis in Nigeria gave Russia hope for expanding its share in the African market, but there were no significant changes for Russia in this area. In 2014, Namibia acquired Russian weapons for the first time in 15 years. However, the Russian progress in expanding its share in the African market is still weak. The problem is that China lures customers from Russia by offering more attractive prices, and the Brazilian EMB-314 Super Tucano, which can be used both as a light attack aircraft and as a training aircraft, also competes with the products of the Russian military industrial complex. In addition, Sudan, Ethiopia and Eritrea rejected Rosoboronexport’s offer to supply weapons in favor of second-hand Belarusian and Ukrainian weapons.

The sales success of the Russian military-industrial complex in the Middle East also leaves much to be desired. Bahrain was unable to obtain weapons purchased from Russia due to the imposition of sanctions against it related to the violent suppression of protests. The UAE continues to receive weapons under previously concluded contracts, for example, the AT-12 anti-tank complexes, the Pantsir S-1 air defense missile system, and has recently decided to modernize the BMPs previously acquired from Russia. However, Russia held negotiations with Egypt on the supply of weapons, as a result of which a contract was concluded for the supply of MiG-35 fighters, Mi-35 helicopters and other military equipment to Egypt.

Forecasts for the current year

The new year for Russia's military-industrial complex will most likely not be easy. First, the economic and financial crisis that is beginning in Russia is a cause for concern. In addition, Western sanctions, coupled with the fall in oil prices caused many difficulties. The budget deficit and unfavorable economic conditions will negatively affect the inflow of investments into the military-industrial complex. Due to a sharp decline in oil prices, Venezuela, Azerbaijan and Algeria have reduced the volume of Russian arms exports. Algeria, however, after purchasing Mi-26 and Mi-28 helicopters, purchased Su-30 aircraft, thereby remaining Russia's main partner in this field. Iraq, because of the fall in oil prices, will not be able to support today's volumes of arms imports in the foreseeable future.

Russian-Indian relations will become even more tense in the future. Russia still hopes that the MiG-35 will return to the Indian market with the goal of supplying the Indian Air Force with 126 fighters. This question is very relevant against the background of the fact that the contract for the French Rafale aircraft was canceled. However, this does not mean that India will continue to buy products from the Russian military aviation industry. According to some reports, the quality of the 5th generation T-50 multipurpose fighter is absolutely not satisfied with the Indian leadership. In addition, Indian representatives have put forward many complaints about the Su-30. In the area of ​​submarine purchases, India also resorts to the services of France, and in the area of ​​supply of other types of weapons it still relies on Israel, America and England.

The sanctions imposed by America and Europe forced Russia to make a turn towards military-technical cooperation with China. However, this requires some security and policy differences to be considered. China plans to purchase from Russia S-400 MANPADS, Amur project submarines, and Su-35 fighters. In the face of increasing pressure from Western countries, Russia is attempting to develop cooperation with China, but the latter has a bad reputation for compliance with patent law. This fact in the future may become a very serious obstacle for Rosoboronexport in the supply of arms to China.

In the arms markets of Latin America, Russia may also face certain difficulties: the Brazilian arms market is already occupied by Sweden, which signed a contract for the delivery of 108 JAS 39NG Gripen aircraft. The rest of Latin America also purchases planes from other countries. Nevertheless, the Peruvian government expressed interest in acquiring Russian MiG-29. An exception to this rule was Argentina, which, in addition to Mi-17 helicopters, also bought second-hand Su-24 from Russia. Because of pressure from England, Argentina can not buy weapons from the EU countries, which allowed Russia to take a large share of the Argentinean arms market, which has a very large capacity. For Russia, the big failure is the fact that Venezuela, which is Russia's geopolitical ally, does not have sufficient funds to conclude major contracts for the supply of arms from Russia.

Another promising client of Russia could be Iran. Due to the fall in oil prices, he is experiencing absolutely similar monetary problems with Russia. Nevertheless, in the future Iran may become a very large client of the Russian military-industrial complex, provided that the UN Security Council does not impose an embargo on it. Thus, everything will become clear only after the Six-Party Talks on the Iranian nuclear program.

June 20: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Контракты на оружие

Из-за санкций российский экспорт вооружений будет во многом зависеть от китайских заказов

Контракты на оружие

В 2014 году общий объем экспорта российского вооружения превысил 13 млрд долларов. Несмотря на падение объемов экспорта в этой сфере в течение последних нескольких лет, РФ смогла сохранить «клиентскую базу», а в 2015 году рассчитывает найти новых партнеров.

Итоги прошлого года

По сообщениям зарубежных СМИ, в 2014 году объем экспорта вооружений из России превысил 13 млрд долларов, что свидетельствует о явном негативном тренде в этой сфере. В 2013 году общий объем экспорта вооружений составил 15 млрд долларов, а в 2012 – 15,1 млрд долларов. К тому же, согласно данным статистики, в структуре, ассортименте экспорта, а также в списке покупателей российского вооружения произошли изменения. В 2013 году, например, 42% экспорта составляло военно-морское оборудование, включающее военные корабли, подводные лодки, а также сопутствующее вооружение и технологии, 41% - авиационное оборудование, в основном состоящее из самолетов и вертолетов, 10% - оборудование ПВО и 7% - пехотное вооружение.

В 2014 году ситуация изменилась – на долю авиационного оборудования и боеприпасов уже пришлось 37% экспорта, 26% - на системы ПВО, 21% - на пехотное вооружение, 12% - на военно-морское оборудование. Из приведенных цифр видно, что доля военно-морского оборудования упала, а доля систем ПВО и пехотного вооружения значительно выросла.

Основным покупателем продукции российского ВПК все так же остается Индия. В военно-техническом сотрудничестве двух стран основными пунктами являются поставки авианосцев, закупка запчастей для Су-30, покупка военных кораблей, самолетов морского базирования МиГ -29К и транспортных вертолетов Ми-17, улучшение самолетов МиГ -29, закупка авиационных двигателей, ремонт и обслуживание подводных лодок, а также поставка вооружения и запчастей. Даже в этой сфере Россия сталкивается с определенными вызовами. Так, например, в 2013 году в тендере на 500 млн долларов на поставку противотанковых систем выиграли американцы. К тому же, индийцы планируют и в дальнейшем увеличивать импорт военной техники из США, и в 2013 году Индия стала крупнейшим покупателем продукции ВПК США. Индийское правительство уже заключило твердые контракты на поставку противолодочных самолетов Боинг Р-8, транспортных самолетов Локхид (Lockhead) С-130, а также вертолетов «Апач».

Среди прочих значимых партнеров России можно выделить Китай, Вьетнам, Сирию, ОАЭ, Венесуэлу, Азербайджан, Афганистан, Ирак и Алжир. КНР в основном закупает вертолеты Ми-17, транспортные самолеты Ил-76, а также реактивные двигатели для военных самолетов, производимых в Китае. Что касается производства военных самолетов в Китае, оно на сегодняшний день сильно зависит от поставок двигателей из России.

Если говорить о военно-морском оборудовании, то в этой области крупнейшим импортером российской техники является Вьетнам. Основными статьями экспорта во Вьетнам являются подводные лодки проекта «Варшавянка» и ракетные катера. К тому же, несмотря на острую необходимость в обновлении парка военных самолетов, Вьетнам закупил ограниченную партию истребителей Су-30.

Сирия также продолжает тайно закупать российское вооружение. Сейчас, когда гражданская война в Сирии несколько утихла, особым спросом пользуются следующие виды вооружения: ракетные комплексы «Искандер», противокорабельные ракеты «Яхонт», боеприпасы, а также запчасти для самолетов. К сожалению, ООН запретила поставлять Сирии комплексы ПВО С-300, а партию истребителей МиГ-29, предназначенных для Сирии, пришлось поставить в Сербию. Афганистан и Ирак, которые сегодня ведут войну с терроризмом, тоже останутся значимыми партнерами России в области экспорта вооружений. Ирак, который борется с «ИГ», кроме контракта на поставку вертолетов Ми-28, Ми-35 и ЗРПК «Панцирь С-1», также заключил контракт на поставку подержанных штурмовиков Су-25.

Кризис в Нигерии дал России надежду на расширение своей доли на африканском рынке, но особых изменений для России в этой области не произошло. В 2014 году Намибия впервые за 15 лет приобрела российское вооружение. Впрочем, российский прогресс в расширении своей доли на африканском рынке все еще слабоват. Проблема заключается в том, что Китай переманивает клиентов у России, предлагая более привлекательные цены, к тому же бразильский EMB-314 Super Tucano, который может быть использован и как легкий штурмовик и как учебный самолет, также составляет конкуренцию продукции российского ВПК. Кроме того, Судан, Эфиопия и Эритрея отклонили предложение Рособоронэкспорта о поставке вооружений в пользу подержанного белорусского и украинского вооружения.

Успехи в продажах продукции российского ВПК на Ближнем Востоке также оставляют желать лучшего. Бахрейн не смог получить приобретенные у России вооружения из-за введения в его отношении санкций, связанных с силовым подавлением акций протеста. ОАЭ продолжает получать вооружения по ранее заключенным контрактам, например противотанковые комплексы АТ-12, ЗРПК «Панцирь С-1», а также недавно принял решение модернизировать ранее приобретенные у России БМП. Однако Россия провела с Египтом переговоры о поставках вооружения, по итогам которых был заключен контракт на поставку в Египет истребителей Миг-35, вертолетов Ми-35 и иного военного оборудования.

Прогнозы на текущий год

Новый год для ВПК России будет, скорее всего, нелегким. Во-первых, начинающийся в России экономический и финансовый кризис является поводом для беспокойства. К тому же, западные санкции вкупе с падением цены на нефть вызвали много трудностей. Дефицит бюджета и неблагоприятная экономическая конъюнктура негативно повлияют на приток инвестиций в ВПК. Из-за резкого снижения цен на нефть Венесуэла, Азербайджан и Алжир сократили объемы экспорта российских вооружений. Алжир, тем не менее, после закупки вертолетов Ми-26 и Ми-28, приобрел самолеты Су-30, тем самым оставаясь основным партнером России в данной сфере. Ирак же, из-за падения цен на нефть, в обозримом будущем не сможет поддерживать сегодняшние объемы импорта вооружений.

Российско-индийские отношения в будущем станут еще более напряженными. Россия все еще надеется на то, что МиГ-35 вернутся на индийский рынок с целью поставить индийским ВВС 126 истребителей. Этот вопрос весьма актуален на фоне того, что контракт на французские самолеты «Рафаль» был отменен. Тем не менее, это не значит, что Индия и в дальнейшем будет покупать продукцию российского военного авиапрома. Согласно некоторым докладам, качество многоцелевого истребителя 5-го поколения Т-50 абсолютно не устраивает индийское руководство. К тому же, индийские представители выдвинули немало претензий к Су-30. В сфере закупок подводных лодок Индия также прибегает к услугам Франции, а в сфере поставок иных видов вооружений все так же полагается на Израиль, Америку и Англию.

Наложенные Америкой и Европой санкции вынудили Россию совершить поворот в сторону военно-технического сотрудничества с Китаем. Однако для этого необходимо учитывать некоторые различия в сферах безопасности и политики. Китай планирует закупить у России ПЗРК «С-400», подводные лодки проекта «Амур», а также истребители Су-35. В условиях усиливающегося давления со стороны стран Запада, Россия предпринимает попытки развития сотрудничества с Китаем, но последний обладает плохой репутацией касательно соблюдения патентного права. Этот факт в будущем может стать весьма серьезным препятствием для Рособоронэкспорта при поставках вооружений в Китай.

На рынках вооружения Латинской Америки Россия также может столкнуться с определенными трудностями: рынок вооружений Бразилии уже занят Швецией, которая подписала контракт на поставку 108 самолетов JAS 39NG Gripen. Остальные страны Латинской Америки также закупают самолеты у других стран. Тем не менее, правительство Перу выразило интерес в приобретении российских МиГ-29. Исключением из этого правила стала Аргентина, которая, кроме вертолетов Ми-17, также закупила у России подержанные Су-24. Из-за давления со стороны Англии, Аргентина не может закупать вооружение у стран ЕС, что и позволило России занять большую долю аргентинского рынка вооружений, который обладает весьма большой емкостью. Для России большой неудачей является тот факт, что Венесуэла, являющаяся геополитическим союзником России, не имеет достаточного объема средств для заключения крупных контрактов на поставку вооружений из РФ.

Еще одним перспективным клиентом России может стать Иран. Из-за падения цен на нефть он испытывает абсолютно схожие с российскими проблемы денежного характера. Тем не менее, в перспективе Иран может стать весьма крупным клиентом российского ВПК, при условии что со стороны Совбеза ООН в его отношении не будет введено эмбарго. Таким образом, все станет ясно лишь после проведения шестисторонних переговоров по иранской ядерной программе.